DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: December 28, 2005
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 537 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
450
Mixed:
37
Negative:
50
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JoanJan 29, 2006
Woody allen is definitely back. Great film and acting. absorbing.all characters played their roles well!!a real woody allen ending./ we are not always dealt the best of cards!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LisaMDec 30, 2005
It's like night and day from some of his recent films. It's entertaining, brilliant, interesting, and perfectly cast. The reviewers are way underrating this film. Woody-prejudice abounds. But this film is not a Woody Allen It's like night and day from some of his recent films. It's entertaining, brilliant, interesting, and perfectly cast. The reviewers are way underrating this film. Woody-prejudice abounds. But this film is not a Woody Allen film--it's just a really good film....great storytelling, classic and modern with a palpable tension. It's a model film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PavelM.Jan 10, 2006
The best one I've seen for months.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GCJan 7, 2006
An excellent return to the crime & punishment theme Allen first visited in Crimes and Misdemeaners. Here the plot is simplified and laid bare, though with a sinister atmosphere that lurks even in the "happy" corners of the film. The acting An excellent return to the crime & punishment theme Allen first visited in Crimes and Misdemeaners. Here the plot is simplified and laid bare, though with a sinister atmosphere that lurks even in the "happy" corners of the film. The acting is top notch and the denoument works perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillJan 7, 2006
A Must see. All the people that are giving low ratings don't have the brain power, nor the culture to Understand Woody Allen's Genius. I'm still thinking about this movie...truly a great work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathleenS.Mar 4, 2006
Provocative and entertaining. Although I don't necessarily agree with director/writer Woody Allen's point of view on matters of fate and morality, I appreciate his ability to ask thought-provoking questions on the nature of life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyJan 6, 2006
A truly Awesome film......Great acting....The writing is superb. This is a must see film. If you hate Woody Allen; You'll love him now..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJan 6, 2006
Woody Allen's most brilliant work in many a year. Unlike the ridiculous King Kong, this film had actors with real dialogue and a director with outstanding skills. Although it starts slowly, it builds until it actually grasps its Woody Allen's most brilliant work in many a year. Unlike the ridiculous King Kong, this film had actors with real dialogue and a director with outstanding skills. Although it starts slowly, it builds until it actually grasps its audience in conflict. You find yourself unsure how to resolve the conflict until a desparate act is committed. From this point, you finally realize that in life, it doesn't matter how good you truly are? All it takes is a luck and being in the right place at the right time; or sometimes, unfortunately in the wrong place at the wrong time. Woody Allen dispells the notion that good things happen to good people and bad things happen to bad people. Luck can be both good and bad. Absolutely thought provoking? Worth the watch if you stay with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomB.Jan 6, 2006
A marvelous, stunning flim. The 3 of us who went the other night still can't stop thinking about it. The casting is perfect, the story sublime. If you appreciate more to film than the latest Vin Diesel vehicle, go see this. It's great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CongoGongoJan 9, 2006
Fantastic from start to finish. Excellent film perhaps the best of 2005.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFMay 14, 2006
Chilling, intensely fascinating nail-biter. You'll want to watch it again just to pick up on all the nuances. One of those layered classics you can discuss for hours afterward.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DostoyevskyDec 28, 2005
Best film of the year, Woody's back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RalphieBoyJan 11, 2006
Plain old stupid luck explains away all of the plot holes. That is what makes this all so enticing. Why was any of the characters a super genius? Of course not. Just that the family had everything go its way. As for the unlucky American Sexy Plain old stupid luck explains away all of the plot holes. That is what makes this all so enticing. Why was any of the characters a super genius? Of course not. Just that the family had everything go its way. As for the unlucky American Sexy Beauty, nothing ever went right for her. Wrong place at the wrong time. And that is what life is about. Now do you get it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanJan 11, 2006
One of the best films of the year. Not for those with IQ of a body temperature, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BastianB.Jan 15, 2006
One of my Allen's favorites movies. A suspense and sensuality reflexion on the luck and opportunities. Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshCDec 26, 2006
Allen's best film since "Crimes."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanY.Jan 22, 2006
It captures, it intrigues; it keeps me in confrontation and in perpectual interaction with the actions and feelings of the characters. Definitely a thought-provoking film that mesmerizes and keeps the audience from falling asleep...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronB.Jan 26, 2006
The storyline is absolutely brilliant. It really keeps you grasped throughout the entire film. A very good comeback for Woody Allen. I don't usually like his movies, but this was different...It was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AurelioS.Jan 4, 2006
Great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MauriceR.Jan 7, 2006
Highly entertaining and extremly well done thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AudreySJan 8, 2006
Really great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
glamFeb 3, 2006
Amazing film! Don't pay attention to negative reviews!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattAwesomeMar 9, 2006
This movie should NOT be rated R. I looooved it so much, but there is no nudity or language. There is one sex scene that doesnt show anything...a lot less graphic than PG-13 Titanic. There are a bunch of scenes leading up to sex but we never This movie should NOT be rated R. I looooved it so much, but there is no nudity or language. There is one sex scene that doesnt show anything...a lot less graphic than PG-13 Titanic. There are a bunch of scenes leading up to sex but we never really get there. R! Come on! Amazing film though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanM.Jun 15, 2006
Easily the best movie I have seen in 2006. It has a great story, excellent acting and it really stays with you, long after the final credits have rolled. Scarlett Johansson and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers are amazing in this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexT.Aug 1, 2006
This film is just excelent, and scarlet Johannson, just the most beatifull person in all the entire world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LydiaH.Feb 9, 2007
I was enthralled by this movie. The suspense was incredible and all the actors were perfect, as was the wonderful operatic background music. Hurrah for Woody Allen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceB.Dec 22, 2005
A must-see for the brilliance of the writing, direction and a cast of superb actors. Ranks with Husbands And Wives, Crimes And Misdemeanors and Manhattan...maybe better. A Hitchcockian take-off that matches the master.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinN.Jan 16, 2006
Ingtriguing twist on an age old dilemma, well played, thoroughly Woddy Allen, made me tearfully think about the hardest conversation I ever had with my ex-wife.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.BravoJan 16, 2006
A great surprise from Woody Allen. Of all the terrific movies this year, Munich, Brokeback, Good Night and Good Luck, Capote, Match Point has succeeded where these others have only come very close - and that is accomplishing with great A great surprise from Woody Allen. Of all the terrific movies this year, Munich, Brokeback, Good Night and Good Luck, Capote, Match Point has succeeded where these others have only come very close - and that is accomplishing with great finesse what it sets out to do. All the others stumble on occasion. Not here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesJan 27, 2006
This is an outstanding movie! I went into this with an open mind and was truly blown away. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers was excellent and really had his character down pat. I have seen Brokeback Mountain and Walk the Line and Jonathan holds his own This is an outstanding movie! I went into this with an open mind and was truly blown away. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers was excellent and really had his character down pat. I have seen Brokeback Mountain and Walk the Line and Jonathan holds his own for the Oscar in my opinion. Also, what a walk this guy has, LORD. He is so intense. . . Scarlett Johansson was as sexy and alluring as I have ever seen her and she has certainly cemented herself, in my eyes, as one of America's brightest young actresses. She did a very good job, bravo. But I am not going to say this movie was seamless because the dialogue was a bit absurd at times. However, in addition to the acting being very very well done the movie was beautiful. The locations used for shooting were just out of this world. In the end I left the movie totally disturbed by what I had just seen and I am positive that was Woody Allen's goal. I have been thinking about the movie every minute since because there is just so much tension left in my muscles. I find myself rethinking many of the scenes, which will prompt me to rent and/or buy the movie when it goes on sale. To Woody, I think you are as weird as they come, but brilliant at what you do. Cheers for Match Point! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeS.Jan 29, 2006
Facile comparisons to Patricia Highsmith are offbase (and demeaning to Woody Allen's genius). Highsmith's protagonists are indifferent to evil and enjoy good conscience after their crimes. Not so Chris in Match Point. The key to Facile comparisons to Patricia Highsmith are offbase (and demeaning to Woody Allen's genius). Highsmith's protagonists are indifferent to evil and enjoy good conscience after their crimes. Not so Chris in Match Point. The key to this movie is that when Nola appears in Chris's night kitchen, Chris is not frightened. So it's not a bad dream, it's a transcendent level of reality that owes more to Cocteau than to Hitchcock. Chris is on trial; he defends himself by quoting Sophocles and referring to a larger scheme beyond morality, but Nola tells him to prepare for paying the price, which at this point, because of Allen's marvelous coup de cinema with the wedding ring, we think means the cops will get him. No. The price Chris plays... is to suffer lifelong retribution from his own internal furies. In the movie's last frame, Chris is in hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredSSFeb 16, 2006
Absolutely fantastic. Impeccably crafted and superbly written. Hitchcockian pacing works wonders for Woody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorJul 26, 2007
Great movie!! But people already said that. It's beautiful how a certain thing which is seen at the beginning of the movie turns out to be most important. Yu've got to watch it to understand what I'm talking about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LadyMarmaladeDec 21, 2005
This is a great movie I recommend to everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
pr3d4torJul 14, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great contemporary cinema adaption for "Crime and Punishment" in which crime is justifiable for social ascension and not for the harm an old usurer does to society. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKJul 18, 2014
I was watching this film on HBO last night (it is now July 2014) and I like this film even better than when I originally saw it in a theater. What I particularly noticed is its tightness -- things happen quickly and inevitably. I also admiredI was watching this film on HBO last night (it is now July 2014) and I like this film even better than when I originally saw it in a theater. What I particularly noticed is its tightness -- things happen quickly and inevitably. I also admired again the performance of Jonathan Rhys-Myers who with his slight sneer and silent watchfulness rivals Joseph Cotten in Hitchcock's Shadow of a Doubt. Is the business about luck contrived? I am not sure, but I wish Allen would do a sequel. I would guess the JR-M character becomes a ruthless CEO (perhaps the Jeremy Irons character in Margin Call) and as he climbs, has a more willing string of mistresses. And perhaps he finds his father-in-law and he are more alike than we originally think or if not, and his father-in-law is indeed weak and rich by chance, the sky is the limit for JR-M -- until his luck runs out, that is. This is one of Allen's best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZambaFeb 24, 2015
This is one of my favorite movie ever. It's a very smart plot (normal for Woody), about a ambicious and smart tennis player, who uses his interest in high culture to penetrate the upper class. Chris is completely amoral. He just coldlyThis is one of my favorite movie ever. It's a very smart plot (normal for Woody), about a ambicious and smart tennis player, who uses his interest in high culture to penetrate the upper class. Chris is completely amoral. He just coldly calculates the probability of success. Woody plays well with the theme of luck (which is common in his movies), including two interesting scenes, one at the begginning, with a tennis ball touching the net and luck defining in which side of the court it is going to fall, and another one at the end that makes you anticipate, wrongly, the end of the movie. Scarlett is gorgeous. Myers delivered a good performance. The movie oscilates a lot in its plot, as luck is seemingly defining the path the characters take, and the end tends to be not what you expected (unless you know Allen well). It is philosophical, entertaining, full of suspense and sexy. A masterpiece in my opinion. Dostoevsky would be proud, despite the alternative, nietzschean ending. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Giorgi751Aug 27, 2015
Sometimes you can understand people's negative reaction to a film. In this case I don't quite understand why would anybody hate the film. There must be two reasons I guess. One is antisemitism or personal hatred of Woody Allen and the secondSometimes you can understand people's negative reaction to a film. In this case I don't quite understand why would anybody hate the film. There must be two reasons I guess. One is antisemitism or personal hatred of Woody Allen and the second is perhaps just not following the point of the film. The last one is forgivable, so if you are in that category I suggest you see the film again and perceive how masterful it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BillyS.Jan 21, 2006
In tennis, if the ball drops forward - you win, if it drops backwards - you don't. In Woody Allen's new film, it drops forward - Game, Set, Match. I, for one, have never thought Mr. Allens career was ever in a slump. Any film In tennis, if the ball drops forward - you win, if it drops backwards - you don't. In Woody Allen's new film, it drops forward - Game, Set, Match. I, for one, have never thought Mr. Allens career was ever in a slump. Any film written and directed by Woody Allen has been worthy of my 10 dollar admission, but in Matchpoint, he's left the comedy in Manhattan and moved his setting to London and once again made a movie that I'll drop another 10 bucks on to see it again! The critics are all saying Woody is back, well he's not back, He has just moved up another rung on his cinematic ladder. Imagine, a New Yorker making movies in London, I seem to remember that it worked for Kubrick too, but we don't have to wait 7 years for the next Woody Allen film!! Yes Virginia, there is a Woody Allen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RodE.Apr 3, 2006
Much better than average adult movie. Not many out there any more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Dr.SuessJan 13, 2006
Any half-way literate person will love this movie. The entire second half or so is a wonderfully done modernization of Dostoevsky's "Crime and Punishment," with some interesting twists and turns. Actually of the people I know who Any half-way literate person will love this movie. The entire second half or so is a wonderfully done modernization of Dostoevsky's "Crime and Punishment," with some interesting twists and turns. Actually of the people I know who disliked this film, none of them had read "Crime and Punishment"--so maybe being intelligent makes this film more enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidA.Jan 14, 2006
Luck has everything to do with it as does sexual passion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
S.GoldDec 6, 2005
One of Allen's best, period, not to mention of the top films of the year. Great acting from overall smaller time actors, great dialogue and exciting, best of all it's a movie you'll think about a long time after you see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.McClainJan 1, 2006
Great film - very sharp and entertaining - highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Chrisf-tJan 21, 2006
It's very interesting to see the fan reviews for this movie. It seems people either loved or hated this movie. I for one loved it but it's pretty much amazing how many people hated this. WARNING nothing EXPLODES in this movie, if It's very interesting to see the fan reviews for this movie. It seems people either loved or hated this movie. I for one loved it but it's pretty much amazing how many people hated this. WARNING nothing EXPLODES in this movie, if you have ADHD you may need to pop a few ritalins to sit in one place and enjoy this one. The theater I watched it in was completely spellbound. The rich layers of metaphor and inuendo are probably lost on those giving this a red review. To me this was a better film than any i saw in 2005. This film makes no apologies that its not reality television, and it doesn't need to. Films are stories they are not real life get over it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidZ.Jan 22, 2006
This film was well written and, for the most part, well acted. Don't go to this film expecting the "typical" Woody Allen movie - there's not much in the way of levity. The film was pretty intense, yet engrossing with a somewhat This film was well written and, for the most part, well acted. Don't go to this film expecting the "typical" Woody Allen movie - there's not much in the way of levity. The film was pretty intense, yet engrossing with a somewhat surprising ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeS.Jan 22, 2006
I guess it's a backhanded compliment (no pun intended) to say that this is best Woody Allen movie he's made in a long time precisely because it's the LEAST Woody Allen-like movie he's made in a long time. But so what? A I guess it's a backhanded compliment (no pun intended) to say that this is best Woody Allen movie he's made in a long time precisely because it's the LEAST Woody Allen-like movie he's made in a long time. But so what? A good movie's a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmberF.Jan 23, 2006
I believe one of the elements of a great film is if it can stimulate strong emotion and conflict in the viewers-regardless of whether that emotion is directed toward the characters in the film, the viewers' own lives, or some larger I believe one of the elements of a great film is if it can stimulate strong emotion and conflict in the viewers-regardless of whether that emotion is directed toward the characters in the film, the viewers' own lives, or some larger all-encompassing issue or value. Match Point depicts a number of issues with which viewers can empathize. First, there is the issue of fidelity. Then, the question arises of whether one should commit to a relationship that is secure and content but unfulfilled, or one that is full of passion and excitement but doomed to fail. Another prominent theme was the debilatating effects of guilt, which not so subtly mimics "Crime and Punishment" (we see the main character reading this book in the beginning of the film) Quick summary: Set in London, Chris, a penniless tennis instructor is befriended by affluent Tom, who has a cluelessly happy and rich little sister, Chloe. Chloe falls in love with Chris, and Chris devlops an attraction toward Nola, Tom's American girlfriend. I won't give anything else away. It is captivating to watch how the main characters' flaws and vile actions lead to their demise. But somehow, Allen makes you empathize with them as well, producing a provacative, mentally-stimulating film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdS.Jan 8, 2006
I went reluctantly, with friends, and was utterly captivated by this blend of film noir and operatic melodrama set in a contemporary near-fantasy world of privilege and raw emotion. Bravo Woody!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickB.Feb 10, 2006
I am surprised to see such mixed reader reviews of this film. I was engaged throughout the story and felt (as I rarely feel) a delicious uncertainty of where the characters were headed. I was delighted at the crispness and realness the I am surprised to see such mixed reader reviews of this film. I was engaged throughout the story and felt (as I rarely feel) a delicious uncertainty of where the characters were headed. I was delighted at the crispness and realness the dialogue emoted. When Johanssen finally lashes out at Rhys-Meyers, I felt vindicated, and when the crushing ending arrives, I thought Allen provided a satisfying conclusion to an otherwise easy to follow yet captivating tale of fate, luck, and constructed destiny. I am a mild fan of Allen's work, but hands down, his decisions to let the camera watch the actors is essential to the success of the film. At times Johanssen lost my immediate attention, but Emily Mortimer was exceptionally consistent in her performance. The entire ensemble proved to be up to the delightfull challenge of Allen's stationary scenes and continual shots of interiors and exteriors. I was engaged, carried, and given a well thought out film. I appreciate it, and thank you Mr. Allen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CJFeb 26, 2006
A terrific film that should have you guessing until the very end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillJ.Apr 29, 2006
I really enjoyed this movie! Lots of twists & turns. Engendered feelings and emotions like anxiety, disgust and disbelief. Unlike most from Woody Allen, there wasn't any real humor. But like life, sometimes dumb luck and blind justice I really enjoyed this movie! Lots of twists & turns. Engendered feelings and emotions like anxiety, disgust and disbelief. Unlike most from Woody Allen, there wasn't any real humor. But like life, sometimes dumb luck and blind justice saves the day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonH.May 30, 2006
Nothing is sadder than disparaging a movie because the main character is unsympathetic. How narrow-minded! God forbid a movie actually try to challenge one's notions of primal human desires like greed and lust rather than fall into the Nothing is sadder than disparaging a movie because the main character is unsympathetic. How narrow-minded! God forbid a movie actually try to challenge one's notions of primal human desires like greed and lust rather than fall into the same cookie-cutter cliches as most Hollywood movies. If this movie made you feel uncomfortable, guess what? That means you are actually feeling feelings and some of us consider that a key to life. If you are not one of those people, just stick to movies like Charlie's Angels and Wedding Crashers and save the sophisticated, thought-provoking, artful, intense, intelligent films for the rest of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyK.Sep 18, 2006
That I've seen - only Capote and Tristram Shandy were finer films in 2006. Woody Allen has created a riveting story based on the premise that life hangs in the balance -- using the wonderful opening tennis ball suspended in the air That I've seen - only Capote and Tristram Shandy were finer films in 2006. Woody Allen has created a riveting story based on the premise that life hangs in the balance -- using the wonderful opening tennis ball suspended in the air above the net metaphor --ultimately of things beyond our control. [***SPOILERS***]A dark commentary on the human soul as the main character -- who is aruable noble, not rotten as others surmise -- is corrupted by $$$. Familiar you say ? Yes, but very un-Hollywood. Briliant dialogue and supporting cast --- Allen rivets, inspires and crushes with finality. Brilliant film-making and terrific performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronM.Apr 11, 2007
This movie draws you in. It works on all its levels - acting, plot, emotion. It proves itself to be sharp and well-crafted. Though I haven't seen many Woody Allen films, if he's had good and bad films, Match Point is definitely This movie draws you in. It works on all its levels - acting, plot, emotion. It proves itself to be sharp and well-crafted. Though I haven't seen many Woody Allen films, if he's had good and bad films, Match Point is definitely among the good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShschFeb 11, 2006
Woody Allen constructed this movie about one conceit, that of the net point in tennis. He demonstrates that there must be luck involved which determines if the ball will bounce your way or not. If you boil the movie down to this, you might Woody Allen constructed this movie about one conceit, that of the net point in tennis. He demonstrates that there must be luck involved which determines if the ball will bounce your way or not. If you boil the movie down to this, you might just see it as a long dark joke with an eventual punchline (call it irony). What I think makes the movie work is that it is played out in an English class-based world and it portrays a type of story of greed, lust, and duplicity one might expect to find there. On the whole then, the movie is well crafted and acted. I would say the one weakness is the criminal investigation. It really only makes sense if the crime had taken place 50 years ago when fingerprints were still considered the state of the art technique. I've watched enough TV criminal shows to know that any of the detectives there, including even Monk, should have been able to solve this crime. Perhaps Woody Allen saw the movie originally as a period piece in which case the crime fits in perfectly. On the other hand, if you stick to just the "what is luck?" aspect of the story and not question the detective work, the movie is very effective indeed as a character study where each character is driven by his/her own well-defined motives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Mar 26, 2006
One of the best movies I've seen this year. The performances are thrilling. Rarely have I been so involved and so nervous about the twists and turns of an unfolding plot. A masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
davenbettridgeNov 7, 2011
Match Point has a good balance of character, plot, unexpected surprises, and the substance to the story was handled well. The middle act of the film does start to drag a little but the 3rd act becomes intense and interesting. The actors do aMatch Point has a good balance of character, plot, unexpected surprises, and the substance to the story was handled well. The middle act of the film does start to drag a little but the 3rd act becomes intense and interesting. The actors do a great job with their rolls, I felt as if I knew the characters after the movie.I have thought about this movie a bit over the years, about its horrible protagonist and the events that play out. I find this movie's story and its take on life very interesting. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
With Match Point, Woody Allen is able to prove he has conquer another genre in the world of film: suspense. As always, the film is smart and wholly entertaining. It's about life and luck--Allen has struck gold here. Scarlett Johansson isWith Match Point, Woody Allen is able to prove he has conquer another genre in the world of film: suspense. As always, the film is smart and wholly entertaining. It's about life and luck--Allen has struck gold here. Scarlett Johansson is captivating as Nola Rice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ariel84Jul 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it's taken me almost 10 years to see this film. i don't know why i waited so long. it's such a great, dark story. to think scarlett johansson was only 19 when it was filmed. don't try to use logic to fill the plot holes. the overarching theme is luck. just keep that in mind and don't go all CSI on the last quarter of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DougD.Jan 16, 2006
Although I disagree with Dr. Suess (the poster) that having read "Crime and Punishment" makes you intelligent, I did find it quite a nice surprise to see how the classic found its way into the movie. It was very satisfying. I do find it Although I disagree with Dr. Suess (the poster) that having read "Crime and Punishment" makes you intelligent, I did find it quite a nice surprise to see how the classic found its way into the movie. It was very satisfying. I do find it curious that hardly any of the other critics (the official ones) noted it, but overall it was a great movie, however a little broken in two, which wasn't all that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JulieW.Jan 17, 2006
Brilliantly captures British upper class. Well written, provocative storyline, well acted. Defintely very very good with moments where the insights make it great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jan 28, 2006
Nudity would've been right for this movie. Ludivine Sagnier, if she could learn an American accent, would've been the right girl. During the filming of "The Island", it was reported that Scarlett Johansson volunteered to go Nudity would've been right for this movie. Ludivine Sagnier, if she could learn an American accent, would've been the right girl. During the filming of "The Island", it was reported that Scarlett Johansson volunteered to go topless, but Michael Bay needed to pull in a PG-13 rating. The love scenes between Chris(Jonathan Rhys Meyer) and Nola end just before things get interesting. We need to see what Chris sees, but the hiding of Johansson's birthday suit puts lust and greed on unequal footing, so the decision made between these two powerful emotions seems like the plausible one to make if you're a sociopath. "Match Point" is a good film, but it's no better or worse than "Melinda and Melinda" and "Sweet and Lowdown". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeG.Jan 7, 2006
I was kind of muddling through this one throughout the first two thirds of the film, and was pretty unimpressed. It was kind of slow, kind of boring at times, and I agreed with some of the naysayers that the film was lacking any oomph. I was kind of muddling through this one throughout the first two thirds of the film, and was pretty unimpressed. It was kind of slow, kind of boring at times, and I agreed with some of the naysayers that the film was lacking any oomph. However, the end of the movie changed all of that for me. This film will hardly hold up with Allen's greatest works, but this was an extremely solid effort, and he took what could have been a completely vanilla movie and turned it into something my wife and I were talking about the rest of the night. No, it's not as good as "Crimes and Misdemeanors" by any stretch of the imagination. But it is a good film by its own right, and is a very different film thematically. Here, Woody questions the ideas of luck, class, character, and opportunity very successfully. For those that say the dialogue is boring, I say you weren't paying attention enough to the story. There are several hints dropped along the way, and judgments are made about every character. The miracle here is that Scarlett Johansson's Nola, who at first glance seems like an airheaded nymph, turns out to be the moral center of the film. This film is a thinker; don't let the slow pace fool you. You won't get it if you're not paying full attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartFeb 11, 2006
Good film.The first half an hour was awkward in both dialogue and acting.When Chris and his future broher-in-law were sitting by the tennis court at the start of the film, discussing opera in their posh voices,I wanted to get sick.But it Good film.The first half an hour was awkward in both dialogue and acting.When Chris and his future broher-in-law were sitting by the tennis court at the start of the film, discussing opera in their posh voices,I wanted to get sick.But it improves tremendously.Maybe the finale was too convenient and the theme shoved in our faces, but by the end I was hooked.Johansson was superb; being careful to stay away from being both likeable and unlikeable.Where's the Oscar nomination? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ConundrumFeb 15, 2006
If I hadn't known that this was a Woody Allen movie, I never would have guessed it. It's not like any of his previous movies that I have seen -- except for being very good. It's true that the pacing is a bit too slow and If I hadn't known that this was a Woody Allen movie, I never would have guessed it. It's not like any of his previous movies that I have seen -- except for being very good. It's true that the pacing is a bit too slow and deliberate in the beginning, but that allows it to slowly build to a stunning crescendo. I loved the ending. I also loved the always good Scarlett Johansson. I find it ironic that it took Woody Allen to cast her primarily for being Smoking Hot for once, instead of her usual roles where she just happens to be good looking. Whenever she was on screen the sexual tension was palpable. How some of the raters could say that this movie was flat or that she was boring is beyond me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillR.Mar 12, 2006
So many people revert to hyperbole when reviewing so I figured I'd give an honest scoe. 8 1/2 is probably more accurate. A very solid and thought provoking film. The person who gave the movie a 0 and said the characters get away with So many people revert to hyperbole when reviewing so I figured I'd give an honest scoe. 8 1/2 is probably more accurate. A very solid and thought provoking film. The person who gave the movie a 0 and said the characters get away with their misdeeds is obviously not intelligent enough to intepret beyond dialogue. The last scene, and I won't spoil it, shows that none of the characters, particulalry the male lead, "get away with it". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LeeP.Jan 14, 2006
The film is immensely enjoyable.It succeeds both as a morality tale and a crime thriller. It has a glossy cinematography of the affluent side of london. The actors give good performances and the love scenes are effective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewA.Jan 27, 2006
The last 30 minutes made it an 8, early in the show a 4, and throughout, a 6.6. In my eyes Nola (Scarlett Johanssen) is simply a modern day starlet, I could watch her forever, so my review is biased by her movements. The whole movie is a bit The last 30 minutes made it an 8, early in the show a 4, and throughout, a 6.6. In my eyes Nola (Scarlett Johanssen) is simply a modern day starlet, I could watch her forever, so my review is biased by her movements. The whole movie is a bit of a bore, probably better the 2nd time around, a fairly large disconnect on how, when, why Chris (Jonathan Rhys-Meyers) actually got Nola interested, I must of been asleep when she started to fall for him. So to cut to the chase, and to sum up the whole movie: Never Forget... LUCK plays a large part in LIFE... and no LUCK for Nola is to be found. Could this be based on a true story? Only LUCK will ever know sure :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BKMSep 17, 2012
Match Point is a deeply bitter and cynical film about privileged, upper class members of society behaving badly and getting away with their transgressions. There is no moral to the story and the thesis that Allen is working with is thatMatch Point is a deeply bitter and cynical film about privileged, upper class members of society behaving badly and getting away with their transgressions. There is no moral to the story and the thesis that Allen is working with is that there is no rhyme or reason for what happens in this thing called life. It's all based on luck and chance. It sounds like a complete downer of a film, but Allen makes it smart, entertaining and ultimately riveting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
j30Nov 8, 2011
I really liked this movie. Woody Allen finally hits the **** tone where Cassandra's Dream missed horribly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It is fairly bleak, but "Match Point" still remains a testament to Woody Allen's simply tremendous ability to effectively engage the audience in a provocative story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJul 28, 2014
Woody Allen makes very funny movies but this is his darkest and probably one of his best efforts of the 2000s. This movie is smart and it demonstrates luck, bad behavior, bad actions and very bad decisions. Great Performances by Meyers,Woody Allen makes very funny movies but this is his darkest and probably one of his best efforts of the 2000s. This movie is smart and it demonstrates luck, bad behavior, bad actions and very bad decisions. Great Performances by Meyers, Johansson, Mortimer, Cox and Goode Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BillS.Apr 11, 2006
Although the pace is often maddeningly slow, the plot is intriguing enough though not entirely original. Allen's still got it, and he proves that by staying away from his trademark wit and humor, instead providing a tense and troubling film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinP.Dec 6, 2005
Woody Allen abandons his usual neurotic New Yorker genre to tell the story of a man who ascends to the top of the London upper-crust, and is faced with losing it all due to his infidelity. The tale is told slowly, but the acting, writing and Woody Allen abandons his usual neurotic New Yorker genre to tell the story of a man who ascends to the top of the London upper-crust, and is faced with losing it all due to his infidelity. The tale is told slowly, but the acting, writing and screenplay are all first-rate, so it doesnt drag. The suspense which at first is lacking kicks in toward the end and the film really holds your attention. No great fireworks, and not superlative, but a well-crafted film worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdrianoC.Feb 13, 2006
Good movie. Scarlett Johansson is excellent (as always). But someone should've told me that I was going to watch "Another crimes and misdemeanors". Is this movie really necessary? I don't know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Jan 23, 2006
The critical and commercial success of Woody Allen's latest but generally quite uncharacteristic venture, a dark, London-based tale of social climbing, adultery and other sins--and the primacy of fate--is ironic on two counts. It's The critical and commercial success of Woody Allen's latest but generally quite uncharacteristic venture, a dark, London-based tale of social climbing, adultery and other sins--and the primacy of fate--is ironic on two counts. It's clearly and by far his best movie since 1989's Crimes and Misdemeanors, but the irony stems from its frequent thematic similarities to that masterpiece...and that as entertaining and effective as Match Point often is, it can't hold a candle to it. For one thing, the story of Chris (Jonathan Rhys-Meyers), a tennis pro who marries into a rich family with all kinds of business connections, but lusts after Nola (Scarlett Johansson), an American would-be actress who's his brother-in-law's fiancee, is icy-cold throughout. As good as Rhys-Meyers is at fulfilling Allen's conception of the role, his petulance and poutiness is no match for the soulfulness and world-weariness that mades his Crimes and Misdemeanors parallel, wonderfully played by Martin Landau, a character for the ages. And thank God that Emily Mortimer is on hand to warm up the screen as Chloe, Chris's spunky, abundantly sweet and almost totally clueless wife; with the exception of a minor character who figures in the film's central action to her detriment, there's simply nobody else to care about here: all the other people in this movie are either priggish, whiny, completely conscience-free, utterly self-centered or a total nonentity. As a commentary on the capriciousness of blind, random luck, both this and Crimes make me wonder if, while the music of the great jazz masters and the films of Ingmar Bergman are major influences on Woody's life and art, the wildly cynical 1940s Chuck Jones-directed Looney Tune, "Fresh Airedale", isn't by chance a minor but highly significant one. In any event, Woody is apparently being given a very wide berth by critics and audiences (and maybe Oscar voters?) because this is infinitely superior to the heretofore seemingly endless run of increasingly lame, repetitious comedies (Hollywood Ending, Anything Else, Melinda and Melinda) he's been cranking out as of late, but let's be honest: once you've experienced for the first time Allen's exceedingly clever final twist (and the equally ingenious way he builds it on a red herring founded on a total inversion of expectations), how much of a "rewatchability factor" does Match Point truly have? Nowhere near the level of not only Crimes, but also Manhattan, Interiors, Hannah and her Sisters and Annie Hall, that's for sure! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MorriBeyNov 28, 2011
Hmm hard one to mark. Its in the black and white mystery , adulterous genre. Its an Oscar Wilde thriller if you may. Its good and has a nice twist but its the journey that's makes it enjoyable. Plant an old black and white film complete withHmm hard one to mark. Its in the black and white mystery , adulterous genre. Its an Oscar Wilde thriller if you may. Its good and has a nice twist but its the journey that's makes it enjoyable. Plant an old black and white film complete with English fog and place it in modern London and you have this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DanaM.Jan 16, 2006
What? A shotgun goes off twice in a tight apartment building and no one hears it? Nobody does fingerprints in London? No one knew she was pregnant? How is it that he's an Irish Tennis player with an English accent? And the London Police What? A shotgun goes off twice in a tight apartment building and no one hears it? Nobody does fingerprints in London? No one knew she was pregnant? How is it that he's an Irish Tennis player with an English accent? And the London Police have Irish accents? Too many holes to fill to be believable. Sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FernandoL.Mar 31, 2006
This is a good movie but very painful to watch. You can admire it but not because it is enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KatherineD.Jun 10, 2006
Honestly, I think the movie had immense potential. However, I found the lack of chemistry between the lead characters (Mortimer, Johansson & Rhys Meyers) to be.. well, extremely difficult to endure. That being said, it's rather Honestly, I think the movie had immense potential. However, I found the lack of chemistry between the lead characters (Mortimer, Johansson & Rhys Meyers) to be.. well, extremely difficult to endure. That being said, it's rather surprisingly that I still quite liked the movie despite that massive fundamental flaw. Normally, I quite like Scarlett Johansson, but I didn't find her to be at all believable in this role and I think that she was horribly mis-cast. Jonathan Rhys Meyers and Emily Mortimer's performances were only mediocre, and as I stated earlier, they entirely lacked chemistry. In fact, I think the only person I found to be completely believable is Mathew Goode. I think he made really creative decisions and added personality to a relatively small role. Overall, the movie lacked a lot, some of which it made up for in other areas. Basically, any way you look at it, it can only really average out as mediocre. I also found it to be a bit desultory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanB.Dec 28, 2005
I'm definitely not indifferent to it, though I can't quite say I *liked* it. The acting is good--I think it's quite a feat to pull off that dialogue and make it sound almost appropriate. This film starts off slow... it ends I'm definitely not indifferent to it, though I can't quite say I *liked* it. The acting is good--I think it's quite a feat to pull off that dialogue and make it sound almost appropriate. This film starts off slow... it ends pretty well, though. I like his serious films, generally, as much as his comedies, but I really think this would have worked excellently as a comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ShannonP.Jul 18, 2006
This film is generally well made, but why make it? We have seen this story and these characters so many times! [***SPOILERS***] OK: liars, cheats and murderers are horrible and they sometimes win in life. What's new Woody? The ending This film is generally well made, but why make it? We have seen this story and these characters so many times! [***SPOILERS***] OK: liars, cheats and murderers are horrible and they sometimes win in life. What's new Woody? The ending here is also ridiculous. The murderer tries to throw away evidence of his crime (a wedding ring), but it happens to be found by another criminal, who then happens to commit another murder, which happens to occur in the same area, which happens to occur in the same time-frame, and the second killer happens to have the evidence (ring) of the first killing in his possession. The police then conclude this second killer also commited the first murder, and the anit-hero escapes charges. The odds of this happening are roughly the same as the odds of being struck by lightening five times in the same day. No wonder Woody is such a cynic! The critics let him get away with this . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KeithH.Feb 1, 2006
The movie was full of great ideas only half-baked. I thought I would love it shortly into it, but I barely made it to the end. Woody Allen needs someone on his team to take care of the details. I was aggravated by the waste of the potential The movie was full of great ideas only half-baked. I thought I would love it shortly into it, but I barely made it to the end. Woody Allen needs someone on his team to take care of the details. I was aggravated by the waste of the potential this movie had. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
StephenApr 10, 2006
Woody Allen's huge return to form (not). Well crafted but predictable, almost totally lacking in the sharp humour that distinguishes the best Allen scripts. Johannson looks uncomfortable throughout with her daggy and dreary role, and Woody Allen's huge return to form (not). Well crafted but predictable, almost totally lacking in the sharp humour that distinguishes the best Allen scripts. Johannson looks uncomfortable throughout with her daggy and dreary role, and the final Sophoclean cameo doesn't mend things. Time to prefer younger directors, evidently Allen is no Bunuel or Huston who is going to hold his nerve and pull off that very late masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
EvanS.Jan 29, 2006
Like with most recent Woody Allen movies, proven actors are maddeningly wasted in two-dimensional supporting roles bringing the kind of character depth you'd find in a Banana Republic Holiday Story. The excellent above the line actors Like with most recent Woody Allen movies, proven actors are maddeningly wasted in two-dimensional supporting roles bringing the kind of character depth you'd find in a Banana Republic Holiday Story. The excellent above the line actors (including Brian Cox, Emily Mortimer, Matthew Goode and Penelope Wilton) are immaculately dressed and filmed with absolutely nothing original to do or say. In Allen's world, the obscenely wealthy Hewett clan just sip G&Ts, play polo and go to the opera - evoking unintentional laughs in this Serious Woody Allen Film. Maybe it's the director's commentary to paint the British upper class so broadly, but the problem with gutting the family of character is the viewer is forced to wade through strings of unbelievably hollow and inconsequential scenes and chatter to reach the mildly interesting parts. Allen effectively zeroes in on the film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PennyW.Jan 21, 2006
I did like this movie; I thought it was set in reality until the "plot turn," and that's what made the last 30 or so minutes of this movie unbearable to me. To some reviewers that think that negative reviewers didn't see the same I did like this movie; I thought it was set in reality until the "plot turn," and that's what made the last 30 or so minutes of this movie unbearable to me. To some reviewers that think that negative reviewers didn't see the same movie, yes, there are plot holes; you probably were too engrossed in the story to actually see them. Personally, I was thinking that maybe there would have been some forensic scientists in England, but in Woody Allen's England, forensic scientists must not exist. The movie covers up its plot holes, flat characters and bad dialogue with opera metaphors and the theme of "luck over goodness." Apparently the metaphors and themes are what most people see in Match Point instead of the shortcomings of this movie. I must have caught a lot of the shortcomings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MaxL.Jan 30, 2006
Story could have been better. The script is uneven. The characters are two dimensional and with the exception of Scarlett Johansson are not very interesting. The third act was completely overblown and unbelievable. I think it's just Story could have been better. The script is uneven. The characters are two dimensional and with the exception of Scarlett Johansson are not very interesting. The third act was completely overblown and unbelievable. I think it's just lazy on the filmmaker's part to start the movie with the saying about being lucky rather than being good and then proceeded to make a film with 'surprise' twists. I want the film to be good not just hoping to be lucky. Too bad, the editing was a bit jumbled and thoroughly wasted beautifully filmed scenes. Woody took a big step back in this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DaleM.Feb 19, 2006
The characters in this movie are flat and pretentious. It's not that they are unlikeable or evil as Roger Ebert would have it. They are just boring and uninteresting. Homer Simpson is more fully rounded than most of the characters in The characters in this movie are flat and pretentious. It's not that they are unlikeable or evil as Roger Ebert would have it. They are just boring and uninteresting. Homer Simpson is more fully rounded than most of the characters in this film. He's also a lot more interesting. The characters in this movie seem more like parodies of rich people out of the Simpsons than real flesh and blood people. It is no wonder that we don't feel too saddened or shocked when someone finally gets killed. We all know that it was just a cartoon character (and a boring one at that) getting killed, not a real person. To call this film a thriller is only possible if you have slept throught he first two thirds of the film which is certainly possible. The plot twists and philosophical questions that arise near the end of the film are interesting. All in all this would have made a fine half hour Twilight Zone episode, but, as a two hour movie, it is really overwrought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanApr 29, 2006
The first two-thirds of this film drolls through the conventional love triangle/backstabbing melodrama that is put out by so many nameless directors. If Allen is going to break his mold, he shouldn't go so far into someone else's. The first two-thirds of this film drolls through the conventional love triangle/backstabbing melodrama that is put out by so many nameless directors. If Allen is going to break his mold, he shouldn't go so far into someone else's. Granted the last third of the film saves it from total drudgery, but still it retains a sense of pretentiousness. If Allen is going to give us an operatic backdrop and intricate allusions, he should also not beat us over the head with redundant metaphors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ClayMay 10, 2006
Not enjoyable. Seems to tread much the same ground as Closer, just not as effectively or bravely. Shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyB.Aug 8, 2006
Dark and atmospheric, "Match Point" is also, especially with those operatic insertions, just too pretentious for its own good. I found hard to believe what the Jonathan Rhys-Meyers character does to get out of his predicament. A different Dark and atmospheric, "Match Point" is also, especially with those operatic insertions, just too pretentious for its own good. I found hard to believe what the Jonathan Rhys-Meyers character does to get out of his predicament. A different Allen movie doesn't necessarily translate into a very good one.. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
5
LesleyJan 25, 2006
Well crafted, but utterly soul-less. A movie that only a critic could love. For a far superior rendering of the same themes, see Woody Allen's earlier movie, "Crimes and Misdemeanors"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SpangleJun 17, 2016
I appreciate the philosophical musings based on "Crime and Punishment", as well as the thoughts offered on luck, love, lust, and fidelity, but Match Point is simply dull. It occasionally hits the accelerator, but far too often Woody Allen'sI appreciate the philosophical musings based on "Crime and Punishment", as well as the thoughts offered on luck, love, lust, and fidelity, but Match Point is simply dull. It occasionally hits the accelerator, but far too often Woody Allen's pacing of the film just fails to deliver anything of interest. Plus, the film is far too subtle. Obviously, I picked up on all the thematic elements and what not, but as it stands, the film's pacing is just off kilter. That said, Jonathan Rhys Meyers is very good here and Scarlett Johansson also does quite well here. However, the problems of the film all come back again to the lack of intrigue and dramatic entertainment. I appreciate slow burns and slower films, but even though this one has a solid pay-off, it just does not save the film and, even worse, the sequence immediately proceeding the ending makes no sense given the tone and approach of the film before this. It just does not fit, even if the very ending does do a good job tying up all the thematic elements. Overall, Match Point hits the net and bounces back onto your side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GeorgeR.Jan 2, 2006
Do not spend a single minute considering MATCH POINT. It's Woody Allen (by Woody Allen) for Dummies. One A-Plot and no anything else-plots as not to confuse anyone (possibly and especially him and his obviously depleted sensibility).Do not spend a single minute considering MATCH POINT. It's Woody Allen (by Woody Allen) for Dummies. One A-Plot and no anything else-plots as not to confuse anyone (possibly and especially him and his obviously depleted sensibility). There are direct lifts of dialogue from C & M, no foolin' ("You mean if I won't leave my wife, you'll go to her and tell her..." crap like that). It crosses that delicate line from tension to tedium at nearly every opportunity. With a THEME (capitals, mine) (Luck Over Greatness) that's boring, obscure and meaningless to anyone who ever grew intellectually under his tutelege. Woody is so squeamish about depicting sex (pants on, blankets up to the neckline) and so it cripples him from accurately and genuinely portraying the mania that accompanies it. The lovers end up looking like they've had too many Starbucks mocha grandes or some such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PeterS.Jan 11, 2006
Only reason this isn't lower is because Scarlett Johansson looks great, but even she is unappealing and whiny throughout. The dialogue in this film is laughably poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MaryS.Jan 20, 2006
Appalling. The acting is fine, the filmmaking is skilled, yes; but this movie is essentially just "Crimes and Misdemeanors" all over again. There was no need to make this movie; Mr. Konigsberg already said what he had to say in that earlier Appalling. The acting is fine, the filmmaking is skilled, yes; but this movie is essentially just "Crimes and Misdemeanors" all over again. There was no need to make this movie; Mr. Konigsberg already said what he had to say in that earlier film. And all he has to say is that he is perfectly justified in having lived his selfish, amoral life. It's more of the same garbage the John Cusack author-stand-in-character spewed in "Bullets Over Broadway": artists are special, artists don't have to behave morally, artists can do whatever they want, including screwing and marrying the daughters of their wives and the sisters of their children. Please. Spare me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TGordonJun 3, 2006
This film was appalling. The characters' motives were unclear, there was very little chemistry, and Scarlette Johansson's acting was atrocious. It left me with a sick feeling in my stomach.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CatherineB.Jan 15, 2006
What would movitate Woody Allen to make this inferior retread of Crimes and Misdemeanors again? Obviously the theme of getting away with murder interests him, and my guess is he's still grappling with a "murder" of his own; seducing a What would movitate Woody Allen to make this inferior retread of Crimes and Misdemeanors again? Obviously the theme of getting away with murder interests him, and my guess is he's still grappling with a "murder" of his own; seducing a young girl, his wife's own daughter, and not only getting away with it but thriving. For a man of any conscience, this must be constantly on his mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CarolynLJan 9, 2006
Frighteningly misogynistic, psuedo philosophical, unimaginative and uninspired, I almost laughed out loud at the "hot sex" (tight t-shirt--ripped off!)and "sophistication" (dog-eared Dostoyevsky). A two dimensional remake of Crimes & Misd.- Frighteningly misogynistic, psuedo philosophical, unimaginative and uninspired, I almost laughed out loud at the "hot sex" (tight t-shirt--ripped off!)and "sophistication" (dog-eared Dostoyevsky). A two dimensional remake of Crimes & Misd.- without the legandary talent or comedic subplot. I miss you, Woody. The fact that you are still fixated on this theme (men can do all kinds of terrible things and get away with it!) bodes poorly for you and all of us. Perhaps denying old sins does come at a cost after all-- the curse of making bad movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful