User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 294

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BKM
    Sep 17, 2012
    8
    Match Point is a deeply bitter and cynical film about privileged, upper class members of society behaving badly and getting away with their transgressions. There is no moral to the story and the thesis that Allen is working with is that there is no rhyme or reason for what happens in this thing called life. It's all based on luck and chance. It sounds like a complete downer of a film,Match Point is a deeply bitter and cynical film about privileged, upper class members of society behaving badly and getting away with their transgressions. There is no moral to the story and the thesis that Allen is working with is that there is no rhyme or reason for what happens in this thing called life. It's all based on luck and chance. It sounds like a complete downer of a film, but Allen makes it smart, entertaining and ultimately riveting. Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great contemporary cinema adaption for "Crime and Punishment" in which crime is justifiable for social ascension and not for the harm an old usurer does to society. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    Hmm hard one to mark. Its in the black and white mystery , adulterous genre. Its an Oscar Wilde thriller if you may. Its good and has a nice twist but its the journey that's makes it enjoyable. Plant an old black and white film complete with English fog and place it in modern London and you have this film.
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    Match Point has a good balance of character, plot, unexpected surprises, and the substance to the story was handled well. The middle act of the film does start to drag a little but the 3rd act becomes intense and interesting. The actors do a great job with their rolls, I felt as if I knew the characters after the movie.I have thought about this movie a bit over the years, about itsMatch Point has a good balance of character, plot, unexpected surprises, and the substance to the story was handled well. The middle act of the film does start to drag a little but the 3rd act becomes intense and interesting. The actors do a great job with their rolls, I felt as if I knew the characters after the movie.I have thought about this movie a bit over the years, about its horrible protagonist and the events that play out. I find this movie's story and its take on life very interesting. Recommended. Expand
  5. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    8
    I really liked this movie. Woody Allen finally hits the **** tone where Cassandra's Dream missed horribly.
  6. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    Very poor. Pretentious with poor acting, ubiquitous cringe moments, forced philosophical preachings. Characters are shallow, and non developed and provide no explanations for their actions, they just seem to do things to follow allen's plot. Characters are portrayed one way, and then their actions later on in the film don't conform, but forcibly go to where allen's plot wants. Johanson isVery poor. Pretentious with poor acting, ubiquitous cringe moments, forced philosophical preachings. Characters are shallow, and non developed and provide no explanations for their actions, they just seem to do things to follow allen's plot. Characters are portrayed one way, and then their actions later on in the film don't conform, but forcibly go to where allen's plot wants. Johanson is gorgeous but her lines and the parts that she has to play are rubbish. Poor girl such a great actor yet such a bad movie. This movies is like someone having to make up a story on the spot with no preparation, they drivvle, drivvle drivvle, find out that they they've just spoke for a long time with nothing important or interesting, no plot or character and then threw in something bad in the last 5 seconds at the end to try and make it interesting. Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2014
    6
    This movie is fitting for those who like some good, sexy -or less sexy... - drama, love-triangle and cheating plus inner turmoil. A man loves two women - first he cannot get, and when she is available, he is married to the other. The ending was surprising. This is no way a thriller, but a good watch. Very human in many ways. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers, in my opinion, did a good job in his role,This movie is fitting for those who like some good, sexy -or less sexy... - drama, love-triangle and cheating plus inner turmoil. A man loves two women - first he cannot get, and when she is available, he is married to the other. The ending was surprising. This is no way a thriller, but a good watch. Very human in many ways. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers, in my opinion, did a good job in his role, a lover/husband trying to decide how to live his life (and with whom), and finally making and extreme decision about it. Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2014
    9
    With Match Point, Woody Allen is able to prove he has conquer another genre in the world of film: suspense. As always, the film is smart and wholly entertaining. It's about life and luck--Allen has struck gold here. Scarlett Johansson is captivating as Nola Rice.
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    It is fairly bleak, but "Match Point" still remains a testament to Woody Allen's simply tremendous ability to effectively engage the audience in a provocative story.
  10. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it's taken me almost 10 years to see this film. i don't know why i waited so long. it's such a great, dark story. to think scarlett johansson was only 19 when it was filmed. don't try to use logic to fill the plot holes. the overarching theme is luck. just keep that in mind and don't go all CSI on the last quarter of the film. Expand
  11. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    I was watching this film on HBO last night (it is now July 2014) and I like this film even better than when I originally saw it in a theater. What I particularly noticed is its tightness -- things happen quickly and inevitably. I also admired again the performance of Jonathan Rhys-Myers who with his slight sneer and silent watchfulness rivals Joseph Cotten in Hitchcock's Shadow of a Doubt.I was watching this film on HBO last night (it is now July 2014) and I like this film even better than when I originally saw it in a theater. What I particularly noticed is its tightness -- things happen quickly and inevitably. I also admired again the performance of Jonathan Rhys-Myers who with his slight sneer and silent watchfulness rivals Joseph Cotten in Hitchcock's Shadow of a Doubt. Is the business about luck contrived? I am not sure, but I wish Allen would do a sequel. I would guess the JR-M character becomes a ruthless CEO (perhaps the Jeremy Irons character in Margin Call) and as he climbs, has a more willing string of mistresses. And perhaps he finds his father-in-law and he are more alike than we originally think or if not, and his father-in-law is indeed weak and rich by chance, the sky is the limit for JR-M -- until his luck runs out, that is. This is one of Allen's best. Expand
  12. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    Woody Allen makes very funny movies but this is his darkest and probably one of his best efforts of the 2000s. This movie is smart and it demonstrates luck, bad behavior, bad actions and very bad decisions. Great Performances by Meyers, Johansson, Mortimer, Cox and Goode
  13. Apr 4, 2014
    0
    I just can't believe how awful this film is and yet it reviewed so well by many. I think this is a case of people focusing on Allens excellent back catalogue of former glories and not treating this as a standalone film. The script is so bad, that it made me hate it despite the normally likeable leads.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 88
    Not only could one argue that this is the best "serious" work the director has ever attempted, but it's presented in a way that even the most seasoned Allen fan will have difficulty recognizing the iconic filmmaker's fingerprints.
  2. Rhys-Meyers and Johansson work well together - they both know how to project glossiness and guile.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    88
    Woody's a master wordsmith, and here he's crafted a bit of audience-friendly fare that's smart without feeling exclusionary. It's a portrait of elite society--and the hangers-on who wish to penetrate it--made in an surprisingly accessible way.