Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 25, 2008
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 164 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
35
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
DarylK.Jan 2, 2009
This movie was a major dissapointment...suffers from poor editing and could have left at least 30 minutes on the cutting room floor. It just drags (ok we get it he's a dog with attitude and he will die but get on with it). The This movie was a major dissapointment...suffers from poor editing and could have left at least 30 minutes on the cutting room floor. It just drags (ok we get it he's a dog with attitude and he will die but get on with it). The screenplay was bland and will Owen and Jennifer looked great there was zero chemistry. A wasted opportunity with this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
nohoboboOct 10, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like dogs, but to me there's nothing entertaining about a couple of idiots who can't raise one. The movie is devoid of laughs or interesting plot developments. They work and have kids and then the dog dies, and Marley is such an awful dog that I feel genuine relief (not sadness) when it finally kicks the bucket. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
FletcherJan 2, 2009
This movie was falsely advertised. I was expecting a comedy, this was boring boring boring. I kept waiting for something to happen, and it didn't. If I had gone into it knowing what it was (based on accurate advertising), I may have This movie was falsely advertised. I was expecting a comedy, this was boring boring boring. I kept waiting for something to happen, and it didn't. If I had gone into it knowing what it was (based on accurate advertising), I may have enjoyed it more, but it was nothing but a disappointment. I strongly dislike movies that are advertised as something they're not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
kale567toyouJan 4, 2009
Went to see it for free. If you can't, DON'T! This was worse than Bedtimes Stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChicholinaF.Jan 2, 2009
WARNING: this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MitchS.Jan 31, 2009
What a waste of money this movie was. And please explain to me how Aniston gets so much work, she's awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JosieB.Mar 14, 2009
this movie has been portrayed on the advertisements as being a lighthearted commedy. I took my 12 year old daughter to see it and I think it was totally unsuitable. The film starts well enough with some a few funny scenes of the dog this movie has been portrayed on the advertisements as being a lighthearted commedy. I took my 12 year old daughter to see it and I think it was totally unsuitable. The film starts well enough with some a few funny scenes of the dog misbehaving etc...but towards the end it gets really sad.... the dog becomes painfully ill and it seems to take forever for it to die... ...She was sobbing uncontrollably at the end when the dog is seen step by step being put down, being buried on the blanket etc etc. I also don't think the sex reference scenes, and subjects of miscarriage, bad marriage etc are particularly suitable. It was a PG13 and I feel it should have been a 15. All the kids in the cinema were crying and my daughter was still really upset long after the film had finished. The trailers gave the wrong idea of what this film is about. So..WARNING TO ALL PARENTS WITH KIDS: DO NOT TAKE THEM TO SEE THIS FILM, IT IS NOT SUITABLE. I saw lots of parents at the exit of the cinema doing the same as I was doing, trying to console sobbing kids and looking extremely unhappy and annoyed that this film has been made to look in the adverts like a family commedy. IT IS NOT. For this I give it a 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CarolSDec 28, 2008
Found it predictable; no chemistry between Aniston and Wilson. I love dogs...found Marley's antics and his "parent's" inability to control him tiresome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WayneK.Jan 31, 2009
Summary: This movie was painful to endure and very boring, especially in the last 30-minutes, which was total lovey-dovey garbage! The movie started off well enough, when a man gets a dog, who constantly wrecks and destroys his home, then Summary: This movie was painful to endure and very boring, especially in the last 30-minutes, which was total lovey-dovey garbage! The movie started off well enough, when a man gets a dog, who constantly wrecks and destroys his home, then starts a family with the character played by Jennifer Aniston. The beginning awaits one with eager anticipation into the film, until problems begin with the marriage, mainly because of the dog. By then, he has three kids, and I seriously thought he would get rid of the dog, and would end sadly but understandably - not only was I wrong, but I had absolutely no idea what I had gotten myself into. [***SPOILER***] Many insignificant and utterly boring cutscenes follow, the man moves from Florida to Philly, more boring cutscenes, the dog gets old, and after 30 minutes (more like forever), the dog finally dies, and I left in exuberance. Also, I would like to add that the sex scenes and references were totally inappropriate for a film rated PG-13, and if I could, I would prosecute the director on criminal charges! My 7-year old daughter had to see that! Ugh... The only character in the movie that actually made it more interesting was the guy's boss in the newspaper company in Florida, with his light-hearted humor and sense of personality. The reviews on this movie make me sick. "Oh, it was a tearjerker, I want to see it again." "Oh, it was one of the best movies ever, it made me cry." "Oh, I feel bad for the dog, It's really sad when he died." "Oh, boo-hoo-hoo..." I was actually thrilled when the dog died. Even my daughter wanted to leave, and she wasn't crying when it was all over. Feelings, emotions, blah blah blah Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JagJul 29, 2009
It could have been better. The movie is suppose to make you laugh and yet it also can very well make you cry. I just don't like it when put some real life dramatic stuff in such a goofy atmosphere. The movie was very reality based. This It could have been better. The movie is suppose to make you laugh and yet it also can very well make you cry. I just don't like it when put some real life dramatic stuff in such a goofy atmosphere. The movie was very reality based. This is just my opinion but, if your gonna make a funny movie make it funny. If your gonna make a drama make it dramatic. That whole half and half thing just doesn't click for me in reality based movies. Plus it just dragged on and on. There were so many times when I thought the movie was coming to an end and yet it just kept going. If your an older and more layed back person you will probably like it. I'm sure there will be parts that will remind you of you own life but as for us youngsters who haven't experienced what its like to be in a marriage and have a house and family of our own, prepare to be bored stiff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
carolDec 26, 2008
Jen another one for the dogs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LisaS.Dec 27, 2008
This movie was very boring. so boring that i fell asleep a half hour into the movie. Jennifer A. was at her worst and this was the opposit of what Owen Wilson plays. Maybe next time they will get it right. Jennifer should tried another line of work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveW.Dec 28, 2008
This move was rated poorly. Kids in our family ranged from 7-12 and this movie contained violence (a stabbing), sex/sexy mentioned a dozen times, and a taste of sex education. The movie seemed to be advertised as a Beethoven-like movie but This move was rated poorly. Kids in our family ranged from 7-12 and this movie contained violence (a stabbing), sex/sexy mentioned a dozen times, and a taste of sex education. The movie seemed to be advertised as a Beethoven-like movie but plenty of kids went and some were shell-shocked and confused. Story was ok for for adults but very disappointed in the rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful