Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 14, 2012
    60
    This trip through the seminal performance artist's (often literal) body of work is sometimes too cozy, yet Abramovic might argue that objectivity is impossible if truth is the destination.
  2. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 12, 2012
    60
    Matthew Akers' film is a personally revealing look at an artist most famous for maintaining stone-faced silence for three months.
  3. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 12, 2012
    60
    Like many other recent documentaries about artists, it is more celebratory than analytical, a kind of slick, extended promotional video for its subject.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jun 12, 2012
    60
    She's trying to access a shared humanity, to foster an unusual intimacy with viewers - to strip herself, often literally, to a naked and undeniable truth.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    I rather stumbled upon this documentary, and was going to watch something completely different (not that there is anything like this,I rather stumbled upon this documentary, and was going to watch something completely different (not that there is anything like this, actually.) If you are an artist, someone who loves art, or just someone who can be fascinated people - you will be certainly fascinated by Marina Abramovich, the self descirbed grandmother of performance art. This is someone whom I have never heard of, not that I am in the habit of watching art documentaries, as my taste is usually far different. But I feel much richer for the experience that this documentary gave me, which as it turns out, is just the tip of the iceberg of this revolutionary artist. I am still at a loss for words, but if you have an open mind... see this documentary! Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    A 2012 documentary about the 2010 retrospective exhibition “THE ARTIST IS PRESENT” held at MoMA, New York, by the Serbia-born MarinaA 2012 documentary about the 2010 retrospective exhibition “THE ARTIST IS PRESENT” held at MoMA, New York, by the Serbia-born Marina Abramovic, the performance-art spearhead, who has been active for over 40 years and namely the “grandmother of performance art”.

    continue reading my review on my blog, google "cinema omnivore", thanks
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    An intense, dramatic, inspiring and sometimes very funny documentary about a determined artist on her way to fame. The upcoming exhibition atAn intense, dramatic, inspiring and sometimes very funny documentary about a determined artist on her way to fame. The upcoming exhibition at MOMA works very well as a narrative frame and Ms. Abramovic is very open about her moments of success and failures. I liked the approachable nature of the whole production, not only for people interested in art, but for everyone who likes to draw inspiration from a successfull artist. Full Review »