Fine Line Features | Release Date: July 16, 2004
3.4
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 201 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
72
Mixed:
7
Negative:
122
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
mapizarroJun 30, 2013
One the best films from Colombia, together with "Our Lady of the Assassins" or "The Little Roses Girl". Great d├ębut for Catalina Sandino. It's truth all about tragic destiny to these South American girls. Great film!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
RicardoG.Jan 6, 2005
I was extremely impressed with this film. Very well done, the acting was superb, and the story is top notch. Probably one of the best films I've seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NataliaS.Oct 9, 2004
GREAT MOVIE. It is not about hollywood with its special effects, it is about the colombian situation face to face, no lies, no imaginary stories, people with no money that would do anything for a better future. Victims....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianY.Aug 1, 2004
Haunting, wholly involving, remarkably draws you in and never lets go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeS.Aug 4, 2004
Superb! Moreno, as Maria, is a true star, and this movie is thrilling from the very beginning to the end. Harrowing throuighout, but ultimately uplifting, this is the best movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Sep 12, 2004
It was such a wrong thought to have, but when Lucy (Giulied Lopez) prepared Maria (Catalina Sandino Moreno) for drug muling by swallowing grapes, it reminded me of the cafeteria scene with Phoebe Cates and Jennifer Jason-Leigh in "Fast Times It was such a wrong thought to have, but when Lucy (Giulied Lopez) prepared Maria (Catalina Sandino Moreno) for drug muling by swallowing grapes, it reminded me of the cafeteria scene with Phoebe Cates and Jennifer Jason-Leigh in "Fast Times at Ridgemont High". However, if Maria was desperate enough to smuggle drugs, she likewise might've gone into prostitution, but as it happened, a drug dealer got to her before the pimp. So maybe it's wasn't an overactive imagination that led me to see the Amy Heckerling film being faintly referred to. "Maria Full of Grace" isn't billed as a thriller, but name me a film with a more suspenseful sequence than Maria's plane trip and interrogation at the airport. If she settles down in America, Maria will surely be "Somebody's Baby", because, as remarked earlier in the film by the man who recruits her; she's too pretty to be a housecleaner, and it goes without saying, that Maria is too pretty to be "Somebody's Mule". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BarryR.Sep 7, 2004
"Maria Full of Grace" is a beautifully written and directed film from Joshua Marston. Filmed in Colombia and the United States, the acting by Catalina Sandira Moreno is more than good, it is outstanding. This is a young actress who dominates "Maria Full of Grace" is a beautifully written and directed film from Joshua Marston. Filmed in Colombia and the United States, the acting by Catalina Sandira Moreno is more than good, it is outstanding. This is a young actress who dominates the screen by the simple movement of her eyes, her hair, her every nuance and is able to communicates a depth of feeling most actors twice her age could not. This is a film that gives great insight into the lives of those who emigrate to this country and helps you to understand why they are willing to be separated from their families in other lands, not just for a better economic way of life, but for a better life in general. A film you will remember for a long, long time and a truly wonderful theatrical experience, I join so many others who found this moving to be a really high cut above the rest. It earns and deserves 3 and ½ stars. Do your good taste a favor and see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JavierADec 8, 2004
In what should be an Oscar-nominated turn, Catalina Sandino Moreno gives a heart-breakingly powerful performance as a Colombian mule. The film is disturbing, yes, brimming with drama and the horror of Maria's plight. It also makes a In what should be an Oscar-nominated turn, Catalina Sandino Moreno gives a heart-breakingly powerful performance as a Colombian mule. The film is disturbing, yes, brimming with drama and the horror of Maria's plight. It also makes a pointed statement about drugs and their inherent effect on poverty. "Maria Full of Grace" is easily the best Latin American film of 2004, and an outstanding example of "reality cinema". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LucyT.Jul 18, 2004
The story keeps you up! the intensity never made anyone wink. yet heartwheming and sentitive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidG.Sep 29, 2004
A good movie, but not a masterpiece! It certainly doesn't warrant so many ratings in the 8-10 out of 10 range. A simple and dramatic story, good portrayal of a teenager balancing a need to escape and climb to a better life, with a need A good movie, but not a masterpiece! It certainly doesn't warrant so many ratings in the 8-10 out of 10 range. A simple and dramatic story, good portrayal of a teenager balancing a need to escape and climb to a better life, with a need to make a series of unethical choices in order to do this. References to Roman Catholicism can be found in the background, but these religious allusions were only shallowly developed. The fact that abortion was never contemplated (while organized cocaine smuggling was) may also reflect a catholic influence. Yet the story is satisfying and the movie is definitely worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayM.Feb 27, 2005
Excellent acting. Moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickT.Feb 5, 2005
The best movie I have seen in a very long time. I found it amazing how it was solely the dialogue and the situation that it was occuring in was what moved me the most. Every single facet of this movie deserves all the praise it recieves. The best movie I have seen in a very long time. I found it amazing how it was solely the dialogue and the situation that it was occuring in was what moved me the most. Every single facet of this movie deserves all the praise it recieves. Many movies attempt to capture realism, and fail, but Maria Full of Grace is able to do it effortlessly without imbellishing any kind of circumstance or character. I was very pleased with this movie and reccommend it highly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
angelim.Mar 14, 2005
It was great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
markg.Jan 10, 2006
Brilliant on every level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffM.Aug 14, 2006
