Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2568 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind..A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind.. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Man of Steel is more than just Avengers-sized escapism; it's an artistic introduction to a movie superhero we only thought we knew.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Deploying an impeccable American accent, Brit Henry Cavill may be as charming as the late great Christopher Reeve.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    It has heft, it looks amazing, and it's businesslike to a fault.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    If this version of Superman is to have a future — as Warner Brothers seems convinced he will, having already green-lit the sequel — I hope Snyder will dial back both the casualty count and the Krypton mythmaking and instead focus on establishing a fictional Earth that’s rich enough to be worth saving.
  6. 50
    The movie isn’t dead on arrival, like Snyder’s over-reverent "Watchmen." But it’s pleasure-free.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 13, 2013
    37
    Snyder tries to up the spectacle ante with ever more explosions, crashes, thermal blasts, topological realignments, gunfire and mano-a-mano fistfights. But the result is a punishing sense of diminishing returns and a genre that has finally reached the point of mayhem-induced exhaustion.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man of Steel, where do I start. How about the beginning? The movie starts with great science fiction. A mother is at a loss as she gives up her son, and then concedes her life as the world dies. Much more dramatic than what I'm typing.

    Clark, Mr Anon, is traveling America and trying to help where he can. He does when an oil rig decides to go all fire and explosives, and only Clark can help save the people trapped. He helps, it's awesome.

    Lois and Clark meet, and it's well done. Many small nods to 75 years of canon. I was extremely impressed by the knowledge of the writers. Seriously. This is the story we've been waiting for since I became able to read comics. This movie tells the real story, and isn't a fluff piece that warms the heart, but instead shows that great power can be followed by a good person. Superman could have been a jerk, he has complete free will, but he doesn't...I could explain more on that, as he does show a glimpse of his arrogance when talking to his father before the tornado storm....

    Superman's fights were epic. These were for us fans. Seriously. You don't put those out there for the critics, you put those out there for the fans. The critics will think its too much unnecessary violence, because the critics don't really understand Zod's one mindedness and desire to crush the last El.

    Ah well, I'm tired, but loved the movie. I plan on seeing it again.
    Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    The movie we all have been waiting for. It's just incredible and much better when you see it twice. Amazing action, spectacular visualThe movie we all have been waiting for. It's just incredible and much better when you see it twice. Amazing action, spectacular visual effects, tremendous acting, powerful soundtrack and well composed story. I must say that Antje Traue was one of my favourite and Henry Cavill is, by far, the best Superman after Christopher Reeve. 10/10 Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The filmI had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The film captures the humanity of Superman's search to be human even after finding out who he really is. David S. Goyer's screenplay perfectly reflects Kal-El's struggles and challenges growing up in today's world. Zack Snyder has managed to do the impossible, he has successfully made the Man Of Steel relevant and above all human. With a strong cast including Russel Crowe as Jor-El, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and of course Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El. Michael Shannon makes a truly menacing General Zod that you actually respect for his notions but understand his questionable motives. Overall, Man Of Steel is a pleasant surprise filled with plenty of little Easter eggs for DC fans to look out for. This is one summer blockbuster you won't want to miss, Zack Snyder has created another epic superhero masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    So many don't like it. I loved it.

    This is what I call the Prometheus syndrome. Many hate it, but many loved it, and I loved Man of Steel,
    So many don't like it. I loved it.

    This is what I call the Prometheus syndrome. Many hate it, but many loved it, and I loved Man of Steel, even though I am aware of some of it's problems- the same with Prometheus, but I don't think it brings down the film as much as it has been made out to be.

    This was my most anticipated movie of the year, and to be honest I had been hesitant from the start, as I had never been fully keen on Zack Snyder's work, I always found that they were good, but never great, with films such as Watchmen and the Owls movie- or they were just plain awful... Sucker Punch. This is, by far, Snyder's best work, and although many haven't liked the action- it flew by for me- the whole film whizzed past actually, while for most it seemed to drag. This film made me feel like a kid, as at one point I was sitting with my mouth wide open at the scale of the thing, and I literally jumped out of my seat when Superman himself, or Kal-El I should say, started throwing down in the air, against Zod.

    Another concern I had did come to fruition, with many saying David S. Goyer will bring greatness to the project, but actually he has written some awful movies, and when people said 'He wrote The Dark knight Rises'- this is incorrect, he did the story for it. Films that he has written recently would be 'Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance', 'Jumper' and 'The Unborn'. Three awful films, that although the script isn't as bad as I am making it out to be, there are a few weird lines that pulled me out of the scene. I liked the structure Goyer gave, although it did lack some depth, I felt like I got enough to become emotionally connected to the characters.

    The two strongest parts of the film would probably be the performances, and also the effects. I normally would criticize a film for one of it's strongest parts being the effects. But this is probably some of the best effects work I have ever seen. In this kind of scale anyway. As this film is big, and there is a hell of a lot of carnage.

    Sure when you think about it. A lot of people died. But hey. Superman. it's all that's needed to be said. Bad argument, I know. But... Superman.

    As part of the effects work, this also some of the best action I have personally ever witnessed, in scale and execution. It's crazy. I have heard that many simply turned off and got numbed by it, but I was the guy who wanted more. As I said earlier, I honestly felt like a kid watching my favorite comic books moments coming to life. Properly.

    Here's a rundown of the performances:

    Henry Caville- He plays a great Superman, and although the character was lacking in the script department, I definitely connected with him. And he WAS Superman.

    Michael Shannon- He worked for me, and I preferred his reasons to go to Earth. There is an established reason for what he is doing, and he believes what he is doing is for the better. It is not I'm a bad guy. Blah. Although anyone could have really played the character, it wasn't a stand out role, but served a purpose.

    Russell Crowe- Awesome. Krypton scenes- some of the best of the film. Amazing stuff there. And he is perfect.

    Amy Adams- Good Lois Lane. She is given some weird lines though that doesn't suit the tone of the film, e.g. 'What if I need to tinkle?' Also the Superman-Lane relationship is a little rushed, and could have been left to a later film.

    Kevin Costner- Again, great, although almost a bit underused. But he is almost the underlying hero of the film.

    Diane Lane- Also good etc.

    In other words. Go see it. Here, The Prometheus Syndrome, comes into effect. And today we see the creation of The Man of Steel Syndrome.
    Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    7
    This movie was quite enjoyable. I think that indeed it was the best superman movie to be created and didn't have very many plot holes in it asThis movie was quite enjoyable. I think that indeed it was the best superman movie to be created and didn't have very many plot holes in it as some previous superman movies had. It was very different from the same old telling of superman: Start with him being shot off of Krypton, have him grow up, learning his abilities one by one, then killing Lex Luther in the end. No, it was very different from that (not going to spoil). I enjoy at the beginning how Krypton was a war torn world instead of a heaven like planet. I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning and the end of the movie. The middle was alright so that is why I give this movie a 7/10, Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    Well shot and beautiful to look at. However, as a superhero action movie it did not keep me entertained. The basic problem being Superman isWell shot and beautiful to look at. However, as a superhero action movie it did not keep me entertained. The basic problem being Superman is basically a god on Earth, so how do you give him a weakness? How do you make him relatable; at least you could relate to Batman. MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD: I was really bored in the last 30 minutes when it was basically just a slugfest between Superman and General Zod. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    The Man Of Steel Is Made of Cardboard! But At Least Henry Cavill Has Nice Muscles! What a shame such a great story turned into something soThe Man Of Steel Is Made of Cardboard! But At Least Henry Cavill Has Nice Muscles! What a shame such a great story turned into something so boring, tedious and annoying! Unfortunately for the Man of Steel, every story has a beginning, middle and end. Something the average person learns when they are in kindergarten or First Grade! All three parts of a story need to be done well or else it's no fun! A great beginning does not make-up for a mediocre middle or a disastrous ending!

    The Man of Steel starts with a fantastic back story. For the very first time we really get to observe Krypton in all it's technological glory! Only to see the story slowly degenerate into camp with cardboard characters from the military that you could find in any comic books story. And, then like a car with a stuck accelerator, the story rapidly turns into another brainless war porn and 9/11-type flick (Chicago gets trashed instead of New York. When your story is so rotten you distract your audience by wrecking another major city! Wow! That was imaginative!)

    Man Of Steel is also the ultimate product placement film. In fact, you could randomly choose a half-dozen movies that have been shown on the big screen this past year - and I'll bet you the Man of Steel has more product placement then all of them COMBINED! It was so obnoxious it was distracting! In the 45 years of watching movies I can only think of a handful of times that product placement has been this aggressive!! It's also symptomatic of an incredibly weak story!

    The Man of Steel is so bad I was dying to walk out; but, I went to see the film with a friend so I felt obligated to stay. At least I had the sense to close my eyes and tune-out the last half hour of explosions, grunting and screaming in order to put my meditation skills to the test! I'm happy to report that even though I was totally sober I was able to completely tune-out the last 30 minutes of the Man of Steel and I could care less about what happened to any of the story's characters!
    Expand

See all 844 User Reviews

Trailers