User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 158
  2. Negative: 26 out of 158

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 8, 2011
    4
    "Marley & Me" tries extremely hard to tear up the audience with its 'Marley'. The problem is that the film consistently opens a tedious tone with absolutely nothing significant or impressive until to the end. Its just like being in school, listening a lecture from a monotonous teacher. Nothing's really great about it.
  2. TonyO.
    Jan 15, 2009
    5
    I hate to sound like a curmudgeon, but this movie is not that great. Yes, it deserves points for good acting (Jennifer Aniston takes the honours, much to my surprise) and yes it deserves points for being reasonably light-hearted and a bit sensitive about real topics that have some bearing on real people's lives (family, love of animals, work pressures, frustrated career options, post I hate to sound like a curmudgeon, but this movie is not that great. Yes, it deserves points for good acting (Jennifer Aniston takes the honours, much to my surprise) and yes it deserves points for being reasonably light-hearted and a bit sensitive about real topics that have some bearing on real people's lives (family, love of animals, work pressures, frustrated career options, post natal depression). Not that many big screen movies these days make much attempt to deal with these sorts of issues, and it is not badly done. But this still looks like a Hallmark movie to me. For one thing, it is gratingly manipulative in OTT ways that I have not had to think about since they put a bullet into Old Yeller. And the directing was pretty ho-hum, especially when we had the interminable sequence of rapid voiceover by Owen Wilson about the minutiae of his daily life. And the vision of middle class life in America was pretty cloying as well. I do not really know what non WASP people in America think when they see a movie like this, but I imagine they might well wonder how a family struggling in a small house in a crime ridden suburb in Miami can somehow seamlessly make the transition to a green acres mansion in the North-East. And worst of all was the dog. I know it is only a movie, and it is a bit harsh to criticise a dog that is faithful, long lived and integral to family life. But the damn thing was also a rogue male, and probably dangerous. Offhand, on the evidence of this movie, I would have said the dog deserved to be put down about 8 years before the end of the film. Or rather, its owners should have been. We all love dogs, but to suggest that it is somehow OK to keep animals that are a public nuisance just because someone or other loves them is a bit rich. Spare some thought about that rather large group of people whose lives have been seriously set back or even destroyed because there are irresponsible pet owners who just can't be bothered to control their animals. The film skates over that side of things a bit. There is lots of running away, lots of references to pooping in public areas, but not too much about the real implications of keeping uncontrollable animals around small children. So, overall, as a movie it was a bit dull, and more than a little irresponsible. Expand
  3. MattA
    Jan 2, 2009
    6
    By all means, not a terrible movie...just not as deep or fulfilling as the book probably was. The dog was adorable, and the final scenes were indeed touching. However, i can't help but feel forced into those emotions, and not really care about the other characters in the film. Owen Wilson was charming, and so was Alan Arkin...but everybody else was totally upstaged by the dog. If you By all means, not a terrible movie...just not as deep or fulfilling as the book probably was. The dog was adorable, and the final scenes were indeed touching. However, i can't help but feel forced into those emotions, and not really care about the other characters in the film. Owen Wilson was charming, and so was Alan Arkin...but everybody else was totally upstaged by the dog. If you love dogs and want a good weeper about one, then see this...but if not, just read the book. Expand
  4. DaveF
    Apr 9, 2009
    6
    Hey Josie B, you may have been the only person in the theatre who didn't know Marley dies in the end! Do a little research why doncha?! God forbid kids should get a dose of reality once in awhile. Guess what? Pets die! Instead of consoling the brat, how about explaining about the joy and associated pain of pet ownership? It's called a life lesson, take the opportunity to teach Hey Josie B, you may have been the only person in the theatre who didn't know Marley dies in the end! Do a little research why doncha?! God forbid kids should get a dose of reality once in awhile. Guess what? Pets die! Instead of consoling the brat, how about explaining about the joy and associated pain of pet ownership? It's called a life lesson, take the opportunity to teach them something instead of shielding them until the real world kicks them in the nuts the first time. The ending was very touching and realistic; as a pet owner I can tell you Wilson played that part dead on. Rant over. Fairly heart-warming flick, pretty good chemistry between Wilson and Aniston and it looks like Kathleen Turner's sex change is now complete. Expand
  5. Ls
    Jan 19, 2009
    4
    It's like an untrained dog and a family that made a home movie together. What's the point? Even as an animal lover i didn't like this film. POINTLESS.
  6. RobertI.
    Dec 31, 2008
    5
    Tepid stuff. so unsurprising, and we don't need so many tears from Jennifer and Owen. ugh.
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    6
    This isn't a very funny movie, and when it's trying to be serious it fails miserably, I was surprised when this didn't focus that much on the dog, the best part of this movie, and the only reason I would recommend this is for the emotional ending, but that isn't a reason to spend your hard earned money to go out and buy the DVD or really even a reason to rent this, it's an ok movie, butThis isn't a very funny movie, and when it's trying to be serious it fails miserably, I was surprised when this didn't focus that much on the dog, the best part of this movie, and the only reason I would recommend this is for the emotional ending, but that isn't a reason to spend your hard earned money to go out and buy the DVD or really even a reason to rent this, it's an ok movie, but definitely not for everyone. Expand
  8. Jan 18, 2011
    5
    Maybe I just wasn't in the mood or maybe it is because I wouldn't have put up with a dog like that to begin with, but the movie just didn't do it for me. Wilson and Aniston are great together but I just didn't care much for the movie. Perhaps on another day if I ever watch it again I will enjoy it a bit more.
  9. Nov 20, 2014
    5
    I love animals. I do, I love them better than I do people...however, how cliche does this has to be? Yes. Marley dies...tragic, and yet I was so bored. Why? For one thing, the acting is mediocre, there's nothing even amazing about the plot line. I wasn't expecting a thriller, but for God's sake, it's a dog that needs to be trained (and simply running amok is pointless. Yes, they fall inI love animals. I do, I love them better than I do people...however, how cliche does this has to be? Yes. Marley dies...tragic, and yet I was so bored. Why? For one thing, the acting is mediocre, there's nothing even amazing about the plot line. I wasn't expecting a thriller, but for God's sake, it's a dog that needs to be trained (and simply running amok is pointless. Yes, they fall in love, buy a house, careers, kids...blah, blah, blah. I call **** on the whole thing...this is supposed to be enertaining, correct? Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Marley & Me is just average.
    A good effort by the director and the screenplay writers who adapted this book into a full movie. The actors don't give spectacular performances, Owen Wilson feels like he's forcing his role at times. Not many laughs, a sad overall message. Nothing amazing just an average movie.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. As a modest little dramedy about the everyday adventures of starting a family, Marley & Me is pretty solid, but as a movie about the joy and heartbreak of owning a dog, it goes straight for the jugular.
  2. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    40
    My Dog Skip for people in mid-life crises, it?s too talky and trouble-laden for tykes but will doubtless prove as critic-proof to dog-lovers and the stars? fans as it did in the US.
  3. A warm and fuzzy family movie, but you do wish that at least once someone would upstage the dog.