Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 25, 2008
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 165 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
104
Mixed:
35
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Oct 8, 2011
"Marley & Me" tries extremely hard to tear up the audience with its 'Marley'. The problem is that the film consistently opens a tedious tone with absolutely nothing significant or impressive until to the end. Its just like being in school,"Marley & Me" tries extremely hard to tear up the audience with its 'Marley'. The problem is that the film consistently opens a tedious tone with absolutely nothing significant or impressive until to the end. Its just like being in school, listening a lecture from a monotonous teacher. Nothing's really great about it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
TonyO.Jan 15, 2009
I hate to sound like a curmudgeon, but this movie is not that great. Yes, it deserves points for good acting (Jennifer Aniston takes the honours, much to my surprise) and yes it deserves points for being reasonably light-hearted and a bit I hate to sound like a curmudgeon, but this movie is not that great. Yes, it deserves points for good acting (Jennifer Aniston takes the honours, much to my surprise) and yes it deserves points for being reasonably light-hearted and a bit sensitive about real topics that have some bearing on real people's lives (family, love of animals, work pressures, frustrated career options, post natal depression). Not that many big screen movies these days make much attempt to deal with these sorts of issues, and it is not badly done. But this still looks like a Hallmark movie to me. For one thing, it is gratingly manipulative in OTT ways that I have not had to think about since they put a bullet into Old Yeller. And the directing was pretty ho-hum, especially when we had the interminable sequence of rapid voiceover by Owen Wilson about the minutiae of his daily life. And the vision of middle class life in America was pretty cloying as well. I do not really know what non WASP people in America think when they see a movie like this, but I imagine they might well wonder how a family struggling in a small house in a crime ridden suburb in Miami can somehow seamlessly make the transition to a green acres mansion in the North-East. And worst of all was the dog. I know it is only a movie, and it is a bit harsh to criticise a dog that is faithful, long lived and integral to family life. But the damn thing was also a rogue male, and probably dangerous. Offhand, on the evidence of this movie, I would have said the dog deserved to be put down about 8 years before the end of the film. Or rather, its owners should have been. We all love dogs, but to suggest that it is somehow OK to keep animals that are a public nuisance just because someone or other loves them is a bit rich. Spare some thought about that rather large group of people whose lives have been seriously set back or even destroyed because there are irresponsible pet owners who just can't be bothered to control their animals. The film skates over that side of things a bit. There is lots of running away, lots of references to pooping in public areas, but not too much about the real implications of keeping uncontrollable animals around small children. So, overall, as a movie it was a bit dull, and more than a little irresponsible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattAJan 2, 2009
By all means, not a terrible movie...just not as deep or fulfilling as the book probably was. The dog was adorable, and the final scenes were indeed touching. However, i can't help but feel forced into those emotions, and not really By all means, not a terrible movie...just not as deep or fulfilling as the book probably was. The dog was adorable, and the final scenes were indeed touching. However, i can't help but feel forced into those emotions, and not really care about the other characters in the film. Owen Wilson was charming, and so was Alan Arkin...but everybody else was totally upstaged by the dog. If you love dogs and want a good weeper about one, then see this...but if not, just read the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DaveFApr 9, 2009
Hey Josie B, you may have been the only person in the theatre who didn't know Marley dies in the end! Do a little research why doncha?! God forbid kids should get a dose of reality once in awhile. Guess what? Pets die! Instead of Hey Josie B, you may have been the only person in the theatre who didn't know Marley dies in the end! Do a little research why doncha?! God forbid kids should get a dose of reality once in awhile. Guess what? Pets die! Instead of consoling the brat, how about explaining about the joy and associated pain of pet ownership? It's called a life lesson, take the opportunity to teach them something instead of shielding them until the real world kicks them in the nuts the first time. The ending was very touching and realistic; as a pet owner I can tell you Wilson played that part dead on. Rant over. Fairly heart-warming flick, pretty good chemistry between Wilson and Aniston and it looks like Kathleen Turner's sex change is now complete. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LsJan 19, 2009
It's like an untrained dog and a family that made a home movie together. What's the point? Even as an animal lover i didn't like this film. POINTLESS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobertI.Dec 31, 2008
Tepid stuff. so unsurprising, and we don't need so many tears from Jennifer and Owen. ugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TheQuietGamerFeb 21, 2011
This isn't a very funny movie, and when it's trying to be serious it fails miserably, I was surprised when this didn't focus that much on the dog, the best part of this movie, and the only reason I would recommend this is for the emotionalThis isn't a very funny movie, and when it's trying to be serious it fails miserably, I was surprised when this didn't focus that much on the dog, the best part of this movie, and the only reason I would recommend this is for the emotional ending, but that isn't a reason to spend your hard earned money to go out and buy the DVD or really even a reason to rent this, it's an ok movie, but definitely not for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
Maybe I just wasn't in the mood or maybe it is because I wouldn't have put up with a dog like that to begin with, but the movie just didn't do it for me. Wilson and Aniston are great together but I just didn't care much for the movie. PerhapsMaybe I just wasn't in the mood or maybe it is because I wouldn't have put up with a dog like that to begin with, but the movie just didn't do it for me. Wilson and Aniston are great together but I just didn't care much for the movie. Perhaps on another day if I ever watch it again I will enjoy it a bit more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JawsLaxerDramaNov 20, 2014
I love animals. I do, I love them better than I do people...however, how cliche does this has to be? Yes. Marley dies...tragic, and yet I was so bored. Why? For one thing, the acting is mediocre, there's nothing even amazing about the plotI love animals. I do, I love them better than I do people...however, how cliche does this has to be? Yes. Marley dies...tragic, and yet I was so bored. Why? For one thing, the acting is mediocre, there's nothing even amazing about the plot line. I wasn't expecting a thriller, but for God's sake, it's a dog that needs to be trained (and simply running amok is pointless. Yes, they fall in love, buy a house, careers, kids...blah, blah, blah. I call **** on the whole thing...this is supposed to be enertaining, correct? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Marley & Me is just average.
A good effort by the director and the screenplay writers who adapted this book into a full movie. The actors don't give spectacular performances, Owen Wilson feels like he's forcing his role at times. Not many
Marley & Me is just average.
A good effort by the director and the screenplay writers who adapted this book into a full movie. The actors don't give spectacular performances, Owen Wilson feels like he's forcing his role at times. Not many laughs, a sad overall message. Nothing amazing just an average movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews