User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 144
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArielG.
    Mar 13, 2006
    3
    I decided to watch this, on the strength of the great reviews that it had gotten. It was a fairly average movie, that was totally overhyped. I normally love arthouse movies, films that are different and a breath of fresh air to what is usually churned out by the big Hollywood machines, but I just didn't like this movie. I was very disappointed. I do believe that Miranda July has I decided to watch this, on the strength of the great reviews that it had gotten. It was a fairly average movie, that was totally overhyped. I normally love arthouse movies, films that are different and a breath of fresh air to what is usually churned out by the big Hollywood machines, but I just didn't like this movie. I was very disappointed. I do believe that Miranda July has talent, but she didn't seem to show it in this movie. Every movie needs to have some sort of message, or moral, or point, or even just a plot - This movie didn't seem to have either. It just seemed to trudge along at a snail's pace and try to win over the audience with contrived cuteness, weirdness, or forced quirkiness. None of the characters were likeable or even memorable, and it seemed like most of the scenes only worked as individual scenes, and didn't advance the movie as a whole. The music was good though. If you're looking for a great arthouse movie, look elsewhere, because you won't find it in this movie. Expand
  2. JamesC.
    Jul 30, 2005
    2
    A bricolage of tricks and scenes from other and much better cutesy-only-love-matters films. Amateurish, sloppy, tired, and Miranda July is the incarnation of self-indulgence, complacency, and self-love.
  3. MelissaP
    Nov 1, 2005
    0
    This movie ranks at the top of the worst films I have ever seen! I kept waiting for it to get better but unfortunately it never did. Andy M was right, the movie was boring. Sure it's original, and there is a reason....the world can't take another movie like this! Please Miranda July, in our contemporary world, figure out how to build a time machine so I can get back the 90 This movie ranks at the top of the worst films I have ever seen! I kept waiting for it to get better but unfortunately it never did. Andy M was right, the movie was boring. Sure it's original, and there is a reason....the world can't take another movie like this! Please Miranda July, in our contemporary world, figure out how to build a time machine so I can get back the 90 minutes I wasted watching this film! Expand
  4. MishaH
    Nov 1, 2005
    1
    Amazing! Not the film, the reviews. I can't believe that so many people liked this film. It is not often that I feel such disgust after watching a movie, and believe me it takes a lot. Someone please tell me what the hype is all about! If this is "an impressive look at how society deals with change", count me out. I'd rather stay behind than be subjected to a socitey where Amazing! Not the film, the reviews. I can't believe that so many people liked this film. It is not often that I feel such disgust after watching a movie, and believe me it takes a lot. Someone please tell me what the hype is all about! If this is "an impressive look at how society deals with change", count me out. I'd rather stay behind than be subjected to a socitey where perverts leave pornographic messages for teenage girls on the window of their front lawn. By the way, six year olds don't have sexual fantasies....they barely understand what sex is! I'm no prude but this film left me feeling dirty AND dissatisfied! If you are going to use sex to sell a film make it sexy not perverted! The entire plot (if you can call it a plot) is absurd! Have you heard the term "trying too hard". The characters were so overdone! The whole group including the director, characters and raving critics should be committed to the nearest mental hospital! Expand
  5. AndyM
    Oct 20, 2005
    1
    Here 'offbeat' means 'so missing the beat that it doesn't work'. This movie is boring (as in, there's no meaningful plot or interesting characters), the characters are difficult to watch, and the dialogue is written by a mental patient. The only somewhat funny parts revolve around pedophelia. This is this year's 'Sideways', to me it's Here 'offbeat' means 'so missing the beat that it doesn't work'. This movie is boring (as in, there's no meaningful plot or interesting characters), the characters are difficult to watch, and the dialogue is written by a mental patient. The only somewhat funny parts revolve around pedophelia. This is this year's 'Sideways', to me it's boring and overhyped, but other people seem to like it (you can't pay off that many critics...can you?). So do as you will. Expand
  6. NicoleZ
    Aug 21, 2005
    2
    Incredibly pretentious and precious.
  7. nickr.
    Aug 23, 2005
    3
    Sort of watchable, but essentially flawed. Lacking in plot and character development - I didn't realte to any of them. The worst aspect of this film was the pretentiousness, the self-indulgence, trying far to hard to be quirky. It sort of reminded me of the character of "I'm so quirky" Phoebe from Friends. There's being arty and then there's random bollocks. This film Sort of watchable, but essentially flawed. Lacking in plot and character development - I didn't realte to any of them. The worst aspect of this film was the pretentiousness, the self-indulgence, trying far to hard to be quirky. It sort of reminded me of the character of "I'm so quirky" Phoebe from Friends. There's being arty and then there's random bollocks. This film falls into the latter category. Expand
  8. N.R.Marcus
    Oct 15, 2005
    2
    This movie was sappy, strange and made no point. Waste of time.
  9. garyc
    Oct 16, 2005
    2
    Horribly pretentious, this movie presents an assortment of disturbed characters acting in ways that defy belief. It appears to be attempting to be artsy without succeeeding in the least.
  10. VicenteT
    Dec 5, 2005
    0
    Am I living on another planet? Why are so many people so in love with this film? I'm trying to think of a single positive thing to do say about it. I guess Miranda July is cute...but does she think she's the Second Coming? If it's a satire on the "quirky" genre, it succeeds! Unfortunately, it seems to take itself seriously. I walked out before the ending. Tell me, does she Am I living on another planet? Why are so many people so in love with this film? I'm trying to think of a single positive thing to do say about it. I guess Miranda July is cute...but does she think she's the Second Coming? If it's a satire on the "quirky" genre, it succeeds! Unfortunately, it seems to take itself seriously. I walked out before the ending. Tell me, does she end it with some miraculous insight into human nature that I could only get after watching an hour of Oprah? Expand
  11. DanaM.
    Jul 14, 2005
    2
    Should have been titled "One flew over the Cookoo's nest 2". I've never seen a movie with more oddball characters. This movie has no plot whatsoever. If your idea of fun is to watch two early teenage girls perfom oral sex on a twelve year old then this is the movie for you. Don't bother.
  12. AlbertN.
    Jul 14, 2005
    1
    The worst film I've seen in years. Disgusting, pointless, not in the least bit funny.
  13. jacks.
    Jul 16, 2005
    1
    I went with my wife and two friends. We all hated it!!!!
  14. jane
    Aug 21, 2005
    1
    A truly terrible film, with roots in the narcissism, hipster cliches and shoddy craft of performance "art". The fact that people like Miranda July get into the Whitney and manage to find film financing is a measure of the impoverishment of official culture in this country. Bad art is forgiveable, but this film has none of the attributes -- focus, high intelligence, craft -- which A truly terrible film, with roots in the narcissism, hipster cliches and shoddy craft of performance "art". The fact that people like Miranda July get into the Whitney and manage to find film financing is a measure of the impoverishment of official culture in this country. Bad art is forgiveable, but this film has none of the attributes -- focus, high intelligence, craft -- which distinguish the arts from TV culture. Expand
  15. DeliaJ.
    Sep 13, 2005
    1
    Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and don't know the rudiments of Western culture and art, or what distinguishes good from bad. Ah, Miranda July, savoir and genuius. The muses are weeping....
  16. MattF
    Jan 10, 2006
    1
    To help alleviate David P's anger of seeing a couple zeros, I will gladly bestow this piece of poop a reasonable 1. I never, ever connected with this, as much as I wanted to. Boring, pretentious, calculated beyond help and so consciously "hip" it sort of makes me want to die. Terrible film. This faux-thoughtful pretentious trendy pap needs to stooooop.
  17. BrentS
    Jan 10, 2006
    2
    Quirky enough to gag on, with Miranda July playing the most irritating character I've ever seen in a film. I had no expectations before seeing it, and tried to remain optimistic as the awkward dialogue, unrelatable characters and consciously eccentric scenes piled up, but the pile obscured any positive aspects by the end of the movie.
  18. paulF
    Nov 16, 2005
    3
    Pretentious to the point of laughable. I can't even fathom what people see in a film that feels so contrived, so full of "hey, this little daily life moment is profound! And here is how!" The movie script writes this junk in the dialogue, instead of letting profound, genuine human moments just happen. Smart? I call B.S., it wears everything on its sleeve like an EMO's patchedup Pretentious to the point of laughable. I can't even fathom what people see in a film that feels so contrived, so full of "hey, this little daily life moment is profound! And here is how!" The movie script writes this junk in the dialogue, instead of letting profound, genuine human moments just happen. Smart? I call B.S., it wears everything on its sleeve like an EMO's patchedup backpack. Expand
  19. MB
    Oct 15, 2005
    2
    No one in the movie ever talked like a normal person.
  20. ChelseaD
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    What an awful movie, I rented it and couldn't even sit through it until the end. I love movies that different from the schlock that Hollywood puts out, but this one was obviously different just for the sake of being different. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
  21. ZachRH
    Jul 17, 2005
    0
    "Me and You and Everyone We Know" is the stupidest movie I have ever seen. And I have a very high tolerance for stupid movies. The biggest shame is that Miranda July wastes talented actors (including herself) on an infinitely random, pointless, meaningless, and ultimately, silly script with ideas seemingly pulled at random from a hat. There is no point to this movie, and those who venture "Me and You and Everyone We Know" is the stupidest movie I have ever seen. And I have a very high tolerance for stupid movies. The biggest shame is that Miranda July wastes talented actors (including herself) on an infinitely random, pointless, meaningless, and ultimately, silly script with ideas seemingly pulled at random from a hat. There is no point to this movie, and those who venture to find one are pulling ideas out of there asses. Also, the film contains a series of pedophilic encounters that are completely unneccessary and disturbing as hell. Miranda July is a performance artist, and nowadays almost anything can be considered art. This film has no reedeeming qualities in the end, and is praised by some only because of the pedigree of its filmmaker, and the increasing stupidity of the things people call art. Expand
  22. JayE.
    Jul 18, 2005
    2
    When Ms. July, an apparently lonely, struggling "performance artist" decided to put herself and her nasty, immature sexual fantasies on film, who would have guessed the tasteless and embarrassing result would be lionized by the critics?
  23. jaym
    Jul 29, 2005
    1
    An utterly self-conscious and mannered exercise, which reflects the cannibalization of culture by ambitious but talentless middle-class kids, who should be earning a decent living somewhere instead instead of insulting the arts with absurdly literal exercises in narrative.
  24. AndrewS
    Aug 13, 2005
    1
    This is the voice of a sophomoric filmmaker not yet in a position to speak on the matters which this film attempts to address. Extremely immature and unoriginal (she employs basic film school tactics to invoke "emotion"), and her symbolist characters don't so much interact and develop as they serve demonstratively to validate Ms. July's one-dimensional vision of humanity. Quite This is the voice of a sophomoric filmmaker not yet in a position to speak on the matters which this film attempts to address. Extremely immature and unoriginal (she employs basic film school tactics to invoke "emotion"), and her symbolist characters don't so much interact and develop as they serve demonstratively to validate Ms. July's one-dimensional vision of humanity. Quite possibly the worst new film I've seen this decade. Expand
  25. ChrisB.
    Jan 14, 2007
    0
    Crap. Shows the void that contemporary art is dominated by.
  26. StevenF.
    Jun 11, 2007
    0
    Quite possibly the single most pretentious movie ever made. I cannot stand quirkiness. It is too often substituted for character development (see Zach Braff films for ample examples), and in this film goes all-out with a bombardment of forced cuteness and make-believe enlightenment that makes one retch instead of even being mildly interested. Since when has putting nylons on a Quite possibly the single most pretentious movie ever made. I cannot stand quirkiness. It is too often substituted for character development (see Zach Braff films for ample examples), and in this film goes all-out with a bombardment of forced cuteness and make-believe enlightenment that makes one retch instead of even being mildly interested. Since when has putting nylons on a character's ears or having her touch stickers substituted for character development? Never, that's when. And then there was the little girl who collected for a dowry, which I guess was supposed to be a statement about womanhood, but was instead just annoying. Utterly abhorrently pretentious filmmaking of the worst kind. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. These characters are touching and sympathetic to the extent that they're lonely, and that's what most of them are most of the time.
  2. Reviewed by: Daniel Wible
    70
    A real treasure in the guise of yet another Sundance dramedy.
  3. 88
    Performance artist Miranda July hits a grand slam as the writer, director and star of her first film. It's a moonbeam romance laced with startling wit and gravity.