User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 149
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarylK.
    Jan 2, 2009
    1
    This movie was a major dissapointment...suffers from poor editing and could have left at least 30 minutes on the cutting room floor. It just drags (ok we get it he's a dog with attitude and he will die but get on with it). The screenplay was bland and will Owen and Jennifer looked great there was zero chemistry. A wasted opportunity with this film.
  2. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Marley & Me seems like one of those cliched dog movies where someone buys a dog and he runs away or is kidnapped and then comes back to it. No! This isn't that movie. This is a movie about a jornalist who moves to Beverly Hills with his wife and when Marley enters in his life, everything changes. For those who haven't read its source material, you'll find it unexpected. It finds the rightMarley & Me seems like one of those cliched dog movies where someone buys a dog and he runs away or is kidnapped and then comes back to it. No! This isn't that movie. This is a movie about a jornalist who moves to Beverly Hills with his wife and when Marley enters in his life, everything changes. For those who haven't read its source material, you'll find it unexpected. It finds the right mix between laughs and drama. It can make you laugh out loud but it can also make you cry. Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson provide chemistry enough for you to enjoy their character's story. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    4
    "Marley & Me" tries extremely hard to tear up the audience with its 'Marley'. The problem is that the film consistently opens a tedious tone with absolutely nothing significant or impressive until to the end. Its just like being in school, listening a lecture from a monotonous teacher. Nothing's really great about it.
  4. Oct 10, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like dogs, but to me there's nothing entertaining about a couple of idiots who can't raise one. The movie is devoid of laughs or interesting plot developments. They work and have kids and then the dog dies, and Marley is such an awful dog that I feel genuine relief (not sadness) when it finally kicks the bucket. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    A really incredible and emotive movie. I´m feeling sorprised becuase much movies about animals, have a great story, and this is an amazing example, the cast have a great performance and the most amazing is Marley, one of my favorite films ever.
  6. DustinN.
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    I think this is a good movie with a good cast of characters and a cute dog.
  7. ShawnG.
    May 15, 2009
    8
    My wife laughed at me because I cried at the end. I may be 38 years old but I'm human. While growing up, I made three trips to the Vet to put our dogs to sleep. They were sad trips filled with tears and deep seated emotions. This is life and the movie depicts just that. Dogs are often our best friends. To quote one scene in the movie: at the finish of Owen's surprise b-day party My wife laughed at me because I cried at the end. I may be 38 years old but I'm human. While growing up, I made three trips to the Vet to put our dogs to sleep. They were sad trips filled with tears and deep seated emotions. This is life and the movie depicts just that. Dogs are often our best friends. To quote one scene in the movie: at the finish of Owen's surprise b-day party he says to Jennifer, "Who were all those people? I don't have any friends!?" It was Marley who was his friend in the movie. Dogs really are our best friends. Expand
  8. DominicS.
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    A warm, and all around great family film. But just to warn dog lovers, the ending will definatly make you cry. I would still recommend it though.
  9. CaitlinK.
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    Sad, but SOOOOO good.
  10. ZachNewberry
    Jan 12, 2009
    8
    I know an 8 isn't a ten, but I try to rate movies reallistically and therefore I don't believe I've ever given out a ten. That being said, an 8 is extremely high in my book. I took my girlfriend to see Marley & Me opening night. In short, this movie blew me away. Humor, drama, love, loss, it's life. The story and characters are all perfectly believable and pull you in I know an 8 isn't a ten, but I try to rate movies reallistically and therefore I don't believe I've ever given out a ten. That being said, an 8 is extremely high in my book. I took my girlfriend to see Marley & Me opening night. In short, this movie blew me away. Humor, drama, love, loss, it's life. The story and characters are all perfectly believable and pull you in very well from the start [***SPOILER WARNING***] which I believe is why Marley's death in the end left everyone in the packed theater, including myself, in tears. Expand
  11. Fletcher
    Jan 2, 2009
    3
    This movie was falsely advertised. I was expecting a comedy, this was boring boring boring. I kept waiting for something to happen, and it didn't. If I had gone into it knowing what it was (based on accurate advertising), I may have enjoyed it more, but it was nothing but a disappointment. I strongly dislike movies that are advertised as something they're not.
  12. RichardR.
    Jan 2, 2009
    9
    The movie was a subject everyone can relate to. It was the tear jerker of 2008. Excellent !
  13. AlC.
    Jan 4, 2009
    8
    I thought it was a good and solid film. When it was sappy, it had funny bits. I loved it.
  14. kale567toyou
    Jan 4, 2009
    1
    Went to see it for free. If you can't, DON'T! This was worse than Bedtimes Stories.
  15. CeliaB.
    Jan 4, 2009
    7
    Wasn't amazing. But still really worth it.
  16. dggggW.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    This was an amazing movie, sure it was dreary. But no, it still made me cry and laugh. This is like that Curious Case movie, life is full of surprises, and in a dog's life, things happen in it to cause some sort of situation.
  17. JamesB
    May 4, 2009
    10
    Yes, the film was advertised as a comedy and it should have been rated PG-13. However, the movie was deeper than any "pet" movie that I've ever seen. In actuality, the "real" story was about a man growing up from young adulthood into the next phase of his life. Of course, to get to that next phase of your life, decisions have to made about where you live and work and even what Yes, the film was advertised as a comedy and it should have been rated PG-13. However, the movie was deeper than any "pet" movie that I've ever seen. In actuality, the "real" story was about a man growing up from young adulthood into the next phase of his life. Of course, to get to that next phase of your life, decisions have to made about where you live and work and even what friends you keep (as in the best friend in the movie). The death of his beloved dog coincided with his life's journey into middle adulthood. I can relate. I had my lab for 12 years. She was with me as I finished college, got my graduate degree, got married, and had three kids. My lab died shortly after my third child was born - just like in the movie. If you look at it from my point of view, it would be a great film to show developmental psychology students. Expand
  18. JohnS.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    If you've been there...you would understand just how close to reality this movie was. I've been there! It truely moved me.
  19. AlliL.
    Jan 1, 2009
    9
    I love this movie! it was so good. - it was funny and sad and i think everyone should watch it.
  20. TonyO.
    Jan 15, 2009
    5
    I hate to sound like a curmudgeon, but this movie is not that great. Yes, it deserves points for good acting (Jennifer Aniston takes the honours, much to my surprise) and yes it deserves points for being reasonably light-hearted and a bit sensitive about real topics that have some bearing on real people's lives (family, love of animals, work pressures, frustrated career options, post I hate to sound like a curmudgeon, but this movie is not that great. Yes, it deserves points for good acting (Jennifer Aniston takes the honours, much to my surprise) and yes it deserves points for being reasonably light-hearted and a bit sensitive about real topics that have some bearing on real people's lives (family, love of animals, work pressures, frustrated career options, post natal depression). Not that many big screen movies these days make much attempt to deal with these sorts of issues, and it is not badly done. But this still looks like a Hallmark movie to me. For one thing, it is gratingly manipulative in OTT ways that I have not had to think about since they put a bullet into Old Yeller. And the directing was pretty ho-hum, especially when we had the interminable sequence of rapid voiceover by Owen Wilson about the minutiae of his daily life. And the vision of middle class life in America was pretty cloying as well. I do not really know what non WASP people in America think when they see a movie like this, but I imagine they might well wonder how a family struggling in a small house in a crime ridden suburb in Miami can somehow seamlessly make the transition to a green acres mansion in the North-East. And worst of all was the dog. I know it is only a movie, and it is a bit harsh to criticise a dog that is faithful, long lived and integral to family life. But the damn thing was also a rogue male, and probably dangerous. Offhand, on the evidence of this movie, I would have said the dog deserved to be put down about 8 years before the end of the film. Or rather, its owners should have been. We all love dogs, but to suggest that it is somehow OK to keep animals that are a public nuisance just because someone or other loves them is a bit rich. Spare some thought about that rather large group of people whose lives have been seriously set back or even destroyed because there are irresponsible pet owners who just can't be bothered to control their animals. The film skates over that side of things a bit. There is lots of running away, lots of references to pooping in public areas, but not too much about the real implications of keeping uncontrollable animals around small children. So, overall, as a movie it was a bit dull, and more than a little irresponsible. Expand
