Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 504 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on author Patrick O'Brian's series of Aubrey/Maturin novels, the film is set during the Napoleonic Wars. Crowe is Captain "Lucky" Jack Aubrey, renowned as a fighting captain in the British Navy, and Bettany is ship's doctor Stephen Maturin. Their ship, the H.M.S. Surprise, isBased on author Patrick O'Brian's series of Aubrey/Maturin novels, the film is set during the Napoleonic Wars. Crowe is Captain "Lucky" Jack Aubrey, renowned as a fighting captain in the British Navy, and Bettany is ship's doctor Stephen Maturin. Their ship, the H.M.S. Surprise, is suddenly attacked by a superior enemy. With the Surprise badly damaged and much of his crew injured, Aubrey is torn between duty and friendship as he pursues a high-stakes chase across two oceans, to intercept and capture his foe. It's a mission that can make his reputation – or destroy Lucky Jack and his crew. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. 100
    When it comes to the oft-doomed genre of seafaring adventure, Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World is a spectacular throwback and a great leap forward.
  2. 100
    Stupendously entertaining.
  3. 100
    Isn't just a fabulous seagoing spectacle. It's one for the ages.
  4. As gorgeous and gripping as it is faithful to the spirit of Patrick O'Brian's celebrated series of historical novels.
  5. 75
    For those with any interest in 18th and 19th century seafaring or naval warfare, this is a must-see motion picture. For others, it's an enlightening and entertaining experience.
  6. 70
    Persuasively re-creates the experience of sailing aboard a British man-o'-war during the Napoleonic era, but its story never attains comparable grandeur.
  7. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    20
    It seems as if every possible cliche and story twist from any seafaring picture of the past 80 years made its way into this flick.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    First time i've ever experienced disappointment in the judgement of users, what on earth is wrong with you people. This movie is wonderful. ItFirst time i've ever experienced disappointment in the judgement of users, what on earth is wrong with you people. This movie is wonderful. It is a beautiful insight in the life on vessels of war during early 17th century. It's aesthetic atmosphere, approach and authentic reality is clearly way above the understanding of most mc-users. But i know it's wonderful and inspiring. And the only god damn **** reason people vote 0 is to have an impact. This movie doesn't deserve 0 rating. My god are people damn idiotic and narrow, i can't believe it Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2016
    10
    Only men will like this movie, because it has virtues women will never understand. Simpletons that want an action-adventure movie shouldOnly men will like this movie, because it has virtues women will never understand. Simpletons that want an action-adventure movie should look elsewhere. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    For all those who gave this film a negative review and for those people wondering about watching it I say this: If you think that moreFor all those who gave this film a negative review and for those people wondering about watching it I say this: If you think that more explosions = more fun and you think that Transformers (Good film) and Transformers 2 (Horrible film) are the height of movie making then DO NOT watch this film. It is NOT a traditional action movie. It is for people who appreciate the art of storytelling and of watching a wonderful script from a classic book series woven into an artfully built crescendo. A story where the characters are not simply 1 dimensional but are given time on screen to build depth so that you truly feel for them when both wonderful and tragic things occur. Some people call this boring. THEY ARE WRONG. They simply have the attention span of a moth. This is a rich & rewarding movie experience for those with patience and a true appreciation for the craft of epic moviemaking. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Really outstanding with great authenticity. The attention to detail is brilliant as is the acting. At times you experience the greatReally outstanding with great authenticity. The attention to detail is brilliant as is the acting. At times you experience the great discomfort of seafaring but always with a confidence that you are in safe hands, even during huge seas. Very watchable and most enjoyable. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2016
    8
    If critics love this, so should users... but due to too many negatives, I guess that score could need a little raising by a bot who can raiseIf critics love this, so should users... but due to too many negatives, I guess that score could need a little raising by a bot who can raise up the positive ratings. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2014
    7
    "Master and Commander" is a beautifully filmed historical drama that is certainly not great, but is pretty good all the same. Truly every shot"Master and Commander" is a beautifully filmed historical drama that is certainly not great, but is pretty good all the same. Truly every shot in this film seems picturesque and is brilliantly crafted. In addition, Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany are phenomenal in their roles. The direction overall is also really well done, for example the action sequences are very well done. There are some small complaints I have with the action sequences though, but I will return to those. The sets are costumes are also beautifully put together. Overall, this film has a lot going for it. Now, none of those truly make it a great film, however. For the negatives, the action sequences, while brilliant, can be a bit confusing at times. They are so action-packed and intense, it can be hard to identify who is who due to the frenetic pace during the sequences. The dialogue, while fine, can be hard to hear sometimes. I had the volume at a perfect level for everything, but then somebody would mumble their dialogue, so I wound up missing small bits and pieces, which is annoying. I should not have to have subtitles on to hear some pieces of dialogue. Finally, the film has some unnecessary parts that did not really further anything. Without them, the final product would be a lot tighter and sharper, rather than spending time showing things that do not really further the plot at all. Overall, "Master and Commander" is a good film that I want to like more and rate higher, but sadly cannot. However, it undoubtedly deserves the praise it has received. Expand
  7. TerryB.
    Dec 8, 2003
    0
    This was as about as exciting as watching the splinters explode in the flick. The screenplay was terrible, the acting was disappointing, and This was as about as exciting as watching the splinters explode in the flick. The screenplay was terrible, the acting was disappointing, and there was no feeling for any of the characters. If you must see this sh.t take NoDose before you enter to see this NONaction boring film. Complete unadulterated crap. Expand

See all 313 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.