Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: October 17, 2008
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 265 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
66
Negative:
96
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
CiaranB.Oct 17, 2008
I'm a huge fan of the video game max payne, not only dose this disappoint fans of the game, but as a movie its was poorly made, poorly filmed, and had all the cheesy cliche's of every mediocre action flick. Waste of money.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MarkJ.Oct 24, 2008
I remember buying Max Payne haphazardly shopping for new titles, not expecting much. After completing it I knew it was one of the best I have ever played, voice acting quality upon which I had never heard, full of subtlety and realism. The I remember buying Max Payne haphazardly shopping for new titles, not expecting much. After completing it I knew it was one of the best I have ever played, voice acting quality upon which I had never heard, full of subtlety and realism. The movie however is a butchered version hardly recognizable, almost as if the logo was plastered on to it. For all of us who have actually completed the game, the pain is far worse. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
eliascAug 6, 2009
A terrible adaptation of the game. Witless and confusing, and badly acted, the only saving grace for tis film is the visual style that the director uses, or more accurately, attempts to copy from the video game., However viewers will quickly A terrible adaptation of the game. Witless and confusing, and badly acted, the only saving grace for tis film is the visual style that the director uses, or more accurately, attempts to copy from the video game., However viewers will quickly tire of the monotonous use of CGI snow and rain to show us how dismal this fantasy version of New York is. Save your time and skip this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
jwt7000Oct 24, 2011
If John Woo directed this movie, there would be more action scenes than ever and the movie would have been longer. The plot in this movie does not match with the one in the original Max Payne game which winds up to be a technical flaw. AnIf John Woo directed this movie, there would be more action scenes than ever and the movie would have been longer. The plot in this movie does not match with the one in the original Max Payne game which winds up to be a technical flaw. An enemy as an angel with wings? That did not exist in that game. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
the-epikninjaApr 21, 2012
Definitely not worth watching if you are a fan of the videogame Max Payne. Horrible movie that is nowhere near the original game. Though i give 2 for the effort. -the-epikninja
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
DalekFeb 3, 2011
I loved Max Payne (video game) so there's a film! I watch the trailer and it doesn't really look like the game
I didn't know what to expect, so I watch it and the action scenes are nice but everything else sucks. The best part is, none of it
I loved Max Payne (video game) so there's a film! I watch the trailer and it doesn't really look like the game
I didn't know what to expect, so I watch it and the action scenes are nice but everything else sucks. The best part is, none of it makes sense, its nothing like the game, what about the train station scene (Roscoe street station) the thugs just walk right in and want his watch. Isn't he supposed to kill them whilst they wait for the train? They've all mixed it up and the characters have a terrible roll. They even chose the wrong character that they kill in the ending. Nope, NOT Nicole Horn, someone else! I mean, how can they choose the wrong character! Skip this film, its not worth the time.
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
JaredJFeb 20, 2009
I fail to see why this got a 5.4 when the god awefull "Hitman" got a 9.8 (or 8.9) "Hitman" had no connection with the games. "Max Payne" has everything, even right down to the snow storm. It was nice to see the voice-actor of the first game I fail to see why this got a 5.4 when the god awefull "Hitman" got a 9.8 (or 8.9) "Hitman" had no connection with the games. "Max Payne" has everything, even right down to the snow storm. It was nice to see the voice-actor of the first game play a role. I did not mind spending the $27.95 for the Unrated extended cut eddition and that came with a digital version, people these days love movies that suck and hate movies that are amazing (like this.) Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful
5
NeilJ.Oct 14, 2008
May end up being the best video game movie, which isn't saying a lot, of course. And it's too modern-looking; if it were my movie to shoot, it clearly would have had a dash of self-conscious camp and noir, perhaps something like May end up being the best video game movie, which isn't saying a lot, of course. And it's too modern-looking; if it were my movie to shoot, it clearly would have had a dash of self-conscious camp and noir, perhaps something like Sin City; Max Payne appears to take itself seriously, and it never read Raymond Chandler. And I'm not sure what the 'demons' are all about, other than some attempt to appeal to the current taste for dark zombie-horror stuff. It's also worth noting that this trailer is not the original one that was released a month or two ago; the sheer badness of Ludacris and the Police Chief have been removed from this version. My guess is that it will garner a 5 metascore when the film critics and the glossy mag scribblers are done with it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LisaBOct 15, 2008
