Walt Disney Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 2011
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 62 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
20
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Striking4gold4Jul 2, 2017
What was originally the demise of ImageMovers, who is currently the only animation studio that makes their films with motion capture, Mars Needs Moms is far from their best work. Sure, the animation is fine, but the story it attempts to tellWhat was originally the demise of ImageMovers, who is currently the only animation studio that makes their films with motion capture, Mars Needs Moms is far from their best work. Sure, the animation is fine, but the story it attempts to tell is bland, predictable and extremely rushed, the character designs, with the exception of Gribble, are very hard to look at, and then there's the characters themselves, who can be one of two things: annoying or a jerk. Gribble can be a mix of both, but just comes off as an idiot, Ki is okay but kind of dated by being a "hippie", Two-Cat and Wingnut supply the worst jokes in the movie, and then there's Milo, the main character. I hate the little twerp with a passion. Yes, his actor does a decent job, but he's really annoying, his character design is awful, and at the start of the movie, he says this one line that's so unforgiving that you'll want to hate him for the rest of the movie. It's hard to imagine at first, but once you hear it, you'll understand why. But there are some things that the film did right, like the background animation is nice, some of Gribble's jokes caught me off guard and the music is very well orchestrated. But those alone aren't enough to make it passable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tiber5Dec 5, 2016
Normal
The idea of dogs putting on a show
sounded better than anything he'd ever heard.

Reverse
Er Her Vetti Hinguth Enin Eh Derab Denyse
Wah Shallow Niguets Snaw Vava E Ni Eye
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SimpsonFansAug 4, 2016
No broccoli, no TV. That's the edict handed down from a mother to her son, so the motion capture boy tries to fool his motion capture mom by feeding the offending vegetable to the motion capture cat. The ruse works, until the cat barfs, andNo broccoli, no TV. That's the edict handed down from a mother to her son, so the motion capture boy tries to fool his motion capture mom by feeding the offending vegetable to the motion capture cat. The ruse works, until the cat barfs, and Milo(Seth Green) is sent to bed without his zombie fix. Feeling burned, Milo wishes that he never had a mom, making the woman who sounds suspiciously like Joan Cusack cry, and before he can take it back, she becomes the victim of an alien abduction, in a style that strongly recalls "Close Encounters of the Third Kind". In the 1977 Steven Spielberg film, the moviegoer feels the anguish of being left behind as Melinda Dillon watches the otherworldly aircraft whisk her baby away beyond the lit-up sky to heaven knows where. "Mars Needs Moms" is not quite so harsh(if it was, you'd have a theater full of traumatized little kids), since Milo sneaks on board the departing spaceship. True, Milo's mother may be lobotomized by a faintly Asian-sounding alien who looks a little like E.T.(MIndy Sterling), but "Mars Needs Moms" makes sure that the boy has some fun on this dystopian planet, where girls are more prized than boys. With mother and son always being relatively close together, there's not much in the way of drama, as it would've had Milo needed to find his own passage to the red planet. The boy never realizes the full extent of regret for uttering those hurtful words against his mom because he's too cognizant of her whereabouts. The mission, as a result, doesn't have a whole lot of urgency to it, and yet, we do see what could happen to the captured woman(through another character's mother) which is considerably more frightening than anything in "Bambi". Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
Sonic931Mar 26, 2016
oh god, what is disney thinking?!?!?!?!?!?!!?!? this cgi pile of vomit reminds me of real life! why did the aliens steal the f cking mum/mom? Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric is better than this
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Fawfully-dooJan 13, 2016
"Mars Needs Moms" is just flat-out boring. The story is bland beyond belief(not to mention showing signs of sexism), there's no sign of emotion, humor, or relatability, it's cliched like never before, and don't even get me started on how it's"Mars Needs Moms" is just flat-out boring. The story is bland beyond belief(not to mention showing signs of sexism), there's no sign of emotion, humor, or relatability, it's cliched like never before, and don't even get me started on how it's obvious only made for mothers to get more attention from their kids. Wouldn't have hurt to make the movie decent...I fell asleep while watching this movie, MIDDAY! If you're looking for something heartwarming, great for families, or even remotely entertaining, don't go with this movie. This really does make me ashamed of Disney. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gazgeeMar 16, 2015
So many bad reviews for this brilliantly made, stunning film. I sat down to watch this with my daughter whom is two years old. The animation is simply flawless and stunning. I would say it is up their with Avatar. I could not take my eyesSo many bad reviews for this brilliantly made, stunning film. I sat down to watch this with my daughter whom is two years old. The animation is simply flawless and stunning. I would say it is up their with Avatar. I could not take my eyes off the screen!!! The story was well thought out and made me compelled to see more. My daughter loved the aliens, and the character Key was very deep for a children s movie. Before reading the bad reviews and not giving this a watch, just give it a try! You will not be dissapointed!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Le__XenomorphDec 29, 2014
This movie does have its moments. But even those are covered with a cliched part and so-so voice acting. An overall ok movie but is a big step-down for director Robert Zemeckis. 6/10 (OK)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TimeOfTheChimpsJan 24, 2014
This is a movie that was way too underrated. MNM is a visually stellar film with a fast paced plot that has an important moral message: Always treasure those closest to you. This movie is full of things to like, most of which criticsThis is a movie that was way too underrated. MNM is a visually stellar film with a fast paced plot that has an important moral message: Always treasure those closest to you. This movie is full of things to like, most of which critics overlooked. A better title would have given this movie the credit it deserves, but it's too bad we'll never get to see a sequel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
dyshpoJul 28, 2013
there is no story nothing really maybe I'm just dumb, stale, bland ,uninteresting i have more but u get the picture this is one of those awful movies you watch at night when u cant really get to sleep then u wish u had just watch anthere is no story nothing really maybe I'm just dumb, stale, bland ,uninteresting i have more but u get the picture this is one of those awful movies you watch at night when u cant really get to sleep then u wish u had just watch an infomercial. i like watching pretty much anything but these has to go to the dump Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
hacmiu36Apr 20, 2013
It is not a really good film from disney. I was expected more
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
I'm very surprised by the low critics and viewers ratings for this film. I thought it was nicely done and I actually enjoyed it. I will say that the film was a little slow and uneventful at the beginning, but once the story unfolded a bit, II'm very surprised by the low critics and viewers ratings for this film. I thought it was nicely done and I actually enjoyed it. I will say that the film was a little slow and uneventful at the beginning, but once the story unfolded a bit, I thought it was a lot of fun. I'm not quite sure who the target audience was for this and that probably explains the poor box office performance. I don't think young kids would have liked this film, and I don't think older kids would want to see it either; that's the only real negative thing about the film. But if you're a fan of motion capture animation I say check this out! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan11Aug 28, 2012
best movie of 2011!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
madonnarulesAug 26, 2012
you see now here's the movie we have all been waiting for with beatiful animation and the rest that are eye popping it will go down with classics such as toy story.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
ZilcellMay 29, 2012
Its among the most impressive animated films visually. I found many of the characters memorable Some of the aliens seem creepy but thats only because of the animation. Its not all bad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
5000xmanMay 6, 2012
I have to say not one of Zemeckis's best. Some parts were a little bit cheesy but fun characters and some funny moments were enough to hold me through to give it a good score.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
heyitsmegrif4Jan 6, 2012
Mars Needs Moms has a great premise and has great animation along with great motion capture performers, but it isn't creative or heartfelt or funny for that matter. Mars Needs Moms ends up being weird and bland. I give this movie 33%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Oct 17, 2011
Wow Robert Zemeckis, are you serious? The SF king throwing this crap into the theaters? "Mars Needs Mom" is terrible. The story pace is inconsistent as well as its huge cliched ending. Don't watch it.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Yes, the animation looks incredibly real, impressively so. I applaud the time and energy that went into creating this. The problem is that it actually works against the film in two very bad ways. The first is simple: The film is unpleasant toYes, the animation looks incredibly real, impressively so. I applaud the time and energy that went into creating this. The problem is that it actually works against the film in two very bad ways. The first is simple: The film is unpleasant to look at. This is uncanny valley territory. Everything looks so real, but at the same time clearly false, that it gets very, very creepy. I think this is the main factor in driving kids away. If I were five years old, this would have freaked me out. The other reason is a point I've been trying to get at for a while. Making animated films look realistic is inherently a bad idea. Leaving the uncanny factor out, this is always a bad idea. Why is it that animated films are made? So we can do things that can't be done in real life. Look to the film with the best 3D animation I've ever seen: Tangled. Tangled's animation was detailed down to the shiniest fiber of hair. Even then, it never looked like anyone was really there. If no one will believe it, then do whatever you can with it. Mars Needs Moms, you fail. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AfreemanukJul 31, 2011
I dont understand why people have slammed this movie with poor ratiings, clearly there not watching the movie, busy on there phone or talking to there friends. This is aimed at slightly older kids, i think a PG is only been handed out becauseI dont understand why people have slammed this movie with poor ratiings, clearly there not watching the movie, busy on there phone or talking to there friends. This is aimed at slightly older kids, i think a PG is only been handed out because its a disney movie. Anyone under 7 will struggle to understand this movie simply because of the action scenes and story is not really "Disney". But that being said, my two kids who are 7 and 8 both really enjoyed the movie. Its a warm touching movie with a good meaning to it. Its funny throughout for kids and familys. But those going into this thinking there gonna see a film along the lines of Wall-e or Area 51 they will be disapointed. This is a far cry from cute disney as all the animation looks exactly like real people, which may come across scary for younger viewers i dont recommend any parent taking any child under 6 to see this film some scenes are not suitable, a few parents took there kids out of the film because they were scared. But the animation is amazing, the effects and voice acting are outstanding. If you enjoy a clever movie with twists and turns then this is for you. Im buying the DVD when it comes out. One of the best animated movies of the year. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
ShiiraMar 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No broccoli, no TV. That's the edict handed down from a mother to her son, so the motion capture boy tries to fool his motion capture mom by feeding the offending vegetable to the motion capture cat. The ruse works, until the cat barfs, and Milo(Seth Green) is sent to bed without his zombie fix. Feeling burned, Milo wishes that he never had a mom, making the woman who sounds suspiciously like Joan Cusack cry, and before he can take it back, she becomes the victim of an alien abduction, in a style that strongly recalls "Close Encounters of the Third Kind". In the 1977 Steven Spielberg film, the moviegoer feels the anguish of being left behind as Melinda Dillon watches the otherworldly aircraft whisk her baby away beyond the lit-up sky to heaven knows where. "Mars Needs Moms" is not quite so harsh(if it was, you'd have a theater full of traumatized little kids), since Milo sneaks on board the departing spaceship. True, Milo's mother may be lobotomized by a faintly Asian-sounding alien who looks a little like E.T.(MIndy Sterling), but "Mars Needs Moms" makes sure that the boy has some fun on this dystopian planet, where girls are more prized than boys. With mother and son always being relatively close together, there's not much in the way of drama, as it would've had Milo needed to find his own passage to the red planet. The boy never realizes the full extent of regret for uttering those hurtful words against his mom because he's too cognizant of her whereabouts. The mission, as a result, doesn't have a whole lot of urgency to it, and yet, we do see what could happen to the captured woman(through another character's mother) which is considerably more frightening than anything in "Bambi". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
A_Star_55Mar 17, 2011
This was a great family movie. Very entertaining and heart warming for kids and parents alike. My daughter wants to live on the Moon and travel to Mars. So this was great fun. Also the 3D digital art work was fantastic. It seemd as ifThis was a great family movie. Very entertaining and heart warming for kids and parents alike. My daughter wants to live on the Moon and travel to Mars. So this was great fun. Also the 3D digital art work was fantastic. It seemd as if you were there with Milo. I am going to go see it again and also buy the new DVD. Thanks Disney and IMD! Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
1
cliff108Mar 14, 2011
What is happening to Disney? Iâ
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
0
MatthewXploderMar 12, 2011
Just another bad movie nothing special at the least bit.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews