Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A phobia-plagued grifter (Cage) discovers he has a teenage daughter (Lohman) who wants to get to know him?and his business.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. 100
    Lohman in particular is effective; I learn to my astonishment that she's 24, but here she plays a 15-year-old with all the tentative love and sudden vulnerability that the role requires, when your dad is a whacko confidence man.
  2. This movie is a model of technique, beautifully crafted, often brilliantly acted by Cage and the others, but it's a bit hollow at the center.
  3. 63
    The best moments in Matchstick Men belong to Cage and Lohman, who, in "Paper Moon" fashion, prove that the family that cons together, laughs together.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    60
    Scott's finesse can't entirely disguise the mechanical nature of Nicholas and Ted Griffin's script, which has one too many twists for its own good. Fun while it lasts, but it's a bit of a con job itself.
  5. The movie so successfully raises the emotional and psychological stakes in the first half that not all audiences may like the film's reversion to con-artist form in the second. The con itself is preposterous and full of holes when we think back after the movie.
  6. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    30
    My real problem with Matchstick Men is that it didn't con me well enough: I saw every trick up its sleeve in the first 20 minutes. If everything had been what it seemed--now, that would have been a stunning twist.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    Alison Lohman is genius here, and Cage deserves an Oscar nod as well, but Ridley Scott is the one who deserves all the praise. If anyone,Alison Lohman is genius here, and Cage deserves an Oscar nod as well, but Ridley Scott is the one who deserves all the praise. If anyone, anywhere, asked you about cinematic brilliance, tell them to look no further than Matchstick Men. Expand
  2. HenryS
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    This is quite an amazing movie, mainly because Alison Lohman's performance was enough to knock anyone off their seats, I still have a This is quite an amazing movie, mainly because Alison Lohman's performance was enough to knock anyone off their seats, I still have a hard time believing she was really 23 then! and the end is indeed original, loved it all. Expand
  3. marshman88
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    It was really good. i'd definately watch it again. Grade: 9.1
  4. Jake
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    Cage is great in this film. He plays the part extremly well. It is a very humorous movie with a great story. Rockwell and Lohman were great Cage is great in this film. He plays the part extremly well. It is a very humorous movie with a great story. Rockwell and Lohman were great for the roles that they played. They gelled very well with Cage. Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    This one is very well done. Nicolas Cage and Sam Rockwell make for a great pair of leads. Both are very likable and convincing as con men.This one is very well done. Nicolas Cage and Sam Rockwell make for a great pair of leads. Both are very likable and convincing as con men. Cage, in particular, as a man struggling with OCD is very good and really portrays the struggles of an OCD man very, very well. Alison Lohman is also very convincing in this one and does a good job in her role. Ridley Scott's direction is also very strong as usual and shows good focus. The script is also solid. This one is called a comedy drama, but it was never really that funny, so it missed the mark there, but the drama was well done. The characters were all very well developed and you really feel like you know them all by the end of the film. In addition, the ending is particularly strong and very unexpected, which makes it all the more effective. Overall, this one is not some world beating film, but it is a well made one and a very entertaining film that keeps you hooked until the very end. Expand
  6. DaraHMude
    Mar 20, 2006
    8
    its a great movie i think. i like the scene where cage and angela hangout together... the ending makes the movie even more unforgettable. i its a great movie i think. i like the scene where cage and angela hangout together... the ending makes the movie even more unforgettable. i wish it would not end up like that because their relationship was very beautiful. Collapse
  7. matta.
    Dec 6, 2005
    4
    Predictable tripe for the most part. I could see the ending "twist" coming a mile away. Also, honestly do you really think that Cage would Predictable tripe for the most part. I could see the ending "twist" coming a mile away. Also, honestly do you really think that Cage would have reacted that way at the end? That calmly towards a person that totally manipulated hiim and stole all his money? Even if he is happy and content at that point, he wouldn't be that nice about it. Anyway, Lohman and Rockwell are pretty good and that helps the film from being a total waste of time. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ridley Scott: All Films Considered

    Ridley Scott: All Films Considered Image
    Published: May 12, 2010
    The famed director's latest big-budget adventure, "Robin Hood," arrives in theaters this week. We take the opportunity to look back at Scott's career and rank his films from best to worst.