User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 240
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CiaranB.
    Oct 17, 2008
    3
    I'm a huge fan of the video game max payne, not only dose this disappoint fans of the game, but as a movie its was poorly made, poorly filmed, and had all the cheesy cliche's of every mediocre action flick. Waste of money.
  2. eliasc
    Aug 6, 2009
    1
    A terrible adaptation of the game. Witless and confusing, and badly acted, the only saving grace for tis film is the visual style that the director uses, or more accurately, attempts to copy from the video game., However viewers will quickly tire of the monotonous use of CGI snow and rain to show us how dismal this fantasy version of New York is. Save your time and skip this one.
  3. MarkJ.
    Oct 24, 2008
    2
    I remember buying Max Payne haphazardly shopping for new titles, not expecting much. After completing it I knew it was one of the best I have ever played, voice acting quality upon which I had never heard, full of subtlety and realism. The movie however is a butchered version hardly recognizable, almost as if the logo was plastered on to it. For all of us who have actually completed the I remember buying Max Payne haphazardly shopping for new titles, not expecting much. After completing it I knew it was one of the best I have ever played, voice acting quality upon which I had never heard, full of subtlety and realism. The movie however is a butchered version hardly recognizable, almost as if the logo was plastered on to it. For all of us who have actually completed the game, the pain is far worse. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    3
    If John Woo directed this movie, there would be more action scenes than ever and the movie would have been longer. The plot in this movie does not match with the one in the original Max Payne game which winds up to be a technical flaw. An enemy as an angel with wings? That did not exist in that game.
  5. Apr 21, 2012
    2
    Definitely not worth watching if you are a fan of the videogame Max Payne. Horrible movie that is nowhere near the original game. Though i give 2 for the effort. -the-epikninja
  6. Feb 3, 2011
    3
    I loved Max Payne (video game) so there's a film! I watch the trailer and it doesn't really look like the game
    I didn't know what to expect, so I watch it and the action scenes are nice but everything else sucks. The best part is, none of it makes sense, its nothing like the game, what about the train station scene (Roscoe street station) the thugs just walk right in and want his watch.
    I loved Max Payne (video game) so there's a film! I watch the trailer and it doesn't really look like the game
    I didn't know what to expect, so I watch it and the action scenes are nice but everything else sucks. The best part is, none of it makes sense, its nothing like the game, what about the train station scene (Roscoe street station) the thugs just walk right in and want his watch. Isn't he supposed to kill them whilst they wait for the train? They've all mixed it up and the characters have a terrible roll. They even chose the wrong character that they kill in the ending. Nope, NOT Nicole Horn, someone else! I mean, how can they choose the wrong character! Skip this film, its not worth the time.
    Expand
  7. DirkD.
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    Gamers just have to face the facts . The filmmakers truly cared and respected about the game . They did try to make the game into a proper movie . There are no excuses . The people who made it although they cared about it , honestly just arent any good . Finally a game has been treated with the proper respect and care and the filmakers just arent any good . No one can be blamed . John Gamers just have to face the facts . The filmmakers truly cared and respected about the game . They did try to make the game into a proper movie . There are no excuses . The people who made it although they cared about it , honestly just arent any good . Finally a game has been treated with the proper respect and care and the filmakers just arent any good . No one can be blamed . John moore just sucks . Expand
  8. bobs.
    Jan 31, 2009
    3
    Not good. Bad plot development, bad characters, just not worth more than $1.
  9. FraserV.
    Oct 27, 2008
    3
    Stupid, stupid, stupid. Even if my brain took a holiday this is still a bad movie. Wahlberg's one note performance, a muder mystery even a fourth grader would have solved faster than the lead, oddly placed slo-mo bullet-time scenes, characters doing illogical things and popping into scenes they shouldn't be in, and a bad....BAD...plot, make this a movie that simply can not be Stupid, stupid, stupid. Even if my brain took a holiday this is still a bad movie. Wahlberg's one note performance, a muder mystery even a fourth grader would have solved faster than the lead, oddly placed slo-mo bullet-time scenes, characters doing illogical things and popping into scenes they shouldn't be in, and a bad....BAD...plot, make this a movie that simply can not be recommended. A '3' 'cause I know I've seen worse...but my brain has been assaulted with so much stupidity that I'm having trouble remembering what movies they were. Expand
  10. Ulrich
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    Just judging by the trailer this film looks really bad! I'm pretty sure there was never a flying-jeepers-creepers-type-thingy in the games! While playing the second game i remember thinking that it could make quite a good film! This however looks way too over the top just like the Hitman movie! I hope that this is a huge flop! Maybe studio execs will think twice before investing Just judging by the trailer this film looks really bad! I'm pretty sure there was never a flying-jeepers-creepers-type-thingy in the games! While playing the second game i remember thinking that it could make quite a good film! This however looks way too over the top just like the Hitman movie! I hope that this is a huge flop! Maybe studio execs will think twice before investing millions in more terrible videogame-movies!!! Expand
  11. JD
    Oct 18, 2008
    3
    If you played and liked the game Dont see this movie. Its passable as action movie but you ll be torturing yourself with too many questions like "Why no internal dialog", "Wheres the cheesy dark comedy "the game was mature why is the movie pg 13" well it simple Max Payne the movie dropped what made Max Payne the game good.
  12. BK
    Oct 18, 2008
    2
    Not good enough to warrant praise. And not bad enough to become some type of cult piece. The movie kills itself with its mediocrity. I suppose Uwe Boll has set the bar for the game-to-movie genre ridiculously low, but even by those standards, Max Payne is barely passable. The action scenes don't really work, mostly because you've been waiting far too long for them to arrive. The Not good enough to warrant praise. And not bad enough to become some type of cult piece. The movie kills itself with its mediocrity. I suppose Uwe Boll has set the bar for the game-to-movie genre ridiculously low, but even by those standards, Max Payne is barely passable. The action scenes don't really work, mostly because you've been waiting far too long for them to arrive. The man that was built up as the "super bad-guy"... well, let's just say it was anti-climactic. Beyond that, don't expect any surprises. Plot-wise, that is. The cast is a whole other story. Nelly Furtado? Really? Thankfully, she's not on screen for very long. Lt. Bravura, in the games a middle-aged, overweight white guy, is played by Ludacris. Not that he did that bad a job of it, but the choice just screams "oh right, we need at least one black guy on the good guys' team." I went in there expecting a properly cheesy film-noir voice-over and everything that comes with it, as the games had. Instead, the makers decided to take themselves and the film too seriously and, in doing so, shot themselves in the foot. Expand
  13. George
    Dec 3, 2008
    2
    This could have been so much better.
  14. Philip
    Oct 25, 2008
    1
    i'm not sure what anybody scoring this over 2 was doing while the movie was screening, but here's the truth: it's quite simply, the worst movie to come out (in theaters) in years. fan of the games or not, you will hate 95% of the movie. the writer and director should be burried alive, not only for raping Max Payne, but for further polluting the film world with another piece i'm not sure what anybody scoring this over 2 was doing while the movie was screening, but here's the truth: it's quite simply, the worst movie to come out (in theaters) in years. fan of the games or not, you will hate 95% of the movie. the writer and director should be burried alive, not only for raping Max Payne, but for further polluting the film world with another piece of cinematic excrement. all i can ask myself is, why didn't anybody involved in the movie realise what a festering turd they were making and sabotage the set, in order to save us viewers the agony of experiencing this epic FAIL! Expand
  15. JoseR.
    Oct 30, 2008
    0
    This movie is such crap that anyone who worked on it should be fired from life itself. By the way, "Brandon W" and "Sergery W" are the same person, and probably a paid shill. Their "reviews" are identical word-for-word. Same with "Jon B" and "Serger W". At least pick names that aren't obviously fake, "Serger". Is your name really Beau Thorne? You suck.
  16. ChristianC.
    Jan 23, 2009
    2
    Boring, boring, boring... This movie is a huge disappointment. Is so bad that I can't believe is based in that great game called Max Payne, and anyone who says this is better than the Hitman movie is an idiot. The plot is so lame and the acting so bad that hurts very badly any thought that a movie based in a game could be, in fact, a good movie.
  17. AMovieCritic
    Jan 25, 2009
    2
    One of the absolute worst movies I've ever seen. Couldn't have been any more disrespectful towards the game if the director had taken out a pistol and fired at the game disc during the end credits. Even setting that aside, though, the crappy movie they turned the game's brilliant storyline into is a dull police procedural with some occasionally cool visual imagery. The One of the absolute worst movies I've ever seen. Couldn't have been any more disrespectful towards the game if the director had taken out a pistol and fired at the game disc during the end credits. Even setting that aside, though, the crappy movie they turned the game's brilliant storyline into is a dull police procedural with some occasionally cool visual imagery. The acting's horrible (though Ludacris does a good job, he deserves better) and not a single character seems to even remotely resemble their game counterparts. If they at least created interesting characters out of them it would have been OKAY but nope....It's really the worst of both worlds. If they wanted to nearly totally ignore the game (as they have) they could have AT LEAST gone the "dumb route" and gave us a dumb-but-fun action movie (Paul Anderson's Resident Evil films) but instead we get a story that takes itself deadly seriously yet that's so unbelievably boring that I could hardly sit through it. Awful. Expand
  18. TomS.
    Nov 13, 2008
    0
    A huge disappointment, and totally inaccurate as far as the original games go, this movie fails at every conceivable level. An insult to anyone who is a true fan of the Max Payne series. Also, an insult to anyone who actually paid money to see it. Avoid this movie like the plague.
  19. ChrisS.
    Oct 14, 2008
    2
    First: Sorry for the bad English. Marky Mark plays badly, kunis even worse, bridges and o'donell are useless - i won't even mention that ludacris is also acting (or at least trying to). Very, very bad action movie! the story - not that i was expecting anything interesting or moving - is picked with plot holes; scenarios are wildly jumping and seem to be loosly connected and cut First: Sorry for the bad English. Marky Mark plays badly, kunis even worse, bridges and o'donell are useless - i won't even mention that ludacris is also acting (or at least trying to). Very, very bad action movie! the story - not that i was expecting anything interesting or moving - is picked with plot holes; scenarios are wildly jumping and seem to be loosly connected and cut together (god-awful cutter!). But i learned some things: 1. when armed and going into a room - shoot wildly after entering, never try to aim. (yes, just like the enemys in the game) 2. if you ever need someone to play a female russian gangster, choose someone with a 'slight' foreign accent - no one will recognize it and after a while she doesn't need to fake the accent anymore. 3. If you ever try to make a 'dark', gritty movie, don't give a s**** about different weather conditions and how they work together (snow-rain-day-night within two scenes) - just add snow in all scenes, it will work and look really good. 4. if two persons need to talk , let them get out of a car into heavy rain and start the dialog there - dramatical effects garanteed! 5. if you need to know something about norse mythology, go to a tattoo-shop and ask the tattoo artist - he knows everything about it and has lots of books at hand (everyone has, right?). 6. if your finished movie needs something to make it more - hmm, let say interesting - add random black cgi-'angels' (or valkyr or whatever they called it). People will like it altough no one knows why (transformers worked too, right). 7. if you ever capture the good, but at the same time dangerous and unpredicable leading man and want to kill him - explain first your evil plot (YES, you had to kill his woman AND child just for the sake of it - even though you were his fathers best friend), then tell your henchman to lower his weapon AND last but not least uncuff the guy to tie him with a rope. No he will NOT try to get away,no never ever... 8. THE Absolute Best Idea to put the blame on the good guy: Tie him down with a rope, put two ampullae in his pockets and claim that it was suicide. Hey - he's a cop, no one will ask questions. 9. if you are member of a SWAT Team, forget all the your Training - try to confront everything head-on, never think about to surround someone, shoot without aming and do it all the time, because even if you hit, it doesnt matter much (see below). 10. ALWAYS wear your black leather jacket - it offers protection against shotgun bullets (close range of course)! 11. If you ever jump in ice-cold water and can barely get out of it again, the best way not to freeze to death is taking a drug you've never seen before - you will be invincible after usage, hurray!!! 12. The Movie lacks Sex-Appeal? No prob - just add some amazingly hot chick (transformers, wanted?!) and let her die within the next two scenes (make sure she seduces the main character and gets undressed FIRST!) - people will remember her(see? i do) altough she is completly useless for the plot (or is she?!?!). 13. Need a brutal Bad-Guy to leave a mark? Give him a big knife, no shirt, tattoos(lots!) and let him sweat like he coming right out of a sauna. Oh, and mention that he was a brave soldier before the chemical tests made him to the uncontrollable beast that he is now (try NOT to think about bladerunners Roy Batty). 14. the best way to change a scene is letting the mentioned bad guy look dangerously after the good guy, watching his every step. Or: let him smile like he knows that he will 'win'. 15. End Credits need more attention! Add shooting weapons! Hurray! Thank god i didnt pay for the movie (press-sneak preview) If you need to watch a good AND interesting Action Movie - Go watch the Bourne Trilogy for example. Expand
  20. JohnC.
    Oct 15, 2008
    1
    Totally agree with comments below: predictable crap, style over substance - and: THIS IS NOT A NEO-FILM NOIR! It has not one single connection to a Noir!
  21. DG3
    Oct 16, 2008
    0
    I give it a zero just to counter the high votes from people who haven't even seen the movie.
  22. GilbertK
    Oct 18, 2008
    2
    It is a movie, thats needs a rating, and its a bad movie. Dont bother discuss game adaptation, or feel like game or whatever, this movie is BAD. no feel, too much slowmo, which has been done way better and a truley bad performance of Mark W who is very much acting from a screen.
  23. Joe
    Oct 18, 2008
    1
    I'll give them 1 because the special effects were mediocre, but the plot and every other aspect of the film was garbage. It took me a while to figure out who every character was, let alone their history and who was good and who was evil. The ending was completely unrealistic. He gets shot like 3 times in the heart but doesn't die. So, we're supposed to believe some magic I'll give them 1 because the special effects were mediocre, but the plot and every other aspect of the film was garbage. It took me a while to figure out who every character was, let alone their history and who was good and who was evil. The ending was completely unrealistic. He gets shot like 3 times in the heart but doesn't die. So, we're supposed to believe some magic potion made him invincible? Don't waste your money. Expand
  24. MattH.
    Oct 18, 2008
    1
    This was so boring and only 1 action scene which was only decent. Terrible movie.
  25. [Anonymous]
    Oct 19, 2008
    1
    It's one of the worst movie's I've ever seen. They took everything that made Max Payne (the game) fun and interesting, and surgically removed it, leaving a boring, un-fun, un-interesting mess behind.
  26. SHODAN
    Oct 24, 2008
    2
    How did they manage to convert a video game into a movie and actually simplify the plot? All they had to do was lift the narrative and style directly out of the game and they would have had a winner. For what reason did they change things? And why did they think it would make it better? Simple hubris?
  27. BillyW.
    Oct 26, 2008
    1
    Half way through me and my friend were so bored we started playing are you smarter than a fifth grader on my phone. Save your self ten bucks and see a movie with a real plot.
  28. DecepticonPom
    Mar 31, 2009
    0
    I'm gay and would normally drool over both Wahlberg and O'Connell but this was so bad, I converted to Christ and preyed for a power cut. It didn't come. The existence of this film and failure for me to be delivered from its agony are proof there is no higher power!
  29. RenánB
    Jul 21, 2009
    2
    One of the worst video game adaptations ever made. This flick is quite inept in so many levels.
  30. PfillipT.
    Oct 14, 2008
    3
    What we need are people who play video games and respect them to make these movies. I'm convinced that after this, Hitman, and anything by Paul W.S. Anderson that Uwe Boll's actually one of the best ones we got, and that a simple fan can do Max Payne better and would waste a lot less money and time. As a stand-alone action movie, I was still kinda bored by it. But as a fan of What we need are people who play video games and respect them to make these movies. I'm convinced that after this, Hitman, and anything by Paul W.S. Anderson that Uwe Boll's actually one of the best ones we got, and that a simple fan can do Max Payne better and would waste a lot less money and time. As a stand-alone action movie, I was still kinda bored by it. But as a fan of the Max Payne series, I was genuinely insulted. Hollywood died with Kubrick. Expand
  31. BobwickH.
    Oct 17, 2008
    0
    People who have actually played the games aren't going to like this movie because it's basically not related to them in any way but name. People who have not played the games aren't going to like this movie because it sucks.
  32. PaulH
    Oct 17, 2008
    0
    God damnit, Fox done it again. They just ruined another great idea for a movie. They keep doing the same thing over and over again with every video game movie. I wish they'd stop. After seeing this, I can say that it has hardly anything to do with the game, and is filled with overused action/love scenes that directors add in when they can't come up with anything. Plus, the God damnit, Fox done it again. They just ruined another great idea for a movie. They keep doing the same thing over and over again with every video game movie. I wish they'd stop. After seeing this, I can say that it has hardly anything to do with the game, and is filled with overused action/love scenes that directors add in when they can't come up with anything. Plus, the acting was awful. And you were hoping the monsters were just in dreams he was having, well, nope, he actually sees them. This is just garbage. I would've loved the actual fan movie, but Fox had to cancel it. I'm thoroughly disappointed with this. Expand
  33. ChadS
    Oct 17, 2008
    2
    Absolutely terrible movie. If you've played one or even part of the games, you owe it to yourself to avoid this movie as it goes completely against everything in the games. There's no action until the very end of the movie, and even the action is unrealistic and dumb. Mark Wahlberg does a terrible job as Max Payne, and nor does the rest of the cast. Overall, there's nothing Absolutely terrible movie. If you've played one or even part of the games, you owe it to yourself to avoid this movie as it goes completely against everything in the games. There's no action until the very end of the movie, and even the action is unrealistic and dumb. Mark Wahlberg does a terrible job as Max Payne, and nor does the rest of the cast. Overall, there's nothing very good about the movie. Avoid. Period. Expand
  34. MichaelS.
    Oct 17, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen. I loved the max payne video games and the storyline which is destroyed in the movie. I left feeling scammed out of my money.
  35. ChadS.
    Oct 19, 2008
    2
    The drug use in "Max Payne" rewrites the Huey Lewis and the News song "I Want a New Drug" like this: "I want a new drug/One that won't make me see valkyries..." But valkyries, according to Norse mythology, are not the winged caterwauling bitches(they're female deities) we see in "Max Payne"; they were referee-like creatures who arbitrated battles, and determined who fought most The drug use in "Max Payne" rewrites the Huey Lewis and the News song "I Want a New Drug" like this: "I want a new drug/One that won't make me see valkyries..." But valkyries, according to Norse mythology, are not the winged caterwauling bitches(they're female deities) we see in "Max Payne"; they were referee-like creatures who arbitrated battles, and determined who fought most heroically. Presenting the valkyrie as malevolent beings is an artistic license the filmmaker takes, inspired, perhaps, by Francis Ford Coppola's use of composer Richard Wagner's "Ride of the Valkyries" in "Apocalypse Now". With the possible exception of Chuck Jones' animated short "What's Up Doc?", the 1979 film would seem to be how most people are familiar with the concept of valkyries; people like the film's screewriters, who place the shieldmaidens in an apocalyptic setting. "Max Payne" pulls a "Cujo"; the negative reimagining of the valkyrie is canny in this respect: Wagner, a confirmed anti-Semite, had his baroque music appropriated by the Nazi party; the Fuhrer himself was a big fan. In "Max Payne", U.S. soldiers ingest a drug in liquid form that desensitizes them to their enemy. In other words, these men and women are drinking the kool-aid. Our enemies, the Iraqis, are like the original incarnation of the valkyrie, transformed by government propaganda, which proposes that the Islamic faith is evil, akin to Nazism. When the valkyries attack, they do so because the winged creatures have been provoked. Expand
  36. JeffR
    Oct 19, 2008
    1
    If you haven't played the games, skip the movie and play them. If you've played them, skip the movie and play them again. In my opinion, Max Payne 2 is among the best stories told through the video game medium - haunting, funny, intriguing, and touching. This movie is none of those things.
  37. KadeH.
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    I think as a whole hallywood needs to stop trying to make movies based on video games. the sodomize every franchise a little more each time one comes out. max payne is one of the best story driven games that came out on the playstation 2 system. and mark whalburg was just overall bland as max payne. milla kunis should not have been cast as i heard 3 people around me say thats jackie! this I think as a whole hallywood needs to stop trying to make movies based on video games. the sodomize every franchise a little more each time one comes out. max payne is one of the best story driven games that came out on the playstation 2 system. and mark whalburg was just overall bland as max payne. milla kunis should not have been cast as i heard 3 people around me say thats jackie! this movie was bland to say the most. the video game provided the story and the fans expect nothing less. stop straying sooooo far off that i question playing video games for fear that they will be raped and turn into a mindless pg-13 borefest. and pg-13 what? if the game is rated m (mature) make the movie r. maybe the sight of alot of blood would have livened up the movie. Expand
  38. MattD
    Nov 16, 2008
    3
    I still have yet to find a movie based on a video game franchise that is worth ten or so dollars paid to see it. the problem is the developers tried to hard to make it like the game.
  39. JBeanz
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Wow. This movie is crap. And before you readers say I didn't play the game, and thats why I didn't like it, I did play the video games, loved them, and hated this movie. The plot wasn't developed well enough to keep me interested, and the scenes where he used the slo-mo were not dramatic enough. This movie just sucked and I'm sad that Marky Mark had to be a part of it Wow. This movie is crap. And before you readers say I didn't play the game, and thats why I didn't like it, I did play the video games, loved them, and hated this movie. The plot wasn't developed well enough to keep me interested, and the scenes where he used the slo-mo were not dramatic enough. This movie just sucked and I'm sad that Marky Mark had to be a part of it because he is a great actor. Expand
  40. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    "Payne-ful" to watch, unwatchable if you're a fan of the videogames. I am a HUGE fan of the games, and near the beginning a scene starts to shape up like a part of the videogame. I get a little giddy...then I sit through an hour and fifteen more minutes of nonsense, insanity, not plot, terrible acting, and even mediocre action. Mark Wahlberg as the title character was the stereotypical"Payne-ful" to watch, unwatchable if you're a fan of the videogames. I am a HUGE fan of the games, and near the beginning a scene starts to shape up like a part of the videogame. I get a little giddy...then I sit through an hour and fifteen more minutes of nonsense, insanity, not plot, terrible acting, and even mediocre action. Mark Wahlberg as the title character was the stereotypical east coast detective. You could have plugged one of 50 actors into the role and gotten the same thing. As a stand alone film, it's really bad. As something with even a semblance of "inspiration" from the video games, it's even worse. Avoid this. If it's free turn it down, if it costs money, punch somebody in the face. One of the ten worst movies I've ever seen....and I've seen Glitter. Expand
  41. May 12, 2012
    2
    Worst Video game adaption i've ever seen. I'm a great fan of Max Payne Video game series and expected the movie will be thrilling too. it's cheesy,boring,horrible and atrocious.Even Mark Wahlberg didn't left any effect.Mila Kunis looked like doing a cameo. Writer messed up everything in the script. So-known slow motion sequences are way too short as compared to game. I'm very disappointed.Worst Video game adaption i've ever seen. I'm a great fan of Max Payne Video game series and expected the movie will be thrilling too. it's cheesy,boring,horrible and atrocious.Even Mark Wahlberg didn't left any effect.Mila Kunis looked like doing a cameo. Writer messed up everything in the script. So-known slow motion sequences are way too short as compared to game. I'm very disappointed. May be it will please the non-gamers a bit but for Game fans ,it's just a waste of time. Expand
  42. Sep 23, 2012
    0
    One of the worst movies i have ever seen. This movie mocks everything fans love about Max Payne, if you really want to see a movie worth seeing watch WANTED that's one bad ass movie
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 14 out of 25
  1. Max Payne offers max pain along with min invention, and the only thing that keeps it out of the bottom of the Dumpster--it’s more of a top-of-the-Dumpster movie--is the presence of Mark Wahlberg.
  2. A banal revenge melodrama-cum-detective story, but fans of the video game on which it is based should not be alarmed.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    30
    Stylishly made, armed to the teeth and ludicrous in the extreme.