Man on a Ledge

Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jan 26, 2012
    75
    Man on a Ledge doesn't aim high, but what it aims to do, it does. It grabs the audience's attention, engages its anxieties, stokes its resentments and, at the finish, sends people out saying, "That was good."
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Jan 26, 2012
    70
    Leth moves lightly and briskly, streamlining the weird material into something elemental and true; he's also assembled a knockout supporting cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jan 26, 2012
    65
    Either in spite of or because of its whimsically convincing quality, Man on a Ledge is reasonably fun to watch along the way.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 25, 2012
    63
    On balance, Man on a Ledge is fun, but I left the theater feeling disappointed and cheated, as if the filmmakers set me up for something great they ultimately couldn't deliver.
  5. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Jan 26, 2012
    60
    The ending, for instance, is so ridiculously tidy it squeaks. But en route to its kitchen-sink climax, "Man" manages to both amuse and provoke, to cleave to convention and promote ideas.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jan 26, 2012
    60
    It's fun in a perverse way; the viewer gets to experience a vivid sense of what it feels like to occupy a pigeon-poop smeared piece of stone high in the sky.
  7. 60
    Clichés and thin thrillers are what we can expect from January releases and while Man on a Ledge has predictability to spare, it also has something that makes your time spent worthwhile: legitimate suspense.
  8. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jan 27, 2012
    50
    As in the mindless Man on a Ledge, the hero is never really in danger, we're the ones who are trapped.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jan 27, 2012
    50
    As ridiculous as it is, Man on a Ledge isn't a movie that requires suspension of disbelief. It requires the absolute absence of it.
  10. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Jan 27, 2012
    50
    The film aims for Hitchcock and gets a bit turned around; we're The Audience That Knew Too Much.
  11. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    None of it rings true, except perhaps the presence of an ambitious local TV news reporter (Kyra Sedgwick) who begins recording every macabre moment with relish.
  12. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    In Man on a Ledge, Leth does well in taking us to dizzying heights. If only he had found a way to ground that thrill in some real pathos as well.
  13. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    The supporting players in Man on a Ledge bring more to the party than the leads, and my suspension of disbelief seems to have gotten hung up in traffic while attempting to cross the suspension-of-disbelief bridge from the Brooklyn side.
  14. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 25, 2012
    50
    The movie cuts back and forth between two preposterous plot lines and uses the man on the ledge as a device to pump up the tension.
  15. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jan 25, 2012
    50
    Despite the occasional dumb fun - especially with the heist portions - the leap of logic required to make it all work is enough to leave your brain pancaked on the sidewalk.
  16. 50
    To his credit, director Asger Leth (Ghosts of Cite Soleil) gets right to the business at hand where the set-up is concerned, but it's in the execution that this would-be thriller falls flat.
  17. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jan 23, 2012
    50
    This cloddishly contrived suspenser is too busy to bore, but too farfetched to thrill, combining routine heist-thriller machinations with dialogue that often thuds like a body hitting asphalt.
  18. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 25, 2012
    42
    Man on a Ledge makes bigger leaps of logic than Nick will if he fails a gravity test. If the transparent sting springing him from Sing Sing doesn't roll your eyes, then wait for the climax when Nick becomes a kind of plainclothes Spider-Man.
  19. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jan 26, 2012
    40
    Screenwriter Pablo Fenjves start with a promising premise, and the opening scenes are taut and suspenseful. A late-day chase scene picks up the sagging middle, but Leth totally fumbles what should be the movie's biggest moment.
  20. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 26, 2012
    40
    Too bad. You sense that someone could have made a good movie with this material. Unfortunately, Leth didn't.
  21. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 25, 2012
    40
    In the end it's all much ado about not so much, a semifunctional thriller that tingles but never terrifies. Ledge schmedge.
  22. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Jan 24, 2012
    40
    Trusting an action drone like Worthington to anchor the human drama is a fatal mistake. With him perched on that narrow slab of concrete, it's only a matter of time before the film plummets.
  23. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jan 27, 2012
    38
    Man on a Ledge has its diverting moments, but by the time it has reached its too-pat final twist, it turns out to be a title desperately in search of a movie.
  24. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jan 27, 2012
    38
    What follows is a jumble of cop- and heist-movie clichés, dotted with appearances by actors you liked in something else.
  25. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jan 26, 2012
    38
    More often the film succumbs to clichés, grows convoluted and outlandish, and winds up dead on arrival.
  26. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jan 26, 2012
    38
    You could cast this movie with potato chips and still get cheers when one of the bad guys is cuffed. It doesn't matter that none of it is to be believed.
  27. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jan 25, 2012
    38
    The script is a hot mess of the highest order, taking some of the stalest chestnuts in the long, venerated legacy of the framed-cop-trying-to-clear-his-name genre and somehow f---ing it up, in scene after scene after scene.
  28. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 25, 2012
    33
    As the plot unfolds, brick by brick, the structure starts to wobble until it finally collapses into unintentional comedy.
  29. Reviewed by: Brian Miller
    Jan 24, 2012
    30
    Worthington wouldn't know how to behave if the film were a comedy; and poor Banks, after a promising, "Young Adult"–style introduction, isn't allowed to goose the script or push beyond the glass ceiling of her character.
  30. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 27, 2012
    25
    The shopworn script by Pablo F. Fenjves, who ghost-wrote the unpublished O.J. Simpson book, If I Did It: The Confessions of the Killer, gets no help from director Asger Leth (Ghosts of Cite Soleil).
  31. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 26, 2012
    25
    Man on a Ledge just made me think of an old Van Halen song: Jump.
  32. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Rarely has a film exhibited a bigger disconnect between urban realism and utter ludicrousness.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    6
    "Man on a Ledge" doesn't really satisfy the huge premise it promises to the audience, but it does fairly better than most (tasteless)"Man on a Ledge" doesn't really satisfy the huge premise it promises to the audience, but it does fairly better than most (tasteless) thrillers out there. Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    This is one of the most underrated movies I have ever seen. Are you kidding me? I literally sat on the edge of my seat for most the movie. TheThis is one of the most underrated movies I have ever seen. Are you kidding me? I literally sat on the edge of my seat for most the movie. The action sequences were well shot, and, for a modern thriller, the plot is pretty logical. I don't see the plot holes the critics were talking about. Anyone who didn't enjoy this has something up their a**. Hating on movies for no reason. Overall, this movie was very entertaining, and I find it very hard to believe that it didn't receive a higher user score. I mean, critics are a bunch of gay-lords so I may understand that the lack of gay characters, and the abundance of hot women (Elizabeth Banks, and Genesis Rodriguez anyone?) may have put them off... Also, there is no vague pseudo-art for them to praise here, just an adrenaline rush from beginning to end. Also, I have to respond to some of the sad reviews in here:
    smoman03 and scrieciu: Fair reviewing means disregarding any preconceived-notions and expectations you may have had about the movie or whatever you are reviewing. gunnyart: please point out the holes in the plot, my IQ is 160 and I have gotten an A in my directing class at UCI and I didn't see any such holes that can't be logically explained, being a smart-ass is so popular these days...
    racketracer: If you admit it is a decent movie why did you give it a 4?? Which makes me wonder about the average brain power of user-reviewers...
    timbosabo: You managed to nap through the movie, but still pay attention to kyra sedgwicks wardrobe?? Says something about you in my opinion.
    Florencewong: I don't know you but, just by reading the first sentence of your review, I find you irritating.
    HelenK: I know you are not married yet because you sound unattractive, otherwise, why would you dislike a decent marriage proposal scene (not the best, but decent)... Cringing? If this movie made you cringe I wonder how other things make you feel...
    snazzyjuice: Cliche? nothing about the story is cliche. Just because you read the word "cliche" in a review somewhere doesn't you know understand how to use it. I'm trying very hard not to insult you further.
    Rustshackleford: Hmm. Reviewing acting are you? I have nothing more to say...
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2012
    6
    Could have been better. Just glad this was not a two hour documentary of an actual man on a ledge. Really how much action can you have with aCould have been better. Just glad this was not a two hour documentary of an actual man on a ledge. Really how much action can you have with a Man on a Ledge? Full Review »