Discovery Films | Release Date: July 25, 2008
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 128 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
109
Mixed:
13
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 15, 2011
"Man On Wire" is a documentary filled with joy and tension. It makes you feel as you are the characters and in the situation they are experiencing. The film's light pace also doesn't disappoint other movie geeks who expect fast ones. A"Man On Wire" is a documentary filled with joy and tension. It makes you feel as you are the characters and in the situation they are experiencing. The film's light pace also doesn't disappoint other movie geeks who expect fast ones. A amusing documentary in general that you might want to see. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AilbheS.Nov 23, 2008
Moving captivating and highly entertaining.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jdicksteihnApr 14, 2012
It's about a man's pursuit of his dream to walk on a tight rope between the World Trade Center towers. The story and characters are compelling enough on their own. But Marsh matches visuals to music in a way that makes this story more aIt's about a man's pursuit of his dream to walk on a tight rope between the World Trade Center towers. The story and characters are compelling enough on their own. But Marsh matches visuals to music in a way that makes this story more a work of art than a retelling. This movie owned me the first time I saw it. And I watch it again from time to time to remind myself how to dream. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeAug 26, 2016
Visual, inspiring, creative, and filled with so many surprises, Man on Wire doesn't mean it's just a documentary. It had amazing results from the start to the end. You'll love it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GarrettC.Jan 5, 2009
Viseral, real, inspireing, true artistry. I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.L.W.Oct 9, 2008
A bizarre story of a bizarre man... told perfectly. Definitely see this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuMAug 22, 2008
The best documentary I've seen. Totally gripping and inspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AvidH.Jan 6, 2009
If this movie were made up, it would be rubbish. As a true tale, it achieves the state of magnificence. What an event. Bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SibylJul 25, 2008
Though I recall Phillippe Petit's walk between the Towers and also sat under his high wire one New Years at St. John the Divine (yes, I'm a fan), I was moved, enthralled, dazzled, by the film's story of how he and his gang so Though I recall Phillippe Petit's walk between the Towers and also sat under his high wire one New Years at St. John the Divine (yes, I'm a fan), I was moved, enthralled, dazzled, by the film's story of how he and his gang so carefully plotted and planned their stunt. Yes, thank you Phillippe and thank you James Marsh, for inspiring us to art, freedom, joy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimR.Aug 10, 2008
A truly great film about an inspiring human being! I'm speechless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SkiltyL.Aug 12, 2008
One of the most life-affirming films ever! Thanks, Philippe Petit for reminding me that life should be lived to the edge!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanC.Sep 12, 2008
Before I went, I couldn't imagine how a documentary about a tight rope walker would be this entertaining and engrossing. I was dubious when all the critics were so enthusiastic, but they were right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertI.Jan 10, 2009
An daring act that evokes emotion, even now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyV.Jan 23, 2009
Philippe is a emotionally captivating story-teller, and meeting him through the film is worth every penny. The story was surprisingly moving, and beautifully personifies the French ideal of "beauty" and "art". Upon completing the feat, Philippe is a emotionally captivating story-teller, and meeting him through the film is worth every penny. The story was surprisingly moving, and beautifully personifies the French ideal of "beauty" and "art". Upon completing the feat, people kept asking why they did it and with their French ideals they didn't understand why there had to be a reason - it was art-beauty, nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
williamCJan 28, 2009
Very watchable. I was surprised since the subject matter is something I had no interest in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hollycFeb 23, 2009
This is a thoroughly awesome yet subtly moving documentary on Phillip Petit's wirewalk of the WTC towers in 1974. I think Ebert's review log line kind of sets the right description for the way "Man on Wire" sits with you. 9/11 is This is a thoroughly awesome yet subtly moving documentary on Phillip Petit's wirewalk of the WTC towers in 1974. I think Ebert's review log line kind of sets the right description for the way "Man on Wire" sits with you. 9/11 is understood throughout but never explicitly mentioned and with good reason. It is a story of the triumph of creativity, art and life in the face of death and destruction. Bravo Marsh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimmySoDec 21, 2008
Song of Innocence
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkH.Dec 25, 2008
Best documentary of 2008! Very entertaining! A good caper flick, not a boring "how they did it" History Channel program.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RiaR.Dec 28, 2008
Extremely unusual, extremely inspiring. In a Prozac era, it is so uplifting to see someone with such a lust for life; someone who really experiences life as beautiful. What an unusual person!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaSep 21, 2008
Mesmerizing, incredible photography, incredible conception.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarryP.Dec 17, 2008
The fact that the Twin Towers are there no more lends this film a depth and weight it would not have had were it simply the celebration of a self-absorbed artist's biggest caper/production. Moments of pure magic - the walk itself - are The fact that the Twin Towers are there no more lends this film a depth and weight it would not have had were it simply the celebration of a self-absorbed artist's biggest caper/production. Moments of pure magic - the walk itself - are its redemption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimmyD.Dec 21, 2008
Surprisingly exciting. A great thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Christopher_G2Apr 14, 2014
This documentary about the amazing process in how a very compelling man managed to tight rope walk from one World Trade Center building to the other decades after the event is my favorite documentary of the entire decade from 2000 to 2009.This documentary about the amazing process in how a very compelling man managed to tight rope walk from one World Trade Center building to the other decades after the event is my favorite documentary of the entire decade from 2000 to 2009. The whole sequence of events is fascinating, and every character, not just the main one, is interesting to watch. A must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SimoneRApr 23, 2011
This movie is all about what art is : When somebody says something is impossible - let us begin with it. The artistic creativity of an artist is always a balancing act over the rules in human society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
napstrpsxMar 19, 2013
8.5/10 Despite a couple of flaws, relatively speaking a great film.

Miss: While not a long movie, it could have been trimmed up a bit. It's an undeniably beautiful story, but I did find it a bit self-indulgent at times. Hit: Everything
8.5/10 Despite a couple of flaws, relatively speaking a great film.

Miss: While not a long movie, it could have been trimmed up a bit. It's an undeniably beautiful story, but I did find it a bit self-indulgent at times.

Hit: Everything else about the film is very good, and I would recommend it to anyone. It's pretty amazing how much vintage footage is used in the film documenting everything from the construction of the twin towers to Phillipe practicing his tightrope skills and interacting with his friends. Everyone involved with the events being told gives are able to give some fascinating first-hand accounts. I enjoyed watching this film because it is an intimate look into the mind of someone who is very different than the average person. Phillipe had life-long goals and relentlessly pursued them, doing things that most of us could never imagine doing ourselves. This is a film I will remember for quite some time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spielbrick90Oct 27, 2011
'Man On Wire' is and interesting story about an interesting man who is doing interesting stuff. I watched the documentry on the television and was pulled in to the film and actually couldn't turn the television off, I kind of couldn't walk'Man On Wire' is and interesting story about an interesting man who is doing interesting stuff. I watched the documentry on the television and was pulled in to the film and actually couldn't turn the television off, I kind of couldn't walk over to the remote, I was just so concentrated, I was just staring at the television. A epic in documentry history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawAug 15, 2012
From UK director James Marsh, this Academy award BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE winner is a distinguishing of its own kind, it marvellously mends the interview with a re-enactment of the electrifying tightrope routine performed in World Trade Centre
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AutiTakahashiAug 1, 2012
I look at the movie's poster and instantly notice a man whose life is dependent upon that thin, almost invisible wire. That man is Philippe Petit, and on August 7, 1974, he was arrested for trespassing. More specifically, he walked, knelt,I look at the movie's poster and instantly notice a man whose life is dependent upon that thin, almost invisible wire. That man is Philippe Petit, and on August 7, 1974, he was arrested for trespassing. More specifically, he walked, knelt, and danced on a wire he and his friends connected between the Twin Towers. I have a curiosity for extraordinary human feats and a phobia for heights, and the sight of Mr. Petit on that wire was one of the most beautiful and freighting things I have ever seen.
I think that it's obvious that he succeeded since you cannot arrest a dead man. We all know that what he did was truly remarkable but what confounds many is his reason in doing it. Before I saw "Man on Wire", I stared at the poster, wondering what type of individual would do this, to risk a life so much that a wrong step could end it. Crazy was the word I thought of that would describe it the best, and then I watched the movie.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/man-on-wire-movie-review/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JwvFeb 3, 2014
Great documentary with a delicious directness

A great documentary that left me thinking about my own life and dreams. Not only the content and larger-than-life feat performed in the movie are its strong points, but also the directness and
Great documentary with a delicious directness

A great documentary that left me thinking about my own life and dreams. Not only the content and larger-than-life feat performed in the movie are its strong points, but also the directness and authenticity of the interviews with the people involved in the stunt. The strength in this is that it doesn't make the documentary something far-off, distant and unrealistic idealistic, but rather something very close.

In my opinion, the scenes should have been rearranged. It would have been better to work chronologically toward one climax instead of flashing back and forward in time. This killed the tension. The whole should more closely reflect the natural accumulation of tension Philippe and his companions experienced when coming closer to their performance, not only making it a climax for Philippe, but for the viewer too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews