Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: October 17, 2008
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 264 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
102
Mixed:
66
Negative:
96
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JaredJFeb 20, 2009
I fail to see why this got a 5.4 when the god awefull "Hitman" got a 9.8 (or 8.9) "Hitman" had no connection with the games. "Max Payne" has everything, even right down to the snow storm. It was nice to see the voice-actor of the first game I fail to see why this got a 5.4 when the god awefull "Hitman" got a 9.8 (or 8.9) "Hitman" had no connection with the games. "Max Payne" has everything, even right down to the snow storm. It was nice to see the voice-actor of the first game play a role. I did not mind spending the $27.95 for the Unrated extended cut eddition and that came with a digital version, people these days love movies that suck and hate movies that are amazing (like this.) Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful
9
LisaBOct 15, 2008
Loved it. Great script and exciting action.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JuusoD.Nov 14, 2008
At the beginning it was strange when characters in the movie didn't look like chars in the game. The plot was good, but not perfect. I liked this movie as i liked the game, cos there was enough similarities from the game.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RichardL.Nov 17, 2008
Truly amazing!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and Truly amazing!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and he will stop at nothing to get revenge for their deaths, with that said Max Payne leads you on a roller coaster ride of thrills and non-stop action that all leads up to the shocking and explosive finale. John Moore directs a totally awesome crime thriller that won't stop amazing and shocking you till the end, Beau Bridges & Mila Kunis deliver great performances, the only weak leak in this movie is Luidacris his performance is very weak and unrealistic and very single minded and boring. Besides that It's a great Crime film. I very highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
R.L.Jan 5, 2009
Exceptional!! Max Payne is by far the best video game to screen adaption yet. After last years train wreck Hit man, Max Payne makes going to the movies cool again after all the dumb and stupid action thrillers that have come out this year, I Exceptional!! Max Payne is by far the best video game to screen adaption yet. After last years train wreck Hit man, Max Payne makes going to the movies cool again after all the dumb and stupid action thrillers that have come out this year, I found Max Payne among my favorites, It had a story and a depth of character we all can relate to in some way, Mark Whalberg play maverick cop Max Payne a cop tortured by his families murder and will do anything to get revenge for their murders. It's a truly great movie, very dark and serious & total complete fun from start to finish. I very highly recommend this movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlosV.Jan 30, 2009
Extraordinary!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and Extraordinary!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and he will stop at nothing to get revenge for their deaths, with that said Max Payne leads you on a roller coaster ride of thrills and non-stop action that all leads up to the shocking and explosive finale. John Moore directs a totally awesome crime thriller that won't stop amazing and shocking you till the end, Mark Wahlberg,Beau Bridges & Mila Kunis deliver great performances in this great Crime film. I very highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
robertashfieldJan 1, 2013
cool
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mickeyboyJan 2, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
scottissorightJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
emilypyreJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
extrafizzJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
wearetheothersJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
alliedcolaJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
aliceandersonJan 4, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ERBJun 20, 2013
Good Movie!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MikeS.Oct 11, 2008
The best game adaptation to date, and a great noir/thriller in it's own right!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RCOct 14, 2008
A great neo-noir reminiscent of 1940's B cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimA.Oct 15, 2008
Hey Chris S. Your the kind of person that everyone hates in a movie theater because they are trying to enjoy an escape from reality and you constantly interrupt them with mindless banter about how unrealistic the movie is. Its a flippin Hey Chris S. Your the kind of person that everyone hates in a movie theater because they are trying to enjoy an escape from reality and you constantly interrupt them with mindless banter about how unrealistic the movie is. Its a flippin movie. If you want real, go sign up for the police force and then you can draw up schematics on the proper way a swat team should enter a room. Hell, lets just periodically place cameras everywhere in the country and release the footage into a theater every week so we can enjoy the realism. Lord of the rings won best picture and its about a made up land. But that has to suck becuase theres no way they could climb that volcano without shoes on. I havent even seen this movie yet. I just wanted to try an erase your score because your a close minded geek with no imagination. Jesus. I feel sorry for the people that have to sit next you the next time you go see a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanS.Oct 16, 2008
I really enjoyed the film, though I admit, I was a fan of Whalberg and the game itself goiong into it. As usual, Marky mark has a good air aorund him; he takes his roles seriously, and with max, that's a huge plus. Kunis isn't too I really enjoyed the film, though I admit, I was a fan of Whalberg and the game itself goiong into it. As usual, Marky mark has a good air aorund him; he takes his roles seriously, and with max, that's a huge plus. Kunis isn't too bad, weither, though as usual, her voice can occasionally get under your skin... I was really pleased and surprised at this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergeryW.Oct 18, 2008
Read most of the reviews before seeing this and I don't understand why everyone is so bent out of shape on this film. Obviously people that will love this film played the game(s). But I think others will like it just as much if you Read most of the reviews before seeing this and I don't understand why everyone is so bent out of shape on this film. Obviously people that will love this film played the game(s). But I think others will like it just as much if you haven't. To what Chris said of Marky Mark's performance...I thought Mark did a very good job. If you want to see Mark performing badly, go see The Happening...this film definitely has him back in the right direction. This is a much grittier Wahlberg, a little like his character in The Departed, but Max Payne is very different character. Throughout this film, the director does a great job showing all sides of max, his depressed side and his vengeful side full of hate that fuels him throughout the film. As far as the video game adaptation goes, it's definitely the best one I've seen. It's faithful to the core storyline, yet is brand new in terms of how things are set up. I was a little iffy on Mila Kunis being picked for her role as Mona Sax, but she fits the role perfectly. One thing the game always lacked in Mona's character is her coldness. The game always displayed her seductiveness and her toughness, but to me it never felt like it could be realistic enough because she wasn't as cold as Max. The scene in the film where she questions Max and has him on his knees, beating him around pretty good, I thought the director did a great job showing that coldness that was common between her and Max. They both give the same looks. My expectations for this movie was high going into it from all the advertising and also my past experience playing both Max Payne 1 and 2. I was afraid it would end up like Hitman did, but it didn't thankfully. This film was as good as the game, if not better in certain elements. The bullet time was not exhausted and was used at the key times. I'm glad Max was actually shot up in shootouts he gets in, shows realism over the whole he never gets shot sort of thing we usually get in action films. The only thing I wish they did more of was show a little more connection between Mona and Max...it felt like you never quite got the story between them or much info on her, but that'll be explained more in the sequel im sure. IMPORTANT: Stay until after the credits to see an important scene that sets things up for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SergerW.Oct 18, 2008
It was probably the best video game to movie adaptation I've seen although that isn't saying much. It doesn't follow the game level for level, but it does pretty much cover the same story. They changed a few things to help It was probably the best video game to movie adaptation I've seen although that isn't saying much. It doesn't follow the game level for level, but it does pretty much cover the same story. They changed a few things to help story flow a bit better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyencokeOct 18, 2008
The movie itself was okay... after reading the reviews on this site I was very unsure what the hell to expect. But it was much better then I had thought. The movie had lots of plot holes and stupid points. But overall it entertained me. The movie itself was okay... after reading the reviews on this site I was very unsure what the hell to expect. But it was much better then I had thought. The movie had lots of plot holes and stupid points. But overall it entertained me. Could have been done much better though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
C.LawsonOct 19, 2008
What is everybody's problem with this film? I'm laughing at the critics reviews for slagging this movie as dark and depressing and with moody, expressionless characters. Anybody else who's actually played the game will know What is everybody's problem with this film? I'm laughing at the critics reviews for slagging this movie as dark and depressing and with moody, expressionless characters. Anybody else who's actually played the game will know exactly what I'm getting at here. With that thought, I've come to the conclusion that anybody who has never played the game is clearly unfit to review the film. If they had, they'd realise how ridiculous they sound for decrying as poor a movie that's stuck more closely to the plot and style of the original medium than any other video game adaptation to date. Thumbs up from me for accomplishing what has been thought impossible by gamers since Mario Brothers was released. On the downside, Mila Kunis came off as too compassionate for her character, and there wasn't nearly enough thought narrative. I always found that something that made the game quite immersing was the narrative cut scenes and novelesque metaphors used by Payne throughout the game. On the upside, the visuals are brilliant, more than enough to warrant at least a 5/10 for the sheer artistic presence on the screen. Wahlberg was great, but still too animated and lively to be the depressed and barely functional Max Payne of the game. Neverthess, a solid job. I also commend the lack of blood-letting and all out action in the film; Max Payne was always more about the plot and Payne's inner demons and personal torment than it was about gimmicky "bullet-time" and Steven Seagal gunfights. I suggest Metacritic discard any and all reviews by professional critics who haven't played the game or, more realistically, readers should disregard their comments . This is a gamer's movie and Max Payne stands head and shoulders above every game adaptation so far. Anybody who goes into the cinema expecting No Country for Old Men should instead be hoping for a solid game-to-movie adaptation, which is pulled off quite nicely here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NigleB.Oct 19, 2008
This movie must be the best adaptation from a videogame I've seen in ages. Much better than all those Ok, to be honest, they should have c&p the whole plot and script of the game and more slo-mo action sequences would have been nice but This movie must be the best adaptation from a videogame I've seen in ages. Much better than all those Ok, to be honest, they should have c&p the whole plot and script of the game and more slo-mo action sequences would have been nice but the result is viewable... No italian gangsters(vinnie gogniti, rico muerte...), no vlad, mona sax is a russian gangster instead of a gunslinger... hey! but the subway station is the roscoe streetsubway station at least! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergeryW.Oct 22, 2008
Read most of the reviews before seeing this and I don't understand why everyone is so bent out of shape on this film. Obviously people that will love this film played the game(s). But I think others will like it just as much if you Read most of the reviews before seeing this and I don't understand why everyone is so bent out of shape on this film. Obviously people that will love this film played the game(s). But I think others will like it just as much if you haven't. To what Chris said of Marky Mark's performance...I thought Mark did a very good job. If you want to see Mark performing badly, go see The Happening...this film definitely has him back in the right direction. This is a much grittier Wahlberg, a little like his character in The Departed, but Max Payne is very different character. Throughout this film, the director does a great job showing all sides of max, his depressed side and his vengeful side full of hate that fuels him throughout the film. As far as the video game adaptation goes, it's definitely the best one I've seen. It's faithful to the core storyline, yet is brand new in terms of how things are set up. I was a little iffy on Mila Kunis being picked for her role as Mona Sax, but she fits the role perfectly. One thing the game always lacked in Mona's character is her coldness. The game always displayed her seductiveness and her toughness, but to me it never felt like it could be realistic enough because she wasn't as cold as Max. The scene in the film where she questions Max and has him on his knees, beating him around pretty good, I thought the director did a great job showing that coldness that was common between her and Max. They both give the same looks. My expectations for this movie was high going into it from all the advertising and also my past experience playing both Max Payne 1 and 2. I was afraid it would end up like Hitman did, but it didn't thankfully. This film was as good as the game, if not better in certain elements. The bullet time was not exhausted and was used at the key times. I'm glad Max was actually shot up in shootouts he gets in, shows realism over the whole he never gets shot sort of thing we usually get in action films. The only thing I wish they did more of was show a little more connection between Mona and Max...it felt like you never quite got the story between them or much info on her, but that'll be explained more in the sequel im sure. IMPORTANT: Stay until after the credits to see an important scene that sets things up for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TaomanT.Oct 22, 2008
Good effects. Wahlberg and Beau Bridges act very well. Kurylenko not so much. Good action, very good special effects. The well implemented action scenes make you forgive certain plot/logic holes and cheesy dialogue. The movie delivers what Good effects. Wahlberg and Beau Bridges act very well. Kurylenko not so much. Good action, very good special effects. The well implemented action scenes make you forgive certain plot/logic holes and cheesy dialogue. The movie delivers what it promises. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KyleW.Oct 23, 2008
This was a good attempt at a Max Payne adaptation, but fell short in a few ways. Max Payne was not meant to mirror the games. It took the series in a new direction, and as long as you weren't thinking it was going to be a fast paced, This was a good attempt at a Max Payne adaptation, but fell short in a few ways. Max Payne was not meant to mirror the games. It took the series in a new direction, and as long as you weren't thinking it was going to be a fast paced, third person shooter on film instead of CGI, you would like this movie. Sure, it doesn't hold true to the Max Payne games, but it doesn't matter. If you take the movie for what it is, it's an entertaining, well written adaptation. It loses points for not including the narration that the game was famous for, and it was a bit lacking in action and back story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattOct 23, 2008
Over all I enjoyed the movie, the story kept closer to the story of the game than what I had expected. The only cons in my mind is that the movie could have been about 20 more minutes longer with all 20 of those minutes being action Over all I enjoyed the movie, the story kept closer to the story of the game than what I had expected. The only cons in my mind is that the movie could have been about 20 more minutes longer with all 20 of those minutes being action scenes.... the girl I took to the movie with me enjoyed it as well.... or she atleast enjoyed wahlberg. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergerW.Oct 23, 2008
It was probably the best video game to movie adaptation I've seen although that isn't saying much. It doesn't follow the game level for level, but it does pretty much cover the same story. They changed a few things to help It was probably the best video game to movie adaptation I've seen although that isn't saying much. It doesn't follow the game level for level, but it does pretty much cover the same story. They changed a few things to help story flow a bit better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FionUOct 24, 2008
Half the official reviews are from papers that don't even know this is based on a game and have not only never seen the game, but never even heard of it, let alone played it. 'Out Matrix the Matrix.' Someone should tell him Half the official reviews are from papers that don't even know this is based on a game and have not only never seen the game, but never even heard of it, let alone played it. 'Out Matrix the Matrix.' Someone should tell him that bullet time was part of max payne during early stages of development before Matrix was even being shot (though the game came out after Matrix did.) For a movie based off a game I thought it was perhaps the best I'd seen of the type. The story was fairly loose compared to the games and the acting was for the most part good sans a few really poorly written lines. All in all easily the best movie based on a game yet. But still not remotely as good as it could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshV.Oct 25, 2008
I never played the game, but this is the most unintentionally hilarious movie I've ever seen, never have I laughed so much at a supposed action movie, I mean, the entire ending is just Max Payne, running around, shooting people with a I never played the game, but this is the most unintentionally hilarious movie I've ever seen, never have I laughed so much at a supposed action movie, I mean, the entire ending is just Max Payne, running around, shooting people with a shotgun, and TRIPPING BALLS! with the occasional break here and there to just scream as loud as possible for a minute or two straight. Hilarious! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MelissaE.Oct 25, 2008
Critics have said this movie jumps all over the place and is too convoluted to follow. I'm not sure what they're talking about. Walberg was awesome, the plot was clear (though a little predictable) and the demons and action Critics have said this movie jumps all over the place and is too convoluted to follow. I'm not sure what they're talking about. Walberg was awesome, the plot was clear (though a little predictable) and the demons and action sequences were fun. I look forward to the next Max Payne. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnttiA.Oct 26, 2008
I personally don't understand why "they" are mocking this film. I found it personally very good. It has bad moments with camera and it has somewhat bad screenplay, but do those things matter? In the end this film made me laugh, made me I personally don't understand why "they" are mocking this film. I found it personally very good. It has bad moments with camera and it has somewhat bad screenplay, but do those things matter? In the end this film made me laugh, made me cry, and most importantly made me enjoy it. What else does a good film need to do? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JKOct 26, 2008
I expected this movie to be a disaster after reading the reviews, but still decided to go watch it, for my love of the game. And I was actually pleasantly surprised. It's not particularly smart or original, but I wasn't bored, and I expected this movie to be a disaster after reading the reviews, but still decided to go watch it, for my love of the game. And I was actually pleasantly surprised. It's not particularly smart or original, but I wasn't bored, and I loved the visual style and atmosphere. I laughed at the silly parts but was also excited at the action sequences. Yeah, it's far from being a piece of art, but I had fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CatSDec 5, 2008
Listen. This movie is not trying to be anything that it isn't. I found it highly enjoyable and very entertaining. I think that if you go see it for what it is -- a dark, gritty movie based on a video game -- then you will enjoy yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZackS.Jan 20, 2009
Max Payne is not the best movie ever im going to throw that out there. And yes it is a little slow but i highly enjoyed the movie as a whole. I recommend it to anyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnMFeb 5, 2009
After reading the critics reviews I was a little wary of renting this movie but as a Sci-Fi Fan and an avid videogamer I did enjoy it. Yes, it was a bit slow starting but I found the last 45 minutes pretty interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JorgeMJul 16, 2009
This was a good adaption from the video game. The plot was awesome it was good how they captured everything from the game, the cast was good, and the characters were okay, and the scene's were okay could of been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeusexJun 2, 2014
I love the game series. Obviously the game is much better. But I thought the movie was pretty decent. Had a good story, and dark tone that we all know and love. Could've used more action sure. And the supporting characters needed more of aI love the game series. Obviously the game is much better. But I thought the movie was pretty decent. Had a good story, and dark tone that we all know and love. Could've used more action sure. And the supporting characters needed more of a personality. But Mark Whalberg did a fine job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 1, 2016
Cheese factor is a little high on this one, but it's a decent watch, if you're looking for some noir action.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-544-Max-Payne-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews