User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 227

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2011
    3
    I loved Max Payne (video game) so there's a film! I watch the trailer and it doesn't really look like the game
    I didn't know what to expect, so I watch it and the action scenes are nice but everything else sucks. The best part is, none of it makes sense, its nothing like the game, what about the train station scene (Roscoe street station) the thugs just walk right in and want his watch.
    Isn't he supposed to kill them whilst they wait for the train? They've all mixed it up and the characters have a terrible roll. They even chose the wrong character that they kill in the ending. Nope, NOT Nicole Horn, someone else! I mean, how can they choose the wrong character! Skip this film, its not worth the time. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    3
    If John Woo directed this movie, there would be more action scenes than ever and the movie would have been longer. The plot in this movie does not match with the one in the original Max Payne game which winds up to be a technical flaw. An enemy as an angel with wings? That did not exist in that game.
  3. Apr 21, 2012
    2
    Definitely not worth watching if you are a fan of the videogame Max Payne. Horrible movie that is nowhere near the original game. Though i give 2 for the effort. -the-epikninja
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    "Payne-ful" to watch, unwatchable if you're a fan of the videogames. I am a HUGE fan of the games, and near the beginning a scene starts to shape up like a part of the videogame. I get a little giddy...then I sit through an hour and fifteen more minutes of nonsense, insanity, not plot, terrible acting, and even mediocre action. Mark Wahlberg as the title character was the stereotypical east coast detective. You could have plugged one of 50 actors into the role and gotten the same thing. As a stand alone film, it's really bad. As something with even a semblance of "inspiration" from the video games, it's even worse. Avoid this. If it's free turn it down, if it costs money, punch somebody in the face. One of the ten worst movies I've ever seen....and I've seen Glitter. Expand
  5. May 12, 2012
    2
    Worst Video game adaption i've ever seen. I'm a great fan of Max Payne Video game series and expected the movie will be thrilling too. it's cheesy,boring,horrible and atrocious.Even Mark Wahlberg didn't left any effect.Mila Kunis looked like doing a cameo. Writer messed up everything in the script. So-known slow motion sequences are way too short as compared to game. I'm very disappointed. May be it will please the non-gamers a bit but for Game fans ,it's just a waste of time. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    0
    One of the worst movies i have ever seen. This movie mocks everything fans love about Max Payne, if you really want to see a movie worth seeing watch WANTED that's one bad ass movie
  7. Oct 17, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to like this movie. Unfortunately, the movie seems to chug at a very slow pace and the action scenes are way too far and few between. Even the shootdodge that Marky Mark does in the movie doesn't even look that proper. However, even without all the action, the movie does stay very true to form to the video games, as it is as dark as the games is.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    It's pretty entertaining in some point, but even then it's only on a superficial level. "Max Payne" is a pretty lame attempt at recreating what the games did so well.
  9. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    Mark Wahlberg plays popular game hero Max Payne, a cop who sets out to find the man who killed his wife and child, while doing so he uncovers a potential conspiracy that could lead him to the killer.

    While Max Payne boasts a great tone, atmosphere and great cinematography, the overall film wasn't really all that great, the acting was tough to judge, there were some good performances but
    the actors seem like they didn't have much to work with, the action scenes are minimal, and was just a ton of shooting and they weren't all that exciting, however if you are interested in this film, you can watch it, but I feel that there are better options.

    Without comparing it to the game, I felt they could have done more to make it a bit more interesting and exciting, and possibly add more to Max Payne's back story and they could've been more inventive with the action scenes instead of making people just shoot at each other.

    Otherwise, its a good concept and is well shot, but the execution needed a little more work.
    Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    Max Payne the film falls short of the Max Payne game series. John Moore takes the concept of the game it's story line and creates something basic. The fans of Max Payne were a bit disappointed at the films depute. Unfortunately the story and comics in the first game were so impressive for that time and made such a huge impact in the gaming industry and most importantly in the player's, or better gamers minds. Therefore it would be very hard to make a movie with a similar impact and create a Max Payne as Bad ass as you could possibly make it in the game. I mean you as a player. It is a shame, the film could have done more justice to the Max Payne novelty. Maybe future remakes will be taken into accord although I know the reason they are not at the moment. The directors saw how hard it was to make an actual impression on the fans. It is a shame really, Mark Walkberg is a decent actor but unfortunately he did not make a true impact in this film. I would suggest a more sickening looking kind a character. But hey, we cannot really get exactly what we want can we? Well.. sometimes we can. Film-makers have shows us before and will do so again.. Expand
  11. Jun 2, 2014
    8
    I love the game series. Obviously the game is much better. But I thought the movie was pretty decent. Had a good story, and dark tone that we all know and love. Could've used more action sure. And the supporting characters needed more of a personality. But Mark Whalberg did a fine job.
  12. Oct 20, 2014
    5
    I saw the movie before I learned about the video game. The Movie took a different spin that was less effective than the video game. Then again, I am not sure they've made any movies based on video games that were a real success. That being said, I still think this one falls on the higher end of those films. Although it lacked the grit and murky attitude the video game had, the story structure and dialogue could have been much worse. Lets be grateful. Marc W. was an interesting pick as Max Payne, and I think he delivered something with substance. Could a different actor do better, possibly a few, I thought he lacked that inner strife and just hollow feel that drives Max, I don't feel like Max is a mess and doesn't care and wants to die because he has nothing but revenge on his mind. I feel like that still mostly could be the director's and story's fault. Max Payne should have had a more epic intro than "leave that man alone". I also think Mila Kunis was an attention cast rather than a talent cast, not to mention Luda. Her character lacked the hate and aggression needed to believe she was a mafia member...not her strength. This movie could have been great. Revenge stories always have potential, the flaws are notable but I think this one managed to crutch along and not be a failure. Just not much more than that. Expand
  13. Sep 13, 2014
    5
    Verdict: Video Game Action success?

    Story: Having never played the games or even knowing anything about the games I could really see this fresh as an action fan. I was expecting some form of supernatural side to the story but I was wrong. It is just a revenge thriller that has lots of action and very little dialogue. Most of the support characters have very little development and are
    each only used to pass on a small part of the story. In the end as a standalone action film it is switch the mind of acceptable. (6/10) Actor Review: Mark Wahlberg – Max Payne the determined cop who wants to truth who ends up getting caught up in something bigger than he could have ever imagined. Solid from Mark but the fans of the games will dislike what he does to the character. (7/10) max Actor Review: Mila Kunis – Mona from the more underworld side of the city she ends up teaming up with Max to take down the people responsible for the death of their loved ones. I think this was a bit too early in her career, she looks a little bit out of place, and maybe she could return for a sequel and use what she has learned. (4/10) mila Actor Review: Beau Bridges – BB Hensley friend of Max who was also good friends with his wife, he tries to help but ultimately is the guy responsible for everything that has driven Max. Good but nothing special performance. (6/10) Actor Review: Ludacris – Jim the internal affairs officer trying to figure out what the corruption in the Police could change how they look at crimes being committed in the town. Another guy who was in a role that is hard to believe too early in his acting career, he tries but it just doesn’t quite some off for him. (5/10) ludicrus Actor Review: Chris O’Donnell – Jason a former work colleague of Max’s wife, knows more than he is letting on. Good supporting role that is good use for information only. (5/10) Actor Review: Donal Logue – Alex ex-partner who tries to reconnect after discovering a new clue about Max’s wife’s murder. Only a small role but the look of a desperate friend works well. (6/10) Actor Review: Amaury Nolasco – Jack a man that spends a lot of time watching what is going on with Max and Mona, but he does have a motive, but we never know what he final motive is. Good supporting role used well to create a target for Max. (6/10) amruay Director Review: John Moore – Simple direction used to create plenty of over the top action for the more casual fan to enjoy. (6/10) Action: Plenty of gun fights throughout, I really don’t know how many bullets they must have used. (9/10) Crime: Simple crime aspects used nothing truly original though. (6/10) Thriller: Tries to pull of some thrills but doesn’t really succeed. (6/10) Special Effects: Good special effects for the hallucination scenes and gun battles. (9/10) Believability: No (0/10) Chances of Tears: No (0/10) Settings: Dark settings used to create a very dark world similar to the story they are in. (8/10) Suggestion: This is really one to try I can’t say it is very original and like most video game films isn’t the most popular compared to the games. (Try It) Best Part: Gun rights. Worst Part: poor support character development. Action Scene Of The Film: The office gun battle Oscar Chances: No Chances of Sequel: Do to the poor box office it would be a no. Overall: Video Game Action, You Know What You Are Getting Expand
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 14 out of 25
  1. Max Payne offers max pain along with min invention, and the only thing that keeps it out of the bottom of the Dumpster--it’s more of a top-of-the-Dumpster movie--is the presence of Mark Wahlberg.
  2. A banal revenge melodrama-cum-detective story, but fans of the video game on which it is based should not be alarmed.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    30
    Stylishly made, armed to the teeth and ludicrous in the extreme.