Max Payne

Max Payne Image
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 259 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Max Payne is a maverick cop - a mythic anti-hero - determined to track down those responsible for the brutal murders of his family and partner. Hell-bent on revenge, his obsessive investigation takes him on a nightmare journey into a dark underworld. As the mystery deepens, Max is forced toMax Payne is a maverick cop - a mythic anti-hero - determined to track down those responsible for the brutal murders of his family and partner. Hell-bent on revenge, his obsessive investigation takes him on a nightmare journey into a dark underworld. As the mystery deepens, Max is forced to battle enemies beyond the natural world and face an unthinkable betrayal. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 14 out of 25
  1. A dumb film with a great conceptual hook from a director who visualizes better than he dramatizes.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    50
    At least in a video game the player decides who needs to be killed, and what trail to take in the labyrinth. The Max Payne moviegoers are passive hostages on a long ride they've taken so many times before.
  3. 50
    The film provides ample opportunity to attack the MPAA's hypocrisy. Max Payne is a bloodbath, yet it manages a PG-13 rating by keeping the explicitness of the killings just a whisker shy of what would be necessary for an R.
  4. 38
    What kills Max Payne is that the characters think and feel in slow motion. Half the time, mentally, they're just running in place.
  5. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    30
    Stylishly made, armed to the teeth and ludicrous in the extreme.
  6. Max Payne offers max pain along with min invention, and the only thing that keeps it out of the bottom of the Dumpster--it’s more of a top-of-the-Dumpster movie--is the presence of Mark Wahlberg.
  7. The story has more holes than a shot-up metal door, the acting feels bored at best, and the intermittent action, while passable, hardly makes up for the downtime.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 110
  2. Negative: 44 out of 110
  1. JaredJ
    Feb 20, 2009
    10
    I fail to see why this got a 5.4 when the god awefull "Hitman" got a 9.8 (or 8.9) "Hitman" had no connection with the games. "Max Payne" has I fail to see why this got a 5.4 when the god awefull "Hitman" got a 9.8 (or 8.9) "Hitman" had no connection with the games. "Max Payne" has everything, even right down to the snow storm. It was nice to see the voice-actor of the first game play a role. I did not mind spending the $27.95 for the Unrated extended cut eddition and that came with a digital version, people these days love movies that suck and hate movies that are amazing (like this.) Expand
  2. JoshV.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I never played the game, but this is the most unintentionally hilarious movie I've ever seen, never have I laughed so much at a supposed I never played the game, but this is the most unintentionally hilarious movie I've ever seen, never have I laughed so much at a supposed action movie, I mean, the entire ending is just Max Payne, running around, shooting people with a shotgun, and TRIPPING BALLS! with the occasional break here and there to just scream as loud as possible for a minute or two straight. Hilarious! Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2016
    8
    Cheese factor is a little high on this one, but it's a decent watch, if you're looking for some noir action.

    Watch it here for free:
    Cheese factor is a little high on this one, but it's a decent watch, if you're looking for some noir action.

    Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-544-Max-Payne-online-free
    Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2014
    5
    I saw the movie before I learned about the video game. The Movie took a different spin that was less effective than the video game. ThenI saw the movie before I learned about the video game. The Movie took a different spin that was less effective than the video game. Then again, I am not sure they've made any movies based on video games that were a real success. That being said, I still think this one falls on the higher end of those films. Although it lacked the grit and murky attitude the video game had, the story structure and dialogue could have been much worse. Lets be grateful. Marc W. was an interesting pick as Max Payne, and I think he delivered something with substance. Could a different actor do better, possibly a few, I thought he lacked that inner strife and just hollow feel that drives Max, I don't feel like Max is a mess and doesn't care and wants to die because he has nothing but revenge on his mind. I feel like that still mostly could be the director's and story's fault. Max Payne should have had a more epic intro than "leave that man alone". I also think Mila Kunis was an attention cast rather than a talent cast, not to mention Luda. Her character lacked the hate and aggression needed to believe she was a mafia member...not her strength. This movie could have been great. Revenge stories always have potential, the flaws are notable but I think this one managed to crutch along and not be a failure. Just not much more than that. Expand
  5. CiaranB.
    Oct 17, 2008
    3
    I'm a huge fan of the video game max payne, not only dose this disappoint fans of the game, but as a movie its was poorly made, poorly I'm a huge fan of the video game max payne, not only dose this disappoint fans of the game, but as a movie its was poorly made, poorly filmed, and had all the cheesy cliche's of every mediocre action flick. Waste of money. Collapse
  6. ChristianC.
    Jan 23, 2009
    2
    Boring, boring, boring... This movie is a huge disappointment. Is so bad that I can't believe is based in that great game called Max Boring, boring, boring... This movie is a huge disappointment. Is so bad that I can't believe is based in that great game called Max Payne, and anyone who says this is better than the Hitman movie is an idiot. The plot is so lame and the acting so bad that hurts very badly any thought that a movie based in a game could be, in fact, a good movie. Expand
  7. DG3
    Oct 16, 2008
    0
    I give it a zero just to counter the high votes from people who haven't even seen the movie.

See all 110 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 22 Truly Terrible Video Game Movies, Ranked

    22 Truly Terrible Video Game Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: April 26, 2016
    We rank 22 movies based on videogames from bad to slightly less bad.
  2. 24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget

    24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget Image
    Published: April 25, 2016
    Even good actors have a few duds on their resumes. We look at 24 highly forgettable roles from some of Hollywood's biggest stars.
  3. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.
  4. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  7. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.