Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2587 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind..A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind.. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Man of Steel is more than just Avengers-sized escapism; it's an artistic introduction to a movie superhero we only thought we knew.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Deploying an impeccable American accent, Brit Henry Cavill may be as charming as the late great Christopher Reeve.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    It has heft, it looks amazing, and it's businesslike to a fault.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    If this version of Superman is to have a future — as Warner Brothers seems convinced he will, having already green-lit the sequel — I hope Snyder will dial back both the casualty count and the Krypton mythmaking and instead focus on establishing a fictional Earth that’s rich enough to be worth saving.
  6. 50
    The movie isn’t dead on arrival, like Snyder’s over-reverent "Watchmen." But it’s pleasure-free.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 13, 2013
    37
    Snyder tries to up the spectacle ante with ever more explosions, crashes, thermal blasts, topological realignments, gunfire and mano-a-mano fistfights. But the result is a punishing sense of diminishing returns and a genre that has finally reached the point of mayhem-induced exhaustion.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man of Steel, where do I start. How about the beginning? The movie starts with great science fiction. A mother is at a loss as she gives up her son, and then concedes her life as the world dies. Much more dramatic than what I'm typing.

    Clark, Mr Anon, is traveling America and trying to help where he can. He does when an oil rig decides to go all fire and explosives, and only Clark can help save the people trapped. He helps, it's awesome.

    Lois and Clark meet, and it's well done. Many small nods to 75 years of canon. I was extremely impressed by the knowledge of the writers. Seriously. This is the story we've been waiting for since I became able to read comics. This movie tells the real story, and isn't a fluff piece that warms the heart, but instead shows that great power can be followed by a good person. Superman could have been a jerk, he has complete free will, but he doesn't...I could explain more on that, as he does show a glimpse of his arrogance when talking to his father before the tornado storm....

    Superman's fights were epic. These were for us fans. Seriously. You don't put those out there for the critics, you put those out there for the fans. The critics will think its too much unnecessary violence, because the critics don't really understand Zod's one mindedness and desire to crush the last El.

    Ah well, I'm tired, but loved the movie. I plan on seeing it again.
    Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    The movie we all have been waiting for. It's just incredible and much better when you see it twice. Amazing action, spectacular visualThe movie we all have been waiting for. It's just incredible and much better when you see it twice. Amazing action, spectacular visual effects, tremendous acting, powerful soundtrack and well composed story. I must say that Antje Traue was one of my favourite and Henry Cavill is, by far, the best Superman after Christopher Reeve. 10/10 Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The filmI had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The film captures the humanity of Superman's search to be human even after finding out who he really is. David S. Goyer's screenplay perfectly reflects Kal-El's struggles and challenges growing up in today's world. Zack Snyder has managed to do the impossible, he has successfully made the Man Of Steel relevant and above all human. With a strong cast including Russel Crowe as Jor-El, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and of course Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El. Michael Shannon makes a truly menacing General Zod that you actually respect for his notions but understand his questionable motives. Overall, Man Of Steel is a pleasant surprise filled with plenty of little Easter eggs for DC fans to look out for. This is one summer blockbuster you won't want to miss, Zack Snyder has created another epic superhero masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Man of Steel (2013) is a modern day take on the Superman lore, it introduces the viewers to Superman's past and his birth on Planet Krypton.Man of Steel (2013) is a modern day take on the Superman lore, it introduces the viewers to Superman's past and his birth on Planet Krypton. The movie wastes no time and plunges the viewer into great action set pieces, while building the foundation for the movies lore.

    The characters are believable and their performances are very solid for this type of movie. The so called critics who slam the movie for not having enough humor or for over the top action or for whatever unprofessional reason are completely unfounded in their "arguments" and just prove how arrogant non objective they are, this is not 1970's, hero movies must retain a serious tone to be relevant nowadays.

    For the type of movie this is, it is a 8/10 any day of the week! It is by far the most ambitious take on a Superman movie, and it whole heartily succeeds.

    Go see this movie if you are a action/science fiction/superhero fan. You won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    7
    This movie was quite enjoyable. I think that indeed it was the best superman movie to be created and didn't have very many plot holes in it asThis movie was quite enjoyable. I think that indeed it was the best superman movie to be created and didn't have very many plot holes in it as some previous superman movies had. It was very different from the same old telling of superman: Start with him being shot off of Krypton, have him grow up, learning his abilities one by one, then killing Lex Luther in the end. No, it was very different from that (not going to spoil). I enjoy at the beginning how Krypton was a war torn world instead of a heaven like planet. I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning and the end of the movie. The middle was alright so that is why I give this movie a 7/10, Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    Well shot and beautiful to look at. However, as a superhero action movie it did not keep me entertained. The basic problem being Superman isWell shot and beautiful to look at. However, as a superhero action movie it did not keep me entertained. The basic problem being Superman is basically a god on Earth, so how do you give him a weakness? How do you make him relatable; at least you could relate to Batman. MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD: I was really bored in the last 30 minutes when it was basically just a slugfest between Superman and General Zod. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    0
    this is the worst superman i ever seen. this is not superman at all. the story is so far off from the original film.
    and he is so geeky,
    this is the worst superman i ever seen. this is not superman at all. the story is so far off from the original film.
    and he is so geeky, trying to be mucho. the original superman is more charming, brave, heroic.
    the new superman never saves anyone, he is crashing buildings and dont care about the people, that is not superman. NO, THE MOVIE WAS JUST STUPID!!! the only good in it was the special effects.
    Expand

See all 851 User Reviews

Trailers