DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: December 28, 2005
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 535 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
447
Mixed:
38
Negative:
50
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
TonyB.Aug 8, 2006
Dark and atmospheric, "Match Point" is also, especially with those operatic insertions, just too pretentious for its own good. I found hard to believe what the Jonathan Rhys-Meyers character does to get out of his predicament. A different Dark and atmospheric, "Match Point" is also, especially with those operatic insertions, just too pretentious for its own good. I found hard to believe what the Jonathan Rhys-Meyers character does to get out of his predicament. A different Allen movie doesn't necessarily translate into a very good one.. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
5
KeithH.Feb 1, 2006
The movie was full of great ideas only half-baked. I thought I would love it shortly into it, but I barely made it to the end. Woody Allen needs someone on his team to take care of the details. I was aggravated by the waste of the potential The movie was full of great ideas only half-baked. I thought I would love it shortly into it, but I barely made it to the end. Woody Allen needs someone on his team to take care of the details. I was aggravated by the waste of the potential this movie had. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
StephenApr 10, 2006
Woody Allen's huge return to form (not). Well crafted but predictable, almost totally lacking in the sharp humour that distinguishes the best Allen scripts. Johannson looks uncomfortable throughout with her daggy and dreary role, and Woody Allen's huge return to form (not). Well crafted but predictable, almost totally lacking in the sharp humour that distinguishes the best Allen scripts. Johannson looks uncomfortable throughout with her daggy and dreary role, and the final Sophoclean cameo doesn't mend things. Time to prefer younger directors, evidently Allen is no Bunuel or Huston who is going to hold his nerve and pull off that very late masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
GeorgeR.Jan 2, 2006
Do not spend a single minute considering MATCH POINT. It's Woody Allen (by Woody Allen) for Dummies. One A-Plot and no anything else-plots as not to confuse anyone (possibly and especially him and his obviously depleted sensibility).Do not spend a single minute considering MATCH POINT. It's Woody Allen (by Woody Allen) for Dummies. One A-Plot and no anything else-plots as not to confuse anyone (possibly and especially him and his obviously depleted sensibility). There are direct lifts of dialogue from C & M, no foolin' ("You mean if I won't leave my wife, you'll go to her and tell her..." crap like that). It crosses that delicate line from tension to tedium at nearly every opportunity. With a THEME (capitals, mine) (Luck Over Greatness) that's boring, obscure and meaningless to anyone who ever grew intellectually under his tutelege. Woody is so squeamish about depicting sex (pants on, blankets up to the neckline) and so it cripples him from accurately and genuinely portraying the mania that accompanies it. The lovers end up looking like they've had too many Starbucks mocha grandes or some such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EvanS.Jan 29, 2006
Like with most recent Woody Allen movies, proven actors are maddeningly wasted in two-dimensional supporting roles bringing the kind of character depth you'd find in a Banana Republic Holiday Story. The excellent above the line actors Like with most recent Woody Allen movies, proven actors are maddeningly wasted in two-dimensional supporting roles bringing the kind of character depth you'd find in a Banana Republic Holiday Story. The excellent above the line actors (including Brian Cox, Emily Mortimer, Matthew Goode and Penelope Wilton) are immaculately dressed and filmed with absolutely nothing original to do or say. In Allen's world, the obscenely wealthy Hewett clan just sip G&Ts, play polo and go to the opera - evoking unintentional laughs in this Serious Woody Allen Film. Maybe it's the director's commentary to paint the British upper class so broadly, but the problem with gutting the family of character is the viewer is forced to wade through strings of unbelievably hollow and inconsequential scenes and chatter to reach the mildly interesting parts. Allen effectively zeroes in on the film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PeterS.Jan 11, 2006
Only reason this isn't lower is because Scarlett Johansson looks great, but even she is unappealing and whiny throughout. The dialogue in this film is laughably poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanaM.Jan 16, 2006
What? A shotgun goes off twice in a tight apartment building and no one hears it? Nobody does fingerprints in London? No one knew she was pregnant? How is it that he's an Irish Tennis player with an English accent? And the London Police What? A shotgun goes off twice in a tight apartment building and no one hears it? Nobody does fingerprints in London? No one knew she was pregnant? How is it that he's an Irish Tennis player with an English accent? And the London Police have Irish accents? Too many holes to fill to be believable. Sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PennyW.Jan 21, 2006
I did like this movie; I thought it was set in reality until the "plot turn," and that's what made the last 30 or so minutes of this movie unbearable to me. To some reviewers that think that negative reviewers didn't see the same I did like this movie; I thought it was set in reality until the "plot turn," and that's what made the last 30 or so minutes of this movie unbearable to me. To some reviewers that think that negative reviewers didn't see the same movie, yes, there are plot holes; you probably were too engrossed in the story to actually see them. Personally, I was thinking that maybe there would have been some forensic scientists in England, but in Woody Allen's England, forensic scientists must not exist. The movie covers up its plot holes, flat characters and bad dialogue with opera metaphors and the theme of "luck over goodness." Apparently the metaphors and themes are what most people see in Match Point instead of the shortcomings of this movie. I must have caught a lot of the shortcomings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MaxL.Jan 30, 2006
Story could have been better. The script is uneven. The characters are two dimensional and with the exception of Scarlett Johansson are not very interesting. The third act was completely overblown and unbelievable. I think it's just Story could have been better. The script is uneven. The characters are two dimensional and with the exception of Scarlett Johansson are not very interesting. The third act was completely overblown and unbelievable. I think it's just lazy on the filmmaker's part to start the movie with the saying about being lucky rather than being good and then proceeded to make a film with 'surprise' twists. I want the film to be good not just hoping to be lucky. Too bad, the editing was a bit jumbled and thoroughly wasted beautifully filmed scenes. Woody took a big step back in this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DaleM.Feb 19, 2006
The characters in this movie are flat and pretentious. It's not that they are unlikeable or evil as Roger Ebert would have it. They are just boring and uninteresting. Homer Simpson is more fully rounded than most of the characters in The characters in this movie are flat and pretentious. It's not that they are unlikeable or evil as Roger Ebert would have it. They are just boring and uninteresting. Homer Simpson is more fully rounded than most of the characters in this film. He's also a lot more interesting. The characters in this movie seem more like parodies of rich people out of the Simpsons than real flesh and blood people. It is no wonder that we don't feel too saddened or shocked when someone finally gets killed. We all know that it was just a cartoon character (and a boring one at that) getting killed, not a real person. To call this film a thriller is only possible if you have slept throught he first two thirds of the film which is certainly possible. The plot twists and philosophical questions that arise near the end of the film are interesting. All in all this would have made a fine half hour Twilight Zone episode, but, as a two hour movie, it is really overwrought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FernandoL.Mar 31, 2006
This is a good movie but very painful to watch. You can admire it but not because it is enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanApr 29, 2006
The first two-thirds of this film drolls through the conventional love triangle/backstabbing melodrama that is put out by so many nameless directors. If Allen is going to break his mold, he shouldn't go so far into someone else's. The first two-thirds of this film drolls through the conventional love triangle/backstabbing melodrama that is put out by so many nameless directors. If Allen is going to break his mold, he shouldn't go so far into someone else's. Granted the last third of the film saves it from total drudgery, but still it retains a sense of pretentiousness. If Allen is going to give us an operatic backdrop and intricate allusions, he should also not beat us over the head with redundant metaphors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ClayMay 10, 2006
Not enjoyable. Seems to tread much the same ground as Closer, just not as effectively or bravely. Shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KatherineD.Jun 10, 2006
Honestly, I think the movie had immense potential. However, I found the lack of chemistry between the lead characters (Mortimer, Johansson & Rhys Meyers) to be.. well, extremely difficult to endure. That being said, it's rather Honestly, I think the movie had immense potential. However, I found the lack of chemistry between the lead characters (Mortimer, Johansson & Rhys Meyers) to be.. well, extremely difficult to endure. That being said, it's rather surprisingly that I still quite liked the movie despite that massive fundamental flaw. Normally, I quite like Scarlett Johansson, but I didn't find her to be at all believable in this role and I think that she was horribly mis-cast. Jonathan Rhys Meyers and Emily Mortimer's performances were only mediocre, and as I stated earlier, they entirely lacked chemistry. In fact, I think the only person I found to be completely believable is Mathew Goode. I think he made really creative decisions and added personality to a relatively small role. Overall, the movie lacked a lot, some of which it made up for in other areas. Basically, any way you look at it, it can only really average out as mediocre. I also found it to be a bit desultory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanB.Dec 28, 2005
I'm definitely not indifferent to it, though I can't quite say I *liked* it. The acting is good--I think it's quite a feat to pull off that dialogue and make it sound almost appropriate. This film starts off slow... it ends I'm definitely not indifferent to it, though I can't quite say I *liked* it. The acting is good--I think it's quite a feat to pull off that dialogue and make it sound almost appropriate. This film starts off slow... it ends pretty well, though. I like his serious films, generally, as much as his comedies, but I really think this would have worked excellently as a comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LesleyJan 25, 2006
Well crafted, but utterly soul-less. A movie that only a critic could love. For a far superior rendering of the same themes, see Woody Allen's earlier movie, "Crimes and Misdemeanors"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ShannonP.Jul 18, 2006
This film is generally well made, but why make it? We have seen this story and these characters so many times! [***SPOILERS***] OK: liars, cheats and murderers are horrible and they sometimes win in life. What's new Woody? The ending This film is generally well made, but why make it? We have seen this story and these characters so many times! [***SPOILERS***] OK: liars, cheats and murderers are horrible and they sometimes win in life. What's new Woody? The ending here is also ridiculous. The murderer tries to throw away evidence of his crime (a wedding ring), but it happens to be found by another criminal, who then happens to commit another murder, which happens to occur in the same area, which happens to occur in the same time-frame, and the second killer happens to have the evidence (ring) of the first killing in his possession. The police then conclude this second killer also commited the first murder, and the anit-hero escapes charges. The odds of this happening are roughly the same as the odds of being struck by lightening five times in the same day. No wonder Woody is such a cynic! The critics let him get away with this . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
oxanaAug 28, 2014
This movie is fitting for those who like some good, sexy -or less sexy... - drama, love-triangle and cheating plus inner turmoil. A man loves two women - first he cannot get, and when she is available, he is married to the other. The endingThis movie is fitting for those who like some good, sexy -or less sexy... - drama, love-triangle and cheating plus inner turmoil. A man loves two women - first he cannot get, and when she is available, he is married to the other. The ending was surprising. This is no way a thriller, but a good watch. Very human in many ways. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers, in my opinion, did a good job in his role, a lover/husband trying to decide how to live his life (and with whom), and finally making and extreme decision about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleJun 17, 2016
I appreciate the philosophical musings based on "Crime and Punishment", as well as the thoughts offered on luck, love, lust, and fidelity, but Match Point is simply dull. It occasionally hits the accelerator, but far too often Woody Allen'sI appreciate the philosophical musings based on "Crime and Punishment", as well as the thoughts offered on luck, love, lust, and fidelity, but Match Point is simply dull. It occasionally hits the accelerator, but far too often Woody Allen's pacing of the film just fails to deliver anything of interest. Plus, the film is far too subtle. Obviously, I picked up on all the thematic elements and what not, but as it stands, the film's pacing is just off kilter. That said, Jonathan Rhys Meyers is very good here and Scarlett Johansson also does quite well here. However, the problems of the film all come back again to the lack of intrigue and dramatic entertainment. I appreciate slow burns and slower films, but even though this one has a solid pay-off, it just does not save the film and, even worse, the sequence immediately proceeding the ending makes no sense given the tone and approach of the film before this. It just does not fit, even if the very ending does do a good job tying up all the thematic elements. Overall, Match Point hits the net and bounces back onto your side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews