Samuel Goldwyn Company, The | Release Date: May 15, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 26 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
10
Mixed:
9
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ChadS.May 15, 2009
Romantic comedies often corroborate on the New Wave notion that "the history of cinema is boys photographing girls." What filmmaker Jean Luc Goddard meant, without apology, was that film is, and always will be, largely a patriarchal Romantic comedies often corroborate on the New Wave notion that "the history of cinema is boys photographing girls." What filmmaker Jean Luc Goddard meant, without apology, was that film is, and always will be, largely a patriarchal construct. In other words, the guy, more often than not, gets his girl. For girls, it's harder. No matter how many fish sticks and tater tots Dawn Wiener(Heather Matarazzo) heats up for Steve(Eric Mabius) in Todd Solondz's "Welcome to the Dollhouse", the hunky lead singer of her older brother's clarinet-driven band will never give the plain girl a fighting chance. The cinema is rigged so ordinary men can pursue, and win over, women who are clearly out of their league. With a tradition of conquering underdogs on his side, Mike tells Sue, "You have a great butt," which should earn him a drink tossed in his face, but instead, the professional woman bends over, like the Maggie Gyllenhaal character in Steven Shainberg's "Secretary". Even though Sue is more accomplished than Mike, the submissive position that she assumes, has the unintended effect of revealing how the male hero always has control over the girl he's pursuing, regardless of how great the odds are stacked against him. "Management" is just a little more brazen about the fix than most films. According to this movie, groping works; stalking works too...on both coasts. What "Management" lacks is a genuine romantic moment. Skydiving into a pool is funny, but not romantic, as is serenading Sue with a Bad Company song. When Sue puts her hand on Mike's butt, the film romanticizes her own objectification. At the very least, Mike should tell Sue that she's beautiful. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.Aniston89May 17, 2009
It's a beautiful movie !! Great funny and romantic story, good actors !! Aniston is a sexy woman !!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
johnny2centsOct 4, 2009
Painful. This movie tries really hard to be quirky and many other things butt succeeds at none. You would have to be on LSD to believe that this coupling would ever be possible. It is way too far fetched from reality to accept even in a Painful. This movie tries really hard to be quirky and many other things butt succeeds at none. You would have to be on LSD to believe that this coupling would ever be possible. It is way too far fetched from reality to accept even in a movie that is trying to be ...well I'm still not sure what it wanted to be. Think it may have needed a little more Woody, I mean the Harrelson character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KatGMay 16, 2009
YECH!! Not even worth a slot on the Netflix queue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
carolynlMay 15, 2009
The whole premise for this movie is asinine . Sue's acceptance of Mike's need to touch her butt is juvenile and simple adds to the pathetic rationale for the main storyline of this movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DeadsarowOct 10, 2010
This movie sucks. I am still trying to understand what the point of this wanna-be cute movie is. Throughout the romantic "comedy", I was confused. The way you know a movie is bad is when it confuses the hell out of you without trying to.This movie sucks. I am still trying to understand what the point of this wanna-be cute movie is. Throughout the romantic "comedy", I was confused. The way you know a movie is bad is when it confuses the hell out of you without trying to. Horrible movie. Wouldn't recommend it to a horse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
I'll be honest: Management floored me. Based on Jen Aniston's stint in The Good Girl, I knew she could act. Here, she uses those skills superbly once more. I never would have imagined Steve Zahn and Jen Aniston a match, but they are. PerhapsI'll be honest: Management floored me. Based on Jen Aniston's stint in The Good Girl, I knew she could act. Here, she uses those skills superbly once more. I never would have imagined Steve Zahn and Jen Aniston a match, but they are. Perhaps that is the magic behind Management. It's honest, telling and surprisingly good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LBSAug 29, 2016
Sometimes life choices actually work out in unexpectedly amazing ways. In "Management," Steve Zhan and Jennifer Aniston both are lonely people, vulnerable in very different ways. But it is because they each are not on the prowl that theirSometimes life choices actually work out in unexpectedly amazing ways. In "Management," Steve Zhan and Jennifer Aniston both are lonely people, vulnerable in very different ways. But it is because they each are not on the prowl that their unlikely encounter in a modest motel, while Aniston's character is traveling on business, begins a series of strangely charming repeat encounters. There is some pathos along the way, which only makes the ending that much more satisfying. Without the excellent acting work on display here by both leads, this story would be a simplistic joke tucked inside another joke etc. But the stellar performances drew me into the story so much I truly cared to know how it would all resolve. Every few years I find myself watching "Management" again, and each time find that I still care for these two people to find their heart's desires. For me, that's a successful movie. Try it. You may be as pleasantly surprised as I was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews