User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 144
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. roberth.
    Oct 17, 2005
    5
    This movie has the odor of todd solondz if not quite the whole awful stench. has nice cinematic last few minutes however.
  2. MikuD.
    Jul 15, 2005
    5
    Fairly dissapointing. While it does contain a few interesting moments, the film is too cute by half; its contrivances and self-conscious quirkiness ultimately outweigh any moments of originality-- a film that tries too hard.
  3. PatT
    Jul 2, 2005
    5
    A lot of poignent, touching scenes about lonliness and trying to connect and some other stuff about discovering sexuality, but it doesn't add up to a movie. More like looking at a scrapbook. Definitely more appealing to women than to men.
  4. Cables
    Jul 13, 2007
    4
    One of the most pretentious films I've ever seen.
  5. MattF.
    Jul 12, 2005
    4
    Incredibly pretentious and dour. However, there are a couple scenes that are interesting.
  6. DavidM.
    Jul 27, 2005
    4
    Pretentious and stilted. The creators really wanted us to know how clever and deep they are. Only highlight is that little kid.
  7. JeffJ
    Aug 19, 2005
    4
    I admire the artistic attempt, but ultimately this fails to succeed as an whole movie. All of the characters are eccentric and neurotic. All of the scenes are slow and oblique. There is no discernible plot for long, tedious portions of the movie (although it does tie together quite nicely at the end). It's just too clever and precious, with nothing to relieve the arty wierdness. And I admire the artistic attempt, but ultimately this fails to succeed as an whole movie. All of the characters are eccentric and neurotic. All of the scenes are slow and oblique. There is no discernible plot for long, tedious portions of the movie (although it does tie together quite nicely at the end). It's just too clever and precious, with nothing to relieve the arty wierdness. And some of the themes are not just wierd, but disturbing. I was squirming in my seat for much of this film. I think that Pat T said it well below when he described it as more a scrapbook than a movie. On the other hand, the talent potential is clearly there. July reminds me of a kinder and gentler Todd Solondz. If some of these scenes were part of another, more conventional, movie, they might be seen as brilliant. Together, they are like watching paint dry. Collapse
  8. TM
    Aug 24, 2005
    5
    Is it child pornography when you have kids talking about lewd and pornographic acts? I'm not sure, but it happens in this movie and it left me very queasy. This movie left me feeling like I needed a shower and wasn't nearly good enough to justify this.
  9. MarcR.
    Sep 29, 2005
    6
    There is a good movie or story somewhere in here, but unfortunately it is not completely fleshed out. July mixes us up in far too many characters to get a decent grasp on any of them, therefore not letting us get close enough to really care. The film does provide some laughs and raises an eyebrow or two while watching, but you don't walk away with anything more than notions of how There is a good movie or story somewhere in here, but unfortunately it is not completely fleshed out. July mixes us up in far too many characters to get a decent grasp on any of them, therefore not letting us get close enough to really care. The film does provide some laughs and raises an eyebrow or two while watching, but you don't walk away with anything more than notions of how the movie could have been improved. A fair attempt, but misses the bulls-eye. Expand
  10. Dave
    Jul 17, 2005
    4
    There are far too many quircky characters in this film for it too be taken seriously. I can undrestand 1 or two, but practically the whole cast seems to have a quircky personality, even the children! There are some good moments, but overall, this film really tested my patience. Go see Happy Endings instead!
  11. JoeS.
    Apr 19, 2006
    6
    It was enjoyable to watch; a lot of pretty images. But it doesn't add up to a movie. I can't believe all the 10's/100's. I really doubt people's/reviewers' credibility now. 10? 100? This movie is as good as it gets? This is as good as The Godfather and Gone With The Wind? Even Ebert gave it four stars. Now I have to doubt even him. A 10 or 100 means the best It was enjoyable to watch; a lot of pretty images. But it doesn't add up to a movie. I can't believe all the 10's/100's. I really doubt people's/reviewers' credibility now. 10? 100? This movie is as good as it gets? This is as good as The Godfather and Gone With The Wind? Even Ebert gave it four stars. Now I have to doubt even him. A 10 or 100 means the best of the best. This movie -- enjoyable as it is -- is FAR from that. The words "masterpiece" and "masterwork" are thrown around so carelessly now. Incidentally, I agree that most of the risque child/teen sex-related material was unnecessary and served no dramatic purpose. An enjoyable Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2011
    4
    I like Indie movies but this past few years I learned that the Indie Trademark created by Sundance and the Cannes "Un Certain Regard" has lost its quality features. This film follows a recent trend of over analyzing everything that happens today in a fast passed and always changing society. This way of thinking, for me, is just a waste of time. I prefer living over thinking about living.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. These characters are touching and sympathetic to the extent that they're lonely, and that's what most of them are most of the time.
  2. Reviewed by: Daniel Wible
    70
    A real treasure in the guise of yet another Sundance dramedy.
  3. 88
    Performance artist Miranda July hits a grand slam as the writer, director and star of her first film. It's a moonbeam romance laced with startling wit and gravity.