Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: April 23, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 314 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
285
Mixed:
22
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 19, 2011
Powered with beautifully frenzied cinematography and poignant performances by Fanning and Washington, "Man on Fire" is a unstoppable train advancing to the audience with mighty, brazen force.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JayH.Jan 20, 2008
One of Denzel Washington's greatest films. Second only to American Gangster and perhaps Training Day.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
GHopp8May 15, 2013
An amazing performance from Denzel Washington makes what would have been an all right movie, into a movie that will be memorable for time to come. This amazing true story of a mans love and retribution inspire and entertain to the end.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JonathanD.Jan 1, 2008
This movie is absolutely perfect the art direction is the best ive ever seen, the acting is top notch and this is one of the most emotionally engrossing movie ive ever seen... i rarely get upset at a movie and this movie i was almost in This movie is absolutely perfect the art direction is the best ive ever seen, the acting is top notch and this is one of the most emotionally engrossing movie ive ever seen... i rarely get upset at a movie and this movie i was almost in tears at the end. Critics really did miss the boat... the only downfall was the length... but i cant find a scene to take out so i think the length was necessary. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ReviewGuyXOct 6, 2013
Another master-class movie with Denzel Washington as the movie's biggest highlight. He plays as Crease,
a skilled combatant entrusted with the task to protect a little girl; Pita. He is a force that should be feared; especially when you
Another master-class movie with Denzel Washington as the movie's biggest highlight. He plays as Crease,
a skilled combatant entrusted with the task to protect a little girl; Pita. He is a force that should be feared; especially when you don't give him answers.

It's clear that most professional critics are cynical They see a man sadistically brutalising kidnappers for answers; I see a man doing the right thing. Those people were criminals. Plus, if you were smart, you would realise that not once did he take pleasure in torturing his targets. In fact, he was more hesitant in doing so. He merely took the measures that were required. If someone you cared for; Pita in this instance, was taken away by these sick bastards, would you just try to talk to them for information? Treat them nicely? Don't kid yourself, I'm sure you would result in brutality out of desperation.

In saying that, Man On Fire is an excellent movie for its dramatic depth and moral.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ChrisSMar 31, 2009
This movie was way better than the critics gave it credit for! I think they are simply jealous of Tony Scott.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MrThehammer171May 16, 2013
an amazing movie that critics under rate dont listen to them giving it average it was perfect buy this movie on blu ray you and see what you think ok
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ZackL.Jan 20, 2006
An amazing acheivement by Tony Scott. I dont know how in hell Man on Fire got a 47 average on metacritic, but I completely disagree. I am normally a hard reviewer, but this movie just blew me away. The presentation, the story, the visuals, An amazing acheivement by Tony Scott. I dont know how in hell Man on Fire got a 47 average on metacritic, but I completely disagree. I am normally a hard reviewer, but this movie just blew me away. The presentation, the story, the visuals, the acting, you name it... This is destined to be a classic Revenge movie. It's just that good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichD.Sep 3, 2005
I like movies that are unapologetically what they are supposed to be, and this is an anti-hero action movie done well. Denzel is a bad??? with a heart of gold reopened by a charming Dakota Fanning, and, when the inevitable kidnapping occurs, I like movies that are unapologetically what they are supposed to be, and this is an anti-hero action movie done well. Denzel is a bad??? with a heart of gold reopened by a charming Dakota Fanning, and, when the inevitable kidnapping occurs, Denzel does exactly what you'd hope he would - rips Mexico City apart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveP.Feb 10, 2006
OK the acting was alright, the script, naaa, the story was not origanal. but this is the frist time i will give a film a 10 out of 10 because of the way it was shot. THIS MOVIE IS EYE CANDY. the use of color filters really fits the mood of OK the acting was alright, the script, naaa, the story was not origanal. but this is the frist time i will give a film a 10 out of 10 because of the way it was shot. THIS MOVIE IS EYE CANDY. the use of color filters really fits the mood of every seen, they way to light shines in your face, it's overwelming and Beautiful. even the subtitle were cool. yah that's right subtitles, instead of running along the bottom they pop up in ranbom spots. the directory of photogerphy for this film should be concidered an artist. if only all films were shot this way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.May 11, 2007
This movie is one of my favorites. Tony Scott is a good director, who has an extremely large amount of potential, and while Man on Fire shows off his skills, i still feel Scoott hasn't quite made his masterpiece. Excellent movie, highly This movie is one of my favorites. Tony Scott is a good director, who has an extremely large amount of potential, and while Man on Fire shows off his skills, i still feel Scoott hasn't quite made his masterpiece. Excellent movie, highly reccommend it to anyone. Expect more, and better, from Tony Scott...just not Deja Vu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
R.DalviMar 23, 2006
Good film. Entertains and don't look for logic. Also is not that violent. Dakota Fanning and Denzel rock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kwApr 12, 2006
Looking past the oddities of the editing (especially the subtitles) is easy enough when you see Washington do what he does with this great characer in this pic. People who cannot wrap themselves up in what Creasy is going through are not Looking past the oddities of the editing (especially the subtitles) is easy enough when you see Washington do what he does with this great characer in this pic. People who cannot wrap themselves up in what Creasy is going through are not strong enough to really look at their lives; how they are making decisions that may cause God not to forgive them almost daily. Sure, it's not pleasant to think about, but we are all men on fire at times. When you are crossed and know there is only one way to set things right, will you have the courage to do it? If you don't like this movie, the answer is no. Go lay back on the couch, have another Tums, and call your mommy. This film makes us ask ourselves a lot of questions like this, and the gutless need not apply. . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ARAug 31, 2006
A feell good film with a twist! Senzel Washington shows just how diverse he can be, great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jaydDec 20, 2008
Forget what the critics say, there profession is over-rated anyway becides there all a bunch of fat people with a few posh words. This movie is great to watch for a night in, unique, emotional, and realisticly, maybe.........probably true, Forget what the critics say, there profession is over-rated anyway becides there all a bunch of fat people with a few posh words. This movie is great to watch for a night in, unique, emotional, and realisticly, maybe.........probably true, meaning the methods of interrogation outside the law. My opinion along with everyone i know who has seen this movie, " I regret that movie critics should professionally exist! " :D 9/10 - high recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidWMay 4, 2009
This is one of my top 10 favorite movies in the last 10 years. I am a pretty harsh judge of movies too. The only flaw that I can see with this movie is that it is drastically overstylized but I dont have too much of a problem with it. The This is one of my top 10 favorite movies in the last 10 years. I am a pretty harsh judge of movies too. The only flaw that I can see with this movie is that it is drastically overstylized but I dont have too much of a problem with it. The action is great, the suspense is great, the acting is very good. It has all the makings of a good action movie and makes me tingle every time I watch it because of the strong emotions in the movie. Denzel delievers a performance of a life time playing a burned-out ex-FBI agent. If I was going to watch an action movie with some substance I would definitely choose this one 8.6/10 The visuals are funky but they fit with the overly stylized music and plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidZ.Aug 14, 2006
Very good film -- the critics missed the boat, perhaps because revenge movies are not PC.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AngelH.Jul 19, 2007
I cannot believe some of the scores from the professional reviewers. Were they watching the same film! Okay the film has some flaws but was always watchable and had another very good performance from Denzel Washington and Dakota Fanning who I cannot believe some of the scores from the professional reviewers. Were they watching the same film! Okay the film has some flaws but was always watchable and had another very good performance from Denzel Washington and Dakota Fanning who is turning into an excellent actress. Some of the revenge killings may have seemed a little over the top and I'm not a great lover of Mr Scotts visual trickery which IMO derailed the middle segment of the film. However I cared about the characters and the relationship between Denzel seeking redemption and Dakota bringing a little light into his soul is very believable. The anger that he feels at the turn of events is and how he reacts because of his past as the only way he knows how. Altogether its an interesting blend of violence, emotion, humanity and also very heartwarming in places. It might not be a masterpiece but it was an excellent way to spend a couple of hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Nov 28, 2005
One half good redemption drama, one half SWEET epic revenge, and a touch of true, sacrificial heroism. 47? This movie could go for an oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TokyochuchuAug 21, 2012
John W. Creasy's masterpiece may well be death but Tony Scott's masterpiece is Man on Fire. This is a movie that makes you so upset and furious with the villains that you want to start smashing things. Then it unleashes a growling DenzelJohn W. Creasy's masterpiece may well be death but Tony Scott's masterpiece is Man on Fire. This is a movie that makes you so upset and furious with the villains that you want to start smashing things. Then it unleashes a growling Denzel Washington to do just that. I can't think of any other movie that uses extreme violence as a tool for such deep catharsis. That actually sounds impossible but Man on Fire is so well constructed that every bullet fired makes you want to shed another tear. Absolutely perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mbrowndJul 15, 2011
Very surprised that the critics gave such low reviews for a classic Denzel film. Saw this a couple of weeks ago for the first time, was shocked I missed this. Great plot and always nervous of what will happen next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nomad4lifeOct 16, 2011
This has become one of my favouite movies of all time. From the great soundtrack, the awesome cinematography/editing and the performances of the actors this film ticks all the boxes. Dakota Fanning is unbelievably good for her age and DenzelThis has become one of my favouite movies of all time. From the great soundtrack, the awesome cinematography/editing and the performances of the actors this film ticks all the boxes. Dakota Fanning is unbelievably good for her age and Denzel lives up to his usual standard. The first half of the film is quite slow but it is required in order to create the backstory of the Creasey/Peta relationship. Once the action kicks in the film really takes off. If I had one criticism, which I'm finding hard, it's that the film could be more violent. The first act of revenge is the most violent so after that it's a bit of a letdown. The ending could have you in tears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oliver1hApr 2, 2013
Beside the annoying editing and shaky-camera effect, Mr. Denzel's portrayal of a tormented man seeking revenge make this a worth watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Featuring a moving performance from both Washington and Fanning, "Man On Fire" proves to be a frenetic, violent, and engraining experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LansdenrsMay 17, 2013
This truly is one of the most touching and best movies of all time!
Denzel does a great job along with the rest of the cast. This movie made me ball. Lisa Gerrard does a excellent job with the music!

I love this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AGarcia732Dec 8, 2013
Gritty, violent, and action-packed, Man On Fire showcases Denzel Washington's acting talent. Maybe it was a bit too violent, but it's an R-movie.

The acting and cinematography was great. Reminds me of Taken.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscSep 26, 2014
" Denzel Washington's performance is Action pack , fun the best film in his career ". It's obviously that Washington is the legend of acting in all of his films which critics like it or not. I love it when Denzel is in one of his dramatic" Denzel Washington's performance is Action pack , fun the best film in his career ". It's obviously that Washington is the legend of acting in all of his films which critics like it or not. I love it when Denzel is in one of his dramatic action pack thriller's Training Day , The Equalizer , Inside man , american gangsters , and Flight. Also good directing from Tony Scott. Denzel Washington made it happen and director Tony scott made it happen to. Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Mosh603Nov 24, 2014
Man on Fire is a pretty basic revenge tale, although I enjoyed the movie. I felt as if the movie did a good job at building the relationship between the two main characters, and took the needed time to do it. My largest complaint about theMan on Fire is a pretty basic revenge tale, although I enjoyed the movie. I felt as if the movie did a good job at building the relationship between the two main characters, and took the needed time to do it. My largest complaint about the movie is that it utilizes too many frame-effects for crucial scenes. The director was trying too hard to be artsy. Although the effects fit in certain scenes, it was over done.

Plot: 7.5/10
Acting/Cast: 8/10
Script/Dialogue: 8/10
Visual Effects: 6/10
Soundtrack: 10/10
Themes: 8/10

Overall, I would recommend this movie. It is worth a watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
notlawMar 21, 2015
AWESOME movie this one has abit of age now but is still one of my favourite movies, Washington and Fanning do a fantastic job and it has a great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bjorno2112Jun 27, 2015
Denzel Washington & Dakota Fanning display an amazing performance, from the beginning to the end. The music fits the atmosphere, the dialogue can make you cringe, and or feel sorrow for the main characters. P.S -critics are stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
Truly an underrated movie, Man on Fire is great movie that is loved by fans but not so much by critics. Even thought the editing of Man on Fire looks odd, this movie does such a great job with the chemistry between Denizel Washington andTruly an underrated movie, Man on Fire is great movie that is loved by fans but not so much by critics. Even thought the editing of Man on Fire looks odd, this movie does such a great job with the chemistry between Denizel Washington and Dakota Fanning and characterizing Washington's character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews