Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: November 25, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
8
Negative:
0
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
BairdoSep 22, 2010
Yeah yeah, "magic of the theater" and all that. Too much "Me" and not enough "Orson Welles". No offence to Zac Efron (look, I spelled his name right, there's no k in Zac), but.....yeah ok, a little bit of offence to Zac Efron. Not because ofYeah yeah, "magic of the theater" and all that. Too much "Me" and not enough "Orson Welles". No offence to Zac Efron (look, I spelled his name right, there's no k in Zac), but.....yeah ok, a little bit of offence to Zac Efron. Not because of his acting, but because I yawned like I had two beers in me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DeathrompApr 1, 2011
The bone-deep understanding that your life is so utterly without meaning. That simply to survive you have to reinvent yourself. Because if people canâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RichardE.Jan 4, 2010
This might not be true for users, but some of the professional critics seem to have missed the irony of Welles's anti-fascist _Caesar_ being staged by a guy who gleeful acted like an autocrat. Maybe too many Americans accept the This might not be true for users, but some of the professional critics seem to have missed the irony of Welles's anti-fascist _Caesar_ being staged by a guy who gleeful acted like an autocrat. Maybe too many Americans accept the Romantic idea of the director as The Artist as Hero and allow him Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EdwardK.Dec 26, 2009
A very entertaining movie, but not a great one. How I would have loved to have seen Welles's production of Caesar, however!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyBDec 7, 2009
Watch this movie just for Christian MacKay, who plays a demented Orson Welles that will shock you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WilsonS.Dec 27, 2009
Too self-consciously a period piece, but pleasant enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CitizenCharlieMay 5, 2011
Who had the larger ego, Orson Welles or Julius Caesar? I have heard about the legendary Orson Welles ego and the film â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaAug 24, 2012
Once again Linklater proves that he can direct anything. This film is charming and entertaining. It works as a period piece, a biopic of orson welles and a coming of age story as well as a drama. Every aspect and genre in the film worksOnce again Linklater proves that he can direct anything. This film is charming and entertaining. It works as a period piece, a biopic of orson welles and a coming of age story as well as a drama. Every aspect and genre in the film works extremely well. This film is made with so much skill it is astounding. Christian Mckay blew me away with his subtle nuances as Orson Welles. The only time the film kind of faltered for me was it's climax which is the play itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DukeJonApr 7, 2013
An enjoyable film packed full of great performances and interesting characters. Unfortunately Zac Efron, who plays the main character, is a very poor actor and he goes a long way in dragging the film down. If they had cast a better actor inAn enjoyable film packed full of great performances and interesting characters. Unfortunately Zac Efron, who plays the main character, is a very poor actor and he goes a long way in dragging the film down. If they had cast a better actor in his part this film would have been a lot better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews