IFC Midnight | Release Date: June 21, 2013
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 48 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
32
Mixed:
11
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
BrandonBonaseraAug 4, 2013
A rare remake that is as beautiful as it is shocking; Maniac brilliantly combines brutality with beauty and the result is a smart, unnerving and nightmarish work of art. An underrated gem that, though it has its errors, captivates.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
cryhardhumorFeb 25, 2015
MANIAC is incredibly well shot and masterfully acted. It is definitely style over content, but as most horror movies have neither of those things, MANIAC is surprisingly fresh and often completely terrifying. As someone who is rarely scaredMANIAC is incredibly well shot and masterfully acted. It is definitely style over content, but as most horror movies have neither of those things, MANIAC is surprisingly fresh and often completely terrifying. As someone who is rarely scared by horror movies, I was pleased to for once be sensitive to the noises in the house and feel a tingle down my spine whenever I turned out the light. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
McCorpseNov 5, 2013
this movie was awesome! it was down right dirty and nasty and brutal. Frodo goes around scalping chicks and becoming more and more insane by the second. The film follows basically the same plot as the original although this time it is from athis movie was awesome! it was down right dirty and nasty and brutal. Frodo goes around scalping chicks and becoming more and more insane by the second. The film follows basically the same plot as the original although this time it is from a first person perspective. This works out really great and just hearing Elijah's voice is creepy as hell and he truly looks like a maniac when you do get a glimpse of his reflection. That is another difference, Elijah. No longer do we have a big disgusting slob as the killer but this time its lil ol Elijah. This change could have been devastating but it really works. And then were the film truly is with the gore. They hold nothing back. Right from the opening sequence I knew I was in for one hell of a ride. Way more than one woman is murdered and scalped and it is done in ruthless fashion. This movie was creepy as hell and Elijah, Aja, and friends show us (once again in Aja's case) is that remakes can be great! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
ThegodfathersonJun 25, 2013
Maniac isn't great, when you separate fact from fiction- but for Elijah Wood and heart throbbing action scenes, it is. The story revolves around a be-handed man who is in a psychiatric situation and his murders which are his naturalManiac isn't great, when you separate fact from fiction- but for Elijah Wood and heart throbbing action scenes, it is. The story revolves around a be-handed man who is in a psychiatric situation and his murders which are his natural obsession. It's almost like watching BBC documentary trash but with gallons of blood. Maniac is strong at three points- Dialogue isn't great by Script?, cool car crashing bloody action, and Elijah Wood's groundbreaking performance in his first horror film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 22, 2016
The movie was well made, well acted and was interesting. The brutal violence and the over the top finale might make you dislike the movie but it's far from just another boring slasher and you should definitely give it a chance.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DisasterpieceMKJun 30, 2013
"...interesting from a technical perspective but not nearly as compelling as one would want." Ahh, critics. I am not quite sure what you are looking for in a film told from the first-person perspective of a maniac, but this one does the"...interesting from a technical perspective but not nearly as compelling as one would want." Ahh, critics. I am not quite sure what you are looking for in a film told from the first-person perspective of a maniac, but this one does the trick. If you are looking for some sort of magical insight into the mind of a crazed individual, you will not find here it because, as one would imagine, there is not much to be found. "Mommy issues" are sufficient enough to move the experience forward. It is gory, creepy, and interesting. This will definitely satisfy most horror fans (especially those of the slasher variety). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SporUSSep 11, 2013
This is one of my favorite horror movies I have ever seen (only bested by the original Evil Dead). Wile a remake, it takes on an identity of its own. It is perfect. A true horror movie, no monsters, or demons, or jump scares, it is about aThis is one of my favorite horror movies I have ever seen (only bested by the original Evil Dead). Wile a remake, it takes on an identity of its own. It is perfect. A true horror movie, no monsters, or demons, or jump scares, it is about a psycho rooted in realism. And oh what a psycho Wood makes. I never knew he had this kind of performance in him. The first person cinematography is very original and is somehow pulled off, and the music is one of the best soundtracks I have ever heard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LelandskellDec 23, 2013
This movie is amazing, and it can't believe the metascore is only a mere 47/100. It should at least be in the 60s. Anyways, this is a great movie, with beautiful cinematography, an amazing soundtrack, solid acting, great special effects andThis movie is amazing, and it can't believe the metascore is only a mere 47/100. It should at least be in the 60s. Anyways, this is a great movie, with beautiful cinematography, an amazing soundtrack, solid acting, great special effects and interesting characters. Check it out on Netflix if you haven't seen it. 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
Maniac is not shy when it comes to violence and sex but does however contain a simple story line made into a complex situation that at times, is difficult to follow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
horcrux2007Mar 18, 2015
(going to watch again)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StarkillerEchoOct 13, 2015
right off the bat i have to say that this is one of those rare
occasions where a modern day remake is better than the source material.
first off, Elijah Wood's betrayal as a mentally unstable killer is brilliant. Putting the audience
right off the bat i have to say that this is one of those rare
occasions where a modern day remake is better than the source material.
first off, Elijah Wood's betrayal as a mentally unstable killer is
brilliant. Putting the audience inside the head of the killer puts a
whole new spin off the antagonist in a slasher film. Another great
characteristic of this film is the art direction. many of the
shots/effects are not only beautiful, but they are clever especially in
the first person narrative. This film definitely deserves a lot more
recognition and should be shown to anybody who has interest into
slasher flicks.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews