Paramount Vantage | Release Date: November 16, 2007
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 73 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
17
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
RobertIFeb 10, 2008
When will contemporary artists learn that unfettered self-indulgence doth not a drama make. The characters, for all their poignancy and full-roundedness (Jack Black as Malcolm, Jennifer Jason Leigh as Pauline), join Margot wallowing in When will contemporary artists learn that unfettered self-indulgence doth not a drama make. The characters, for all their poignancy and full-roundedness (Jack Black as Malcolm, Jennifer Jason Leigh as Pauline), join Margot wallowing in self-centered immature squalling. Witness:A parent who violates a mother's boundaries with her child, a brother-in-law to be who kisses the babysitter. Where are the adults in this world? Who cares about these people? For all its imperfections, we revel in Kidman's and Jason-Leigh's, and Black's way of inhabiting the characters, and we're glad when it's over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnN.Mar 15, 2008
The film is well acted, but the characters are so abrasive that I can't really say I enjoyed watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillD.Dec 25, 2007
The people in this movie are not like any people I've ever met. Thank God. If you go expecting something along the lines of The Squid and the Whale, you are likely to be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GabiorA.Dec 7, 2007
Yeah...This ones a toughie. I don't see why likable or realistic characters is a mandate for a good movie so at first i enjoyed this film. But then the real flaw comes into effect, repetitiveness. Noah seems more concerned with keeping Yeah...This ones a toughie. I don't see why likable or realistic characters is a mandate for a good movie so at first i enjoyed this film. But then the real flaw comes into effect, repetitiveness. Noah seems more concerned with keeping us on edge than humored or entertained so he keeps throwing those digs in. They get old fast. On the other hand I thought the movie rediscovered solid footing in the last third which besides a few side steps worked as a drama for me. Overall its hard to say "unlikable characters" in the first place because I wasn't thinking about this movie in terms of plot or characters. Whenever Margot said something too over the top I didn't think to myself "who does this women think she is?" I thought "what is Noah thinking?" And when you watch a movie and see the film maker not the film that's usually a bad sign. There are moments in this film. I won't deny that, but its not easy to recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GregM.Nov 19, 2007
Well filmed, well acted, affecting at times, but ultimately a huge disappointment. The characters don't speak like humans do, don't react like humans react, and don't have any motivation. I have a feeling that the writing was Well filmed, well acted, affecting at times, but ultimately a huge disappointment. The characters don't speak like humans do, don't react like humans react, and don't have any motivation. I have a feeling that the writing was a stylistic decision pushed way to far, because despite great filmmaking and performances, the movie comes out jumbled and thin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Feb 19, 2008
Better than average dysfunctional family film. Well written and the cast is very good, especially Jennifer Jason Leigh and Jack Black. It has an appealing offbeat quality to it, thanks to a good job by director Noah Baumbach.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
smijatovDec 22, 2010
Margot at the Wedding is not for everybody's taste. It Baumbach achieves something that directors rarely even attempt - for the audience to be simply disgusted and annoyed by the main characters to an extent that they dislike them quiteMargot at the Wedding is not for everybody's taste. It Baumbach achieves something that directors rarely even attempt - for the audience to be simply disgusted and annoyed by the main characters to an extent that they dislike them quite intensely. The screenplay is rather strange and fragmented, which makes the film kind of hard to comprehend, which is my biggest issue with the film. As interesting and complimentary Baumbach's approach is, especially with the 'hating on the characters', it does not help the audience to like the film. On the brighter side, the performances here are top-notch: Nicole Kidman is her usual excellence in this film, as the bitter sister Margot. Her sister is played by the Jennifer Jason-Leigh, who is at least as good as Kidman in his film, if not a tiny bit better. They work great together as sisters. Also, Jack Black is surprisingly real in one of his rare serious roles on-screen. Overall, a difficult but interesting film, with some really good acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
VonSeuxJan 17, 2016
Ouch, I was feeling really unconfortable trought the whole movie. The wind itself that blows on the mansion feels unconfortable. Character had not that beautiful siden hidden bellow layers as other movies by Baumbach, the whole plot andOuch, I was feeling really unconfortable trought the whole movie. The wind itself that blows on the mansion feels unconfortable. Character had not that beautiful siden hidden bellow layers as other movies by Baumbach, the whole plot and subplots are just so depressing. Ending had so little meaning to me as well; Skip this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleAug 19, 2016
Margot at the Wedding tells the story of a bunch of characters and their lives, but fails to let us know why we are watching them. I love slice of life films, but this is more than slice of life. This simply a series of scenes with looseMargot at the Wedding tells the story of a bunch of characters and their lives, but fails to let us know why we are watching them. I love slice of life films, but this is more than slice of life. This simply a series of scenes with loose threads connecting them. It is cringy and quirky, but Baumbach demonstrates little knowledge of human emotion here with very unhuman characters. Honestly, this movie could be described as how aliens would act if they suddenly landed on Earth and tried to act human. These people had the motions, but not the emotions or language. Nicole Kidman and Jennifer Jason Leigh are good, but are stranded in a sea of indie quirk and Baumbach refuses to throw them a lifeline, which is deeply unfortunate. Unlike previous Baumbach efforts I have seen, Margot at the Wedding is not just distant emotionally, it is a film that you have to squint and really focus to see any emotion. Even then, I am not sure there is any. Often times, it plays like a crude and raunchy comedy of modern day that are known for saying things that are outlandish and uncommon just to be random and funny. Though not crude or raunchy, Margot at the Wedding falls for the same trap and thinks being random is hysterical. Unfortunately, it is not. Very disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews