Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2615 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind..A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind.. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Man of Steel is more than just Avengers-sized escapism; it's an artistic introduction to a movie superhero we only thought we knew.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Deploying an impeccable American accent, Brit Henry Cavill may be as charming as the late great Christopher Reeve.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    It has heft, it looks amazing, and it's businesslike to a fault.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    If this version of Superman is to have a future — as Warner Brothers seems convinced he will, having already green-lit the sequel — I hope Snyder will dial back both the casualty count and the Krypton mythmaking and instead focus on establishing a fictional Earth that’s rich enough to be worth saving.
  6. 50
    The movie isn’t dead on arrival, like Snyder’s over-reverent "Watchmen." But it’s pleasure-free.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 13, 2013
    37
    Snyder tries to up the spectacle ante with ever more explosions, crashes, thermal blasts, topological realignments, gunfire and mano-a-mano fistfights. But the result is a punishing sense of diminishing returns and a genre that has finally reached the point of mayhem-induced exhaustion.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    If there's any movie that shows just how out of touch movie critics are with movie fans, this is it. Zack Snyder had a tough job pullingIf there's any movie that shows just how out of touch movie critics are with movie fans, this is it. Zack Snyder had a tough job pulling this one off and I'm not exactly a fan of his, but this was a grand slam home run if there's ever been one. This is a must see. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel was an excellent movie, both emotionally gripping, suspenseful, and entertaining! I've seen this Movie twice and looking forwardMan of Steel was an excellent movie, both emotionally gripping, suspenseful, and entertaining! I've seen this Movie twice and looking forward to owning it on DVD. I love the Modern version of superman. His Humility, kindness and moral was moving. I cried a few times thru out the film! I love superman but this by far has got to be my favorite version! Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The filmI had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The film captures the humanity of Superman's search to be human even after finding out who he really is. David S. Goyer's screenplay perfectly reflects Kal-El's struggles and challenges growing up in today's world. Zack Snyder has managed to do the impossible, he has successfully made the Man Of Steel relevant and above all human. With a strong cast including Russel Crowe as Jor-El, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and of course Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El. Michael Shannon makes a truly menacing General Zod that you actually respect for his notions but understand his questionable motives. Overall, Man Of Steel is a pleasant surprise filled with plenty of little Easter eggs for DC fans to look out for. This is one summer blockbuster you won't want to miss, Zack Snyder has created another epic superhero masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    (Note: There are spoilers at the bottom of this review, but the top half is a simple, non-revealing review)

    Man of Steel. What can I say
    (Note: There are spoilers at the bottom of this review, but the top half is a simple, non-revealing review)

    Man of Steel. What can I say about my favorite superhero and his first action-packed genesis story? Simply amazing. Before I get hit with accusations from the purists, let me make one thing clear: it was fantastic for what it was meant to be (a super-powered exhibition). Director Zack Snyder is catching a lot of heat for the creative decisions he made for the film, but I thought they were smart choices (and no, I am not a die-hard Snyder fan). In short, the film was, in my opinion, the best Superman movie of our time. Yes, the technology that is now available to filmmakers plays a huge role in my critique; but Superman is a powerhouse of a hero that has deserved this type of platform for quite some time. I feel that any technical missteps in plot, structure, character or conception are HEAVILY trounced by cinematography, pacing, sound, setting, lightning, effects, and great execution by both the cast and the crew. Henry Cavill did a super job as our hero, and quite honestly, I don't think his performance could be criticized in any way. In short, go see this movie if you want to be thoroughly entertained by our modern day Man of Steel.

    HERE COME THE SPOILERS!!!!!

    The good:

    The film starts off in a way unique to the Superman franchise on Krypton, birthplace of our hero. The planet has been depicted in many ways over the years, often as a highly advanced aristocratic metropolis. In this film however, the technological advancements were there, but there was also a primal feel to the setting. We even see Jor-El riding a giant winged beast!

    They chose to skip over the scenes where the Kents find Kal-El in the field, as well as a lot of the back-story that we often see where he's growing up. Instead, the important moments in his life (like discovering powers, early moral decisions, or losing his adopted father) are displayed via flashbacks. This was a nice change of pace because the scenes were wisely positioned throughout the film and were only revealed when directly related to the issues he was facing in the present.

    The bad:

    As a huge fan of this production, there was very little I didn't like. However, there were some things that struck me as odd, and they mostly revolved around Lois Lane. Let me start off by saying that I think Amy Adams is a fine actress. There was nothing wrong with her performance, but it didn't feel 'right'. Perhaps I was distracted by the fact that she was not a brunette? I'm not sure how much that factored into my perception of the character, but it was definitely something I took note of. Despite this however, I thought Adams did a really good job, and the remaining issues I have with Lois are strictly not her fault. A big issue for me was how close she and Kal seemed to get throughout the course of the story, which was in actuality, a mere couple of days in length. The big romance and deep connection they seemed to have, simply did not make sense to me.