Loved it. Great script and exciting action.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DirkD.Oct 17, 2008
Gamers just have to face the facts . The filmmakers truly cared and respected about the game . They did try to make the game into a proper movie . There are no excuses . The people who made it although they cared about it , honestly just Gamers just have to face the facts . The filmmakers truly cared and respected about the game . They did try to make the game into a proper movie . There are no excuses . The people who made it although they cared about it , honestly just arent any good . Finally a game has been treated with the proper respect and care and the filmakers just arent any good . No one can be blamed . John moore just sucks . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ChrisGOct 19, 2008
As a movie in general , great, but as a max payne video game movie , story line is butchered. Some characters just arent what they are supposed to be , some MAJOR characters are left out , those of you who have seen it will know what im As a movie in general , great, but as a max payne video game movie , story line is butchered. Some characters just arent what they are supposed to be , some MAJOR characters are left out , those of you who have seen it will know what im talking about. And alot of stuff not even remotely close to game was put in. I do give them credit for nicole horne , for a second i really thought it was her. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NoorDimashkOct 26, 2008
Slightly above average movie. The concept is amazing, the execution is close to terrible. But it's not a complete disaster.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JuusoD.Nov 14, 2008
At the beginning it was strange when characters in the movie didn't look like chars in the game. The plot was good, but not perfect. I liked this movie as i liked the game, cos there was enough similarities from the game.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RichardL.Nov 17, 2008
Truly amazing!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and Truly amazing!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and he will stop at nothing to get revenge for their deaths, with that said Max Payne leads you on a roller coaster ride of thrills and non-stop action that all leads up to the shocking and explosive finale. John Moore directs a totally awesome crime thriller that won't stop amazing and shocking you till the end, Beau Bridges & Mila Kunis deliver great performances, the only weak leak in this movie is Luidacris his performance is very weak and unrealistic and very single minded and boring. Besides that It's a great Crime film. I very highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
R.L.Jan 5, 2009
Exceptional!! Max Payne is by far the best video game to screen adaption yet. After last years train wreck Hit man, Max Payne makes going to the movies cool again after all the dumb and stupid action thrillers that have come out this year, I Exceptional!! Max Payne is by far the best video game to screen adaption yet. After last years train wreck Hit man, Max Payne makes going to the movies cool again after all the dumb and stupid action thrillers that have come out this year, I found Max Payne among my favorites, It had a story and a depth of character we all can relate to in some way, Mark Whalberg play maverick cop Max Payne a cop tortured by his families murder and will do anything to get revenge for their murders. It's a truly great movie, very dark and serious & total complete fun from start to finish. I very highly recommend this movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Jan 18, 2009
Surprisingly tame and the pacing is too slow. It was very good visually, good cinematography and the atmosphere is effective. Too much of the film is hard to follow and makes no sense. Stylish, almost overly so.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlosV.Jan 30, 2009
Extraordinary!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and Extraordinary!! Max Payne is one of the best video game to screen adaption yet. I highly enjoyed this dark and gritty crime thriller, Mark Whalberg does an amazing job as Max Payne a cop haunted and tormented by his family's murder and he will stop at nothing to get revenge for their deaths, with that said Max Payne leads you on a roller coaster ride of thrills and non-stop action that all leads up to the shocking and explosive finale. John Moore directs a totally awesome crime thriller that won't stop amazing and shocking you till the end, Mark Wahlberg,Beau Bridges & Mila Kunis deliver great performances in this great Crime film. I very highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
bobs.Jan 31, 2009
Not good. Bad plot development, bad characters, just not worth more than $1.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
robertashfieldJan 1, 2013
cool
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mickeyboyJan 2, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
fukdapoliceJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
cweylandJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
tylernortonJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
flubertubertubeJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
scottissorightJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
emilypyreJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
extrafizzJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
wearetheothersJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
alliedcolaJan 3, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
aliceandersonJan 4, 2013
epic
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews