IFC Films | Release Date: June 17, 2005
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 107 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
9
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ArielG.Mar 13, 2006
I decided to watch this, on the strength of the great reviews that it had gotten. It was a fairly average movie, that was totally overhyped. I normally love arthouse movies, films that are different and a breath of fresh air to what is I decided to watch this, on the strength of the great reviews that it had gotten. It was a fairly average movie, that was totally overhyped. I normally love arthouse movies, films that are different and a breath of fresh air to what is usually churned out by the big Hollywood machines, but I just didn't like this movie. I was very disappointed. I do believe that Miranda July has talent, but she didn't seem to show it in this movie. Every movie needs to have some sort of message, or moral, or point, or even just a plot - This movie didn't seem to have either. It just seemed to trudge along at a snail's pace and try to win over the audience with contrived cuteness, weirdness, or forced quirkiness. None of the characters were likeable or even memorable, and it seemed like most of the scenes only worked as individual scenes, and didn't advance the movie as a whole. The music was good though. If you're looking for a great arthouse movie, look elsewhere, because you won't find it in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MelissaPNov 1, 2005
This movie ranks at the top of the worst films I have ever seen! I kept waiting for it to get better but unfortunately it never did. Andy M was right, the movie was boring. Sure it's original, and there is a reason....the world This movie ranks at the top of the worst films I have ever seen! I kept waiting for it to get better but unfortunately it never did. Andy M was right, the movie was boring. Sure it's original, and there is a reason....the world can't take another movie like this! Please Miranda July, in our contemporary world, figure out how to build a time machine so I can get back the 90 minutes I wasted watching this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MishaHNov 1, 2005
Amazing! Not the film, the reviews. I can't believe that so many people liked this film. It is not often that I feel such disgust after watching a movie, and believe me it takes a lot. Someone please tell me what the hype is all about! Amazing! Not the film, the reviews. I can't believe that so many people liked this film. It is not often that I feel such disgust after watching a movie, and believe me it takes a lot. Someone please tell me what the hype is all about! If this is "an impressive look at how society deals with change", count me out. I'd rather stay behind than be subjected to a socitey where perverts leave pornographic messages for teenage girls on the window of their front lawn. By the way, six year olds don't have sexual fantasies....they barely understand what sex is! I'm no prude but this film left me feeling dirty AND dissatisfied! If you are going to use sex to sell a film make it sexy not perverted! The entire plot (if you can call it a plot) is absurd! Have you heard the term "trying too hard". The characters were so overdone! The whole group including the director, characters and raving critics should be committed to the nearest mental hospital! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndyMOct 20, 2005
Here 'offbeat' means 'so missing the beat that it doesn't work'. This movie is boring (as in, there's no meaningful plot or interesting characters), the characters are difficult to watch, and the dialogue is Here 'offbeat' means 'so missing the beat that it doesn't work'. This movie is boring (as in, there's no meaningful plot or interesting characters), the characters are difficult to watch, and the dialogue is written by a mental patient. The only somewhat funny parts revolve around pedophelia. This is this year's 'Sideways', to me it's boring and overhyped, but other people seem to like it (you can't pay off that many critics...can you?). So do as you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
nickr.Aug 23, 2005
Sort of watchable, but essentially flawed. Lacking in plot and character development - I didn't realte to any of them. The worst aspect of this film was the pretentiousness, the self-indulgence, trying far to hard to be quirky. It sort Sort of watchable, but essentially flawed. Lacking in plot and character development - I didn't realte to any of them. The worst aspect of this film was the pretentiousness, the self-indulgence, trying far to hard to be quirky. It sort of reminded me of the character of "I'm so quirky" Phoebe from Friends. There's being arty and then there's random bollocks. This film falls into the latter category. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
N.R.MarcusOct 15, 2005
This movie was sappy, strange and made no point. Waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
garycOct 16, 2005
Horribly pretentious, this movie presents an assortment of disturbed characters acting in ways that defy belief. It appears to be attempting to be artsy without succeeeding in the least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VicenteTDec 5, 2005
Am I living on another planet? Why are so many people so in love with this film? I'm trying to think of a single positive thing to do say about it. I guess Miranda July is cute...but does she think she's the Second Coming? If Am I living on another planet? Why are so many people so in love with this film? I'm trying to think of a single positive thing to do say about it. I guess Miranda July is cute...but does she think she's the Second Coming? If it's a satire on the "quirky" genre, it succeeds! Unfortunately, it seems to take itself seriously. I walked out before the ending. Tell me, does she end it with some miraculous insight into human nature that I could only get after watching an hour of Oprah? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeliaJ.Sep 13, 2005
Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and don't know the rudiments of Western culture and art, or what distinguishes good from bad. Ah, Miranda July, savoir and genuius. The muses are weeping.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattFJan 10, 2006
To help alleviate David P's anger of seeing a couple zeros, I will gladly bestow this piece of poop a reasonable 1. I never, ever connected with this, as much as I wanted to. Boring, pretentious, calculated beyond help and so To help alleviate David P's anger of seeing a couple zeros, I will gladly bestow this piece of poop a reasonable 1. I never, ever connected with this, as much as I wanted to. Boring, pretentious, calculated beyond help and so consciously "hip" it sort of makes me want to die. Terrible film. This faux-thoughtful pretentious trendy pap needs to stooooop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrentSJan 10, 2006
Quirky enough to gag on, with Miranda July playing the most irritating character I've ever seen in a film. I had no expectations before seeing it, and tried to remain optimistic as the awkward dialogue, unrelatable characters and Quirky enough to gag on, with Miranda July playing the most irritating character I've ever seen in a film. I had no expectations before seeing it, and tried to remain optimistic as the awkward dialogue, unrelatable characters and consciously eccentric scenes piled up, but the pile obscured any positive aspects by the end of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
paulFNov 16, 2005
Pretentious to the point of laughable. I can't even fathom what people see in a film that feels so contrived, so full of "hey, this little daily life moment is profound! And here is how!" The movie script writes this junk in the Pretentious to the point of laughable. I can't even fathom what people see in a film that feels so contrived, so full of "hey, this little daily life moment is profound! And here is how!" The movie script writes this junk in the dialogue, instead of letting profound, genuine human moments just happen. Smart? I call B.S., it wears everything on its sleeve like an EMO's patchedup backpack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MBOct 15, 2005
No one in the movie ever talked like a normal person.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChelseaDDec 17, 2005
What an awful movie, I rented it and couldn't even sit through it until the end. I love movies that different from the schlock that Hollywood puts out, but this one was obviously different just for the sake of being different. I What an awful movie, I rented it and couldn't even sit through it until the end. I love movies that different from the schlock that Hollywood puts out, but this one was obviously different just for the sake of being different. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisB.Jan 14, 2007
Crap. Shows the void that contemporary art is dominated by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StevenF.Jun 11, 2007
Quite possibly the single most pretentious movie ever made. I cannot stand quirkiness. It is too often substituted for character development (see Zach Braff films for ample examples), and in this film goes all-out with a bombardment of Quite possibly the single most pretentious movie ever made. I cannot stand quirkiness. It is too often substituted for character development (see Zach Braff films for ample examples), and in this film goes all-out with a bombardment of forced cuteness and make-believe enlightenment that makes one retch instead of even being mildly interested. Since when has putting nylons on a character's ears or having her touch stickers substituted for character development? Never, that's when. And then there was the little girl who collected for a dowry, which I guess was supposed to be a statement about womanhood, but was instead just annoying. Utterly abhorrently pretentious filmmaking of the worst kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful