Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 26, 2012
    100
    Ambitious, affecting, unwieldy and haunting, it's an eccentric, densely atmospheric, morally hyper-aware masterpiece that refuses to follow the strictures of conventional cinematic structure, instead leading the audience on a circuitous journey down the myriad rabbit holes that comprise modern-day Manhattan.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Sep 27, 2011
    100
    And though not all of Lonergan's conceits work on a scene-by-scene basis (an upper-crust womanizer played by Jean Reno skews a bit too close to caricature), the film has a cumulative power-solidified by a devastating opera-house finale-that's staggering. This is frayed-edges filmmaking at its finest.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 13, 2012
    88
    Margaret, for all its flaws, is a film of rare beauty and shocking gravity.
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Oct 6, 2011
    88
    Who knows what movie Lonergan was searching for in all that footage? But what emerges from the tinkering and legal skirmishes is an occasional marvel, a kind of everyday highbrow social X-ray, Paul Mazursky by way of Krzysztof Kieslowski.
  5. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Oct 4, 2011
    83
    Artistically, however, the movie delivers on a surprisingly effective scale, no matter how Lonergan sees it. Alternately perceptive, subversive, tragic and profound.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Although the film is long, it is not too long. I would be ready to see it again a week after my first viewing. The characters and situationsAlthough the film is long, it is not too long. I would be ready to see it again a week after my first viewing. The characters and situations are true to life, that is, painful and messy. The ellipsis at the end of many scenes, in which the scene seems to be cut short, was puzzling at first but contributed to the emotional power of the movie. The actors who played Margaret, her mother, and the dead woman's friend were terrific. I could really relate to everything in this film even though I have never been in any similar situation. Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2013
    6
    2h30mns seem quite long but in this case it flows thanks to the unexpected emotional journey the main character goes through from the main2h30mns seem quite long but in this case it flows thanks to the unexpected emotional journey the main character goes through from the main event. It felt real and powerful. Full Review »
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    I wish more movies were like this. Having seen Margaret in it's intended 3hr Director's Cut it's difficult thing to comment here on this, theI wish more movies were like this. Having seen Margaret in it's intended 3hr Director's Cut it's difficult thing to comment here on this, the shorter cut of the film. I immediately fell in love with Margaret from the get-go. It's really a simple story: a girl witnesses/causes a fatal accident and the rest of the film is about how she deals with it. So many times watching film and television I've longed for more reality; what really happens to a person after they go through a traumatic event? Anna Paquin portrays the confusion and fracture with a raw power; she's a time-bomb. All the performances are excellent, with J. Smith-Cameron and Jeannie Berlin filling the other main roles, with wonderful actors popping up everywhere in support (Matt Damon, Olivia Thrilby, Jean Reno, Keiran Culkin, Mark Ruffalo, Rosemarie DeWitt and Allison Janney in a small but incredible performance). It's about a search for meaning, for redemption and as much about the differences and failings and needs and desires that define every one of us. And it is glorious. Full Review »