New Line Cinema | Release Date: November 2, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 34 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
7
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JayH.Feb 5, 2008
Strange film, I did not find it particularly appealing. The cast is great, but I do not think the material was very interesting. It all has a hidden meaning and moral, but after about 30 minutes it was obvious and boredom followed. If you Strange film, I did not find it particularly appealing. The cast is great, but I do not think the material was very interesting. It all has a hidden meaning and moral, but after about 30 minutes it was obvious and boredom followed. If you have something to say, just say it, why bother with the silly Martian element. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeB.Apr 30, 2009
John Cusack is a real artist! He plays this father simply great - non-plus-ultra! He is unique and the whole story touched me to tears. A File for men (maybe more than for women) Greetz from Germany.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
B.J.May 3, 2010
The people who've canned this movie just don't - and can't - get it. for those who do, the story this movie tells is deeply touching. And, to be honest, i often wish i could be from mars, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeneW.Nov 5, 2007
Nice performances, nice story, nice movie with a message. Forget the critics. See this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaI.Nov 7, 2007
My family and I were touched beyond our expectations. What a discovery! This film is beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Feb 16, 2008
You can't set your film at a planetarium without conjuring up Nicholas Ray's "Rebel Without a Cause", which in effect, rips off the extrapolative conceit that Dennis(Bobby Coleman) is a child from outer space. The "martian" boy You can't set your film at a planetarium without conjuring up Nicholas Ray's "Rebel Without a Cause", which in effect, rips off the extrapolative conceit that Dennis(Bobby Coleman) is a child from outer space. The "martian" boy feels uncomfortable on Mars' surface. The red planet is not his home, after all. Dennis tells his adoptive father David(John Cusack) that he might be from a different Mars. Later on, "Martian Child" returns to the planetarium, where David's epiphany results in these compassionate words of acceptance to his adoptive son, "I'm not even that smart. I can see it. It's so obvious, " as both males(one from Mars, one from Venus) face each other on the building's ledge, past the precipice of knowing. Why Bobby keeps a collection of other people's stuff in his closet suddenly becomes obvious: he doesn't want to be the only one. "Martian Child" may someday be reappraised as an important film once it's recognized that Dennis, in all likelihood, is a future candidate for SRS(sex reassignment surgery), because this martian child, this earthling with the pipsqueak voice, feels alien in his own skin, feels pretty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobW.Nov 7, 2007
I am a single father who adopted and saw this movie with the kids. Everyone liked it a lot. As the critics say, it does gloss over some of the negative aspects, but when you have less than 2 hours to tell a story like this I think that was I am a single father who adopted and saw this movie with the kids. Everyone liked it a lot. As the critics say, it does gloss over some of the negative aspects, but when you have less than 2 hours to tell a story like this I think that was necessary. If you ever adopted, this movie will bring back memories both good and bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathrynA.Nov 9, 2007
At last, a movie with an intelligent script! From beginnning to end, Martian Child is a clever, quirky, funny, heartfelt film that never becomes too sappy or maudlin. The chemistry between Cusak and this wonderful child actor is wonderful to At last, a movie with an intelligent script! From beginnning to end, Martian Child is a clever, quirky, funny, heartfelt film that never becomes too sappy or maudlin. The chemistry between Cusak and this wonderful child actor is wonderful to watch. Forget the critics, who don't seem to have any hearts anymore. This is a movie that will please all ages. Really, go see it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.Nov 9, 2007
Martian Child feels like it was a really good story on paper, which I suspect is why John Cusack took the role, but someone decided to desperately pull at the heartstrings and came up with this sentimental Disney channel movie-of-the-week. Martian Child feels like it was a really good story on paper, which I suspect is why John Cusack took the role, but someone decided to desperately pull at the heartstrings and came up with this sentimental Disney channel movie-of-the-week. The best part of the movie were the previews for Grace Is Gone, another film with John Cusack that looks like a film that even he will say he likes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerP.Oct 31, 2007
I am a sentimental pushover so this movie was bounc to score high with me. I'm not normally a fan of the Cusacks, but John is good and a little bit different then most of his roles. The kid is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanZ.Mar 12, 2008
This is an awsome movie and it makes so much since there are so many real live decisions that have to be made and it is so great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarciaBMar 15, 2009
Golly, this movie is swell!! But more importantly, anyone who makes comments about "Martian Child's" secret agenda for SRS candidates- well, those people are swell, too, and not, I repeat, NOT complete idiots. Gosh, these user comments Golly, this movie is swell!! But more importantly, anyone who makes comments about "Martian Child's" secret agenda for SRS candidates- well, those people are swell, too, and not, I repeat, NOT complete idiots. Gosh, these user comments are so worthwhile and groovy, I won't even bother seeing movies anymore; I'll just read about them here! (To the editing staff- since you are obviously too GUTLESS to post comments that even slightly chide other users for their offensive remarks, I sure hope that there was an adequate amount of sucking up in THIS comment to suit your high standards. Bunch of lemmings). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanB.Dec 26, 2007
One of the best overlooked movies in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricE.Jan 15, 2008
Fairly predictable story line. But a good heart touching movie. I enjoyed watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielB.Feb 12, 2008
I thought this movie was AMAZING! I finally saw this movie & wanted to watch it over & over. I'm at a loss for words & wanted the story to go on & on. There is a Martian Child in all of us & learning how to deal with our insecurities is I thought this movie was AMAZING! I finally saw this movie & wanted to watch it over & over. I'm at a loss for words & wanted the story to go on & on. There is a Martian Child in all of us & learning how to deal with our insecurities is all apart of growing up & trusting people. I would love to more movies as honest as this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonMar 14, 2009
Honestly, some of the user comments on here are even more absurd than the scathing reviews this beautiful movie garnered from heartless, jaded professional critics. This movie was based on a true story by David Gerrold, an average man turned Honestly, some of the user comments on here are even more absurd than the scathing reviews this beautiful movie garnered from heartless, jaded professional critics. This movie was based on a true story by David Gerrold, an average man turned hero as he adopted and rescued a lonely, troubled little boy from a hideous childhood. The martian aspect of the movie had nothing to do with the creepy insinuations made by some users; rather, it was a coping mechanism used by the real "Martian Child" as he tried to grapple with a short lifetime of abuse and neglect prior to his adoption. In the future, may I suggest even a modicum of research before posting half-baked theories that do little other than tarnish the premise of a truly honorable film? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeNMar 16, 2009
Simple and trivial, the movie is filled with moral indoctrination and general lack of imagination. Good actor performances but that doesn't make up for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
francel.Sep 29, 2009
Unabashedly sentimental, but unexpectedly watchable. Plus nice acting as always from the Cusack siblings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful