User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    A timeless romance for the ages! Manhattan has grown to become one of Woody Allen's early greats and for good reason. Diane Keaton is sharp as ever alongside former-partner Woody Allen in this smart romantic drama. Meryl Streep shows promise in an early-career role.
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    "Manhattan" is Woody Allen's best movie so far, right up there next to Annie Hall. The film is an in-depth character study about relationships in the greatest city on Earth and how people affect each other. The movie is convincing with its amazing acting, wonderful story, and almost flawless screenplay. Woody gives his character such quirk and self conceit that you can't help but feel"Manhattan" is Woody Allen's best movie so far, right up there next to Annie Hall. The film is an in-depth character study about relationships in the greatest city on Earth and how people affect each other. The movie is convincing with its amazing acting, wonderful story, and almost flawless screenplay. Woody gives his character such quirk and self conceit that you can't help but feel sorry for the poor man. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Manhattan is my favorite movie ever. Every aspect of the movie is spot on: the script, directing, acting, cinematography, etc. It stays grounded but still is dramatic and interesting.
  4. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    I don't like romantic comedies and I don't really like Woody Allen. So yeah, I didn't like this film very much. The characters are not really interesting or engaging and I felt the romance wasn't that great at all. At least it was quite short and not as slow moving or as dialogue-empty as other films. But still, I was not very pleased with this movie but then again others do and so II don't like romantic comedies and I don't really like Woody Allen. So yeah, I didn't like this film very much. The characters are not really interesting or engaging and I felt the romance wasn't that great at all. At least it was quite short and not as slow moving or as dialogue-empty as other films. But still, I was not very pleased with this movie but then again others do and so I suggest you think carefully if you're considering watching this film. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    One of the best films I've seen on a Saturday afternoon. The ever-so esoteric Issac Davis runs into several conflicts with his expectations in life and provides us with both a humorous drama that has been appreciated for several decades. Woody Allen is simply phenomenal, both in his acting and directional skills
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    7
    The opening shots of MIDNIGHT IN PARIS (2011, 6/10) can easily hark back to this Black & White paean to New York made more than three decades age, with the same deployment of representative landmarks (although I have yet set my foot on America). The storyline may suit perfectly as a prophesy for Allen his own private life decades later, to which I am trying my best shun away since theThe opening shots of MIDNIGHT IN PARIS (2011, 6/10) can easily hark back to this Black & White paean to New York made more than three decades age, with the same deployment of representative landmarks (although I have yet set my foot on America). The storyline may suit perfectly as a prophesy for Allen his own private life decades later, to which I am trying my best shun away since the independence of the film should be irrelevant of the creator's personal idiosyncrasy, which is a hard call in this case. It's a petit bourgeois melodrama, could be a sequel of ANNE HALL (1977, 9/10), there is still Allen and Keaton, and Allen is still a neurotic and nagging cipher, but Keaton here is not a winning scatterbrain, instead being characterized as a high-strung lost cause, which in a sense, these two are very much alike, pretending sophisticate as a charade to conceal their immature rationality. Words are Allen's strongest weapon, so albeit being a bit piqued by the characters (pretentiousness, stupidity and high-brow condescending), the script itself has its shrewdness and comedic tones will suffice to launch an ambiguous attachment towards our commonplace life. The Expand
  7. JMH
    May 7, 2012
    10
    Allen's best film. Among the standouts of American cinema in the post-studio era. Virtually perfect. The film's lifted to extraordinary heights by, among other things, a brilliant screenplay, careful direction, spectacular cinematography, and amazing performances from (particularly) Allen, Keaton, and Hemingway. There's more beneath the (glittering) surface of "Manhattan" than any AllenAllen's best film. Among the standouts of American cinema in the post-studio era. Virtually perfect. The film's lifted to extraordinary heights by, among other things, a brilliant screenplay, careful direction, spectacular cinematography, and amazing performances from (particularly) Allen, Keaton, and Hemingway. There's more beneath the (glittering) surface of "Manhattan" than any Allen film. At the center of it all is a captivating tension between romantic ideals -- the drive to satisfy them, and the hypocritical demand that others do the same -- and something of far less starry-eyed allure -- reality. This tension is achieved in multiple, varied ways within the film. From the disconnect between the impeccable look of the film and the messes played out by the characters on screen, to the contrast between one character's surprisingly precocious authenticity and the world of disingenuous posturing that infects the remaining characters. The question at the end of "Manhattan," when revelation may find reality triumphing over romanticism, and taking on a more enduring, humane, and compassionate value of its own, is whether enlightenment (if that's what is) has come too late. Expand
  8. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Maybe Allen's best movie ever, the black-and-white Manhattan is an incredible study on the human relationships presented with a romantic, funny way. Rhapsody in blue is just amazing as the background of the beautiful, yet bittersweet picture of New York that we get here. The movie is about a 42 year old man, who has a relationship with a 17 year old girl and falls in love with his friend'sMaybe Allen's best movie ever, the black-and-white Manhattan is an incredible study on the human relationships presented with a romantic, funny way. Rhapsody in blue is just amazing as the background of the beautiful, yet bittersweet picture of New York that we get here. The movie is about a 42 year old man, who has a relationship with a 17 year old girl and falls in love with his friend's ex-mistress. But is much more than this. It's a movie about you and me. An ode to the simplicity and the complex of our relationships . Collapse
  9. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Beautiful and witty, Manhattan is a wonderful work of cinema. Then again, I am a big fan of Woody Allen himself, but that aside the choice of black and white photography helps compliment and boost the film itself. While Annie Hall maybe be slightly more humorous, Manhattan is more serious in its prose and provides a nice balance between the comic and the dramatic. What I find simplyBeautiful and witty, Manhattan is a wonderful work of cinema. Then again, I am a big fan of Woody Allen himself, but that aside the choice of black and white photography helps compliment and boost the film itself. While Annie Hall maybe be slightly more humorous, Manhattan is more serious in its prose and provides a nice balance between the comic and the dramatic. What I find simply wonderful about this film and many others of Allen's is their ability to read like books, with great characters that are deep and realistic rather than stiff and cliché. This movie is just simply a masterpiece. Expand
  10. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Manhattan has so much to offer, it's almost vexing. It's funny, sentimental, romantic, dramatic, musical, and visual. It's about romanticism, relationships, art, love, loss, narcissism, and realization. Yet all of this can take a backseat to a series of delicate moments, and instances of clarity. When watching, it's poetry in motion. When revisiting, it's an emotional treasure.
  11. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    This movie was simply fantastic. Another job well done Mr. Woody Allen. Woody Allen's character was so likable. You begin to really become attached to each character throughout the movie. It gets to where you don't want the characters to get hurt and you only want good things to happen to each character. Everything that occurs that is morally wrong you, of course, hope that everythingThis movie was simply fantastic. Another job well done Mr. Woody Allen. Woody Allen's character was so likable. You begin to really become attached to each character throughout the movie. It gets to where you don't want the characters to get hurt and you only want good things to happen to each character. Everything that occurs that is morally wrong you, of course, hope that everything fixes itself or gets fixed. This movie ties two things together very well, comedy and love. I highly recommend it. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 88
    this is a very good movie. Woody Allen is ... Woody, sublimely. Diane Keaton gives us a fresh and nicely edged New York intellectual. And Mariel Hemingway deserves some kind of special award for what's in some ways the most difficult role in the film.
  2. Reviewed by: Vincent Canby
    90
    What happens is not the substance of Manhattan as much as how it happens. The movie is full of moments that are uproariously funny and others that are sometimes shattering for the degree in which they evoke civilized desolation.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    100
    Deft comedy set in a neurotic town. People may argue about the relative merits of Annie Hall vis-a-vis Manhattan, which is a better and more fully realized film. By this time Allen had forsworn the glib one-liner and spent more time developing well-rounded characters.