Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2660 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind..A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind.. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Man of Steel is more than just Avengers-sized escapism; it's an artistic introduction to a movie superhero we only thought we knew.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Deploying an impeccable American accent, Brit Henry Cavill may be as charming as the late great Christopher Reeve.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    It has heft, it looks amazing, and it's businesslike to a fault.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    If this version of Superman is to have a future — as Warner Brothers seems convinced he will, having already green-lit the sequel — I hope Snyder will dial back both the casualty count and the Krypton mythmaking and instead focus on establishing a fictional Earth that’s rich enough to be worth saving.
  6. 50
    The movie isn’t dead on arrival, like Snyder’s over-reverent "Watchmen." But it’s pleasure-free.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 13, 2013
    37
    Snyder tries to up the spectacle ante with ever more explosions, crashes, thermal blasts, topological realignments, gunfire and mano-a-mano fistfights. But the result is a punishing sense of diminishing returns and a genre that has finally reached the point of mayhem-induced exhaustion.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel is one of the most awesome spectacles in recent years. Words cannot express how truly impressed and riveted I was in the theater.Man of Steel is one of the most awesome spectacles in recent years. Words cannot express how truly impressed and riveted I was in the theater. All my expectations were blown away. Each and every character was solid, realistic and well developed.
    Some critics have gone on record to say the MOS has no heart, is too loud, is an incoherent mess, or is without any shred of a plot. They did not go to Man of Steel to see a Superman movie. That went to rite a scathing review, because they can. Critics are critical because it gets them noticed. There is always someone who wants to tear things down. And who has farther to fall than Superman?
    That said, Man of Steel is an over-the-top, full blown, this is what a hero really is thrill-ride. Man of Steel flies high, and critic know jack nothing.
    Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Awesome movie!!! Left us wanting for more. Can't wait for MAN OF STEEL 2. We wanna see more of the Clark & Lois romance in the sequel sinceAwesome movie!!! Left us wanting for more. Can't wait for MAN OF STEEL 2. We wanna see more of the Clark & Lois romance in the sequel since there's less of it in this one. The action was just over the top! We came in famish for a good movie & came out fat-bellied with satisfaction, gluttons at best, wanting more of that cinematic buffet greatness. MAN OF STEEL is the beast of all superhero action movies we kid you not! We love this movie so much that we clamor for the next installment to be as great if not greater. We want perhaps a Brainiac-controlled billionaire Lex Luthor versus billionaire Bruce Wayne in the mix as well as the introduction of Wonder Woman's character to pave the way for THE JUSTICE LEAGUE. How will Zack Snyder-David Goyer do it? DC & WB trusted them on the first installment, they couldn't go wrong to leave it up to this team-up for the next ones. Hope Chris Nolan is still on board cuz he does make a difference even for just consultation. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The filmI had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The film captures the humanity of Superman's search to be human even after finding out who he really is. David S. Goyer's screenplay perfectly reflects Kal-El's struggles and challenges growing up in today's world. Zack Snyder has managed to do the impossible, he has successfully made the Man Of Steel relevant and above all human. With a strong cast including Russel Crowe as Jor-El, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and of course Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El. Michael Shannon makes a truly menacing General Zod that you actually respect for his notions but understand his questionable motives. Overall, Man Of Steel is a pleasant surprise filled with plenty of little Easter eggs for DC fans to look out for. This is one summer blockbuster you won't want to miss, Zack Snyder has created another epic superhero masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Pretty good Superman! Way better than the 3 ordinary 1 before. I can't believe those "pro" gave it a 55. What the heck are they basing theirPretty good Superman! Way better than the 3 ordinary 1 before. I can't believe those "pro" gave it a 55. What the heck are they basing their rating on? This is the kind of superheros movie we need. CONTENT! I learned more about Superman then the 3 old craps with their RIDICULOUS vilains. I want more of this kind. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    Convincing and reasonably intelligent re-imagining of how Superman became Clark Kent. Rather more of a piece than the earlier ChristopherConvincing and reasonably intelligent re-imagining of how Superman became Clark Kent. Rather more of a piece than the earlier Christopher Reeve films. This time Henry Cavill dons the cloak and tights, in what is a good choice for the comic book hero. The special visual effects are numerous and outstandingly good. Michael Shannon is a fearsome villain in a cast which also includes the ubiquitous Amy Adams (somewhat coasting it here) as Lois Lane. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    5
    (Has minor spoilers:) Zero emotion, no humor, no soul, you care about absolutely no one in this film except Clark as a boy that kid damn near(Has minor spoilers:) Zero emotion, no humor, no soul, you care about absolutely no one in this film except Clark as a boy that kid damn near carried the film. Cavill is totally unconvincing. Its a combo of maudlin flashbacks and boring effects sequences. After you've seen 4 or 5 skyscrapers topple over (LOL, F science) you just don't care anymore. Every FX gimmick is stolen directly from an earlier film or video game. The Kryptonians apparently contracted a Reaver from Mass Effect, because they have one. Jor-El the great scientist is somehow also a badass who can take on a platoon of soldiers singlehanded. The Kryptonians haven't discovered color TV yet they use low-res liquid metal for their communications.The horrible "action news" cinematography has no place in a superhero film...or ANY film, honestly. While there were a few clever effects shots, mostly it was Michael Bay levels of CG for 3D's sake here. So many things go unexplained that it feels like Dark Knight Rises all over again. When we DO get cause-and-effect, the story contradicts itself so many times that its obvious Snyder and Nolan had no idea which version they wanted to go with. I heard so many "huhs??" from the audience at each new realtime reconning that it I couldn't help laughing at it after a while. The mood at credit role was somber. The loyalists in their capes walked out staring at the floor wondering the same as myself if we'll ever get another good DC superhero film, let alone a good Superman one. Oh, and did I mention that there was a MAKING OF mini-documentary that ran right before the movie started?? I kid you not. At my Regal Cinema they also ran the Pacific Rim trailer *twice*. It was a painful experience that gave me a greater appreciation of Smallville. Bottom line: everything this film contains you've seen before and done better. I truly hope this movie starts a backlash against gratuitous CG. Mark Hamill is right: its a big reason that Hollywood refuses to do anything original. Collapse
  7. May 5, 2015
    0
    5 Reasons Man Of steel Is The WORST Movie Ever Made:

    1. Washed out blue cinematography throughout the whole movie. 2. Lousy
    5 Reasons Man Of steel Is The WORST Movie Ever Made:

    1. Washed out blue cinematography throughout the whole movie.

    2. Lousy director....the whole film shot with a jerky handheld camera to make it look exciting
    and full of action. Trademark of amateur directors.

    3. Lousy story line constantly jumping from the past and present on Earth and on a different world.

    4. Overuse of CGI. The ending kept dragging on and on as they destroyed more and more buildings. Less is more. Was actually getting antsy and bored with all the destruction.

    5. The ending. When in the world is this guy going to use his super speed to at least TRY to look like someone else. I know, I'll put on a pair of glasses and know one will ever recognize me....not even my mother.
    Expand

See all 869 User Reviews

Trailers