Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2652 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind..A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind.. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Man of Steel is more than just Avengers-sized escapism; it's an artistic introduction to a movie superhero we only thought we knew.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Deploying an impeccable American accent, Brit Henry Cavill may be as charming as the late great Christopher Reeve.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    It has heft, it looks amazing, and it's businesslike to a fault.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    If this version of Superman is to have a future — as Warner Brothers seems convinced he will, having already green-lit the sequel — I hope Snyder will dial back both the casualty count and the Krypton mythmaking and instead focus on establishing a fictional Earth that’s rich enough to be worth saving.
  6. 50
    The movie isn’t dead on arrival, like Snyder’s over-reverent "Watchmen." But it’s pleasure-free.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 13, 2013
    37
    Snyder tries to up the spectacle ante with ever more explosions, crashes, thermal blasts, topological realignments, gunfire and mano-a-mano fistfights. But the result is a punishing sense of diminishing returns and a genre that has finally reached the point of mayhem-induced exhaustion.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    o melhor filme de herois de todos os tempos, na visão de fã de hqs e filmes de herois.
    o zack realmente fez uma obra prima, e conseguiu levar
    o melhor filme de herois de todos os tempos, na visão de fã de hqs e filmes de herois.
    o zack realmente fez uma obra prima, e conseguiu levar o superman para o seculo 21.
    com otimas cenas de ação e uma boa historia do david goyer, completa esse epico que vai ficar marcado por muitas gerações
    Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    this movie has it al amezing action and some cry moments and amezing acting with russel crowe and the amezing other people in this movie itsthis movie has it al amezing action and some cry moments and amezing acting with russel crowe and the amezing other people in this movie its so good with a lilte sci fie elements and extreme music from hans zimmer its just so good do not lissen to the critics this movie is just sooo amezing so gat of your lasy as and go f.... see this movie Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The filmI had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The film captures the humanity of Superman's search to be human even after finding out who he really is. David S. Goyer's screenplay perfectly reflects Kal-El's struggles and challenges growing up in today's world. Zack Snyder has managed to do the impossible, he has successfully made the Man Of Steel relevant and above all human. With a strong cast including Russel Crowe as Jor-El, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and of course Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El. Michael Shannon makes a truly menacing General Zod that you actually respect for his notions but understand his questionable motives. Overall, Man Of Steel is a pleasant surprise filled with plenty of little Easter eggs for DC fans to look out for. This is one summer blockbuster you won't want to miss, Zack Snyder has created another epic superhero masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    All the mythical universe is here, updated and with all respect the character deserves. Good cast, great direction and even emotional momentsAll the mythical universe is here, updated and with all respect the character deserves. Good cast, great direction and even emotional moments made this the best movie of 2013 so far. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    7
    Zack Snyder delivers a great start to a new cinematic universe, presenting us with a modern and more mature look at Superman. Though its moreZack Snyder delivers a great start to a new cinematic universe, presenting us with a modern and more mature look at Superman. Though its more mature tone results in endless scenes of destruction which, gets repetitive and boring after a while. With that said, Henry Cavill is this new generation's Superman, and not only does he look the part, but he feels like The Man of Steel. The movie definitely has some pacing issues, and the way it was shot was too bleak and shaky, I would have preferred to see a more colorful and steady movie. The movie has some plot holes and is oddly paced, but it's still one awesome ride and a good way to start DC's cinematic universe. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I became of Zack Snyder fan with Watchmen, a film that is very near and dear to my heart. I was totally excited when I heard that he was making MOS, and became more so as the trailers were trickled out. MOS is an unusual movie and part of that feeling may come from its otherworldly music score. It wastes no time at all and gets to the meat of the story quickly, giving it a kind of dense feel. However, there are points in the movie that are hard to digest. The plot always finds a contrived way of getting Lois Lane in all of Superman's set pieces on board a space ship, in the tundra, in Kansas she never far behind. She might as well have been in the Zod fights. Also, Superman's never flown until the events of this movie?! I give Snyder huge credit for making this movie all his own, it's different in the same way Tim Burton made Batman in his own vision. I had fun, see this movie but don't nit pick its odd parts. Expand
  7. May 5, 2015
    0
    5 Reasons Man Of steel Is The WORST Movie Ever Made:

    1. Washed out blue cinematography throughout the whole movie. 2. Lousy
    5 Reasons Man Of steel Is The WORST Movie Ever Made:

    1. Washed out blue cinematography throughout the whole movie.

    2. Lousy director....the whole film shot with a jerky handheld camera to make it look exciting
    and full of action. Trademark of amateur directors.

    3. Lousy story line constantly jumping from the past and present on Earth and on a different world.

    4. Overuse of CGI. The ending kept dragging on and on as they destroyed more and more buildings. Less is more. Was actually getting antsy and bored with all the destruction.

    5. The ending. When in the world is this guy going to use his super speed to at least TRY to look like someone else. I know, I'll put on a pair of glasses and know one will ever recognize me....not even my mother.
    Expand

See all 867 User Reviews

Trailers