User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Although the film is long, it is not too long. I would be ready to see it again a week after my first viewing. The characters and situations are true to life, that is, painful and messy. The ellipsis at the end of many scenes, in which the scene seems to be cut short, was puzzling at first but contributed to the emotional power of the movie. The actors who played Margaret, her mother, and the dead woman's friend were terrific. I could really relate to everything in this film even though I have never been in any similar situation. Collapse
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    I wish more movies were like this. Having seen Margaret in it's intended 3hr Director's Cut it's difficult thing to comment here on this, the shorter cut of the film. I immediately fell in love with Margaret from the get-go. It's really a simple story: a girl witnesses/causes a fatal accident and the rest of the film is about how she deals with it. So many times watching film and television I've longed for more reality; what really happens to a person after they go through a traumatic event? Anna Paquin portrays the confusion and fracture with a raw power; she's a time-bomb. All the performances are excellent, with J. Smith-Cameron and Jeannie Berlin filling the other main roles, with wonderful actors popping up everywhere in support (Matt Damon, Olivia Thrilby, Jean Reno, Keiran Culkin, Mark Ruffalo, Rosemarie DeWitt and Allison Janney in a small but incredible performance). It's about a search for meaning, for redemption and as much about the differences and failings and needs and desires that define every one of us. And it is glorious. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    A film of true gravitas. The acting is amazing and the script often spot-on. Not only is the main drama fascinating, but there is also coverage of issues like single motherhood and self-acceptance. Best film I saw in a long time. I may have given it a ten if it was a bit shorter, as there are some sidetrips that hurt the focus and do not yield the insight of the segments dealing with the main drama. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2012
    4
    Huge fan of Lonergan's debut, "You Can Count on Me", but this bears little similarity to that in execution. I felt the material was way too over-the-top, like Paquin and Co. were acting for the stage, not the screen. Overlong and overwrought, it's evidence of the reported years-long fight between Longergan and producers over what cut could be delivered. Regardless of the running-time, if I watched any more, it wouldn't have changed my mind. I love great cinema, but this was closer to a Mexican soap opera written by Noah Baumback and directed by Walt Stillman. Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    This lengthily delayed film (for more than 6 years, what
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    3
    The more you enjoyed Lonergans first film, the more you should be preparing yourself for a massive disappointment. For the record: Lonergan is a great writer, with a great talent; and for all his stilted, play-acting dialogue and characters, theres a real humanity and depth to his work. Its much, much appreciated. However, thats a discussion for You Can Count On Me. Because theres no room for it here. Anyway, its not that often I see a movie, in theaters, that looks like a very early, messy rough cut of something that could of been possibly much better, or even great (e.g. Melancholia). Margaret is a mistake, and the only thing more embarrassing than for the filmmaker to have this on his hands is the fact of how simply obvious it would have been (and still is!) to amend nearly all of its mistakes. These mistakes are mostly large, clumpy structural attempts to branch off, with sub-plots, or mini-scenes, into the perceptions and experiences of secondary characters, to get a taste of how they operate, or to see what theyre going though parallel to the main characters journey. However, it isnt always just a head-shakingly maudlin checker-boarding of scenes; it can also be as minute and simple as a quick comparison of thoughts or screams. This is a selfish juxtaposition issue that rears its head at EVERY opportunity. In fact, there should be an Ebert-ism regarding this: a director, after a first decent hit (or maybe two), now allows his unbridled ego full and entire authority over all his creative consciousness, to the extent that he wants to say this and this and this and this, etc. Ad nauseam. Its nothing but a complete loss of focus, allowing useless, extraneous information to barge in as it pleases. How many movies can you fit into one? And how long can you deceive yourself into believing that all of these themes, these situations and characters connect in an honest and emotionally engaging way? A film is not a 1,000-page novel, it never will be. Less will always be more, and the secret to success will always be those infinite suggestions held within every frame. Two-and-a-half hours of loud talk is not the answer. I bet the average person, including myself, could step into this and remove at LEAST 40 minutes of footage. Just cut every time you see something boring, every time you instinctively know that what youre watching amounts to next to nothing in the grand scheme of the picture. Every time you know youre seeing-not experiencing-something that youll forget five minutes after its occurred. Besides killing the flow of the main conflict at every opportunity, there are also some new, quirky, New-Yorky aesthetics Lonergan tries to arbitrarily incorporate into the picture; such as odd, extended zooms; slow-motion with often-times bad complimentary score; ironic, disgustingly self-aware cuts concluding scene after scene with a strange line or action of a character, implicitly expecting the audience to bowl over with ironic, disgustingly self-aware laughter; and even more self-aware camera angles, designed to make you believe that what you are seeing is just TOO INTENSE for a normal shot. And the film actually uses opera, multiple times, for dramatic effect. (Basically, if youre not a privileged, college-level graduate you arent allowed to participate in the fun.) Theres also the main, underlying theme to this film that, I felt, was entirely naive and general. It seems to want to take to the podium every time theres a classroom discussion scene -- as though by having young adults tackling major issues, the topical blow isnt quite so severe. What happens specifically is: everybody sits around and argues for about five minutes regarding their own personal views on America and the rest of the world -- terrorism, bombing of women and children, blah blah blah. And then, at the very height of it all, the scene just abruptly ends, and the subject promptly disappears for a while. How irritating. Almost cowardly. Its as though Lonergan read in his old, misplaced college textbook on film: movies are for raising questions, not answering them. He really took that to heart. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    6
    Superb acting by the principals, especially Anna Paquin. Unlikely scenarios and story, though. The protagonist is not a very likeable character and one has a difficult time identifying with her problems.
  8. Aug 23, 2012
    7
    Another well written movie with great multilayered characters by Lonergan. A great premise that sends the protagonist into a whirlwind of emotion that doesn't stop though the film's two and a half hours. I feel this film falls short in the same way that You Can Count On Me did. For me Lonergan never seems to be able to find a way to end his protagonists journey. Both movies ended on a less than satisfying note. I do not always need the neat and tidy Hollywood ending, however an obvious end to the story or an obvious open ended ending to take a movie from good to great. Expand
  9. May 29, 2013
    6
    2h30mns seem quite long but in this case it flows thanks to the unexpected emotional journey the main character goes through from the main event. It felt real and powerful.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 26, 2012
    100
    Ambitious, affecting, unwieldy and haunting, it's an eccentric, densely atmospheric, morally hyper-aware masterpiece that refuses to follow the strictures of conventional cinematic structure, instead leading the audience on a circuitous journey down the myriad rabbit holes that comprise modern-day Manhattan.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Mar 30, 2012
    40
    As well-shot and well-acted as it is, one can't help feeling there's a good movie in there somewhere. Unfortunately, it's buried beneath such an avalanche of extraneousness and artistic posing.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 13, 2012
    88
    Margaret, for all its flaws, is a film of rare beauty and shocking gravity.