  21. ChicholinaF.
    Jan 2, 2009
    2
    WARNING: this movie
  22. MattA
    Jan 2, 2009
    6
    By all means, not a terrible movie...just not as deep or fulfilling as the book probably was. The dog was adorable, and the final scenes were indeed touching. However, i can't help but feel forced into those emotions, and not really care about the other characters in the film. Owen Wilson was charming, and so was Alan Arkin...but everybody else was totally upstaged by the dog. If you By all means, not a terrible movie...just not as deep or fulfilling as the book probably was. The dog was adorable, and the final scenes were indeed touching. However, i can't help but feel forced into those emotions, and not really care about the other characters in the film. Owen Wilson was charming, and so was Alan Arkin...but everybody else was totally upstaged by the dog. If you love dogs and want a good weeper about one, then see this...but if not, just read the book. Expand
  23. MitchS.
    Jan 31, 2009
    1
    What a waste of money this movie was. And please explain to me how Aniston gets so much work, she's awful.
  24. CAE.
    Jan 4, 2009
    8
    A must-see family film. Very moving and helps to put life, and those things that are REALLY important, into perspective.
  25. Jasmin
    Jan 8, 2009
    9
    I thought the movie was funny, but realistic. It portrays the couple as a "real" couple with worries and stress like everyone else. The relationship they have with their animal is heartwarming. If you are an animal lover or had a childhood experience with a family dog this movie is the one for you. I absolutely loved it. There wasn't a dry eye in the entire theater. From youngster of I thought the movie was funny, but realistic. It portrays the couple as a "real" couple with worries and stress like everyone else. The relationship they have with their animal is heartwarming. If you are an animal lover or had a childhood experience with a family dog this movie is the one for you. I absolutely loved it. There wasn't a dry eye in the entire theater. From youngster of 10 to adult in their 50's and 60's were teary. Expand
  26. JohnB
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    "The more people I meet every day the more I like my dog" Those who did not like this movie / book clearly are not dog people and frankly probably a*holes. If you are not a dog person you should not be seeing a movie about the connection a man has with his dog.
  27. SaraM
    Jan 9, 2009
    8
    This was the sweetest movie ever! EXtremly well balanced with humor, sadness and it was one of owen wilson best movies! SPOILER: youll probably cry at the end!
  28. GracielaR
    Feb 6, 2009
    9
    I really like this movie, is sweet and funny.
  29. JosieB.
    Mar 14, 2009
    1
    this movie has been portrayed on the advertisements as being a lighthearted commedy. I took my 12 year old daughter to see it and I think it was totally unsuitable. The film starts well enough with some a few funny scenes of the dog misbehaving etc...but towards the end it gets really sad.... the dog becomes painfully ill and it seems to take forever for it to die... ...She was sobbing this movie has been portrayed on the advertisements as being a lighthearted commedy. I took my 12 year old daughter to see it and I think it was totally unsuitable. The film starts well enough with some a few funny scenes of the dog misbehaving etc...but towards the end it gets really sad.... the dog becomes painfully ill and it seems to take forever for it to die... ...She was sobbing uncontrollably at the end when the dog is seen step by step being put down, being buried on the blanket etc etc. I also don't think the sex reference scenes, and subjects of miscarriage, bad marriage etc are particularly suitable. It was a PG13 and I feel it should have been a 15. All the kids in the cinema were crying and my daughter was still really upset long after the film had finished. The trailers gave the wrong idea of what this film is about. So..WARNING TO ALL PARENTS WITH KIDS: DO NOT TAKE THEM TO SEE THIS FILM, IT IS NOT SUITABLE. I saw lots of parents at the exit of the cinema doing the same as I was doing, trying to console sobbing kids and looking extremely unhappy and annoyed that this film has been made to look in the adverts like a family commedy. IT IS NOT. For this I give it a 1. Expand
  30. JohnH
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    This is a very cute film. Funny and sad. However, this film should have definitely be rated PG-13. I do not know what the rating people were thinking. Were they drunk? I think so? Moving on, I thought the acting was good. The film had 22 different dogs that played the part of Marley, and each one of them were cute and funny. I think a few more of Marley's stunts that were in the book This is a very cute film. Funny and sad. However, this film should have definitely be rated PG-13. I do not know what the rating people were thinking. Were they drunk? I think so? Moving on, I thought the acting was good. The film had 22 different dogs that played the part of Marley, and each one of them were cute and funny. I think a few more of Marley's stunts that were in the book could have been included, but this was still a good film. And remember, this was a good movie, but do not take any kids in there under the age of 12 or 13, if you get my drift. Expand
  31. MandyS
    Apr 4, 2009
    7
    The movie was really hard for me to watch it very easily could have been my dog and me in that movie, and a year and a half ago I had to make a similar decison when he got cancer and coudn't move or breath very well, that movie brought it all back like it was yesterday I don't think I will watch this movie again not because it was bad but it was too hard to make it through the The movie was really hard for me to watch it very easily could have been my dog and me in that movie, and a year and a half ago I had to make a similar decison when he got cancer and coudn't move or breath very well, that movie brought it all back like it was yesterday I don't think I will watch this movie again not because it was bad but it was too hard to make it through the first time, when they gave my dog "the death shot" he wasn't on a table he was laying in my arms I will never forget that moment as long as I live to date its still the worse experiance I've ever endured losing him my best friend, loyal companion and loving guardian all in one moment. I am glad he wrote the book and did the movie its good to know that other people love their dogs as much as I did, however I was not prepared for the movie ending and I won't be watching it again. Expand
  32. nill
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    Very good, the end mad me cry. I would watch it again.
  33. DaveF
    Apr 9, 2009
    6
    Hey Josie B, you may have been the only person in the theatre who didn't know Marley dies in the end! Do a little research why doncha?! God forbid kids should get a dose of reality once in awhile. Guess what? Pets die! Instead of consoling the brat, how about explaining about the joy and associated pain of pet ownership? It's called a life lesson, take the opportunity to teach Hey Josie B, you may have been the only person in the theatre who didn't know Marley dies in the end! Do a little research why doncha?! God forbid kids should get a dose of reality once in awhile. Guess what? Pets die! Instead of consoling the brat, how about explaining about the joy and associated pain of pet ownership? It's called a life lesson, take the opportunity to teach them something instead of shielding them until the real world kicks them in the nuts the first time. The ending was very touching and realistic; as a pet owner I can tell you Wilson played that part dead on. Rant over. Fairly heart-warming flick, pretty good chemistry between Wilson and Aniston and it looks like Kathleen Turner's sex change is now complete. Expand
  34. jaim
    May 15, 2009
    10
    Very funny. bad language. but interesting. and has a high chance of making you cry.
  35. BrandonD
    May 16, 2009
    9
    I thought this was a good movie. Of course people who didn't like it are probably heartless people who don't care about dogs. If you have a dog, I think you will like it.
  36. LeslieW.
    Dec 25, 2008
    8
    This movie made me cry the hardest I have ever cried during a movie. Having read the book, the last scene was portrayed so wonderfully by the whole family, it made me reminisce of my family going through the same movie. The book was better, but the movie was also very good.
  37. ClaytonD.
    Dec 25, 2008
    7
    Not a bad movie about dogs and marriage and family. Hit home since I have had many canines in my 22 1/2 year old marriage..... Well done but no real surprises.
  38. JASIV
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Excellent, but the end is brutal.
  39. CarolS
    Dec 28, 2008
    3
    Found it predictable; no chemistry between Aniston and Wilson. I love dogs...found Marley's antics and his "parent's" inability to control him tiresome.
  40. AlessandraS
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    I believe this movie is misunderstood- it is not a romantic comedy. I would also say that it is not suitable for kids under 12. For what it is, Marley and Me is a very touching film about life's trials and tribulations, and the love between a dog and a family, although the expression of that love is often suppressed in front of a dog who is out of control. Some really amazing acting I believe this movie is misunderstood- it is not a romantic comedy. I would also say that it is not suitable for kids under 12. For what it is, Marley and Me is a very touching film about life's trials and tribulations, and the love between a dog and a family, although the expression of that love is often suppressed in front of a dog who is out of control. Some really amazing acting by Wilson and Aniston for a couple of scenes. I cried- alot, but hey I cry at many movies. Worthwhile if you want to watch a touching story. Also, very moving if you have a dog. Expand
  41. MartyP.
    Jan 18, 2009
    8
    Entertaining, especially if you are a dog lover!
  42. Ls
    Jan 19, 2009
    4
    It's like an untrained dog and a family that made a home movie together. What's the point? Even as an animal lover i didn't like this film. POINTLESS.
  43. WayneK.
    Jan 31, 2009
    3
    Summary: This movie was painful to endure and very boring, especially in the last 30-minutes, which was total lovey-dovey garbage! The movie started off well enough, when a man gets a dog, who constantly wrecks and destroys his home, then starts a family with the character played by Jennifer Aniston. The beginning awaits one with eager anticipation into the film, until problems begin with Summary: This movie was painful to endure and very boring, especially in the last 30-minutes, which was total lovey-dovey garbage! The movie started off well enough, when a man gets a dog, who constantly wrecks and destroys his home, then starts a family with the character played by Jennifer Aniston. The beginning awaits one with eager anticipation into the film, until problems begin with the marriage, mainly because of the dog. By then, he has three kids, and I seriously thought he would get rid of the dog, and would end sadly but understandably - not only was I wrong, but I had absolutely no idea what I had gotten myself into. [***SPOILER***] Many insignificant and utterly boring cutscenes follow, the man moves from Florida to Philly, more boring cutscenes, the dog gets old, and after 30 minutes (more like forever), the dog finally dies, and I left in exuberance. Also, I would like to add that the sex scenes and references were totally inappropriate for a film rated PG-13, and if I could, I would prosecute the director on criminal charges! My 7-year old daughter had to see that! Ugh... The only character in the movie that actually made it more interesting was the guy's boss in the newspaper company in Florida, with his light-hearted humor and sense of personality. The reviews on this movie make me sick. "Oh, it was a tearjerker, I want to see it again." "Oh, it was one of the best movies ever, it made me cry." "Oh, I feel bad for the dog, It's really sad when he died." "Oh, boo-hoo-hoo..." I was actually thrilled when the dog died. Even my daughter wanted to leave, and she wasn't crying when it was all over. Feelings, emotions, blah blah blah Expand
  44. JayH.
    Mar 26, 2009
    7
    Well written, good casting. A sweet film, funny and touching. Not one you will easily forget. It does seem to wander away from it's focus about halfway, but it gets back on track. Well done.
  45. SamJ
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    Brilliant film! Marley and me is a very funny film, which might make you cry.
  46. ThomasZ
    Apr 26, 2009
    8
    This was a nice, moving story. Although, the adds for the movie make it look like a movie that it isn't. it was heartbreaking. I cried. I would not recommend this movie to young children. Don't let the PG rating trick you. It's well written, and it's good, but just devastating, it should be PG-13 and it tricks you. Although, an 8.
  47. Jag
    Jul 29, 2009
    3
    It could have been better. The movie is suppose to make you laugh and yet it also can very well make you cry. I just don't like it when put some real life dramatic stuff in such a goofy atmosphere. The movie was very reality based. This is just my opinion but, if your gonna make a funny movie make it funny. If your gonna make a drama make it dramatic. That whole half and half thing It could have been better. The movie is suppose to make you laugh and yet it also can very well make you cry. I just don't like it when put some real life dramatic stuff in such a goofy atmosphere. The movie was very reality based. This is just my opinion but, if your gonna make a funny movie make it funny. If your gonna make a drama make it dramatic. That whole half and half thing just doesn't click for me in reality based movies. Plus it just dragged on and on. There were so many times when I thought the movie was coming to an end and yet it just kept going. If your an older and more layed back person you will probably like it. I'm sure there will be parts that will remind you of you own life but as for us youngsters who haven't experienced what its like to be in a marriage and have a house and family of our own, prepare to be bored stiff. Expand
  48. ChadS.
    Dec 25, 2008
    9
    Move over, Marley: You have company. The newspaper industry sleeps with the fishes, too. But in "Marley and Me", the newspaper industry thrives still, an indication that this doggy snuff film is a period piece about the relatively recent past. There's nary a typewriter in sight; this isn't the era of Howard Hawks' "His Girl Friday", after all, but the computers don't Move over, Marley: You have company. The newspaper industry sleeps with the fishes, too. But in "Marley and Me", the newspaper industry thrives still, an indication that this doggy snuff film is a period piece about the relatively recent past. There's nary a typewriter in sight; this isn't the era of Howard Hawks' "His Girl Friday", after all, but the computers don't run Windows, which might as well be the dark ages, technology-wise. A journalist actually had the luxury to mull over the pros and cons of being a reporter, or a columnist. The Internet was still in its infancy, a mere "truck". While the "truck" blossomed into "a series of tubes", Josh Grogan(Owen Wilson) got a dog, got a career, and got a family. A film about a dog is a recipe for schmaltz, but "Marley and Me" avoids devolving into a cute animal horror show by balancing the good times with the bad times. In one pointed scene, the Labrador Retriever's unruly nature, once seemingly comedic when the dog was a proxy, becomes a point of contention, after Marley is downgraded to pet status, following the birth of the Grogan children. Another factor that calibrates "Marley and Me" against gratuitous dog-related humor and pathos is the character of Josh's friend, a womanizing reporter whom the columnist envies because he's free. Josh has not one, but two dogs, shadowing his life. In the film's other key scene, after Josh's family photo is handed back to him, the dog tells the dog-owner that he did good, that nothing has changed. When the old friends part, the married man looks back at the single man with longing. "Marley and Me" succeeds becuse the dog isn't always the focal point of the story; the film depicts the tension between the road Josh took, and the road not taken, which it then tries to negotiate when the columnist convinces his editor and himself that he's no reporter. While "Marley and Me" inevitably dramatizes one death, it subtly alludes to another death in the soundtrack's inclusion of a Nirvana cover("Lithium" by Bruce Lash). Like how grunge killed the "hair bands" back in the early-nineties, the computer sitting harmlessly on Josh's desk would someday in the very near future, kill journalism as the characters in the film knew it. Expand
  49. AngelaG.
    Dec 26, 2008
    9
    Surprisingly true to life and heart felt. Much more than just a "dog movie".
  50. Nic
    Dec 26, 2008
    7
    Cute, but a little slow at parts. Some very suggestive parts. I don't thin it should have only been a PG. there where some parts I wouln't want my young children to watch.
  51. carol
    Dec 26, 2008
    1
    Jen another one for the dogs.
  52. [Anonymous]
    Dec 27, 2008
    8
    I give it an 8 out of 10 for movies in its class. I was not expecting its relative quality; the movie is well paced, has good dialogue, and is as entertaining as it could be by explaining a simple but important family premise. Intelligent, kind human beings will appreciate Marley & Me for its strong foundation referencing the concrete "till death" partnership between canines and humans.
  53. LisaS.
    Dec 27, 2008
    0
    This movie was very boring. so boring that i fell asleep a half hour into the movie. Jennifer A. was at her worst and this was the opposit of what Owen Wilson plays. Maybe next time they will get it right. Jennifer should tried another line of work.
  54. SteveW.
    Dec 28, 2008
    3
    This move was rated poorly. Kids in our family ranged from 7-12 and this movie contained violence (a stabbing), sex/sexy mentioned a dozen times, and a taste of sex education. The movie seemed to be advertised as a Beethoven-like movie but plenty of kids went and some were shell-shocked and confused. Story was ok for for adults but very disappointed in the rating.
  55. cm
    Dec 29, 2008
    7
    They could have focused more on the dog since it's about Marley and Me (together) they dashed by the scene of all the things he's ever done with the dog for his column but then they focus on his career. They should have changed that around. It's a very fun fillm though and both Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson did a wonderful acting job, very heart wrenching especially if They could have focused more on the dog since it's about Marley and Me (together) they dashed by the scene of all the things he's ever done with the dog for his column but then they focus on his career. They should have changed that around. It's a very fun fillm though and both Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson did a wonderful acting job, very heart wrenching especially if you are an animal lover, you will get it and you will be sad. Expand
  56. RobertI.
    Dec 31, 2008
    5
    Tepid stuff. so unsurprising, and we don't need so many tears from Jennifer and Owen. ugh.
  57. Feb 21, 2011
    6
    This isn't a very funny movie, and when it's trying to be serious it fails miserably, I was surprised when this didn't focus that much on the dog, the best part of this movie, and the only reason I would recommend this is for the emotional ending, but that isn't a reason to spend your hard earned money to go out and buy the DVD or really even a reason to rent this, it's an ok movie, butThis isn't a very funny movie, and when it's trying to be serious it fails miserably, I was surprised when this didn't focus that much on the dog, the best part of this movie, and the only reason I would recommend this is for the emotional ending, but that isn't a reason to spend your hard earned money to go out and buy the DVD or really even a reason to rent this, it's an ok movie, but definitely not for everyone. Expand
  58. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    This is not "just a dog movie"! Sure, one of the main characters is a dog, but there is so much more to it. Among other topics, this film - with its incredibly charming characters and an amazingly amusing script - is about the difficulties of having a family, and the joys of being a family. Furthermore, it suggests that sometimes doing what you can do best is better than what you thinkThis is not "just a dog movie"! Sure, one of the main characters is a dog, but there is so much more to it. Among other topics, this film - with its incredibly charming characters and an amazingly amusing script - is about the difficulties of having a family, and the joys of being a family. Furthermore, it suggests that sometimes doing what you can do best is better than what you think you want or have to do. The movie encourages you not to stick to a plan, but to let you surprise yourself. Beautiful and emotional third act, and a great ending monologue making out a case for a dog being the best friend one can have. Highly recommended. Expand
  59. Jan 18, 2011
    5
    Maybe I just wasn't in the mood or maybe it is because I wouldn't have put up with a dog like that to begin with, but the movie just didn't do it for me. Wilson and Aniston are great together but I just didn't care much for the movie. Perhaps on another day if I ever watch it again I will enjoy it a bit more.
  60. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    Such a touching story about a couple who gets a puppy, which turns out to be their worst nightmare. Despite the fact that the dog terrorizes everything in their house, the family grows a beautiful bonding with the dog. Has such a sad ending, that would lead most dog lovers into tears.
  61. Aug 28, 2012
    7
    Marley & Me is a lovely, inoffensive little film. The basic premise is pretty generic: a typical romantic comedy plot about a married couple who are considering settling down and having a family, but are reluctant to sacrifice their successful careers in journalism, so instead they get a dog. That dog is an energetic golden retriever that they name Marley, who turns out to be quite aMarley & Me is a lovely, inoffensive little film. The basic premise is pretty generic: a typical romantic comedy plot about a married couple who are considering settling down and having a family, but are reluctant to sacrifice their successful careers in journalism, so instead they get a dog. That dog is an energetic golden retriever that they name Marley, who turns out to be quite a handful, and that's where the fun begins. We get great performances from Owen Wilson, and particularly Jennifer Aniston, who gives the best in her career - natural, empathetic and with real emotional depth. They make an incredibly likable couple, and their relationship develops believably as their characters approach middle age. Alan Arkin also has a brilliant comic turn as the hilariously deadpan newspaper editor who employs Wilson's John Grogan. The film's story is surprisingly involving, Marley misbehaving and causing chaos is very funny, and there are a good number of affecting emotional beats. It's all grossly sentimental of course, which will put some people off, and it's rather long and a bit slow at some points, but if you're a dog-lover, and if your heart is, well, actually a heart, then you really can't help but be moved by the final act of the film. Marley & Me doesn't break any new ground at all, but it really doesn't need to - it's warm cuddly and comforting, like your favourite canine friend, and sometimes that's all you want from a film. Expand
  62. Aug 25, 2014
    9
    "A dog has no use for fancy cars... or big homes or designer clothes A waterlogged stick will do just fine. A dog doesn't care if you're rich or poor... clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give 'em your heart and he'll give you his. How many people can you say that about? How many people can make you feel rare and pure and special? How many people can make you feel... extraordinary?"

    This
    "A dog has no use for fancy cars... or big homes or designer clothes A waterlogged stick will do just fine. A dog doesn't care if you're rich or poor... clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give 'em your heart and he'll give you his. How many people can you say that about? How many people can make you feel rare and pure and special? How many people can make you feel... extraordinary?"

    This wasn't on my watch list, but for some reason I wanted to check it out. As sometimes happens, that leads a person to see one of the biggest favorites of their whole life.

    Marley & Me made me feel, made me laugh, and made me cry. I can't stress the last part enough; for anyone who loves dogs - and has owned at least one in their life - I'm sure this will be a bittersweet, lovely, sad movie to watch.

    A story of John (Owen Wilson) and Jenny (Jennifer Aniston) starts pretty normally. They are both in the news reporter business, Jenny a bit more famous than her husband. To halt the biological clock for a moment, John is given advice by his friend Sebastian (Eric Dane) to get her a pet.

    So, along comes Marley, the worst dog in the world, who is also the most loveable creature you can imagine - if you can get over all the mayhem he causes.

    The story follows this family through the journey of their life: new jobs and kids, the good times, the bad times, and eventually the evil trick the nature provides us: old age.

    I am not a fan of Owen Wilson or Jennifer Aniston, but they do a remarkably good job here. The other actor performances are top notch as well.

    The camera work, the scenery, the music - it all fits in all the right places. The story keeps going, always evolving like the life has a tendency to do if you let it, and in the end there is such a beautiful, simple story to be shared of love between man and the man's best friend, Marley.

    Definitely watch this, and if you love your dog, keep tissues within reach!
    Expand
  63. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    A movie that will make you mourn much.
  64. Nov 20, 2014
    5
    I love animals. I do, I love them better than I do people...however, how cliche does this has to be? Yes. Marley dies...tragic, and yet I was so bored. Why? For one thing, the acting is mediocre, there's nothing even amazing about the plot line. I wasn't expecting a thriller, but for God's sake, it's a dog that needs to be trained (and simply running amok is pointless. Yes, they fall inI love animals. I do, I love them better than I do people...however, how cliche does this has to be? Yes. Marley dies...tragic, and yet I was so bored. Why? For one thing, the acting is mediocre, there's nothing even amazing about the plot line. I wasn't expecting a thriller, but for God's sake, it's a dog that needs to be trained (and simply running amok is pointless. Yes, they fall in love, buy a house, careers, kids...blah, blah, blah. I call **** on the whole thing...this is supposed to be enertaining, correct? Expand
  65. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    It may only appeal to dog-lovers, but it may not. Marley & Me is incredibly and surprisingly genuine. It's also heartwarming and tragic, aspects of our life we don't always realize are present and recurring.
  66. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Very funny, sad, and relate-able movie. You really do get attached to the characters. Especially Marley. As you could probably guess, the ending is very sad.
  67. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This means something I didnt even give my favorite movie a 10, first time. This is a lighthearted comedy/drama. Makes me cry every time at the end and Im 16. To me its more of a drama then comedy but either way very good movie. Great acting (humans and dog), great chemistry (mainly family-dog. then Family-family.) I brought the DVD in 2009 and I lost it in 2010. Im still desperatly lookingThis means something I didnt even give my favorite movie a 10, first time. This is a lighthearted comedy/drama. Makes me cry every time at the end and Im 16. To me its more of a drama then comedy but either way very good movie. Great acting (humans and dog), great chemistry (mainly family-dog. then Family-family.) I brought the DVD in 2009 and I lost it in 2010. Im still desperatly looking for this. Probably the best film ever literally. Better then my fav movie not more entertaining but still better. Watch with family, alone, anytime, anywhere Its that good. But if your kids dont like sad endings cut it when the dog starts to act lazy. If they can handle it watch sad still very good though. Expand
  68. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Marley & Me is just average.
    A good effort by the director and the screenplay writers who adapted this book into a full movie. The actors don't give spectacular performances, Owen Wilson feels like he's forcing his role at times. Not many laughs, a sad overall message. Nothing amazing just an average movie.
  69. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    "Marley & Me" is remarkable for its genre. Rather than a typical uninspired and humorous family flick, it features some really emotional scenes and solid performances by Wilson and Aniston. Don't expect anything new or exceptional, "Marley & Me" offers more than the average dramedy, though.
  70. Mar 28, 2015
    8
    Strong entertaining performances from the cast (including the dogs) and an emotional touch turn it's typical comedic premise into a touching memorable drama. Marley and Me isn't one of those charming yet depressing films in which the message's conveyed stay with you forever. It's one of those ones where your sad in the cinema and then the next day forget all about it. A lot of pet dogStrong entertaining performances from the cast (including the dogs) and an emotional touch turn it's typical comedic premise into a touching memorable drama. Marley and Me isn't one of those charming yet depressing films in which the message's conveyed stay with you forever. It's one of those ones where your sad in the cinema and then the next day forget all about it. A lot of pet dog movies are like this one, but this one is faithful to a true story and will always stand as a quality family film. Expand
  71. May 26, 2015
    8
    A very good film I thought this movie would be really cliché but no it is very original and amazing. The ending of this movie is one of the best ending and most saddest ending ever in film.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Cammila Albertson
    50
    As a modest little dramedy about the everyday adventures of starting a family, Marley & Me is pretty solid, but as a movie about the joy and heartbreak of owning a dog, it goes straight for the jugular.
  2. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    40
    My Dog Skip for people in mid-life crises, it?s too talky and trouble-laden for tykes but will doubtless prove as critic-proof to dog-lovers and the stars? fans as it did in the US.
  3. A warm and fuzzy family movie, but you do wish that at least once someone would upstage the dog.