    I also am not a fan of how the two meet, which is in the "fortress of solitude". As a side note, I did not like the reimagined fortress, but I understand why it was presented to us that way. There is a Kryptonian droid of sorts guarding the fortress that strikes and hurts Kal, but when Lois is attacked by it, she manages to survive. She is injured by it, but it seems that if something can make the Man of Steel wince, it should probably straight up kill a human. Finally, if the ship is Kryptonian and operational, wouldn't the ship's atmosphere be calibrated to that of Krypton, like Zod's ship? Therefore knocking Kal unconscious? Again, I did not have huge problems with these things, I just felt like I should point them out.

    The REALLY good!

    Henry Cavill as Superman was not the right choice, it was the ONLY choice. Honestly, he killed it as Superman, there was no one else that could have done it better. The scenes that followed him in flight were gorgeous, and really made you feel like you were right up there with him. The costume was absolutely amazing, and the cape brought all the iconic glory that Superman has deserved all these years.

    The fight scenes between Superman and lieutenant Faora-Ul and the other Kryptonian were epic. The sheer power of the brawl was outstanding and it made me feel that if that fight was real, that's exactly how it would look.

    Another very cool plot point was the whole terraforming thing. The way the machine worked in the film brought a real desperation to the "end of the world" theme and it just made you root for Superman even harder.

    Other stuff:

    People are upset about Kal killing Zod, but I liked it. Snyder's explanation was that since this is an origin story, there was not enough time to properly explain why he would normally choose to not kill Zod. Since we don't have that time, Superman NEEDS to save the people. I fully get it, and it makes sense.

    In summation: GO SEE THIS! AGAIN
    Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    Man of steel doesn't need the typical introduction that I usually give a film, because this is just a retelling of the original tale. AlthoughMan of steel doesn't need the typical introduction that I usually give a film, because this is just a retelling of the original tale. Although the main difference is the villain; who is General Zod, and is told in a different way. I was excited for this movie for a while, but when the trailers started showing up; especially the: "How does Superman shave?", I started loosing interest. Seeing in how it looked like it was more focused on visuals than stories, and I wasn't too far off. With that said, this is pretty epic. Of course the visual effects are very pretty to look at, the planet Krypton is both mystic and futuristic. However the effects for the action scenes are the major problems. For a while I enjoyed watching them, but after seeing over a half an hour of superman punching people and them punching back, it gets really old and doesn't look convincing. Mainly the chick that hangs around Zod the most does this sort of super dash, which is annoying. Speaking of Superman, the actor they got was ok. He doesn't do anything that makes him likeable; I'd better explain myself before I get hated. I know he saves people which make him instantly likeable, but he doesn't have a interesting personality. Sure he protects people, but when he's not he is just sort of this serious boring guy. The other actors however were better; in my opinion, especially the guy they got for General Zod. It's a good performance; he does take some traits from the original: Terence Stamp, the character is a bit different though, but for the better I thought. It is strange in how I think they shouldn't have changed Superman's personality and yet changing Zod's is good, but at least here it makes him into an understandable villain. He was raised to be a warrior by the Kyptonian way, and is now protecting the future of the Kryptonian race. Also it's funny that Russel Crowe is like Marlon Brando from the original, in that there big stars only in minor parts, and he does okay. He doesn't take up the scene, but he does have this wise man routine down pretty well. The other supporting cast like Lois are fine; in that she doesn't male any negative impressions, but nothing great. With all that said, I still enjoyed watching this movie. I like the action at certain parts, the drama is good and is even great at times, and the actors do an okay job overall. This is definitely worth your money. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I became of Zack Snyder fan with Watchmen, a film that is very near and dear to my heart. I was totally excited when I heard that he was making MOS, and became more so as the trailers were trickled out. MOS is an unusual movie and part of that feeling may come from its otherworldly music score. It wastes no time at all and gets to the meat of the story quickly, giving it a kind of dense feel. However, there are points in the movie that are hard to digest. The plot always finds a contrived way of getting Lois Lane in all of Superman's set pieces on board a space ship, in the tundra, in Kansas she never far behind. She might as well have been in the Zod fights. Also, Superman's never flown until the events of this movie?! I give Snyder huge credit for making this movie all his own, it's different in the same way Tim Burton made Batman in his own vision. I had fun, see this movie but don't nit pick its odd parts. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    0
    this is the worst superman i ever seen. this is not superman at all. the story is so far off from the original film.
    and he is so geeky,
    this is the worst superman i ever seen. this is not superman at all. the story is so far off from the original film.
    and he is so geeky, trying to be mucho. the original superman is more charming, brave, heroic.
    the new superman never saves anyone, he is crashing buildings and dont care about the people, that is not superman. NO, THE MOVIE WAS JUST STUPID!!! the only good in it was the special effects.
    Expand

See all 857 User Reviews

Trailers