Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 25, 2008
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 163 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
102
Mixed:
35
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
DarylK.Jan 2, 2009
This movie was a major dissapointment...suffers from poor editing and could have left at least 30 minutes on the cutting room floor. It just drags (ok we get it he's a dog with attitude and he will die but get on with it). The This movie was a major dissapointment...suffers from poor editing and could have left at least 30 minutes on the cutting room floor. It just drags (ok we get it he's a dog with attitude and he will die but get on with it). The screenplay was bland and will Owen and Jennifer looked great there was zero chemistry. A wasted opportunity with this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
grandpajoe6191Oct 8, 2011
"Marley & Me" tries extremely hard to tear up the audience with its 'Marley'. The problem is that the film consistently opens a tedious tone with absolutely nothing significant or impressive until to the end. Its just like being in school,"Marley & Me" tries extremely hard to tear up the audience with its 'Marley'. The problem is that the film consistently opens a tedious tone with absolutely nothing significant or impressive until to the end. Its just like being in school, listening a lecture from a monotonous teacher. Nothing's really great about it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
nohoboboOct 10, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like dogs, but to me there's nothing entertaining about a couple of idiots who can't raise one. The movie is devoid of laughs or interesting plot developments. They work and have kids and then the dog dies, and Marley is such an awful dog that I feel genuine relief (not sadness) when it finally kicks the bucket. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyApr 9, 2012
A really incredible and emotive movie. I´m feeling sorprised becuase much movies about animals, have a great story, and this is an amazing example, the cast have a great performance and the most amazing is Marley, one of myA really incredible and emotive movie. I´m feeling sorprised becuase much movies about animals, have a great story, and this is an amazing example, the cast have a great performance and the most amazing is Marley, one of my favorite films ever. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MarkMusicMar 25, 2013
This means something I didnt even give my favorite movie a 10, first time. This is a lighthearted comedy/drama. Makes me cry every time at the end and Im 16. To me its more of a drama then comedy but either way very good movie. Great actingThis means something I didnt even give my favorite movie a 10, first time. This is a lighthearted comedy/drama. Makes me cry every time at the end and Im 16. To me its more of a drama then comedy but either way very good movie. Great acting (humans and dog), great chemistry (mainly family-dog. then Family-family.) I brought the DVD in 2009 and I lost it in 2010. Im still desperatly looking for this. Probably the best film ever literally. Better then my fav movie not more entertaining but still better. Watch with family, alone, anytime, anywhere Its that good. But if your kids dont like sad endings cut it when the dog starts to act lazy. If they can handle it watch sad still very good though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DustinN.Apr 7, 2009
I think this is a good movie with a good cast of characters and a cute dog.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnG.May 15, 2009
My wife laughed at me because I cried at the end. I may be 38 years old but I'm human. While growing up, I made three trips to the Vet to put our dogs to sleep. They were sad trips filled with tears and deep seated emotions. This is My wife laughed at me because I cried at the end. I may be 38 years old but I'm human. While growing up, I made three trips to the Vet to put our dogs to sleep. They were sad trips filled with tears and deep seated emotions. This is life and the movie depicts just that. Dogs are often our best friends. To quote one scene in the movie: at the finish of Owen's surprise b-day party he says to Jennifer, "Who were all those people? I don't have any friends!?" It was Marley who was his friend in the movie. Dogs really are our best friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DominicS.Dec 30, 2008
A warm, and all around great family film. But just to warn dog lovers, the ending will definatly make you cry. I would still recommend it though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CaitlinK.Jan 10, 2009
Sad, but SOOOOO good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachNewberryJan 12, 2009
I know an 8 isn't a ten, but I try to rate movies reallistically and therefore I don't believe I've ever given out a ten. That being said, an 8 is extremely high in my book. I took my girlfriend to see Marley & Me opening I know an 8 isn't a ten, but I try to rate movies reallistically and therefore I don't believe I've ever given out a ten. That being said, an 8 is extremely high in my book. I took my girlfriend to see Marley & Me opening night. In short, this movie blew me away. Humor, drama, love, loss, it's life. The story and characters are all perfectly believable and pull you in very well from the start [***SPOILER WARNING***] which I believe is why Marley's death in the end left everyone in the packed theater, including myself, in tears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FletcherJan 2, 2009
This movie was falsely advertised. I was expecting a comedy, this was boring boring boring. I kept waiting for something to happen, and it didn't. If I had gone into it knowing what it was (based on accurate advertising), I may have This movie was falsely advertised. I was expecting a comedy, this was boring boring boring. I kept waiting for something to happen, and it didn't. If I had gone into it knowing what it was (based on accurate advertising), I may have enjoyed it more, but it was nothing but a disappointment. I strongly dislike movies that are advertised as something they're not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardR.Jan 2, 2009
The movie was a subject everyone can relate to. It was the tear jerker of 2008. Excellent !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlC.Jan 4, 2009
I thought it was a good and solid film. When it was sappy, it had funny bits. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
kale567toyouJan 4, 2009
Went to see it for free. If you can't, DON'T! This was worse than Bedtimes Stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CeliaB.Jan 4, 2009
Wasn't amazing. But still really worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dggggW.Jan 4, 2009
This was an amazing movie, sure it was dreary. But no, it still made me cry and laugh. This is like that Curious Case movie, life is full of surprises, and in a dog's life, things happen in it to cause some sort of situation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesBMay 4, 2009
Yes, the film was advertised as a comedy and it should have been rated PG-13. However, the movie was deeper than any "pet" movie that I've ever seen. In actuality, the "real" story was about a man growing up from young adulthood into Yes, the film was advertised as a comedy and it should have been rated PG-13. However, the movie was deeper than any "pet" movie that I've ever seen. In actuality, the "real" story was about a man growing up from young adulthood into the next phase of his life. Of course, to get to that next phase of your life, decisions have to made about where you live and work and even what friends you keep (as in the best friend in the movie). The death of his beloved dog coincided with his life's journey into middle adulthood. I can relate. I had my lab for 12 years. She was with me as I finished college, got my graduate degree, got married, and had three kids. My lab died shortly after my third child was born - just like in the movie. If you look at it from my point of view, it would be a great film to show developmental psychology students. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Dec 28, 2008
If you've been there...you would understand just how close to reality this movie was. I've been there! It truely moved me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlliL.Jan 1, 2009
I love this movie! it was so good. - it was funny and sad and i think everyone should watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyO.Jan 15, 2009
I hate to sound like a curmudgeon, but this movie is not that great. Yes, it deserves points for good acting (Jennifer Aniston takes the honours, much to my surprise) and yes it deserves points for being reasonably light-hearted and a bit I hate to sound like a curmudgeon, but this movie is not that great. Yes, it deserves points for good acting (Jennifer Aniston takes the honours, much to my surprise) and yes it deserves points for being reasonably light-hearted and a bit sensitive about real topics that have some bearing on real people's lives (family, love of animals, work pressures, frustrated career options, post natal depression). Not that many big screen movies these days make much attempt to deal with these sorts of issues, and it is not badly done. But this still looks like a Hallmark movie to me. For one thing, it is gratingly manipulative in OTT ways that I have not had to think about since they put a bullet into Old Yeller. And the directing was pretty ho-hum, especially when we had the interminable sequence of rapid voiceover by Owen Wilson about the minutiae of his daily life. And the vision of middle class life in America was pretty cloying as well. I do not really know what non WASP people in America think when they see a movie like this, but I imagine they might well wonder how a family struggling in a small house in a crime ridden suburb in Miami can somehow seamlessly make the transition to a green acres mansion in the North-East. And worst of all was the dog. I know it is only a movie, and it is a bit harsh to criticise a dog that is faithful, long lived and integral to family life. But the damn thing was also a rogue male, and probably dangerous. Offhand, on the evidence of this movie, I would have said the dog deserved to be put down about 8 years before the end of the film. Or rather, its owners should have been. We all love dogs, but to suggest that it is somehow OK to keep animals that are a public nuisance just because someone or other loves them is a bit rich. Spare some thought about that rather large group of people whose lives have been seriously set back or even destroyed because there are irresponsible pet owners who just can't be bothered to control their animals. The film skates over that side of things a bit. There is lots of running away, lots of references to pooping in public areas, but not too much about the real implications of keeping uncontrollable animals around small children. So, overall, as a movie it was a bit dull, and more than a little irresponsible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChicholinaF.Jan 2, 2009
WARNING: this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattAJan 2, 2009
By all means, not a terrible movie...just not as deep or fulfilling as the book probably was. The dog was adorable, and the final scenes were indeed touching. However, i can't help but feel forced into those emotions, and not really By all means, not a terrible movie...just not as deep or fulfilling as the book probably was. The dog was adorable, and the final scenes were indeed touching. However, i can't help but feel forced into those emotions, and not really care about the other characters in the film. Owen Wilson was charming, and so was Alan Arkin...but everybody else was totally upstaged by the dog. If you love dogs and want a good weeper about one, then see this...but if not, just read the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MitchS.Jan 31, 2009
What a waste of money this movie was. And please explain to me how Aniston gets so much work, she's awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CAE.Jan 4, 2009
A must-see family film. Very moving and helps to put life, and those things that are REALLY important, into perspective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasminJan 8, 2009
I thought the movie was funny, but realistic. It portrays the couple as a "real" couple with worries and stress like everyone else. The relationship they have with their animal is heartwarming. If you are an animal lover or had a childhood I thought the movie was funny, but realistic. It portrays the couple as a "real" couple with worries and stress like everyone else. The relationship they have with their animal is heartwarming. If you are an animal lover or had a childhood experience with a family dog this movie is the one for you. I absolutely loved it. There wasn't a dry eye in the entire theater. From youngster of 10 to adult in their 50's and 60's were teary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnBJan 9, 2009
"The more people I meet every day the more I like my dog" Those who did not like this movie / book clearly are not dog people and frankly probably a*holes. If you are not a dog person you should not be seeing a movie about the connection a "The more people I meet every day the more I like my dog" Those who did not like this movie / book clearly are not dog people and frankly probably a*holes. If you are not a dog person you should not be seeing a movie about the connection a man has with his dog. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SaraMJan 9, 2009
This was the sweetest movie ever! EXtremly well balanced with humor, sadness and it was one of owen wilson best movies! SPOILER: youll probably cry at the end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GracielaRFeb 6, 2009
I really like this movie, is sweet and funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JosieB.Mar 14, 2009
this movie has been portrayed on the advertisements as being a lighthearted commedy. I took my 12 year old daughter to see it and I think it was totally unsuitable. The film starts well enough with some a few funny scenes of the dog this movie has been portrayed on the advertisements as being a lighthearted commedy. I took my 12 year old daughter to see it and I think it was totally unsuitable. The film starts well enough with some a few funny scenes of the dog misbehaving etc...but towards the end it gets really sad.... the dog becomes painfully ill and it seems to take forever for it to die... ...She was sobbing uncontrollably at the end when the dog is seen step by step being put down, being buried on the blanket etc etc. I also don't think the sex reference scenes, and subjects of miscarriage, bad marriage etc are particularly suitable. It was a PG13 and I feel it should have been a 15. All the kids in the cinema were crying and my daughter was still really upset long after the film had finished. The trailers gave the wrong idea of what this film is about. So..WARNING TO ALL PARENTS WITH KIDS: DO NOT TAKE THEM TO SEE THIS FILM, IT IS NOT SUITABLE. I saw lots of parents at the exit of the cinema doing the same as I was doing, trying to console sobbing kids and looking extremely unhappy and annoyed that this film has been made to look in the adverts like a family commedy. IT IS NOT. For this I give it a 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnHApr 10, 2009
This is a very cute film. Funny and sad. However, this film should have definitely be rated PG-13. I do not know what the rating people were thinking. Were they drunk? I think so? Moving on, I thought the acting was good. The film had 22 This is a very cute film. Funny and sad. However, this film should have definitely be rated PG-13. I do not know what the rating people were thinking. Were they drunk? I think so? Moving on, I thought the acting was good. The film had 22 different dogs that played the part of Marley, and each one of them were cute and funny. I think a few more of Marley's stunts that were in the book could have been included, but this was still a good film. And remember, this was a good movie, but do not take any kids in there under the age of 12 or 13, if you get my drift. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful