United Artists | Release Date: March 14, 1979
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 95 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
85
Mixed:
5
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SpangleJun 23, 2015
Manhattan is a film that definitely stands the test of time. With great cinematography, great writing, and terrific performances from Diane Keaton and Mariel Hemingway, Manhattan is already ahead of most films of this kind. However, theManhattan is a film that definitely stands the test of time. With great cinematography, great writing, and terrific performances from Diane Keaton and Mariel Hemingway, Manhattan is already ahead of most films of this kind. However, the reason that I did not love it to the level I expected that I would be due to a few things. For one, Woody Allen's character is whiny to the point of pure annoyance in this one. I do not remember him being this damn whiny in Annie Hall, which turned me off immediately. Second, it was neither as funny or as romantic as one would expect from a film of this kind. It was romantic and funny at times, but never to the level that it should have been. Finally, the plot is so damn creepy. A 42 year old man dating a 17 year old girl? Jesus, Woody Allen let's be a little more subtle please. Regardless, as I said, the writing, imagery, and acting, are all impeccable, which really alleviate most of my concerns, and the direction from Woody Allen is very good as well as it perfectly paced and told very well. Overall, Manhattan is a very good film that does not feel as though it came out in 1979. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysJun 30, 2014
"Manhattan" is Woody Allen's best movie so far, right up there next to Annie Hall. The film is an in-depth character study about relationships in the greatest city on Earth and how people affect each other. The movie is convincing with its"Manhattan" is Woody Allen's best movie so far, right up there next to Annie Hall. The film is an in-depth character study about relationships in the greatest city on Earth and how people affect each other. The movie is convincing with its amazing acting, wonderful story, and almost flawless screenplay. Woody gives his character such quirk and self conceit that you can't help but feel sorry for the poor man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
A timeless romance for the ages! Manhattan has grown to become one of Woody Allen's early greats and for good reason. Diane Keaton is sharp as ever alongside former-partner Woody Allen in this smart romantic drama. Meryl Streep shows promiseA timeless romance for the ages! Manhattan has grown to become one of Woody Allen's early greats and for good reason. Diane Keaton is sharp as ever alongside former-partner Woody Allen in this smart romantic drama. Meryl Streep shows promise in an early-career role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawNov 27, 2012
The opening shots of MIDNIGHT IN PARIS (2011, 6/10) can easily hark back to this Black & White paean to New York made more than three decades age, with the same deployment of representative landmarks (although I have yet set my foot onThe opening shots of MIDNIGHT IN PARIS (2011, 6/10) can easily hark back to this Black & White paean to New York made more than three decades age, with the same deployment of representative landmarks (although I have yet set my foot on America). The storyline may suit perfectly as a prophesy for Allen his own private life decades later, to which I am trying my best shun away since the independence of the film should be irrelevant of the creator's personal idiosyncrasy, which is a hard call in this case. It's a petit bourgeois melodrama, could be a sequel of ANNE HALL (1977, 9/10), there is still Allen and Keaton, and Allen is still a neurotic and nagging cipher, but Keaton here is not a winning scatterbrain, instead being characterized as a high-strung lost cause, which in a sense, these two are very much alike, pretending sophisticate as a charade to conceal their immature rationality. Words are Allen's strongest weapon, so albeit being a bit piqued by the characters (pretentiousness, stupidity and high-brow condescending), the script itself has its shrewdness and comedic tones will suffice to launch an ambiguous attachment towards our commonplace life. The Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 10, 2017
Revoilà Droopy, revoilà Caliméro qui a repris quelques amphètes et/ou sniffé quelques rails et qui se met à soûler tout le monde, à blablater comme un détraqué, comme le pauvre gars névropathe qu'il est depuis toujours.

Il se prend pas pour
Revoilà Droopy, revoilà Caliméro qui a repris quelques amphètes et/ou sniffé quelques rails et qui se met à soûler tout le monde, à blablater comme un détraqué, comme le pauvre gars névropathe qu'il est depuis toujours.

Il se prend pas pour de la merde le peigne-cul (il doit viser Cannes et son festival de balais dans le fondement -plusieurs à la fois) il tourne carrément en noir et blanc parce que le noir et blanc, c'est comme se racheter une conduite pour un taulard : on vous prend pour un "artiste". Forcément. Mais pourquoi le "noir et blanc" ? s'interroge Télérama. Vous croyez qu'il y a un message (caché) là-dessous ?

Le siphonné de la parlote Woody Woodpecker dans son inépuisable logorrhée déblatère que se taper une jeune plante de 17 balais, c'est -finalement- un bon plan et incontestablement plus sympa que de rester avec cette rombière de Diane Keaton, même si elle ne porte pas de soutif (une féministe...). De toute façon, on s'en fout, ce qui compte, c'est d'en parler avec ses amis, ses ex, ses futures, son public (Positif a adoré) et à sa ville de cubes en béton.

On sent que Caliméro Droopy n'a pas fini de nous faire chier : le pleurnichard binoclard est comme Terminator : impossible à arrêter. Et il ne la ferme jamais.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
J-ShapAug 27, 2011
Manhattan has so much to offer, it's almost vexing. It's funny, sentimental, romantic, dramatic, musical, and visual. It's about romanticism, relationships, art, love, loss, narcissism, and realization. Yet all of this can take a backseat toManhattan has so much to offer, it's almost vexing. It's funny, sentimental, romantic, dramatic, musical, and visual. It's about romanticism, relationships, art, love, loss, narcissism, and realization. Yet all of this can take a backseat to a series of delicate moments, and instances of clarity. When watching, it's poetry in motion. When revisiting, it's an emotional treasure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dollarsignNov 11, 2015
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SamSkJun 30, 2013
I don't like romantic comedies and I don't really like Woody Allen. So yeah, I didn't like this film very much. The characters are not really interesting or engaging and I felt the romance wasn't that great at all. At least it was quite shortI don't like romantic comedies and I don't really like Woody Allen. So yeah, I didn't like this film very much. The characters are not really interesting or engaging and I felt the romance wasn't that great at all. At least it was quite short and not as slow moving or as dialogue-empty as other films. But still, I was not very pleased with this movie but then again others do and so I suggest you think carefully if you're considering watching this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
CalumRhysJan 4, 2017
Woody Allen is arguably one of the finest screenwriters in the history of cinema, and whilst I respect him as both an actor and director, his writing ability is second to none. His way with words is uncanny, his confidence in craftingWoody Allen is arguably one of the finest screenwriters in the history of cinema, and whilst I respect him as both an actor and director, his writing ability is second to none. His way with words is uncanny, his confidence in crafting characters that reek of charisma, in providing a raw and visceral study on the city and the people within. 'Manhattan' is just one stellar example of this, and whilst the film does trail off here and there into a depth of boredom, the witty and charismatic study present makes for a fantastic viewing experience.

"Chapter One. He was as tough and romantic as the city he loved. Behind his black- rimmed glasses was the coiled sexual power of a jungle cat." Opening to this enthralling monologue from the hands of Allen, we are instantly cast into a world that implements a raw and detailed look into a New York of yesteryear. Allen provides us with an intricate character study that addresses subjects like adultery, drug addiction and sexual prowess, whilst examining the effects on each individual and the city around them.

Each acting body present gives their utmost best in regards to performances with Allen and Keaton leading the way, each captured stunningly by utterly gorgeous black and white cinematography that captures the hustle and bustle of the city in elaborate detail. Whilst the film does thin towards the middle, the confident screenplay and witty humour make up for the minor flaws that exist, thus giving us one of the most self-assured films in cinema.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JMHMay 7, 2012
Allen's best film. Among the standouts of American cinema in the post-studio era. Virtually perfect. The film's lifted to extraordinary heights by, among other things, a brilliant screenplay, careful direction, spectacular cinematography, andAllen's best film. Among the standouts of American cinema in the post-studio era. Virtually perfect. The film's lifted to extraordinary heights by, among other things, a brilliant screenplay, careful direction, spectacular cinematography, and amazing performances from (particularly) Allen, Keaton, and Hemingway. There's more beneath the (glittering) surface of "Manhattan" than any Allen film. At the center of it all is a captivating tension between romantic ideals -- the drive to satisfy them, and the hypocritical demand that others do the same -- and something of far less starry-eyed allure -- reality. This tension is achieved in multiple, varied ways within the film. From the disconnect between the impeccable look of the film and the messes played out by the characters on screen, to the contrast between one character's surprisingly precocious authenticity and the world of disingenuous posturing that infects the remaining characters. The question at the end of "Manhattan," when revelation may find reality triumphing over romanticism, and taking on a more enduring, humane, and compassionate value of its own, is whether enlightenment (if that's what is) has come too late. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
claw01Jan 1, 2012
Beautiful and witty, Manhattan is a wonderful work of cinema. Then again, I am a big fan of Woody Allen himself, but that aside the choice of black and white photography helps compliment and boost the film itself. While Annie Hall maybe beBeautiful and witty, Manhattan is a wonderful work of cinema. Then again, I am a big fan of Woody Allen himself, but that aside the choice of black and white photography helps compliment and boost the film itself. While Annie Hall maybe be slightly more humorous, Manhattan is more serious in its prose and provides a nice balance between the comic and the dramatic. What I find simply wonderful about this film and many others of Allen's is their ability to read like books, with great characters that are deep and realistic rather than stiff and cliché. This movie is just simply a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JGLmanJul 1, 2011
This movie was simply fantastic. Another job well done Mr. Woody Allen. Woody Allen's character was so likable. You begin to really become attached to each character throughout the movie. It gets to where you don't want the characters to getThis movie was simply fantastic. Another job well done Mr. Woody Allen. Woody Allen's character was so likable. You begin to really become attached to each character throughout the movie. It gets to where you don't want the characters to get hurt and you only want good things to happen to each character. Everything that occurs that is morally wrong you, of course, hope that everything fixes itself or gets fixed. This movie ties two things together very well, comedy and love. I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Phil_ChatzikosJan 19, 2012
Maybe Allen's best movie ever, the black-and-white Manhattan is an incredible study on the human relationships presented with a romantic, funny way. Rhapsody in blue is just amazing as the background of the beautiful, yet bittersweet pictureMaybe Allen's best movie ever, the black-and-white Manhattan is an incredible study on the human relationships presented with a romantic, funny way. Rhapsody in blue is just amazing as the background of the beautiful, yet bittersweet picture of New York that we get here. The movie is about a 42 year old man, who has a relationship with a 17 year old girl and falls in love with his friend's ex-mistress. But is much more than this. It's a movie about you and me. An ode to the simplicity and the complex of our relationships . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
van645Jan 29, 2014
Manhattan is my favorite movie ever. Every aspect of the movie is spot on: the script, directing, acting, cinematography, etc. It stays grounded but still is dramatic and interesting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
metalloidicaJun 29, 2013
One of the best films I've seen on a Saturday afternoon. The ever-so esoteric Issac Davis runs into several conflicts with his expectations in life and provides us with both a humorous drama that has been appreciated for several decades.One of the best films I've seen on a Saturday afternoon. The ever-so esoteric Issac Davis runs into several conflicts with his expectations in life and provides us with both a humorous drama that has been appreciated for several decades. Woody Allen is simply phenomenal, both in his acting and directional skills Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews