Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2502 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Man of Steel is more than just Avengers-sized escapism; it's an artistic introduction to a movie superhero we only thought we knew.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Deploying an impeccable American accent, Brit Henry Cavill may be as charming as the late great Christopher Reeve.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    It has heft, it looks amazing, and it's businesslike to a fault.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    If this version of Superman is to have a future — as Warner Brothers seems convinced he will, having already green-lit the sequel — I hope Snyder will dial back both the casualty count and the Krypton mythmaking and instead focus on establishing a fictional Earth that’s rich enough to be worth saving.
  6. 50
    The movie isn’t dead on arrival, like Snyder’s over-reverent "Watchmen." But it’s pleasure-free.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 13, 2013
    37
    Snyder tries to up the spectacle ante with ever more explosions, crashes, thermal blasts, topological realignments, gunfire and mano-a-mano fistfights. But the result is a punishing sense of diminishing returns and a genre that has finally reached the point of mayhem-induced exhaustion.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Want to get pumped up for Man of Steel? Do yourself a favor and watch Superman Returns right before watching Man of Steel.

    I watched
    Superman Returns when it came out in 2006 and thought it was boring. Never understood why it was highly rated by critics. I watched it again yesterday to compare it with Man of Steel today. Holy crap, Man of Steel was awesome. Action was amazing and story was well thought out. Things weren't perfect and a common complaint was lack of character development, but I honestly think they probably left some of the developing to an inevitable sequel.

    The tone of the movie was serious, but not emo and super sad like the critics say. I think critics are just way too used to the somewhat lightheartedness of Marvel movies, especially Robert Downey Jr.'s Tony Stark. If you're one of the many that were disappointed with Iron Man 3 because there was too much Tony Stark being a detective or whatever and not enough Iron Man, then you'll love and appreciate Man of Steel.

    Ending of the movie was a bit shocking to me, but I definitely didn't hate it. All in all, the BEST movie of the summer for me. The critics' ratings for this movie pretty much solidifies my theory that they generally can't be trusted except for maybe comedies and Oscar type movies. I think critics liked Superman Returns because it reminded them of Superman I and II and they liked Iron Man 3 because they like them some Robert Downey Jr. If you want to look at ratings for summer blockbusters, then go look at the user scores. Currently 8.7 for Man of Steel and 6.6 for Iron Man 3. Enough said.

    P.S. If you can, then watch the movie in IMAX like I did. NOT IMAX 3D or regular 3D. Always thought 3D was pointless and just not good, realistic enough. IMAX does somewhat enhance the overall clarity of watching an action movie and the sound is better.
    Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Man of steel is truly a master piece. Snider has revived an amazing hero universe and made it special. The critics have called this film average but the public love it. This film is a piece of art. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The film captures the humanity of Superman's search to be human even after finding out who he really is. David S. Goyer's screenplay perfectly reflects Kal-El's struggles and challenges growing up in today's world. Zack Snyder has managed to do the impossible, he has successfully made the Man Of Steel relevant and above all human. With a strong cast including Russel Crowe as Jor-El, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and of course Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El. Michael Shannon makes a truly menacing General Zod that you actually respect for his notions but understand his questionable motives. Overall, Man Of Steel is a pleasant surprise filled with plenty of little Easter eggs for DC fans to look out for. This is one summer blockbuster you won't want to miss, Zack Snyder has created another epic superhero masterpiece. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    My biggest issue with this movie is that the fight scenes went on way too long. Other than that, best Superman movie I’ve seen. It is what a Superman movie should be. Plenty action, great story, introduced Krypton nicely and flashbacks were really cool. Compared to Superman Returns, Man Of Steel is far superior. It's such a good elseworld movie, this is not the Superman of the comics, people die in this movie. Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    The film begins with a fantastic action packed introduction on Krypton and it is truly a thrilling start to the film and the segment from when Kal-El arrives on earth to when he takes on the role of Superman succeeds in keeping the audience entertained through an origin story they have already seen before. One of the film's greatest attributes is the decisions and directions it takes in how to tell this iconic story. However the same cannot be said about the execution of these great ideas as there is not enough time given to develop them further. Once Kal-El finally puts on the suit things really start to pick up and the action really is outstanding despite occasionally dragging on for too long particularly in the final fight. Another gripe I had with the film is that there are only about four characters that get enough screen time and development which leaves actors such as Lawrence Fishburne not getting a chance to shine. All performances are good in this film and Henry Cavill does a great job in the lead but Russell Crowe's Jor-El is an obvious stand out here. Man of Steel is a good and much needed reboot of Superman that keeps the majority of the audience entertained. Despite a few flaws that hold the film back from being truly great Man of Steel is certainly lots of fun and could definitely be the launching pad for a franchise Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    What the film does well is set tone and deliver a story that is equally grounded, interesting, and enjoyable. Unfortunately, the film suffers from a number of technical shortcomings that may break the experience for some. After the film's opening sequence on Krypton, the Man of Steal focuses on Clark's journey to find a place in the only world he has ever known. To show the hardships that young Clark endured, flashbacks are used, generally showing different points in Clark's youth as he struggled to deal with his differences. The film then jumps back to adult Clark, as he wonders the United States, looking for some clue as to his origins and what his purpose in life may be. While both the past and present stories are interesting, the movie never stops to allow the audience time to really take in what is happening on screen. The scenes between young Clark and his Earth father are particularly endearing, but the audience is never really afforded time to absorb and appreciate the importance of their relationship. Instead, viewers are allowed a small sequence of dialogue, before they are jarred back in the present where adult Clark is in a completely different situation than he was the last time we saw him. In fact, the film plays leap frog over itself through half of the movie, trying to tell two stories at the cost of making both of them feel hollow.
    The second half of the movie is much more focused but highlights another major flaw in The Man of Steel: The action was disappointing. Some time in the production of the Man of Steel, Snyder and Co. decided that they needed action. Lots and LOTS of action. Bigger is better right? In this case, no. What starts off as over the top fighting, soon becomes a series of monotone action sequences lost in a white noise of fallen buildings and explosions. There came a point in the film's final battle where I became completely bored with the demi-gods that were battling on screen. Instead of fighting hand to hand, the Man of Steel's Superman (and its villains) generally just throw each other around. Usually through sky scrapers and chain restaurants. Seriously, if you watch it, count how many times somebody throws someone else through, into, or at a building. Though there is always a place for over the top action in the Super Hero genre, the inclusion of more technical hand-to-hand fighting (In addition to the 'splosions) would have broken up the action while making Superman seem like more of a fighter and less of a brutish brawler.
    So, action and story aside, who is the Man of Steel's Superman? To my surprise, he was surprisingly human. Though he is 100% good guy, Superman is not the virtuous boyscout you may know from other versions of the hero. TMOS presents a Superman that is man first and extraterrestrial super-hero second. He isn't completely sure of himself nor his actions. This leads to one of the most surprise (and controversial) endings to a Super Hero movie to date. Superman's ability to be fallible adds a texture to the character that is rarely seen and becomes easily one of the most enjoyable parts of the film.
    All in all, The Man of Steel is an Okay movie. It gets a lot of things right but never seems to overcome its glaring flaws. Superman has never been more relatable and perhaps with the origin out of the way, the next outing by Snyder and DC will be much more enjoyable.
    Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2014
    0
    Movie even worse second time, you start ti wonder why do they do this? CGI nightmare, stolen scenes from other movies. Like 4th of July, Doc Oct, Loki mop scene fro. avengers, big robot looking villain walking down small town scene.

    The acting was terrible, I think one of the worse lois lane characters ever, Perry White awful and bad scenes. Same story written again about supermans beginning boring.

    Everyone knows who superman is the cops even went by his house. The fact that he didn't save his father was crazy period.

    CGi awful, a lot of destruction, even the Characters in front if the CGI background looked more like a game then a movie. Just nit good. Not sure why it gets some good reviews at all?

    The story was bad, from the beginning. Typical Hollywood goons can't make a DC franchise good. Enough of the origins of superman already.
    Expand

See all 826 User Reviews

Trailers