Man of Steel

Man of Steel Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind..A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind.. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Man of Steel is more than just Avengers-sized escapism; it's an artistic introduction to a movie superhero we only thought we knew.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Deploying an impeccable American accent, Brit Henry Cavill may be as charming as the late great Christopher Reeve.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    It has heft, it looks amazing, and it's businesslike to a fault.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    If this version of Superman is to have a future — as Warner Brothers seems convinced he will, having already green-lit the sequel — I hope Snyder will dial back both the casualty count and the Krypton mythmaking and instead focus on establishing a fictional Earth that’s rich enough to be worth saving.
  6. 50
    The movie isn’t dead on arrival, like Snyder’s over-reverent "Watchmen." But it’s pleasure-free.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 13, 2013
    37
    Snyder tries to up the spectacle ante with ever more explosions, crashes, thermal blasts, topological realignments, gunfire and mano-a-mano fistfights. But the result is a punishing sense of diminishing returns and a genre that has finally reached the point of mayhem-induced exhaustion.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    Main thing I loved about the movie was, it was about the "man" part of superman instead of the "super" part. They spent one and a half hoursMain thing I loved about the movie was, it was about the "man" part of superman instead of the "super" part. They spent one and a half hours on establishing the character before engaging him in combat. Didn't rush to show us Superman but spent time on Krypton and in Clark's troubled childhood. Gave us something close to current comic book superman instead of trying to reintroduce 70's Superman like "Superman Returns". For me Man of Steel is even better than Superman (1978) and Superman 2 (1980) Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    This is the Superman movie people have been waiting years for earnest, not smirking or offering obvious fan service, no camp, no apologizingThis is the Superman movie people have been waiting years for earnest, not smirking or offering obvious fan service, no camp, no apologizing for the source material at all. The tender moments have true weight and give the viewer a sense for what goes on behind making a Superman his parents, his friends, his experiences growing up, his view on the world, ranging from the great to the terrible. The villains are introduced as evil yet not moustache-twirling caricatures. There is no fat on this movie, everything has its purpose and every character even ancillary ones are given their place in the (Earth's yellow) sun. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The filmI had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The film captures the humanity of Superman's search to be human even after finding out who he really is. David S. Goyer's screenplay perfectly reflects Kal-El's struggles and challenges growing up in today's world. Zack Snyder has managed to do the impossible, he has successfully made the Man Of Steel relevant and above all human. With a strong cast including Russel Crowe as Jor-El, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and of course Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El. Michael Shannon makes a truly menacing General Zod that you actually respect for his notions but understand his questionable motives. Overall, Man Of Steel is a pleasant surprise filled with plenty of little Easter eggs for DC fans to look out for. This is one summer blockbuster you won't want to miss, Zack Snyder has created another epic superhero masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    I was never a big fan of superman, I just thought he was a pretty generic superhero when I was a kid. this movie though, while being very slowI was never a big fan of superman, I just thought he was a pretty generic superhero when I was a kid. this movie though, while being very slow at parts, managed to make superman look epic. General Zod was a great villain also and the fight scenes were good as well. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    I am not a fan of superhero movies, but as they go, especially DC Comics, this is definitely one of the weakest and lightest. However, Man ofI am not a fan of superhero movies, but as they go, especially DC Comics, this is definitely one of the weakest and lightest. However, Man of Steel is still entertaining with really cool CGI. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    6
    i had rather high expectations for this, and I must concede myself disappointed. The movie does not flow as a well-made film should, andi had rather high expectations for this, and I must concede myself disappointed. The movie does not flow as a well-made film should, and there are many innaccuracies and oversights that make the fi;m difficult to watch. Coupled with the overlong running time, ridiculously extended battle scenes, and the 3 separate 'final' battles, you end up feeling like you just want it to end. As an action movie, it's a decent one at best. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    Critics are being too harsh on this film, but the more i think about it, the more I understand why. Unlike other recent hero films, this isn'tCritics are being too harsh on this film, but the more i think about it, the more I understand why. Unlike other recent hero films, this isn't the first film adaptation for the character, thus the general pop has differing views on how the character should be portrayed. I can understand that the alien focus on Superman can be jarring. Overall it's an above average, pretty good origin film. While It gets a bit overboard in the third act, I occasionally wished for more Clark Kent flashbacks, and the pacing is a tad iffy throughout the film, overall it's highly entertaining, and has that fantastic visual flair that only Zack Snyder can produce. The cast does a fantastic job, particularly Amy Adams who has no issue portraying the feisty-ness of Lois Lane, yet also showing a tender side we haven't seen since Margot Kidder 7/10
    One final thought on the mixed critical reception *yet positive reaction from the general public*

    Of course opinions differ from person to person but it's becoming blatantly obvious which critics wear blinders for their favorite directors and how biased film critics have become.
    Expand

See all 945 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DC Comics Movies, Ranked

    DC Comics Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: July 12, 2016
    We rank every DC Comics movie by Metascore.
  2. 15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies

    15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies Image
    Published: July 5, 2016
    While we await the verdict on the new Ghostbusters, we look back at 15 other recent film reboots that failed to match the quality of their predecessors.
  3. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 7, 2013
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers--including a last look at "Man of Steel," the first look at Woody Allen's "Blue Jasmine," and much more--and get a recap of the week's movie news.