Not a "thriller" in the traditinoal genre sense, yet Maria's journey had me on the edge of my seat throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanFeb 20, 2007
Great, captivating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnestA.Oct 11, 2004
This movie was as real as it gets. The negative forces is what drives this movie, but Catalina Sandino Moreno put on an academy award performance. She is riveting in her portral of Maria. I saw this movie on a Friday night and it is still This movie was as real as it gets. The negative forces is what drives this movie, but Catalina Sandino Moreno put on an academy award performance. She is riveting in her portral of Maria. I saw this movie on a Friday night and it is still with me on Monday morning. If you haven't seen this movie, please, please go see it. The screenwriting was excellent. This deserves to win more than one award. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AugustoSDec 23, 2004
Very authentic and moving story, about a young Colombian girl that decides to become a mule. Being that I'm from a place very close to Colombia, I was very pleased at the autheticity of the movie. Colombians are Colombians, with their Very authentic and moving story, about a young Colombian girl that decides to become a mule. Being that I'm from a place very close to Colombia, I was very pleased at the autheticity of the movie. Colombians are Colombians, with their accents and figures of speech, this might seem like a minor point, but a lot of movies tend to blend accents in the wrong way. The actress who plays "Maria" does an excellent job, and the scene at the airport is a great example of creating tension in a movie in a quiet way. The only complaint I would have about the movie is the title. It's a bit misleading since the religious tones are barely touched at all. The title just seems to have been chosen because it sounds pretty good, but that's almost about it. Great movie, highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaL.Jul 29, 2004
Stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LoreleiQ.Jul 30, 2004
Catalina Sandino Moreno is full of grace. The plot is predictable, but that's not necessarily a bad thing - it's also wholly believeable. Thank goodness the director had the sense to step out of the way and let his actors do the Catalina Sandino Moreno is full of grace. The plot is predictable, but that's not necessarily a bad thing - it's also wholly believeable. Thank goodness the director had the sense to step out of the way and let his actors do the work. If you're highly opinionated on the U.S.'s "war on drugs," you need to see this movie - whatever your stance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkAug 13, 2004
Elegant, no corny dramatic hype or gratuitous violence, very very realistic, human, suspenseful and moving. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorMAug 18, 2004
Very authentic and moving. It is a very realistic movie with a very remarkable role for Maria. She's great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcK.Aug 18, 2004
Not exactly the "feel good" movie of the year, but definitely worth seeing. Strong acting performances by most. And like "Dirty Pretty Things", it's a plot dealing with the underbelly of our society that most of us never see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterK.Sep 4, 2004
An absolutely mesmerizing ride of human tribulation. Moreno's eyes, carrying more expression than perhaps any other actress working today, carry an attached grief, never ceasing to amaze the audience or allowing maria to totally An absolutely mesmerizing ride of human tribulation. Moreno's eyes, carrying more expression than perhaps any other actress working today, carry an attached grief, never ceasing to amaze the audience or allowing maria to totally enthrall them. For her subtlety, and her utterly potent expression, this is the finest performance I have witnessed by an actress this year. For her truth to character and the heart that the audience so clearly could recognize that lies in the story and Maria herself, this is one of the finest films I have seen in a long time. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinE.Jan 24, 2005
I'll second what most of the '8's have said, but deduct for being a little bit bored with the pacing ; it was so very even that I felt I had seen it while mildy drugged. Maybe this was intentional, connecting us to the same I'll second what most of the '8's have said, but deduct for being a little bit bored with the pacing ; it was so very even that I felt I had seen it while mildy drugged. Maybe this was intentional, connecting us to the same sense of confusion and ennui that Maria is feeling. It was honest, unpretentious, and absorbing, but I think some of the priase I've read, such as 'astonishing', and 'breathtaking' are a bit over the top. If it doesn't follow a slick Hollywood formula it isn't necessarily the ground-breaking film we've waited a lifetime for either (I call this the 'Sideways' syndrome). In the end I felt that I had traveled to another place for 101 minutes - that's always nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudiaT.Oct 31, 2005
One of the best movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattM.Jan 9, 2005
Simply stunning ~ the cinema coming out of the lower Americas is packing more of an emotional punch that anything Hollywood can cook up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kenc.Mar 7, 2005
Be sure to watch it a second time with the Director's Commentary. One of the very best I've ever heard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
carmend.Oct 13, 2005
This was one of the best movies I ever sw in all my life it's great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArmandoS.Jan 15, 2005
Excellent acting by lead actress-someone to watch in the future-compassionate movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CayitaV.Feb 23, 2005
This movie was excelent because shows the real problem that our country is having for many tears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EpicLadySpongeMay 16, 2016
Don't listen to the shameful users here. They know nothing about movies. On other sites, Maria Full of Grace has a positive user score such as Rotten Tomatoes and IMDb, but in here, they screwed it up. Maria Full of Grace is fulled withDon't listen to the shameful users here. They know nothing about movies. On other sites, Maria Full of Grace has a positive user score such as Rotten Tomatoes and IMDb, but in here, they screwed it up. Maria Full of Grace is fulled with grace... every single second of it... it ends wanting more from the viewer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews