Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 14, 2003
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 510 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
313
Mixed:
36
Negative:
161
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EpicLadySpongeMar 17, 2016
If critics love this, so should users... but due to too many negatives, I guess that score could need a little raising by a bot who can raise up the positive ratings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJun 9, 2014
"Master and Commander" is a beautifully filmed historical drama that is certainly not great, but is pretty good all the same. Truly every shot in this film seems picturesque and is brilliantly crafted. In addition, Russell Crowe and Paul"Master and Commander" is a beautifully filmed historical drama that is certainly not great, but is pretty good all the same. Truly every shot in this film seems picturesque and is brilliantly crafted. In addition, Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany are phenomenal in their roles. The direction overall is also really well done, for example the action sequences are very well done. There are some small complaints I have with the action sequences though, but I will return to those. The sets are costumes are also beautifully put together. Overall, this film has a lot going for it. Now, none of those truly make it a great film, however. For the negatives, the action sequences, while brilliant, can be a bit confusing at times. They are so action-packed and intense, it can be hard to identify who is who due to the frenetic pace during the sequences. The dialogue, while fine, can be hard to hear sometimes. I had the volume at a perfect level for everything, but then somebody would mumble their dialogue, so I wound up missing small bits and pieces, which is annoying. I should not have to have subtitles on to hear some pieces of dialogue. Finally, the film has some unnecessary parts that did not really further anything. Without them, the final product would be a lot tighter and sharper, rather than spending time showing things that do not really further the plot at all. Overall, "Master and Commander" is a good film that I want to like more and rate higher, but sadly cannot. However, it undoubtedly deserves the praise it has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJun 17, 2014
Master and Commander is a lovingly made historical seafaring yarn. The movie contains very strong performances from both Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany. And the ship-to-ship battle scenes are frankly gob-smacking! This is a movie thatMaster and Commander is a lovingly made historical seafaring yarn. The movie contains very strong performances from both Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany. And the ship-to-ship battle scenes are frankly gob-smacking! This is a movie that completely takes you away to another time and place. Excellent stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
This film masquerades as a high-adventure war picture, but is actually at its heart, a simple and perfectly-told story of friendship and camaraderie. The pursuit of the French vessel, magnificent as it is, is just the backdrop to thisThis film masquerades as a high-adventure war picture, but is actually at its heart, a simple and perfectly-told story of friendship and camaraderie. The pursuit of the French vessel, magnificent as it is, is just the backdrop to this elegant, emotionally stirring and intellectually powerful narrative. Easily one of my top ten favorite films of all time. All of the haters can go watch something that appeals more to their intellectual level, like Transformers 2. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
HucksterFeb 13, 2013
Really outstanding with great authenticity. The attention to detail is brilliant as is the acting. At times you experience the great discomfort of seafaring but always with a confidence that you are in safe hands, even during huge seas.Really outstanding with great authenticity. The attention to detail is brilliant as is the acting. At times you experience the great discomfort of seafaring but always with a confidence that you are in safe hands, even during huge seas. Very watchable and most enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FireOccatorSep 24, 2016
Everything about this movie is perfect. It's authentic and entertaining. It delivers the tactical naval warfare feel.

I really wish there were more movies like this, but for now this one is one of a kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsNov 10, 2013
One of Russel Crowe┬┤s best
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LivingonairOct 22, 2011
I was really surprised by the low user score that this movie received. This is one of my favorite movies because it does such a great job of making you feel like you are witnessing what it was really like being on a war ship in the earlyI was really surprised by the low user score that this movie received. This is one of my favorite movies because it does such a great job of making you feel like you are witnessing what it was really like being on a war ship in the early 1800's. Through this movie, you are able to participate in an incredible sea adventure as an observer without risking life and limb. I have heard others state how they find this movie incredibly boring, but that just goes to show how people perceive things differently. Sometimes you have to have a little patience to see the genius and depth that lay beneath the surface of what may otherwise seem ordinary from a distance. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
JPWenzelJul 8, 2012
the movie had glorious directing, the actors were great and the action was amazing. But even better was how real the movie felt to me while watching it. the end was the only disappointing part of the movie even if it had to be longer itthe movie had glorious directing, the actors were great and the action was amazing. But even better was how real the movie felt to me while watching it. the end was the only disappointing part of the movie even if it had to be longer it should have continued. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreetochoosFeb 11, 2013
With realistic sets, brilliant costumes, and great acting, Master and Commander is not only entertaining but also historically accurate. With a full scale replica of a frigate, and Oscar winning sound design, it is the first film that anyWith realistic sets, brilliant costumes, and great acting, Master and Commander is not only entertaining but also historically accurate. With a full scale replica of a frigate, and Oscar winning sound design, it is the first film that any boat lover, history scholar,or just adventure seeker should see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
trooperdeniedFeb 26, 2016
Brilliant movie. Pulls off the great chemistry between Jack and Maturin that the books emphasized so much. And the immersion is so amazingly done, a fantastic portrayal of the the period it's set in. Can't praise it enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelnjDec 18, 2011
First time i've ever experienced disappointment in the judgement of users, what on earth is wrong with you people. This movie is wonderful. It is a beautiful insight in the life on vessels of war during early 17th century. It's aestheticFirst time i've ever experienced disappointment in the judgement of users, what on earth is wrong with you people. This movie is wonderful. It is a beautiful insight in the life on vessels of war during early 17th century. It's aesthetic atmosphere, approach and authentic reality is clearly way above the understanding of most mc-users. But i know it's wonderful and inspiring. And the only god damn **** reason people vote 0 is to have an impact. This movie doesn't deserve 0 rating. My god are people damn idiotic and narrow, i can't believe it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JanetS.Feb 9, 2004
My husband and I went to see this garbage this weekend. After all the critics raved and it received 10 Oscar nominations. After 40 minutes we walked out with a few others who shared our opinion. I have never seen an adventure movie so dull. My husband and I went to see this garbage this weekend. After all the critics raved and it received 10 Oscar nominations. After 40 minutes we walked out with a few others who shared our opinion. I have never seen an adventure movie so dull. There is no life or feeling for any of the actors. Simply terrible. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TerryB.Dec 8, 2003
This was as about as exciting as watching the splinters explode in the flick. The screenplay was terrible, the acting was disappointing, and there was no feeling for any of the characters. If you must see this sh.t take NoDose before you This was as about as exciting as watching the splinters explode in the flick. The screenplay was terrible, the acting was disappointing, and there was no feeling for any of the characters. If you must see this sh.t take NoDose before you enter to see this NONaction boring film. Complete unadulterated crap. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
RobertHJan 8, 2004
Cinematic art? I hardly think so. I found it to be boring beyond belief, tedious and without any character development. Your art would have been better sinking in the first five minutes. People were walking out in droves. Absolute crapola as Cinematic art? I hardly think so. I found it to be boring beyond belief, tedious and without any character development. Your art would have been better sinking in the first five minutes. People were walking out in droves. Absolute crapola as far as I am concerned. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JackAFeb 2, 2004
Simply....AMAZING! The best film of 2003!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesFeb 5, 2004
It is impossible that this movie was nominated for one Oscar let alone ten? Simply dull, boring and of no interest to me or most of the miniscule audience who watched in boredom. No character development at all. Not one character even It is impossible that this movie was nominated for one Oscar let alone ten? Simply dull, boring and of no interest to me or most of the miniscule audience who watched in boredom. No character development at all. Not one character even touched me emotionally. How some of you rave about this crap is amazing. Nonetheless you're entitled to your opinion. I happen to disagree. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
WilliamE.Feb 6, 2004
I only wish a U-2 Submarine had come along and sunk Russell Crowe in the first five minutes to put me and this dumb movie out of its misery. Boooooooooring.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KazuW.Feb 8, 2004
Amazing film. It's an intimate character drama surrounded by a beautiful production. The themes of friendship, honor and duty point out how life was less complicated back then and it's very well acted by the large ensemble cast. I Amazing film. It's an intimate character drama surrounded by a beautiful production. The themes of friendship, honor and duty point out how life was less complicated back then and it's very well acted by the large ensemble cast. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathieH.Feb 8, 2004
This movie is elegant, authentic, exciting, and well-acted. Any fan of Patrick O'Brian's novels cannot help but marvel at Russell Crowe's performance. He is Captain Jack. Paul Bettany is Stephen Maturin. Seeing some of my This movie is elegant, authentic, exciting, and well-acted. Any fan of Patrick O'Brian's novels cannot help but marvel at Russell Crowe's performance. He is Captain Jack. Paul Bettany is Stephen Maturin. Seeing some of my favorite characters on the big screen played by some of my favorite actors was a dream come true. I was enthralled from start to finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BabetteP.Feb 9, 2004
This is an terrific adventure drama! Perfect cast (of course Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany - and all the others!) You feel like being a member of that crew on board - It's just great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StephenO.Mar 3, 2004
Boring, boring, boring. I have never seen a more ridiculous movie that takes non-adventure to an all time low. How can a Pirate movie be this lethargic? The screenplay was simply awful. The acting third rate. The characters were never Boring, boring, boring. I have never seen a more ridiculous movie that takes non-adventure to an all time low. How can a Pirate movie be this lethargic? The screenplay was simply awful. The acting third rate. The characters were never developed therefore leaving the audience not caring about what happened to them. Hard to believe that this movie was nominated for anything other than most boring movie of the year? Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
8
MaxwellS.May 9, 2004
Surprisingly good. The acting was some of the best of the year (behind films like 21 Grams and Mystic River). I loved how the film jumped right into the story and made it work (a very tough thing to do). Another triumph was the story being Surprisingly good. The acting was some of the best of the year (behind films like 21 Grams and Mystic River). I loved how the film jumped right into the story and made it work (a very tough thing to do). Another triumph was the story being about the relationship between friends and not the hatred between enemies (as the enemy wasn't really seen until dead). If the film was this great, I can't imagine how great the books must be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CareyG.Dec 4, 2003
Found it depressing and simply ridiculous. The crew had no personality, no purpose and were just drones following stupid orders. Both the movie and the ship sailed around and around and went absolutely nowhere. Couldn't wait to leave Found it depressing and simply ridiculous. The crew had no personality, no purpose and were just drones following stupid orders. Both the movie and the ship sailed around and around and went absolutely nowhere. Couldn't wait to leave the theater. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DwayneJan 3, 2004
I give one point for the photography. I only wish that this had been a non-talking documentary about the animals found on the island. As for the screenplay and character development the less said the better.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PeterC.Jan 4, 2004
I simply cannot put the beauty of this film into words. This is truly one of the great films of 2003. Russell Crowe, Peter Weir and his crew, I salute you! Well done gentlemen...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisL.Jan 4, 2004
Who on earth would even think of comparing Pirates of the Caribbean to Master and Commander? Pirates is a childish film made by a children's studio. It is pure garbage. Who cares if it made more money? The Phantom Menace is one of the Who on earth would even think of comparing Pirates of the Caribbean to Master and Commander? Pirates is a childish film made by a children's studio. It is pure garbage. Who cares if it made more money? The Phantom Menace is one of the worst films I have ever seen and it made $1 billion. Look at Master and Commanders reviews compared to Pirates of the Caribbean. There is no contest. Master and Commander is a work of cinematic art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArleenJan 4, 2004
I would like to take one of those exploding splinters and place it up the rectum of whoever thought to make this trash. Simply awful and boring.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TooGoodToBeTrueJan 8, 2004
Not the most boring film of the year (that dishonor distinctly belongs to "Mystic River") but I had flashbacks to those unedurable history school textbooks I could never bring myself to read...Certainly blows my mind why anybody would make a Not the most boring film of the year (that dishonor distinctly belongs to "Mystic River") but I had flashbacks to those unedurable history school textbooks I could never bring myself to read...Certainly blows my mind why anybody would make a movie without a plot or an end. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SeanT.Jan 8, 2004
I definitely agree with the person who thought this was a work of art. Who cares if people at some theater walked out? These days, the average movie-goers seem to have the attention span of a donkey. It is truly sad that this film won't I definitely agree with the person who thought this was a work of art. Who cares if people at some theater walked out? These days, the average movie-goers seem to have the attention span of a donkey. It is truly sad that this film won't do better at the box office than it is doing. People would rather spend money on trash like Charlie's Angels 2 or 2 Crap 2 Furious. They're probably the same people who would walk out on a great film like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimW.Feb 12, 2004
This is not supposed to be rollicking swashbuckler movie. It's a slice of life on square-rigged ship. It is almost too true to the O'Brian books. I thought it accomplished its goal admirably.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
HenryB.Feb 10, 2004
Just a terrible movie. There was nothing that made me care for any of the characters. It made absolutely no sense with a dumb storyline in which the excess timber to repair the ship is being carried on it. Conveniently, when the ship is Just a terrible movie. There was nothing that made me care for any of the characters. It made absolutely no sense with a dumb storyline in which the excess timber to repair the ship is being carried on it. Conveniently, when the ship is first attacked, not even a splinter of the repair wood is damaged. Absolutely preposterous. And dull! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ArthurF.Feb 18, 2004
Lukewarm adventure? Try no action or adventure. What the hell was this? It was so bad that half of the ten people who watched the screening walked out in the middle. I do not understand how this film could be nominated for anything let alone Lukewarm adventure? Try no action or adventure. What the hell was this? It was so bad that half of the ten people who watched the screening walked out in the middle. I do not understand how this film could be nominated for anything let alone 10 Oscars? Hated it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MaxP.Feb 2, 2004
Some of you people must be crazy or something. This movie is FANTASTIC. One of the most beautifully shot films of all time. I know a ton about the history of this time period and this film is as authentic as it gets. Master and Commander Some of you people must be crazy or something. This movie is FANTASTIC. One of the most beautifully shot films of all time. I know a ton about the history of this time period and this film is as authentic as it gets. Master and Commander deserves every single of the 10 Oscar nominations that it got. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JosefH.Feb 20, 2004
Was this a movie or a documentary to look at beautiful unihabitated islands with strange birds? Without doubt this film lacked soul or emotion. The acting was poor and the storyline was idiotic. Russell Crowe delivered his lines as if he Was this a movie or a documentary to look at beautiful unihabitated islands with strange birds? Without doubt this film lacked soul or emotion. The acting was poor and the storyline was idiotic. Russell Crowe delivered his lines as if he were speaking with marbles in his mouth. I have never seen a more monotinous meandering movie than Master. I only wish that Russell and his crew had been sunk in the first five minutes to spare us the predicatable unmoving ending. I despised this poor excuse for an adventure film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JakeS.Feb 7, 2004
Russell Crowe in a big-budget epic. Yawn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnP.Feb 9, 2004
I'm an avid O'Brian fan. I thought the movie did a masterful job of capturing the essence of his novels. Life aboard a frigate, difficult relationships arising from long periods away from home in close quarters. Battle scenes well I'm an avid O'Brian fan. I thought the movie did a masterful job of capturing the essence of his novels. Life aboard a frigate, difficult relationships arising from long periods away from home in close quarters. Battle scenes well done. Crowe a perfect Aubrey. Bettany an excellent Maturin though not physically what O'Brian had intended, his relationship with Aubrey felt very real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaB.Feb 9, 2004
A brilliant, well-acted, intelligent movie that doesn't miss but is for someone that wants a lovely film to savor; not have slammed at them or have the frenetic pace of an MTV music video. The action isn't always in battle scenes, A brilliant, well-acted, intelligent movie that doesn't miss but is for someone that wants a lovely film to savor; not have slammed at them or have the frenetic pace of an MTV music video. The action isn't always in battle scenes, but in the human drama itself, which is brought so beautifully about in not only the relations of the men on this small vessel, but the platonic friendship of the characters wonderfully played by Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany. The performances were worthy of Oscar nominations but were passed upon. Crowe IS Jack Aubrey in every way, but so subtle -- the acting comes incredibly easy to him. All in all, a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeBeFeb 9, 2004
This Film is fantastic. A wonderful adventure and so authentic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarileeR.Feb 9, 2004
I'm still wondering how a movie can get all the nominations Master and Commander did and not one for the lead actors. Mind-boggling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinI.Feb 9, 2004
Master and Commander .... Magnificent .... Sensitive ..... Brilliant in its' subtlety ..... Superbly cast .... Artfully directed .... Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolA.Feb 9, 2004
This film will become a classic for all the "right" reasons. I've seen it almost a dozen times and each time come away with something new. I continue to be impressed with the skill of Crowe, Bettany and the entire cast. I can't This film will become a classic for all the "right" reasons. I've seen it almost a dozen times and each time come away with something new. I continue to be impressed with the skill of Crowe, Bettany and the entire cast. I can't wait for the DVD in April. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyC.Feb 9, 2004
Weir has done a magical job in adapting Patrick O'Brian's work for the screen. The casting is perfect, from Russell Crowe as Aubrey and Paul Bettany as Maturin, down to the secondary characters. The cinematography is ravishing and Weir has done a magical job in adapting Patrick O'Brian's work for the screen. The casting is perfect, from Russell Crowe as Aubrey and Paul Bettany as Maturin, down to the secondary characters. The cinematography is ravishing and the details of shipboard life during the Napoleonic Wars is accurate without overwhelming the story itself. A phenomenal accomplishment in all ways. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheresaL.Mar 2, 2004
Boring with a Capital B. Not believable in any aspect. The acting, directing and screenplay was abysmal.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
WillApr 21, 2004
Please don't comment about practices aboard a British man-o-war unless you know what you're talking about. Of course these ships carried spare masts, just as the Titanic had spare parts for her engines. Sigh. Anyway, the movie Please don't comment about practices aboard a British man-o-war unless you know what you're talking about. Of course these ships carried spare masts, just as the Titanic had spare parts for her engines. Sigh. Anyway, the movie captured the spirit of the Aubrey-Maturin books. I did not like the jumbled sub-plot of the Jonah--it didn't seem to fit in the screenplay. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianaM.Apr 30, 2004
When i first saw the movie, like 10 minutes into it, i was completely bored. I was about to fall asleep. But i kept watching. I began to see the plot getting more and more suspensful every minute. Sure, there where quiet times, but the led When i first saw the movie, like 10 minutes into it, i was completely bored. I was about to fall asleep. But i kept watching. I began to see the plot getting more and more suspensful every minute. Sure, there where quiet times, but the led to even more action. The movie shows courage, honor, and determination, things that we should all have in life but many dont. As if the movie wasn't good enough they had a lot of HOT actors. Max Pirkis, the captains son and Max Benitz, Mr. Callaway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredH.Jun 20, 2004
This movie sucked. It was so freakin boring. And Russell for God sakes man take the damn marbles out of your mouth. If I could have I would have torpedoed this dud to Davey Jones locker after thirty minutes. What a boring piece of crap.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GlennA.Sep 4, 2005
Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
H.S.Sep 18, 2006
Perfect Movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianSMay 20, 2008
People expecting Pirates of the Carribean will be disappointed. M&C is an enthralling, highly realistic depiction of the times and the people, the tactics, and the lives of sailors aboard an 1800s warship. The people saying the movie is People expecting Pirates of the Carribean will be disappointed. M&C is an enthralling, highly realistic depiction of the times and the people, the tactics, and the lives of sailors aboard an 1800s warship. The people saying the movie is "boring" need to come to grips with the fact that they will only ever like American action movies and leave more rewarding movies to people with the patience to appreciate genuine adventure and realism. I wonder if they also thought Das Boot was boring, as this was basically "Das Boot with sails" and I could hardly come up with a better compliment than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Nov 14, 2003
Stunning on every level. In a year of non stop disappointments finally a film that delievers. Living proof that a hollywood blockbuster can be sweeping and exciting, while not appealing to the lowest common denominator that presuposses a Stunning on every level. In a year of non stop disappointments finally a film that delievers. Living proof that a hollywood blockbuster can be sweeping and exciting, while not appealing to the lowest common denominator that presuposses a certain degree intellegence from the audience. Perhaps an early pick for film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveO.Nov 15, 2003
Stunningly beautiful. A true work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WACKOJAKONov 17, 2003
Ideed, some of the most skilled filmmaking you'll see this year, but in the end it's rather redundant and ponderously trivial. I can see why this sort of film would appeal to frumpy, middle-aged critics, or fans of the books, but Ideed, some of the most skilled filmmaking you'll see this year, but in the end it's rather redundant and ponderously trivial. I can see why this sort of film would appeal to frumpy, middle-aged critics, or fans of the books, but for the rest of us...well, suffice it to say that at parts it almost put me to sleep. Except when I was being grossed out by exact depictions of 19th century surgical procedures. Exactly how many crude operations must viewers be forced to watch? And the action ain't all that either...at least nothing we haven't already seen in the entertaining Pirates of the Caribean or the trully masterful Lord of the Rings series. Only the wonderful acting saves this pointless film from sinking to oblivion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaborS.Nov 20, 2003
Unbelievable movie, with great actors. I think they should have added more great speeches into the movie, but it is still amazing. Music is excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffS.Nov 27, 2003
Nice visuals, good acting, but dramatically flat. The characters hold little interest, as does the very thin storyline. Prepare to glance at your watch several times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnQ.Dec 1, 2003
This is one of the lamest movies I have ever watched. There was little warmth in the characters and I kept glancing at my watch hoping that it would end. Other than some beautiful scenery it was not entertaining at all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DrewH.Dec 1, 2003
Possilby one of the most tedious movies I have watched this year. Something is missing and the characters have no warmth or appeal. Couldn't wait to leave. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Valk.Dec 2, 2003
Absolutely preposterous adventure story lacking in conviction or emotions for the crew. I kept hoping that it would pick up but I needed one of those cannon ball splinters to hold open my eyes? I was dozing off it was so bad. A waste of time Absolutely preposterous adventure story lacking in conviction or emotions for the crew. I kept hoping that it would pick up but I needed one of those cannon ball splinters to hold open my eyes? I was dozing off it was so bad. A waste of time and money. Avoid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
FusichinuccaDec 2, 2003
The sea was nice but the movie sucked big time. At the end of the flick, the audience was shaking their heads in a negative way. Once word of mouth gets out this film is doomed. Lots of winds bellowing the sails but not much else. Terribly The sea was nice but the movie sucked big time. At the end of the flick, the audience was shaking their heads in a negative way. Once word of mouth gets out this film is doomed. Lots of winds bellowing the sails but not much else. Terribly disappointing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RandyflailerDec 2, 2003
Hated it and couldn't wait to leave. Served no purpose and there was nothing to any of the characters. Just drones following boring orders. It it were on TV you would change the chanel. Avoid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PIRANHAG.Dec 3, 2003
Yes it´s true. Peter Weir made a bad movie. Epic movies are annoying people. STOP IT its not nice.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
WarrenT.Dec 5, 2003
Hated every long drawn out lethargic scene in this sorry excuse for an action movie. I have never been so bored in my life. I would rather watch paint dry than see this epic disaster of a movie again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PeytonW.Dec 6, 2003
Well, I know the "experts" really like this film, but there is absolutely nothing special about it. The subplots throughout the story are all cliche and nothing special. Despite the efforts to make the audience care about the characters, I Well, I know the "experts" really like this film, but there is absolutely nothing special about it. The subplots throughout the story are all cliche and nothing special. Despite the efforts to make the audience care about the characters, I really didn't. There was surprisingly little action, and the action provided was only mediocre. Overall it was a disappointment. I was often bored. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonnyCDec 6, 2003
Simply stunning. Believe the hype. 10/10, 4 stars, A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelS.Jan 1, 2004
It seems the director did not know whether to make a movie (with a strong story line and good acting) or a documentary (with facts and anecdotes weaving a rich historical fabric). The result is a failure either way. The story reads like a It seems the director did not know whether to make a movie (with a strong story line and good acting) or a documentary (with facts and anecdotes weaving a rich historical fabric). The result is a failure either way. The story reads like a dull history book, the action does not make much sense, the acting and the photography are lost in this mess. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChimpJan 10, 2004
The second best movie of the year, behind LOTR. Russel Crowe once again proves to be a true genius at acting, and the movie has a great supporting cast, especially Paul Bettany. Perfectly directed, i felt as if i was a sailor on board the The second best movie of the year, behind LOTR. Russel Crowe once again proves to be a true genius at acting, and the movie has a great supporting cast, especially Paul Bettany. Perfectly directed, i felt as if i was a sailor on board the ship. It added a nice contrast too, because the super-climactic and exciting ending battle was just two ships at the far, far, far side of the world, but yet they were fighting with everything they had. I have enjoyed the past 3 major movies Russel Crowe made immensely, especially Gladiator(no this isnt better than that, but close). I cant wait until his next movie. Mr. Crowe, I salute you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DenzelN.Jan 15, 2004
Great scenery but otherwise an absolutely worthless boring piece of crap. I could barely keep my eyes open as it was an action movie in which the characters never came to life or had any meaning. Reading how the other posters found this a Great scenery but otherwise an absolutely worthless boring piece of crap. I could barely keep my eyes open as it was an action movie in which the characters never came to life or had any meaning. Reading how the other posters found this a piece of art makes me wonder what they were watching? If you have insomnia then this is the movie for you. Otherwise don't waste your time or money. Garbage. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DetroitConnectionJan 16, 2004
Simply dreadful. It is one of the slowest moving dullest action films I have ever witnessed. There is little if any character development and is sadly lacking the flair and adventure that was so apparent in the cartoonish Pirates Of The Simply dreadful. It is one of the slowest moving dullest action films I have ever witnessed. There is little if any character development and is sadly lacking the flair and adventure that was so apparent in the cartoonish Pirates Of The Caribbean. The latter was so superior to this that it makes one wonder how anyone found this to be artistic at all? As far as I am concerned Russell Crowe should have gone to Davey Jones locker in the opening minutes of this unadulterated boorish excuse for a motion picture. Come to think of it motion does not apply as this film crawled along at a snails pace. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarolL.Jan 22, 2004
No one has mentioned the wonderful music score which was a big part of making this movie an awesme adventure film. Russell Crowe was apt cast as the Master and Commander.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WaltD.Jan 24, 2004
I just completed watching this film and agree with the majority of viewers who despised this work. It is a slow meandering dveloping film with nice scenery but not much more. There is NO character development at all and I have NO desire to I just completed watching this film and agree with the majority of viewers who despised this work. It is a slow meandering dveloping film with nice scenery but not much more. There is NO character development at all and I have NO desire to read the book, let alone 21 volumes. As a matter of fact, it is difficult to feel for any of these characters in the movie. As for Russell Crowe this is NOT one of his better performances. As for a pirate film that should scream ACTION, to tell the truth there is very little. And when it does come, you care so little for the characters that you really don't care what happens to them? As for the fight scenes, it is very difficult to tell who is who as the close-ups destroy all sembelance of what is happening to who. To compare this to Pirates of The Caribbean is not fair in the sense that although POTC is cartoonish it had charisma, flair, daring, swashbuckling and a mystical overtone to it. In Master, it is lacking any real conviction and truly is a dud of a film. If you look at the box office receipts between the two there is no comparison as Pirates dominated. What you pseudo snobbish intellectuals do not understand is that Pirates was spectacularly received by word of mouth. Master's word of mouth is so terrible that it completely bombed at the box office. One would think that any film with Russell Crowe would do well considering his stature as an actor. Sadly, I must agree with all those who hated this film. In no way, does Master make me want to read the book as Seabiscuit did with its movie. Just a terribly disappointing film from start to finish with people leaving the theater early. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JenniferT.Jan 26, 2004
This was a terrible film. An adventure? If this was on the discovery channel I would turn it off. Not very good at all. We go to the movies to be entertained not subjected to a senseless piece of drivel. There was no character development This was a terrible film. An adventure? If this was on the discovery channel I would turn it off. Not very good at all. We go to the movies to be entertained not subjected to a senseless piece of drivel. There was no character development and the premise was absolutely ridiculous. Revenge, okay, if you want to believe it? It's like going after the Bismark with a row boat. C'mon, this movie was a complete bore and a total bust at the box office once word of mouth got around. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DavidH.Jan 20, 2004
Starfox I just read your review and feel compelled to advise anyone contemplating seeing this disaster to just stay away. You could not be more off base. There is absolutely ZERO character development in this film. If so please explain Starfox I just read your review and feel compelled to advise anyone contemplating seeing this disaster to just stay away. You could not be more off base. There is absolutely ZERO character development in this film. If so please explain Russell Crowe's background and his passion in pursuing a hopeless mission that endangers both his crew and his ship. And, please don't quote to me from the book. Where is it in the movie? It's not. Explain why his best friend the Ship's physcian chose a life at sea with lowlife followers when he could have been so much more. Again, point it out to us from the movie. Character development, I don't think so. Also, while you're on the subject please explain where the timber came from to repair the ship? Have you ever seen this in any other pirate movie you have ever watched? As for the acting it was third rate, including marble mouth, Russell Crowe, and was difficult to follow. As the other posters have noted, ticket buyers were walking out in droves as this "so-called" action movie was basically devoid of any action except for the exploding splinters during the battel scene in which no one knew who was who nor did we care. So spare me your sarcasm about what a great movie this was. It was an absolute worthless piece of garbage that I would not sit through again unless somebody took bamboo shoots and put them through my eyes. My advice to anyone wanting to rent this film is to take NoDoze before you attempt to sit though it. For you to rate this a perfect ten as compared to the great classics makes me want to give this a score of about a negative 1,000,000. It was that bad. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KevinB.Jan 28, 2004
This movie was great. Everyone here is saying that the movie is bad.... and for what reasons: it was boring, no character development, it was like watching discovery channel. If you have any ability to retain knowledge, or think with a sense This movie was great. Everyone here is saying that the movie is bad.... and for what reasons: it was boring, no character development, it was like watching discovery channel. If you have any ability to retain knowledge, or think with a sense of intellectuality, then you will probably like this movie (It didn't get ten oscar nominations for nothing). Other than that, all the people who gave this movie a ZERO: how about you stick to movies like "2 fast 2 furious," because that seems like a movie that would contain your small attention deficit defunct brain capacities in a way that would appeal to your pathetic undeveloped, unevolved, infantile, nincompoop, sub-human brain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PollyJ.Jan 28, 2004
How anyone saw any action or adventure in this astonishingly slow film is beyond me? It was simply terrible in which I felt absolutely nothing for any of the characters. If you can't feel emotion then the movie is dead!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JeffP.Jan 30, 2004
M&C is the type of film I respect, but didn't enjoy. It seems that the majority of people who liked the film had also read the books. Because I have yet to tackle the series, I agree their was not enough character developement. M&C is the type of film I respect, but didn't enjoy. It seems that the majority of people who liked the film had also read the books. Because I have yet to tackle the series, I agree their was not enough character developement. Concerning Oscar, I agree with most of the noms except Best Picture. Sadly, because of the recent negative feedback from the audiance, M&C may miss out on getting credit for it's visual FX, which would be a well deserved win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JuanP.Jan 30, 2004
I so glad to see Amber P put Kevin in place. He has no right to insult people. I saw the movie because I like Rusell Crow. But the movie is very bad. No action. I don't feel for anyone. I want fun and there was no fun and I do not like I so glad to see Amber P put Kevin in place. He has no right to insult people. I saw the movie because I like Rusell Crow. But the movie is very bad. No action. I don't feel for anyone. I want fun and there was no fun and I do not like it. Very bad. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JenniferC.Jan 4, 2004
Loved it from start to finish! Great film all around!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TrudyD.Feb 10, 2004
Garbage. I could not believe an adventure movie could be this slow. The plot was preposterous; nothing was explained about why the crew elected to spend their humdrum lifes at sea; nor why they carried repair lumber on the vessel? I will Garbage. I could not believe an adventure movie could be this slow. The plot was preposterous; nothing was explained about why the crew elected to spend their humdrum lifes at sea; nor why they carried repair lumber on the vessel? I will point out that I have never remotely seen any other ship from that century carry timber if and when they were attacked by pirates? Usually, the ship would either win the battle or be sunk. What is Master a Boy Scout troop in that they were prepared? C'mon, this film was the equal of watching moss grow on a rock. It was boring and without any character development at all. The characters were completely lifeless and I really wish they had all drowned in the opening minutes to spare me the agony of watching this crap. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KathyS.Feb 10, 2004
So sorry to the bashers of this movie but I vote with the "respected" professional critics. So sorry it didn't turn out to be "Fast and Furious" for those of you who, obviously, didn't get it. It was an art film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TeresaFeb 1, 2004
Painfully dull. A failed adaptation.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WandaP.Feb 10, 2004
I didn't want this movie to end. Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin took me on an adventure in the early 18th century and I didn't want come back.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JamalFeb 15, 2004
Jamal hated this suck-ass boring movie. Where was the action? We send shuttles into space without back up parts. You telling Jamal that 400 years ago with just the wind for propulsion that there were ships sailing around with spare masts? Jamal hated this suck-ass boring movie. Where was the action? We send shuttles into space without back up parts. You telling Jamal that 400 years ago with just the wind for propulsion that there were ships sailing around with spare masts? Bullsh.t! You either won the battle or sunk. How come 400 years later the Titanic didn't carry spare metal panels to repair the damage by the icebergs? Who could even be stupid enough to believe the crap these writers try to pawn off on us. Master sucked as there was no adventure. Jamal tried to get a refund. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
BenA.Feb 18, 2004
This movie is pretty solid. Nothing, I'd say, is done poorly. In fact, most everything is done extraordinarily well. It just doesn't come together into a masterpiece, but it falls a few feet short. It is a decent movie, had it been This movie is pretty solid. Nothing, I'd say, is done poorly. In fact, most everything is done extraordinarily well. It just doesn't come together into a masterpiece, but it falls a few feet short. It is a decent movie, had it been released earlier, I would have welcomed this movie with open arms, but in the crowded competitive end of the year movies, this one just isn't the best. I suggest you see it at a second run theater in March when all the movies out in theaters suck. FOR SURE see it in theaters, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WinstonF.Feb 1, 2004
After receiving 10, count them, 10 OSCAR nominations, despite the generally poor Metacritic reviews, I was foolish enough to let the professional critics cloud my judgment. Well, I saw Master yesterday along with my wife. We both hated it. After receiving 10, count them, 10 OSCAR nominations, despite the generally poor Metacritic reviews, I was foolish enough to let the professional critics cloud my judgment. Well, I saw Master yesterday along with my wife. We both hated it. It was absolutely atrocious and so boring. It is inconceivable that any pirate movie could have so little action. And when it does come, the characters are all so undeveloped that you feel absolutely nothing for any of them. People were walking out of the theater during the screening. We were stupid enough to sit through the whole boring ordeal. I give my word in that I will never listen to the paid off professional critics again. Thank you Metacritic for providing a service that permits REAL PEOPLE, not shills, to discuss the merits of a film. Avoid at all costs. Better yet, "ABANDON SHIP." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AntjeE.Feb 10, 2004
A great movie and great actors.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KarenJ.Feb 21, 2004
Was Master a joke or what? Inane and inept in every facet of what makes a good motion picture. There was no motion, emotion, and certainly, no adventure in this laughable moronic story. It is beyond belief that Master could be up for any Was Master a joke or what? Inane and inept in every facet of what makes a good motion picture. There was no motion, emotion, and certainly, no adventure in this laughable moronic story. It is beyond belief that Master could be up for any award let alone 10 Oscars. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
SpriggangirlFeb 24, 2004
Need I say anything??
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TomasP.Feb 2, 2004
I only wish I had gone down with the ship in the first five minutes of the film to avoid what may be one of the most boring movies ever made. It was terrible and I did not have feel any emotion for any of the characters. How in Gods name did I only wish I had gone down with the ship in the first five minutes of the film to avoid what may be one of the most boring movies ever made. It was terrible and I did not have feel any emotion for any of the characters. How in Gods name did this movie get ten Oscar nominations? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SharonW.Feb 3, 2004
Repulsive is the only way to describe this terribly slow movie. Ten Oscars for this??? Kevin, are you sure you're from this planet? At one point, I became so disenchanted with the film that I started observing the few others in the Repulsive is the only way to describe this terribly slow movie. Ten Oscars for this??? Kevin, are you sure you're from this planet? At one point, I became so disenchanted with the film that I started observing the few others in the theater foolish enough to have paid for this water torture. They were squirming, looking at their watches, and a few did indeed walk out about forty minutes into what seemed like an eternal bore. Other than some nice scenery and wildlife this movie is a dud. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SidneyF.Feb 3, 2004
Max we're nuts? Take a look at the Metacritic scores and then take a good look in the mirror... As a historian of this period perhaps you would care to enlighten us how Russell conveniently had all the lumber he needed on his ship to Max we're nuts? Take a look at the Metacritic scores and then take a good look in the mirror... As a historian of this period perhaps you would care to enlighten us how Russell conveniently had all the lumber he needed on his ship to effect a complete makeover. Better yet, please advise how the far superior vessel snuck up on poor old Russell blasted his ship to kingdom com but somehow managed not to damage to the necessary SPARE timber required to make those repairs. This movie had more holes than swiss cheese. There was no character development at all. It meandered along as slow as a bead of sweat dripping from one's brow. Absolutely dreadful. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AlanL.Feb 5, 2004
Filmmaking at its finest. Great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahDFeb 5, 2004
One of the best sea epics ever made. Great film from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewG.Feb 5, 2004
I am so glad they re-released this film. I missed it the first time it was out and now I had the pleasure of seeing it. All I can say is that this film deserves all the praise its getting from the critics, fans and Academy Awards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorraineS.Feb 8, 2004
Magnificent, pure, viewing experience. Without a doubt one of the best directed movie with a great performance by Russell Crowe. It is flat amazing that he has not received a nomination for Best Actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieFeb 8, 2004
This movie certainly didn't try to be a " Gladiator " on water ... The purpose of Peter Weir was to describe the life of sailors on a ship of the Royal Navy and he masterfully made it . Viewers which found it too slow were mistaken by a This movie certainly didn't try to be a " Gladiator " on water ... The purpose of Peter Weir was to describe the life of sailors on a ship of the Royal Navy and he masterfully made it . Viewers which found it too slow were mistaken by a movie trailer which promised a lot of actions . Patrick 'o' Brian would be proud of this adaptation , with wonderful landscapes ( The Galapagos ) , thoughtful script by John Collee and some actors at their best of their talent ( Russell Crowe , Paul Bettany , and a very moving newcomer , Max Pirkis ) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristineN.Feb 8, 2004
Awesome! The Best this year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeenaN.Feb 8, 2004
Wonderful and engaging! One of the best this year! Russell Crowe is amazing as Jack Aubrey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisN.Feb 8, 2004
Wonderful. Peter Weir has brought O'Brian's vision to the screen. Russell Crowe is awesome as Captain Aubrey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RhodaM.Feb 8, 2004
Exceptional film, Russell Crowe and Paul Betany were outstanding. Peter Weir did a great job, and the cineamotography was beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnnaS.Feb 8, 2004
Beautifully made and acted adventure with an intelligent script and incredible cinematography. An absorbing and exciting delight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful