User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 238
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CiaranB.
    Oct 17, 2008
    3
    I'm a huge fan of the video game max payne, not only dose this disappoint fans of the game, but as a movie its was poorly made, poorly filmed, and had all the cheesy cliche's of every mediocre action flick. Waste of money.
  2. eliasc
    Aug 6, 2009
    1
    A terrible adaptation of the game. Witless and confusing, and badly acted, the only saving grace for tis film is the visual style that the director uses, or more accurately, attempts to copy from the video game., However viewers will quickly tire of the monotonous use of CGI snow and rain to show us how dismal this fantasy version of New York is. Save your time and skip this one.
  3. MarkJ.
    Oct 24, 2008
    2
    I remember buying Max Payne haphazardly shopping for new titles, not expecting much. After completing it I knew it was one of the best I have ever played, voice acting quality upon which I had never heard, full of subtlety and realism. The movie however is a butchered version hardly recognizable, almost as if the logo was plastered on to it. For all of us who have actually completed the I remember buying Max Payne haphazardly shopping for new titles, not expecting much. After completing it I knew it was one of the best I have ever played, voice acting quality upon which I had never heard, full of subtlety and realism. The movie however is a butchered version hardly recognizable, almost as if the logo was plastered on to it. For all of us who have actually completed the game, the pain is far worse. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    3
    If John Woo directed this movie, there would be more action scenes than ever and the movie would have been longer. The plot in this movie does not match with the one in the original Max Payne game which winds up to be a technical flaw. An enemy as an angel with wings? That did not exist in that game.
  5. Apr 21, 2012
    2
    Definitely not worth watching if you are a fan of the videogame Max Payne. Horrible movie that is nowhere near the original game. Though i give 2 for the effort. -the-epikninja
  6. Feb 3, 2011
    3
    I loved Max Payne (video game) so there's a film! I watch the trailer and it doesn't really look like the game
    I didn't know what to expect, so I watch it and the action scenes are nice but everything else sucks. The best part is, none of it makes sense, its nothing like the game, what about the train station scene (Roscoe street station) the thugs just walk right in and want his watch.
    I loved Max Payne (video game) so there's a film! I watch the trailer and it doesn't really look like the game
    I didn't know what to expect, so I watch it and the action scenes are nice but everything else sucks. The best part is, none of it makes sense, its nothing like the game, what about the train station scene (Roscoe street station) the thugs just walk right in and want his watch. Isn't he supposed to kill them whilst they wait for the train? They've all mixed it up and the characters have a terrible roll. They even chose the wrong character that they kill in the ending. Nope, NOT Nicole Horn, someone else! I mean, how can they choose the wrong character! Skip this film, its not worth the time.
    Expand
  7. JaredJ
    Feb 20, 2009
    10
    I fail to see why this got a 5.4 when the god awefull "Hitman" got a 9.8 (or 8.9) "Hitman" had no connection with the games. "Max Payne" has everything, even right down to the snow storm. It was nice to see the voice-actor of the first game play a role. I did not mind spending the $27.95 for the Unrated extended cut eddition and that came with a digital version, people these days love I fail to see why this got a 5.4 when the god awefull "Hitman" got a 9.8 (or 8.9) "Hitman" had no connection with the games. "Max Payne" has everything, even right down to the snow storm. It was nice to see the voice-actor of the first game play a role. I did not mind spending the $27.95 for the Unrated extended cut eddition and that came with a digital version, people these days love movies that suck and hate movies that are amazing (like this.) Expand
  8. CarlosV.
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    Extraordinary!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and he will stop at nothing to get revenge for their deaths, with that said Max Payne leads you on a roller coaster ride of thrills and non-stop action Extraordinary!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and he will stop at nothing to get revenge for their deaths, with that said Max Payne leads you on a roller coaster ride of thrills and non-stop action that all leads up to the shocking and explosive finale. John Moore directs a totally awesome crime thriller that won't stop amazing and shocking you till the end, Mark Wahlberg,Beau Bridges & Mila Kunis deliver great performances in this great Crime film. I very highly recommend this film. Expand
  9. R.L.
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    Exceptional!! Max Payne is by far the best video game to screen adaption yet. After last years train wreck Hit man, Max Payne makes going to the movies cool again after all the dumb and stupid action thrillers that have come out this year, I found Max Payne among my favorites, It had a story and a depth of character we all can relate to in some way, Mark Whalberg play maverick cop Max Exceptional!! Max Payne is by far the best video game to screen adaption yet. After last years train wreck Hit man, Max Payne makes going to the movies cool again after all the dumb and stupid action thrillers that have come out this year, I found Max Payne among my favorites, It had a story and a depth of character we all can relate to in some way, Mark Whalberg play maverick cop Max Payne a cop tortured by his families murder and will do anything to get revenge for their murders. It's a truly great movie, very dark and serious & total complete fun from start to finish. I very highly recommend this movie! Expand
  10. NeilJ.
    Oct 14, 2008
    5
    May end up being the best video game movie, which isn't saying a lot, of course. And it's too modern-looking; if it were my movie to shoot, it clearly would have had a dash of self-conscious camp and noir, perhaps something like Sin City; Max Payne appears to take itself seriously, and it never read Raymond Chandler. And I'm not sure what the 'demons' are all May end up being the best video game movie, which isn't saying a lot, of course. And it's too modern-looking; if it were my movie to shoot, it clearly would have had a dash of self-conscious camp and noir, perhaps something like Sin City; Max Payne appears to take itself seriously, and it never read Raymond Chandler. And I'm not sure what the 'demons' are all about, other than some attempt to appeal to the current taste for dark zombie-horror stuff. It's also worth noting that this trailer is not the original one that was released a month or two ago; the sheer badness of Ludacris and the Police Chief have been removed from this version. My guess is that it will garner a 5 metascore when the film critics and the glossy mag scribblers are done with it. Expand
  11. DirkD.
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    Gamers just have to face the facts . The filmmakers truly cared and respected about the game . They did try to make the game into a proper movie . There are no excuses . The people who made it although they cared about it , honestly just arent any good . Finally a game has been treated with the proper respect and care and the filmakers just arent any good . No one can be blamed . John Gamers just have to face the facts . The filmmakers truly cared and respected about the game . They did try to make the game into a proper movie . There are no excuses . The people who made it although they cared about it , honestly just arent any good . Finally a game has been treated with the proper respect and care and the filmakers just arent any good . No one can be blamed . John moore just sucks . Expand
  12. ChrisG
    Oct 19, 2008
    6
    As a movie in general , great, but as a max payne video game movie , story line is butchered. Some characters just arent what they are supposed to be , some MAJOR characters are left out , those of you who have seen it will know what im talking about. And alot of stuff not even remotely close to game was put in. I do give them credit for nicole horne , for a second i really thought it was her.
  13. NoorDimashk
    Oct 26, 2008
    6
    Slightly above average movie. The concept is amazing, the execution is close to terrible. But it's not a complete disaster.
  14. JayH.
    Jan 18, 2009
    5
    Surprisingly tame and the pacing is too slow. It was very good visually, good cinematography and the atmosphere is effective. Too much of the film is hard to follow and makes no sense. Stylish, almost overly so.
  15. LisaB
    Oct 15, 2008
    9
    Loved it. Great script and exciting action.
  16. JuusoD.
    Nov 14, 2008
    9
    At the beginning it was strange when characters in the movie didn't look like chars in the game. The plot was good, but not perfect. I liked this movie as i liked the game, cos there was enough similarities from the game.
  17. RichardL.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and he will stop at nothing to get revenge for their deaths, with that said Max Payne leads you on a roller coaster ride of thrills and non-stop action Truly amazing!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and he will stop at nothing to get revenge for their deaths, with that said Max Payne leads you on a roller coaster ride of thrills and non-stop action that all leads up to the shocking and explosive finale. John Moore directs a totally awesome crime thriller that won't stop amazing and shocking you till the end, Beau Bridges & Mila Kunis deliver great performances, the only weak leak in this movie is Luidacris his performance is very weak and unrealistic and very single minded and boring. Besides that It's a great Crime film. I very highly recommend this film. Expand
  18. bobs.
    Jan 31, 2009
    3
    Not good. Bad plot development, bad characters, just not worth more than $1.
  19. JohnM
    Feb 5, 2009
    7
    After reading the critics reviews I was a little wary of renting this movie but as a Sci-Fi Fan and an avid videogamer I did enjoy it. Yes, it was a bit slow starting but I found the last 45 minutes pretty interesting.
  20. SergeryW.
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    Read most of the reviews before seeing this and I don't understand why everyone is so bent out of shape on this film. Obviously people that will love this film played the game(s). But I think others will like it just as much if you haven't. To what Chris said of Marky Mark's performance...I thought Mark did a very good job. If you want to see Mark performing badly, go see Read most of the reviews before seeing this and I don't understand why everyone is so bent out of shape on this film. Obviously people that will love this film played the game(s). But I think others will like it just as much if you haven't. To what Chris said of Marky Mark's performance...I thought Mark did a very good job. If you want to see Mark performing badly, go see The Happening...this film definitely has him back in the right direction. This is a much grittier Wahlberg, a little like his character in The Departed, but Max Payne is very different character. Throughout this film, the director does a great job showing all sides of max, his depressed side and his vengeful side full of hate that fuels him throughout the film. As far as the video game adaptation goes, it's definitely the best one I've seen. It's faithful to the core storyline, yet is brand new in terms of how things are set up. I was a little iffy on Mila Kunis being picked for her role as Mona Sax, but she fits the role perfectly. One thing the game always lacked in Mona's character is her coldness. The game always displayed her seductiveness and her toughness, but to me it never felt like it could be realistic enough because she wasn't as cold as Max. The scene in the film where she questions Max and has him on his knees, beating him around pretty good, I thought the director did a great job showing that coldness that was common between her and Max. They both give the same looks. My expectations for this movie was high going into it from all the advertising and also my past experience playing both Max Payne 1 and 2. I was afraid it would end up like Hitman did, but it didn't thankfully. This film was as good as the game, if not better in certain elements. The bullet time was not exhausted and was used at the key times. I'm glad Max was actually shot up in shootouts he gets in, shows realism over the whole he never gets shot sort of thing we usually get in action films. The only thing I wish they did more of was show a little more connection between Mona and Max...it felt like you never quite got the story between them or much info on her, but that'll be explained more in the sequel im sure. IMPORTANT: Stay until after the credits to see an important scene that sets things up for a sequel. Expand
  21. SergerW.
    Oct 18, 2008
    7
    It was probably the best video game to movie adaptation I've seen although that isn't saying much. It doesn't follow the game level for level, but it does pretty much cover the same story. They changed a few things to help story flow a bit better.
  22. FraserV.
    Oct 27, 2008
    3
    Stupid, stupid, stupid. Even if my brain took a holiday this is still a bad movie. Wahlberg's one note performance, a muder mystery even a fourth grader would have solved faster than the lead, oddly placed slo-mo bullet-time scenes, characters doing illogical things and popping into scenes they shouldn't be in, and a bad....BAD...plot, make this a movie that simply can not be Stupid, stupid, stupid. Even if my brain took a holiday this is still a bad movie. Wahlberg's one note performance, a muder mystery even a fourth grader would have solved faster than the lead, oddly placed slo-mo bullet-time scenes, characters doing illogical things and popping into scenes they shouldn't be in, and a bad....BAD...plot, make this a movie that simply can not be recommended. A '3' 'cause I know I've seen worse...but my brain has been assaulted with so much stupidity that I'm having trouble remembering what movies they were. Expand
  23. Ulrich
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    Just judging by the trailer this film looks really bad! I'm pretty sure there was never a flying-jeepers-creepers-type-thingy in the games! While playing the second game i remember thinking that it could make quite a good film! This however looks way too over the top just like the Hitman movie! I hope that this is a huge flop! Maybe studio execs will think twice before investing Just judging by the trailer this film looks really bad! I'm pretty sure there was never a flying-jeepers-creepers-type-thingy in the games! While playing the second game i remember thinking that it could make quite a good film! This however looks way too over the top just like the Hitman movie! I hope that this is a huge flop! Maybe studio execs will think twice before investing millions in more terrible videogame-movies!!! Expand
  24. JD
    Oct 18, 2008
    3
    If you played and liked the game Dont see this movie. Its passable as action movie but you ll be torturing yourself with too many questions like "Why no internal dialog", "Wheres the cheesy dark comedy "the game was mature why is the movie pg 13" well it simple Max Payne the movie dropped what made Max Payne the game good.
  25. JackM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    6
    It was an action packed film. the story needs some improvement but Mark Wilbergh was a very good actor in this movie.
  26. BK
    Oct 18, 2008
    2
    Not good enough to warrant praise. And not bad enough to become some type of cult piece. The movie kills itself with its mediocrity. I suppose Uwe Boll has set the bar for the game-to-movie genre ridiculously low, but even by those standards, Max Payne is barely passable. The action scenes don't really work, mostly because you've been waiting far too long for them to arrive. The Not good enough to warrant praise. And not bad enough to become some type of cult piece. The movie kills itself with its mediocrity. I suppose Uwe Boll has set the bar for the game-to-movie genre ridiculously low, but even by those standards, Max Payne is barely passable. The action scenes don't really work, mostly because you've been waiting far too long for them to arrive. The man that was built up as the "super bad-guy"... well, let's just say it was anti-climactic. Beyond that, don't expect any surprises. Plot-wise, that is. The cast is a whole other story. Nelly Furtado? Really? Thankfully, she's not on screen for very long. Lt. Bravura, in the games a middle-aged, overweight white guy, is played by Ludacris. Not that he did that bad a job of it, but the choice just screams "oh right, we need at least one black guy on the good guys' team." I went in there expecting a properly cheesy film-noir voice-over and everything that comes with it, as the games had. Instead, the makers decided to take themselves and the film too seriously and, in doing so, shot themselves in the foot. Expand
  27. C.Lawson
    Oct 19, 2008
    7
    What is everybody's problem with this film? I'm laughing at the critics reviews for slagging this movie as dark and depressing and with moody, expressionless characters. Anybody else who's actually played the game will know exactly what I'm getting at here. With that thought, I've come to the conclusion that anybody who has never played the game is clearly unfit What is everybody's problem with this film? I'm laughing at the critics reviews for slagging this movie as dark and depressing and with moody, expressionless characters. Anybody else who's actually played the game will know exactly what I'm getting at here. With that thought, I've come to the conclusion that anybody who has never played the game is clearly unfit to review the film. If they had, they'd realise how ridiculous they sound for decrying as poor a movie that's stuck more closely to the plot and style of the original medium than any other video game adaptation to date. Thumbs up from me for accomplishing what has been thought impossible by gamers since Mario Brothers was released. On the downside, Mila Kunis came off as too compassionate for her character, and there wasn't nearly enough thought narrative. I always found that something that made the game quite immersing was the narrative cut scenes and novelesque metaphors used by Payne throughout the game. On the upside, the visuals are brilliant, more than enough to warrant at least a 5/10 for the sheer artistic presence on the screen. Wahlberg was great, but still too animated and lively to be the depressed and barely functional Max Payne of the game. Neverthess, a solid job. I also commend the lack of blood-letting and all out action in the film; Max Payne was always more about the plot and Payne's inner demons and personal torment than it was about gimmicky "bullet-time" and Steven Seagal gunfights. I suggest Metacritic discard any and all reviews by professional critics who haven't played the game or, more realistically, readers should disregard their comments . This is a gamer's movie and Max Payne stands head and shoulders above every game adaptation so far. Anybody who goes into the cinema expecting No Country for Old Men should instead be hoping for a solid game-to-movie adaptation, which is pulled off quite nicely here. Expand
  28. SergerW.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    It was probably the best video game to movie adaptation I've seen although that isn't saying much. It doesn't follow the game level for level, but it does pretty much cover the same story. They changed a few things to help story flow a bit better.
  29. George
    Dec 3, 2008
    2
    This could have been so much better.
  30. FionU
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    Half the official reviews are from papers that don't even know this is based on a game and have not only never seen the game, but never even heard of it, let alone played it. 'Out Matrix the Matrix.' Someone should tell him that bullet time was part of max payne during early stages of development before Matrix was even being shot (though the game came out after Matrix did.) Half the official reviews are from papers that don't even know this is based on a game and have not only never seen the game, but never even heard of it, let alone played it. 'Out Matrix the Matrix.' Someone should tell him that bullet time was part of max payne during early stages of development before Matrix was even being shot (though the game came out after Matrix did.) For a movie based off a game I thought it was perhaps the best I'd seen of the type. The story was fairly loose compared to the games and the acting was for the most part good sans a few really poorly written lines. All in all easily the best movie based on a game yet. But still not remotely as good as it could have been. Expand
  31. Philip
    Oct 25, 2008
    1
    i'm not sure what anybody scoring this over 2 was doing while the movie was screening, but here's the truth: it's quite simply, the worst movie to come out (in theaters) in years. fan of the games or not, you will hate 95% of the movie. the writer and director should be burried alive, not only for raping Max Payne, but for further polluting the film world with another piece i'm not sure what anybody scoring this over 2 was doing while the movie was screening, but here's the truth: it's quite simply, the worst movie to come out (in theaters) in years. fan of the games or not, you will hate 95% of the movie. the writer and director should be burried alive, not only for raping Max Payne, but for further polluting the film world with another piece of cinematic excrement. all i can ask myself is, why didn't anybody involved in the movie realise what a festering turd they were making and sabotage the set, in order to save us viewers the agony of experiencing this epic FAIL! Expand
  32. JoshV.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I never played the game, but this is the most unintentionally hilarious movie I've ever seen, never have I laughed so much at a supposed action movie, I mean, the entire ending is just Max Payne, running around, shooting people with a shotgun, and TRIPPING BALLS! with the occasional break here and there to just scream as loud as possible for a minute or two straight. Hilarious!
  33. JoseR.
    Oct 30, 2008
    0
    This movie is such crap that anyone who worked on it should be fired from life itself. By the way, "Brandon W" and "Sergery W" are the same person, and probably a paid shill. Their "reviews" are identical word-for-word. Same with "Jon B" and "Serger W". At least pick names that aren't obviously fake, "Serger". Is your name really Beau Thorne? You suck.
  34. ChristianC.
    Jan 23, 2009
    2
    Boring, boring, boring... This movie is a huge disappointment. Is so bad that I can't believe is based in that great game called Max Payne, and anyone who says this is better than the Hitman movie is an idiot. The plot is so lame and the acting so bad that hurts very badly any thought that a movie based in a game could be, in fact, a good movie.
  35. AMovieCritic
    Jan 25, 2009
    2
    One of the absolute worst movies I've ever seen. Couldn't have been any more disrespectful towards the game if the director had taken out a pistol and fired at the game disc during the end credits. Even setting that aside, though, the crappy movie they turned the game's brilliant storyline into is a dull police procedural with some occasionally cool visual imagery. The One of the absolute worst movies I've ever seen. Couldn't have been any more disrespectful towards the game if the director had taken out a pistol and fired at the game disc during the end credits. Even setting that aside, though, the crappy movie they turned the game's brilliant storyline into is a dull police procedural with some occasionally cool visual imagery. The acting's horrible (though Ludacris does a good job, he deserves better) and not a single character seems to even remotely resemble their game counterparts. If they at least created interesting characters out of them it would have been OKAY but nope....It's really the worst of both worlds. If they wanted to nearly totally ignore the game (as they have) they could have AT LEAST gone the "dumb route" and gave us a dumb-but-fun action movie (Paul Anderson's Resident Evil films) but instead we get a story that takes itself deadly seriously yet that's so unbelievably boring that I could hardly sit through it. Awful. Expand
  36. MikeS.
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    The best game adaptation to date, and a great noir/thriller in it's own right!
  37. TomS.
    Nov 13, 2008
    0
    A huge disappointment, and totally inaccurate as far as the original games go, this movie fails at every conceivable level. An insult to anyone who is a true fan of the Max Payne series. Also, an insult to anyone who actually paid money to see it. Avoid this movie like the plague.
  38. AngusM.
    Nov 15, 2008
    6
    I know the plot really sucked and was badly explained, but the visual style of the film was awesome and the acting was passable too. most of the action was cool and well-shot, except one stupid slow-mo bit where max bends backwards with the shotgun and ends up looking like an idiot.
  39. ChrisS.
    Oct 14, 2008
    2
    First: Sorry for the bad English. Marky Mark plays badly, kunis even worse, bridges and o'donell are useless - i won't even mention that ludacris is also acting (or at least trying to). Very, very bad action movie! the story - not that i was expecting anything interesting or moving - is picked with plot holes; scenarios are wildly jumping and seem to be loosly connected and cut First: Sorry for the bad English. Marky Mark plays badly, kunis even worse, bridges and o'donell are useless - i won't even mention that ludacris is also acting (or at least trying to). Very, very bad action movie! the story - not that i was expecting anything interesting or moving - is picked with plot holes; scenarios are wildly jumping and seem to be loosly connected and cut together (god-awful cutter!). But i learned some things: 1. when armed and going into a room - shoot wildly after entering, never try to aim. (yes, just like the enemys in the game) 2. if you ever need someone to play a female russian gangster, choose someone with a 'slight' foreign accent - no one will recognize it and after a while she doesn't need to fake the accent anymore. 3. If you ever try to make a 'dark', gritty movie, don't give a s**** about different weather conditions and how they work together (snow-rain-day-night within two scenes) - just add snow in all scenes, it will work and look really good. 4. if two persons need to talk , let them get out of a car into heavy rain and start the dialog there - dramatical effects garanteed! 5. if you need to know something about norse mythology, go to a tattoo-shop and ask the tattoo artist - he knows everything about it and has lots of books at hand (everyone has, right?). 6. if your finished movie needs something to make it more - hmm, let say interesting - add random black cgi-'angels' (or valkyr or whatever they called it). People will like it altough no one knows why (transformers worked too, right). 7. if you ever capture the good, but at the same time dangerous and unpredicable leading man and want to kill him - explain first your evil plot (YES, you had to kill his woman AND child just for the sake of it - even though you were his fathers best friend), then tell your henchman to lower his weapon AND last but not least uncuff the guy to tie him with a rope. No he will NOT try to get away,no never ever... 8. THE Absolute Best Idea to put the blame on the good guy: Tie him down with a rope, put two ampullae in his pockets and claim that it was suicide. Hey - he's a cop, no one will ask questions. 9. if you are member of a SWAT Team, forget all the your Training - try to confront everything head-on, never think about to surround someone, shoot without aming and do it all the time, because even if you hit, it doesnt matter much (see below). 10. ALWAYS wear your black leather jacket - it offers protection against shotgun bullets (close range of course)! 11. If you ever jump in ice-cold water and can barely get out of it again, the best way not to freeze to death is taking a drug you've never seen before - you will be invincible after usage, hurray!!! 12. The Movie lacks Sex-Appeal? No prob - just add some amazingly hot chick (transformers, wanted?!) and let her die within the next two scenes (make sure she seduces the main character and gets undressed FIRST!) - people will remember her(see? i do) altough she is completly useless for the plot (or is she?!?!). 13. Need a brutal Bad-Guy to leave a mark? Give him a big knife, no shirt, tattoos(lots!) and let him sweat like he coming right out of a sauna. Oh, and mention that he was a brave soldier before the chemical tests made him to the uncontrollable beast that he is now (try NOT to think about bladerunners Roy Batty). 14. the best way to change a scene is letting the mentioned bad guy look dangerously after the good guy, watching his every step. Or: let him smile like he knows that he will 'win'. 15. End Credits need more attention! Add shooting weapons! Hurray! Thank god i didnt pay for the movie (press-sneak preview) If you need to watch a good AND interesting Action Movie - Go watch the Bourne Trilogy for example. Expand
  40. RC
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    A great neo-noir reminiscent of 1940's B cinema.
  41. TimA.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Hey Chris S. Your the kind of person that everyone hates in a movie theater because they are trying to enjoy an escape from reality and you constantly interrupt them with mindless banter about how unrealistic the movie is. Its a flippin movie. If you want real, go sign up for the police force and then you can draw up schematics on the proper way a swat team should enter a room. Hell, lets Hey Chris S. Your the kind of person that everyone hates in a movie theater because they are trying to enjoy an escape from reality and you constantly interrupt them with mindless banter about how unrealistic the movie is. Its a flippin movie. If you want real, go sign up for the police force and then you can draw up schematics on the proper way a swat team should enter a room. Hell, lets just periodically place cameras everywhere in the country and release the footage into a theater every week so we can enjoy the realism. Lord of the rings won best picture and its about a made up land. But that has to suck becuase theres no way they could climb that volcano without shoes on. I havent even seen this movie yet. I just wanted to try an erase your score because your a close minded geek with no imagination. Jesus. I feel sorry for the people that have to sit next you the next time you go see a movie. Expand
  42. JohnC.
    Oct 15, 2008
    1
    Totally agree with comments below: predictable crap, style over substance - and: THIS IS NOT A NEO-FILM NOIR! It has not one single connection to a Noir!
  43. DG3
    Oct 16, 2008
    0
    I give it a zero just to counter the high votes from people who haven't even seen the movie.
  44. JasonH.
    Nov 6, 2008
    4
    Max Payne more like Max Suck. This movie is nothing like the video game. The story isn't the same, the characters don't even dress like the characters in the game, and everything that made the game special, like its Film Noir roots, is completely absent in this movie. I only saw this horrible movie because a friend begged me to go with him. The only pleasure I got from it was Max Payne more like Max Suck. This movie is nothing like the video game. The story isn't the same, the characters don't even dress like the characters in the game, and everything that made the game special, like its Film Noir roots, is completely absent in this movie. I only saw this horrible movie because a friend begged me to go with him. The only pleasure I got from it was laughing at the screen at the horrible lack of dialog that Mark Walberg has in the movie and the awkward action that features swat team members running on top of office desks and shooting at the same time. Do Not Go See This Movie! Expand
  45. GilbertK
    Oct 18, 2008
    2
    It is a movie, thats needs a rating, and its a bad movie. Dont bother discuss game adaptation, or feel like game or whatever, this movie is BAD. no feel, too much slowmo, which has been done way better and a truley bad performance of Mark W who is very much acting from a screen.
  46. Joe
    Oct 18, 2008
    1
    I'll give them 1 because the special effects were mediocre, but the plot and every other aspect of the film was garbage. It took me a while to figure out who every character was, let alone their history and who was good and who was evil. The ending was completely unrealistic. He gets shot like 3 times in the heart but doesn't die. So, we're supposed to believe some magic I'll give them 1 because the special effects were mediocre, but the plot and every other aspect of the film was garbage. It took me a while to figure out who every character was, let alone their history and who was good and who was evil. The ending was completely unrealistic. He gets shot like 3 times in the heart but doesn't die. So, we're supposed to believe some magic potion made him invincible? Don't waste your money. Expand
  47. MattH.
    Oct 18, 2008
    1
    This was so boring and only 1 action scene which was only decent. Terrible movie.
  48. [Anonymous]
    Oct 19, 2008
    1
    It's one of the worst movie's I've ever seen. They took everything that made Max Payne (the game) fun and interesting, and surgically removed it, leaving a boring, un-fun, un-interesting mess behind.
  49. NigleB.
    Oct 19, 2008
    7
    This movie must be the best adaptation from a videogame I've seen in ages. Much better than all those Ok, to be honest, they should have c&p the whole plot and script of the game and more slo-mo action sequences would have been nice but the result is viewable... No italian gangsters(vinnie gogniti, rico muerte...), no vlad, mona sax is a russian gangster instead of a gunslinger... This movie must be the best adaptation from a videogame I've seen in ages. Much better than all those Ok, to be honest, they should have c&p the whole plot and script of the game and more slo-mo action sequences would have been nice but the result is viewable... No italian gangsters(vinnie gogniti, rico muerte...), no vlad, mona sax is a russian gangster instead of a gunslinger... hey! but the subway station is the roscoe streetsubway station at least! Expand
  50. SergeryW.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    Read most of the reviews before seeing this and I don't understand why everyone is so bent out of shape on this film. Obviously people that will love this film played the game(s). But I think others will like it just as much if you haven't. To what Chris said of Marky Mark's performance...I thought Mark did a very good job. If you want to see Mark performing badly, go see Read most of the reviews before seeing this and I don't understand why everyone is so bent out of shape on this film. Obviously people that will love this film played the game(s). But I think others will like it just as much if you haven't. To what Chris said of Marky Mark's performance...I thought Mark did a very good job. If you want to see Mark performing badly, go see The Happening...this film definitely has him back in the right direction. This is a much grittier Wahlberg, a little like his character in The Departed, but Max Payne is very different character. Throughout this film, the director does a great job showing all sides of max, his depressed side and his vengeful side full of hate that fuels him throughout the film. As far as the video game adaptation goes, it's definitely the best one I've seen. It's faithful to the core storyline, yet is brand new in terms of how things are set up. I was a little iffy on Mila Kunis being picked for her role as Mona Sax, but she fits the role perfectly. One thing the game always lacked in Mona's character is her coldness. The game always displayed her seductiveness and her toughness, but to me it never felt like it could be realistic enough because she wasn't as cold as Max. The scene in the film where she questions Max and has him on his knees, beating him around pretty good, I thought the director did a great job showing that coldness that was common between her and Max. They both give the same looks. My expectations for this movie was high going into it from all the advertising and also my past experience playing both Max Payne 1 and 2. I was afraid it would end up like Hitman did, but it didn't thankfully. This film was as good as the game, if not better in certain elements. The bullet time was not exhausted and was used at the key times. I'm glad Max was actually shot up in shootouts he gets in, shows realism over the whole he never gets shot sort of thing we usually get in action films. The only thing I wish they did more of was show a little more connection between Mona and Max...it felt like you never quite got the story between them or much info on her, but that'll be explained more in the sequel im sure. IMPORTANT: Stay until after the credits to see an important scene that sets things up for a sequel. Collapse
  51. TaomanT.
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    Good effects. Wahlberg and Beau Bridges act very well. Kurylenko not so much. Good action, very good special effects. The well implemented action scenes make you forgive certain plot/logic holes and cheesy dialogue. The movie delivers what it promises.
  52. KyleW.
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    This was a good attempt at a Max Payne adaptation, but fell short in a few ways. Max Payne was not meant to mirror the games. It took the series in a new direction, and as long as you weren't thinking it was going to be a fast paced, third person shooter on film instead of CGI, you would like this movie. Sure, it doesn't hold true to the Max Payne games, but it doesn't This was a good attempt at a Max Payne adaptation, but fell short in a few ways. Max Payne was not meant to mirror the games. It took the series in a new direction, and as long as you weren't thinking it was going to be a fast paced, third person shooter on film instead of CGI, you would like this movie. Sure, it doesn't hold true to the Max Payne games, but it doesn't matter. If you take the movie for what it is, it's an entertaining, well written adaptation. It loses points for not including the narration that the game was famous for, and it was a bit lacking in action and back story. Expand
  53. SHODAN
    Oct 24, 2008
    2
    How did they manage to convert a video game into a movie and actually simplify the plot? All they had to do was lift the narrative and style directly out of the game and they would have had a winner. For what reason did they change things? And why did they think it would make it better? Simple hubris?
  54. CatS
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    Listen. This movie is not trying to be anything that it isn't. I found it highly enjoyable and very entertaining. I think that if you go see it for what it is -- a dark, gritty movie based on a video game -- then you will enjoy yourself.
  55. MelissaE.
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    Critics have said this movie jumps all over the place and is too convoluted to follow. I'm not sure what they're talking about. Walberg was awesome, the plot was clear (though a little predictable) and the demons and action sequences were fun. I look forward to the next Max Payne.
  56. BillyW.
    Oct 26, 2008
    1
    Half way through me and my friend were so bored we started playing are you smarter than a fifth grader on my phone. Save your self ten bucks and see a movie with a real plot.
  57. LaurenS.
    Jan 21, 2009
    4
    Max Payne, is one of those movies where you see them, but you just have no feeling for it... "the seen films"- needless to say, it feels like in every 'seen' film, that movies are just, i don't know; stupid, queer, and maybe overall, i think this explains exactly the point i'm trying to make. Maybe Max Payne just is so pointless, the audience literally feels numb about Max Payne, is one of those movies where you see them, but you just have no feeling for it... "the seen films"- needless to say, it feels like in every 'seen' film, that movies are just, i don't know; stupid, queer, and maybe overall, i think this explains exactly the point i'm trying to make. Maybe Max Payne just is so pointless, the audience literally feels numb about the whole thing. Now, that's a bad thing. It always makes me sad to see a movie end up like this one, it could be good; but even the director failed to apply this one little thing into the movie. We all have feelings for things, and people, right? Same with movies, and their characters... my reaction was that why even make something based on a video game? The special effects people must've been convinced that if they hyped it up enough, critics and all of the public would be astonished about this video game turned into a mess. If you ask me, Max Payne went on auto pilot. It was complete nonsense, you can go and see it, but be prepared; You're not missing much. Expand
  58. ZackS.
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    Max Payne is not the best movie ever im going to throw that out there. And yes it is a little slow but i highly enjoyed the movie as a whole. I recommend it to anyone.
  59. DecepticonPom
    Mar 31, 2009
    0
    I'm gay and would normally drool over both Wahlberg and O'Connell but this was so bad, I converted to Christ and preyed for a power cut. It didn't come. The existence of this film and failure for me to be delivered from its agony are proof there is no higher power!
  60. JorgeM
    Jul 16, 2009
    7
    This was a good adaption from the video game. The plot was awesome it was good how they captured everything from the game, the cast was good, and the characters were okay, and the scene's were okay could of been better.
  61. RenánB
    Jul 21, 2009
    2
    One of the worst video game adaptations ever made. This flick is quite inept in so many levels.
  62. PfillipT.
    Oct 14, 2008
    3
    What we need are people who play video games and respect them to make these movies. I'm convinced that after this, Hitman, and anything by Paul W.S. Anderson that Uwe Boll's actually one of the best ones we got, and that a simple fan can do Max Payne better and would waste a lot less money and time. As a stand-alone action movie, I was still kinda bored by it. But as a fan of What we need are people who play video games and respect them to make these movies. I'm convinced that after this, Hitman, and anything by Paul W.S. Anderson that Uwe Boll's actually one of the best ones we got, and that a simple fan can do Max Payne better and would waste a lot less money and time. As a stand-alone action movie, I was still kinda bored by it. But as a fan of the Max Payne series, I was genuinely insulted. Hollywood died with Kubrick. Expand
  63. NathanS.
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    I really enjoyed the film, though I admit, I was a fan of Whalberg and the game itself goiong into it. As usual, Marky mark has a good air aorund him; he takes his roles seriously, and with max, that's a huge plus. Kunis isn't too bad, weither, though as usual, her voice can occasionally get under your skin... I was really pleased and surprised at this movie.
  64. BobwickH.
    Oct 17, 2008
    0
    People who have actually played the games aren't going to like this movie because it's basically not related to them in any way but name. People who have not played the games aren't going to like this movie because it sucks.
  65. AndrewB
    Oct 17, 2008
    4
    I tried not to have high hopes for this movie, and with good reason, apparently. The slow-motion didn't bother me, since that's an integral part of the video games, but what really really bothered me about this movie is for an action flick, there was hardly any action. Fans of the games will find small comforts in nods here and there, but then they'll be left scratching I tried not to have high hopes for this movie, and with good reason, apparently. The slow-motion didn't bother me, since that's an integral part of the video games, but what really really bothered me about this movie is for an action flick, there was hardly any action. Fans of the games will find small comforts in nods here and there, but then they'll be left scratching their heads as to why Lt. Jim Bravura, an old white guy in the games, was replaced by Ludacris. What, Samuel Jackson was busy? I've left movies unhappy about my money spent before, but this time I was just confused. It's really more of a drama than an action flick. Expand
  66. PaulH
    Oct 17, 2008
    0
    God damnit, Fox done it again. They just ruined another great idea for a movie. They keep doing the same thing over and over again with every video game movie. I wish they'd stop. After seeing this, I can say that it has hardly anything to do with the game, and is filled with overused action/love scenes that directors add in when they can't come up with anything. Plus, the God damnit, Fox done it again. They just ruined another great idea for a movie. They keep doing the same thing over and over again with every video game movie. I wish they'd stop. After seeing this, I can say that it has hardly anything to do with the game, and is filled with overused action/love scenes that directors add in when they can't come up with anything. Plus, the acting was awful. And you were hoping the monsters were just in dreams he was having, well, nope, he actually sees them. This is just garbage. I would've loved the actual fan movie, but Fox had to cancel it. I'm thoroughly disappointed with this. Expand
  67. ChadS
    Oct 17, 2008
    2
    Absolutely terrible movie. If you've played one or even part of the games, you owe it to yourself to avoid this movie as it goes completely against everything in the games. There's no action until the very end of the movie, and even the action is unrealistic and dumb. Mark Wahlberg does a terrible job as Max Payne, and nor does the rest of the cast. Overall, there's nothing Absolutely terrible movie. If you've played one or even part of the games, you owe it to yourself to avoid this movie as it goes completely against everything in the games. There's no action until the very end of the movie, and even the action is unrealistic and dumb. Mark Wahlberg does a terrible job as Max Payne, and nor does the rest of the cast. Overall, there's nothing very good about the movie. Avoid. Period. Expand
  68. MichaelS.
    Oct 17, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen. I loved the max payne video games and the storyline which is destroyed in the movie. I left feeling scammed out of my money.
  69. Ryencoke
    Oct 18, 2008
    7
    The movie itself was okay... after reading the reviews on this site I was very unsure what the hell to expect. But it was much better then I had thought. The movie had lots of plot holes and stupid points. But overall it entertained me. Could have been done much better though.
  70. ChadS.
    Oct 19, 2008
    2
    The drug use in "Max Payne" rewrites the Huey Lewis and the News song "I Want a New Drug" like this: "I want a new drug/One that won't make me see valkyries..." But valkyries, according to Norse mythology, are not the winged caterwauling bitches(they're female deities) we see in "Max Payne"; they were referee-like creatures who arbitrated battles, and determined who fought most The drug use in "Max Payne" rewrites the Huey Lewis and the News song "I Want a New Drug" like this: "I want a new drug/One that won't make me see valkyries..." But valkyries, according to Norse mythology, are not the winged caterwauling bitches(they're female deities) we see in "Max Payne"; they were referee-like creatures who arbitrated battles, and determined who fought most heroically. Presenting the valkyrie as malevolent beings is an artistic license the filmmaker takes, inspired, perhaps, by Francis Ford Coppola's use of composer Richard Wagner's "Ride of the Valkyries" in "Apocalypse Now". With the possible exception of Chuck Jones' animated short "What's Up Doc?", the 1979 film would seem to be how most people are familiar with the concept of valkyries; people like the film's screewriters, who place the shieldmaidens in an apocalyptic setting. "Max Payne" pulls a "Cujo"; the negative reimagining of the valkyrie is canny in this respect: Wagner, a confirmed anti-Semite, had his baroque music appropriated by the Nazi party; the Fuhrer himself was a big fan. In "Max Payne", U.S. soldiers ingest a drug in liquid form that desensitizes them to their enemy. In other words, these men and women are drinking the kool-aid. Our enemies, the Iraqis, are like the original incarnation of the valkyrie, transformed by government propaganda, which proposes that the Islamic faith is evil, akin to Nazism. When the valkyries attack, they do so because the winged creatures have been provoked. Expand
  71. JeffR
    Oct 19, 2008
    1
    If you haven't played the games, skip the movie and play them. If you've played them, skip the movie and play them again. In my opinion, Max Payne 2 is among the best stories told through the video game medium - haunting, funny, intriguing, and touching. This movie is none of those things.
  72. Snake
    Oct 22, 2008
    4
    This should be called Max Boredom. There's way too much story crammed in and hardly any action, and the action is pathetic anyways--barely any bullet-time or suspense. The cast and casting is horrible, though Mark Wahlberg could have been good with decent direction. Music and sound was trite. Some decent visual effects on occasion; the perpetual snow from the game was appreciated This should be called Max Boredom. There's way too much story crammed in and hardly any action, and the action is pathetic anyways--barely any bullet-time or suspense. The cast and casting is horrible, though Mark Wahlberg could have been good with decent direction. Music and sound was trite. Some decent visual effects on occasion; the perpetual snow from the game was appreciated (though it rained at some points...wtf?). The style was decent, but would have been better if true to the game's gritty cop drama noir plus more narration from Max. In summary, as far as video game remakes go, it was maybe better than Doom but not as good as Hitman. Just watch the graphic novel on Youtube instead. Expand
  73. Matt
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    Over all I enjoyed the movie, the story kept closer to the story of the game than what I had expected. The only cons in my mind is that the movie could have been about 20 more minutes longer with all 20 of those minutes being action scenes.... the girl I took to the movie with me enjoyed it as well.... or she atleast enjoyed wahlberg.
  74. KadeH.
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    I think as a whole hallywood needs to stop trying to make movies based on video games. the sodomize every franchise a little more each time one comes out. max payne is one of the best story driven games that came out on the playstation 2 system. and mark whalburg was just overall bland as max payne. milla kunis should not have been cast as i heard 3 people around me say thats jackie! this I think as a whole hallywood needs to stop trying to make movies based on video games. the sodomize every franchise a little more each time one comes out. max payne is one of the best story driven games that came out on the playstation 2 system. and mark whalburg was just overall bland as max payne. milla kunis should not have been cast as i heard 3 people around me say thats jackie! this movie was bland to say the most. the video game provided the story and the fans expect nothing less. stop straying sooooo far off that i question playing video games for fear that they will be raped and turn into a mindless pg-13 borefest. and pg-13 what? if the game is rated m (mature) make the movie r. maybe the sight of alot of blood would have livened up the movie. Expand
  75. AnttiA.
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    I personally don't understand why "they" are mocking this film. I found it personally very good. It has bad moments with camera and it has somewhat bad screenplay, but do those things matter? In the end this film made me laugh, made me cry, and most importantly made me enjoy it. What else does a good film need to do?
  76. JK
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    I expected this movie to be a disaster after reading the reviews, but still decided to go watch it, for my love of the game. And I was actually pleasantly surprised. It's not particularly smart or original, but I wasn't bored, and I loved the visual style and atmosphere. I laughed at the silly parts but was also excited at the action sequences. Yeah, it's far from being a I expected this movie to be a disaster after reading the reviews, but still decided to go watch it, for my love of the game. And I was actually pleasantly surprised. It's not particularly smart or original, but I wasn't bored, and I loved the visual style and atmosphere. I laughed at the silly parts but was also excited at the action sequences. Yeah, it's far from being a piece of art, but I had fun. Expand
  77. KeenanS.
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    To date, I have seen thirteen video game films, and this one of my least favorite of the bunch. Loved the Resident Evil films (All 4), Silent Hill, Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children, Tomb Raider films and Hitman. Those were my favorites of all of them. Unfortunately, Max Payne just feels like a lazy attempt to cash in on the game's name instead of actually doing anything remarkable. To date, I have seen thirteen video game films, and this one of my least favorite of the bunch. Loved the Resident Evil films (All 4), Silent Hill, Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children, Tomb Raider films and Hitman. Those were my favorites of all of them. Unfortunately, Max Payne just feels like a lazy attempt to cash in on the game's name instead of actually doing anything remarkable. This was a pretty dull action film, but it just managed to barely save itself from sucking. I recommend the video game films I mentioned long before I'd recommend this lazy and rather boring film. It's not bad, but it's just not that good. Too bad, especially considering Twentieth Century Fox did such a good job with Hitman. Expand
  78. MattD
    Nov 16, 2008
    3
    I still have yet to find a movie based on a video game franchise that is worth ten or so dollars paid to see it. the problem is the developers tried to hard to make it like the game.
  79. JBeanz
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Wow. This movie is crap. And before you readers say I didn't play the game, and thats why I didn't like it, I did play the video games, loved them, and hated this movie. The plot wasn't developed well enough to keep me interested, and the scenes where he used the slo-mo were not dramatic enough. This movie just sucked and I'm sad that Marky Mark had to be a part of it Wow. This movie is crap. And before you readers say I didn't play the game, and thats why I didn't like it, I did play the video games, loved them, and hated this movie. The plot wasn't developed well enough to keep me interested, and the scenes where he used the slo-mo were not dramatic enough. This movie just sucked and I'm sad that Marky Mark had to be a part of it because he is a great actor. Expand
  80. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    "Payne-ful" to watch, unwatchable if you're a fan of the videogames. I am a HUGE fan of the games, and near the beginning a scene starts to shape up like a part of the videogame. I get a little giddy...then I sit through an hour and fifteen more minutes of nonsense, insanity, not plot, terrible acting, and even mediocre action. Mark Wahlberg as the title character was the stereotypical"Payne-ful" to watch, unwatchable if you're a fan of the videogames. I am a HUGE fan of the games, and near the beginning a scene starts to shape up like a part of the videogame. I get a little giddy...then I sit through an hour and fifteen more minutes of nonsense, insanity, not plot, terrible acting, and even mediocre action. Mark Wahlberg as the title character was the stereotypical east coast detective. You could have plugged one of 50 actors into the role and gotten the same thing. As a stand alone film, it's really bad. As something with even a semblance of "inspiration" from the video games, it's even worse. Avoid this. If it's free turn it down, if it costs money, punch somebody in the face. One of the ten worst movies I've ever seen....and I've seen Glitter. Expand
  81. May 12, 2012
    2
    Worst Video game adaption i've ever seen. I'm a great fan of Max Payne Video game series and expected the movie will be thrilling too. it's cheesy,boring,horrible and atrocious.Even Mark Wahlberg didn't left any effect.Mila Kunis looked like doing a cameo. Writer messed up everything in the script. So-known slow motion sequences are way too short as compared to game. I'm very disappointed.Worst Video game adaption i've ever seen. I'm a great fan of Max Payne Video game series and expected the movie will be thrilling too. it's cheesy,boring,horrible and atrocious.Even Mark Wahlberg didn't left any effect.Mila Kunis looked like doing a cameo. Writer messed up everything in the script. So-known slow motion sequences are way too short as compared to game. I'm very disappointed. May be it will please the non-gamers a bit but for Game fans ,it's just a waste of time. Expand
  82. Sep 23, 2012
    0
    One of the worst movies i have ever seen. This movie mocks everything fans love about Max Payne, if you really want to see a movie worth seeing watch WANTED that's one bad ass movie
  83. Oct 17, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to like this movie. Unfortunately, the movie seems to chug at a very slow pace and the action scenes are way too far and few between. Even the shootdodge that Marky Mark does in the movie doesn't even look that proper. However, even without all the action, the movie does stay very true to form to the video games, as it is as dark as the games is.
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 14 out of 25
  1. Max Payne offers max pain along with min invention, and the only thing that keeps it out of the bottom of the Dumpster--it’s more of a top-of-the-Dumpster movie--is the presence of Mark Wahlberg.
  2. A banal revenge melodrama-cum-detective story, but fans of the video game on which it is based should not be alarmed.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    30
    Stylishly made, armed to the teeth and ludicrous in the extreme.