Matando Cabos

Matando Cabos Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A dark comedy about a kidnapping scheme in Mexico City.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. 70
    Violent, vulgar, disgusting and incredibly funny.
  2. 63
    Far from perfect, but for those willing to laugh at the darker side of life, especially Latin American life, it is fun.
  3. A Spanish-language black comedy with a frenetic style that plays out like regurgitated Tarantino and Guy Ritchie.
  4. 50
    It's abundantly clear that Lozano and company have been re-watching "Pulp Fiction" for the last decade, pausing long enough to pick up the fluid rhythms of "Y Tu Mamá También" and "Amores Perros" while completely missing those films' social and political edges.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    30
    A perfect example of the sad trend in contempo Latin American filmmaking to imitate old Tarantino with only a fraction of the stylistic cojones, frantic comedy dealing with two pairs of confused guys and one pair of kidnap victims is an empty exercise that loses its juice before first reel's end.
  6. A grimly unfunny and stupefyingly inept comedy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. MonicaS.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Hilarious! But if you
  2. CarlinhosB.
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    so good, so funny, yes it does seem like a Tarantino movie, but that doesn't hurt it at all. I thought it was one of the most so good, so funny, yes it does seem like a Tarantino movie, but that doesn't hurt it at all. I thought it was one of the most entertaining movies of 2005. Expand
  3. JoseN.
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    I come from Mexico, and every character shows different sides of Mexico just ass it is. I feel it had a little of everything and thats what I come from Mexico, and every character shows different sides of Mexico just ass it is. I feel it had a little of everything and thats what made it so reat. Collapse
  4. JuanH.
    Aug 30, 2005
    9
    A Great Mexican produced movie, based in Mexico and deeply entrenched with Mexican views and ideas and with what we grew up seeing sadly A Great Mexican produced movie, based in Mexico and deeply entrenched with Mexican views and ideas and with what we grew up seeing sadly given low marks by Mr. Malcolm, Mr. Rechtshaffen and Mr. Koehler. Those last names sure do sound Latin to me and I'm sure they have a full understanding of movies that don't star Tom Cruise. In a nutshell, go watch the movie and enjoy the visuals, the acting and the story line for what they are Great! Expand
  5. JordyF.
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    Hilarious all the way through! if these critics are going by the subtitles, then i must say i don't blame them; i was reading them as i Hilarious all the way through! if these critics are going by the subtitles, then i must say i don't blame them; i was reading them as i watched and they lose all of the style and wit of the actual jokes! this movie is one of my favorites because it is so intricately weaved, and it takes on a topic that is heavily discussed in Mexico, especially in Mexico Cit. Expand

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.