IFC Films | Release Date: June 17, 2005
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 148 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
14
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
T-O-N-YDec 1, 2005
This movie is a reflection of life @ a time in which communication and recording capability has destroyed previous concepts of honesty, and the contexts within which it can be drawn. It brings to the surface resistance against popular ways This movie is a reflection of life @ a time in which communication and recording capability has destroyed previous concepts of honesty, and the contexts within which it can be drawn. It brings to the surface resistance against popular ways of being in favor of natural and human ways of being. Miranda July is way ahead of her time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillK.Nov 6, 2005
Best film 2005.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcK.Nov 5, 2005
It's a very interesting film to see, which is why I'll give it a "7." But if people are describing this film as "sweet," "cute," and "funny," then I have definitely missed the point of this film. It was an extremely sad movie about It's a very interesting film to see, which is why I'll give it a "7." But if people are describing this film as "sweet," "cute," and "funny," then I have definitely missed the point of this film. It was an extremely sad movie about how lonely people are. Glad it didn't go on to much longer, as the sadness almost made me want to cut my wrists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenE.Nov 5, 2005
This movie can only be boring to the young, the naive, or the blind. The silence said it all. The body and facial expressions do more for this film than any gun, explosion, or sex scene have ever done. Never perverted or pornographic in This movie can only be boring to the young, the naive, or the blind. The silence said it all. The body and facial expressions do more for this film than any gun, explosion, or sex scene have ever done. Never perverted or pornographic in anyway. Only a true artist could create such a modern piece of artwork. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexE.Oct 16, 2005
This is not a film for everyone, but those who are able to survive the "pretentious" and "precious" style of this movie will find an incredibly relevant, touching, and profound message about the need for connection among people. This movie This is not a film for everyone, but those who are able to survive the "pretentious" and "precious" style of this movie will find an incredibly relevant, touching, and profound message about the need for connection among people. This movie speaks more about human contact in one frame than the entirety of the belabored "Crash". Miranda July (not only writing and directing, but also giving a wonderful lead performance) has ideas about our digital age and about how we perceive sexuality, and rather than preaching as "Crash" did, she weaves them into a film rich with beautiful cinematography and realistic characters. There are scenes in this film you will never forget. There are a few considerable flaws (the last moments of the film come to mind), but in the end, you are left with an unmistakable imprint from one of the most exciting and original filmmakers to emerge in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
franklinr.Oct 16, 2005
This is a great movie. There are so many little things to appreciate in every scene of this movie. In most movies you could just skip half the scenes and get to the end because that's all you care about, but not this movie. Part of that This is a great movie. There are so many little things to appreciate in every scene of this movie. In most movies you could just skip half the scenes and get to the end because that's all you care about, but not this movie. Part of that is because it doesn't really have a plot, or climax, or any element of typical movies. Just see it if you like good movies. And no it's not kiddie porn like some people say on here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevYDec 15, 2005
Entertaining and funny. I don't know many people like these characters, but the themes were very real: personal connection, wanting to be loved, and the awkwardness of relationships. And if it was too pretentious for some, maybe there Entertaining and funny. I don't know many people like these characters, but the themes were very real: personal connection, wanting to be loved, and the awkwardness of relationships. And if it was too pretentious for some, maybe there should have been more car chases and explosions, the usual fodder of Hollywood movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidPDec 20, 2005
You have to wonder what kind of person would give a movie like this a "O." Not one, single point?!! I can't even take your opinions seriously when you give silly scores like that. And, who walks out during a movie, anyway? It sounds to You have to wonder what kind of person would give a movie like this a "O." Not one, single point?!! I can't even take your opinions seriously when you give silly scores like that. And, who walks out during a movie, anyway? It sounds to me like some people are a little to eager to hate something. In any case, I thought this was one of the best films I saw this year. Everything about it felt original, without being annoyingly experimental. This film just felt free and revealed how constrained so many other films are. I highly recommend it, unless of course you're the kind of person who walks out during a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
vanveraDec 24, 2005
So cute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunM.Aug 26, 2005
By no means a perfect movie, and anyone who has given it below an 8 really has no true sense about the world and doesn't know much about smart and thoughtful movies. This movie is beautiful in many ways, and mostly due to it's By no means a perfect movie, and anyone who has given it below an 8 really has no true sense about the world and doesn't know much about smart and thoughtful movies. This movie is beautiful in many ways, and mostly due to it's quirky truthfulness. You'll smile, cringe, be in awe at some of the unexpected things that happen. You cannot make this movie out to more than it naturally is. Anyone who is wanting an all-encompassing, virtuostic movie-going experience need look elsewhere. Anyone who wants a truthful and fun look at the world, along with some very prolific undertones, should not hesitate to see this movie. I will be going to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FameT.Aug 27, 2005
As the other reviews indicate, this movie is not for everyone. This is some sexual content that some viewers may find disturbing. Moreover, this is not the best movie to see for those demanding a linear plot. That being said, I thought the As the other reviews indicate, this movie is not for everyone. This is some sexual content that some viewers may find disturbing. Moreover, this is not the best movie to see for those demanding a linear plot. That being said, I thought the movie was fantastic. It is quirky and genuinely moving, and rewards the viewer with unexpected moments and a unique visual style. This is not a movie you have seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottMJan 12, 2006
I still have a smile on my face.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpongeeeJan 18, 2006
This is an odd film that pays off through and through. Great music and story and characters. A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EveryoneIKnewJan 22, 2006
I saw it twice. I tried to see the pretenious side of the movie but quickly was slapped in the face by the movie and fell back on the roller coaster and enjoyed the ride. Unique characters, situations, relationships, and peotic in its story I saw it twice. I tried to see the pretenious side of the movie but quickly was slapped in the face by the movie and fell back on the roller coaster and enjoyed the ride. Unique characters, situations, relationships, and peotic in its story telling. Oh yea, the music is top notch. If you don't get it, then you just don't get it. Oh well, your loss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyF.Jan 20, 2007
Unbelievably, and UNEXPLAINABLY perfect in every way!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KayO.Aug 29, 2007
Touched my heart and my funnybone in a very charming and touching way. the weirdness of the characters' actions were a deft caricature of internal states we could find in so many of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Nov 1, 2005
You want precious? Rent Wes Anderson. This is sincerity and hilarity offered up on a nicely textured platter, giving the audience equal amounts entertainment and provocation. An impressive look at how society deals with change (technology, You want precious? Rent Wes Anderson. This is sincerity and hilarity offered up on a nicely textured platter, giving the audience equal amounts entertainment and provocation. An impressive look at how society deals with change (technology, social norms, youth). Also, flat out funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
billyg.Oct 17, 2005
"Delia J. gave it a1: Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education "Delia J. gave it a1: Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and don't know the rudiments of Western culture and art, or what distinguishes good from bad. Ah, Miranda July, savoir and genuius. The muses are weeping...." is that you, grandpa? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChaiA.Oct 17, 2005
I *loved* the movie. It was so gentle and personal. I plan to go watch it a second time. BTW, I also like In the Mood for Love and Lost in Translation, in case if that is an indication of anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeatonK.Oct 25, 2005
A twee masterwork of hyper-romantic storytelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alexisAug 22, 2005
everything you could ever want from movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GroverW.Aug 22, 2005
This is why we go to movies, for an experience that takes beyond ourselves and beyond the everyday. It keeps your attention, and entertains in a most profound way. There's much more here than meets the eye, and its there in a This is why we go to movies, for an experience that takes beyond ourselves and beyond the everyday. It keeps your attention, and entertains in a most profound way. There's much more here than meets the eye, and its there in a beautifully subtle way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Aug 25, 2005
Macaroni, spaghetti, linguini, gnocchi, vermicelli! Performance artist and freshman filmmaker Miranda July's miraculous film--my favorite of 2005 so far--is a work of breathtaking simplicity that's still challengingly intricate and Macaroni, spaghetti, linguini, gnocchi, vermicelli! Performance artist and freshman filmmaker Miranda July's miraculous film--my favorite of 2005 so far--is a work of breathtaking simplicity that's still challengingly intricate and nearly impossible to do justice to by trying to describe. As noted elsewhere, it approaches Todd Solondz territory in its circular tale of old folks, divorced people, teens, children, aspiring artists and some very strange individuals endeavoring to make various types of brief or lasting human connections...but where Solondz sees frustration and futility, July sees unending hope and possibility. (Nothing wrong necessarily with Solondz' attitude or approach; I think Happiness is one of the great films of the late 1990s...but of the two, guess which movie I"LL most likely be watching again at the close of a long hard week?) July is a humanist in the very best sense of the word; her tenderness, compassion and affection toward every character in the film (including a hapless goldfish in a precarious position) shines through in every scene. It's hard not to walk away from this film without the distincrt impression that it was done by an exceptionally nice person (and interviews with July that I've since read bear this out); the coldest, least likable individual in the movie knocks you for a loop by doing something remarkably generous and touching that just melts your heart--and this happens not once but twice! There's magic in Me and You that would make J. K. Rowling envious; July ceaselessly pirouettes on a very thin tightrope that threatens constantly to plunge her film into cutesiness or preciousness...but maintains perfect balance from beginning to end. She adds immensely to her film's success by casting herself and giving a luminous performance as a not-too-successful (and perhaps not all that talented or original) artist seeking other types of fulfillment, primarily in a relationship with a divorced shoe salesman (John Hawkes) who's wounded both literally and figuratively; her facial expression and body language in the last few minutes are as unforgettable as many of her film's other images. July's character, Christine Jesperson (great name: sound it out!) may be a dead-on parody of July the filmmaker, but the latter's work is anything but sloppy or inexact; savor the perfection of her comic dialogue (my favorite: the shoe guy's speech about not being allowed to touch the customers' feet but being free to touch the shoes all he wants), the sharpness of her staging and the wonderfully precise timing of Michael Andrew's charmingly minimalist score with the tiniest bits of onscreen activity. Some viewers and posters were offended or disturbed by July's plot threads involving two adolescent girls learning about sexual techniques (in a scene that guarantees that you'll never look at those old TV 'comparison commercials' the same way again!) and a 6-year-old who hilariously gets inadvertently involved with a cybersex website. In both cases, the material is funnier than anything in Wedding Crashers (high praise indeed) and not coarse at all, but truly insightful and touching because the characters are operating out of curiousity and innocence: July proves once again that no subject matter is out of bounds when handled by a true artist. Endlessly rich, imaginative, surprising and lovable, Me and You and Everyone We Know ranks with the all-time great one-person writer-director-star efforts with one extra plus: it has nothing to do with the filmmaker's gender or attractiveness but more with the film's warmth, sweetness and charm that no matter how much I've admired or loved one-artist- three-hat works from, say, Orson Welles, Warren Beatty or Woody Allen (among others), I've never come away from their films wanting to give the filmmaker a big hug! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimothyD.Feb 18, 2006
This one didn't fire on all cylinders for me, and I found myself tempted to give it a slightly lower rating. The reason I didn't: the aspects that worked did so with surprising emotional resonance. Great work by the kids, and nice, This one didn't fire on all cylinders for me, and I found myself tempted to give it a slightly lower rating. The reason I didn't: the aspects that worked did so with surprising emotional resonance. Great work by the kids, and nice, at times touching, work by Miranda July and John Hawkes, though I found them to be more hit and miss, something I suspect had more to do with the writing than the actors' skills level. Lovely soundtrack, something that helped endow the film with more depth than it might have had for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickV.May 19, 2006
I loved it--a touching, human drama that was also funny and sad and very original in what it wanted to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffreyCNov 15, 2005
If you like your movies served up Hollywood style, like a frozen tv dinner, this one is not for you. On the other hand, if you're looking for a movie that's just a little smarter (but more neurotic) than you, then this one goes If you like your movies served up Hollywood style, like a frozen tv dinner, this one is not for you. On the other hand, if you're looking for a movie that's just a little smarter (but more neurotic) than you, then this one goes well with popcorn and beer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinE.Nov 21, 2005
A refreshing strafe away from straight arrow Hollywood incarnations! I'm not sure what is worse, the reviewers who posted negative reviews not having a clue, or their copycat style of writing, reusing words like "pretentious" and A refreshing strafe away from straight arrow Hollywood incarnations! I'm not sure what is worse, the reviewers who posted negative reviews not having a clue, or their copycat style of writing, reusing words like "pretentious" and "precious" over and over and over and over. Back and forth. Forever. No wonder your reviews stink, you're copying each other! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
The movie may poke fun at itself and the idea of modernism, but it's a film that really couldn't have existed at any other time today. On the surface it might look like a twee and artsy exercise (and will likely deter anyone who gets offendedThe movie may poke fun at itself and the idea of modernism, but it's a film that really couldn't have existed at any other time today. On the surface it might look like a twee and artsy exercise (and will likely deter anyone who gets offended by those kinds of things), but more than anything it's a touching story told in an uncanny way. It also has the benefit of being positively absurd - I found myself laughing out loud more often than I do while watching most comedies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KingmushMar 9, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/me-and-you-and-everyone-we-know.html

I will say straight up that I enjoyed this movie. However, it is my "type" of movie (That is; quirky, random, etc.). So I might as well put a disclaimer of sorts
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/me-and-you-and-everyone-we-know.html

I will say straight up that I enjoyed this movie. However, it is my "type" of movie (That is; quirky, random, etc.). So I might as well put a disclaimer of sorts and say that if you expect this movie to have a well defined plot/ending. This is not your movie. If you don't like movies such as Napoleon Dynamite or Eagle Vs. Shark. This is probably not your movie. On the flip side, if you do like those movies and you don't mind a seemingly loose written movie, then I say give it a shot.

Basic plot of this movie is that it follows a few individuals and then in typical movie fashion brings them together and shows how interconnected they are. It follows a single father, his two sons, a old person taxi driver (Yes you read that right), and two teenage girls. Their stories are weird and incredibly awkward. But in the awkwardness you start to feel for the characters and at points I found myself really rooting for the characters or cringing when stuff didn't go their way.

Overall I'd say the movie is pretty good. Weird throughout and slow at times but the stories themselves I found to be surprisingly emotional and well done. Give it a shot if you like the movies I listed above or if you want to watch an atypical indie romance/quirky film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AoKuroiRaccoonDec 28, 2011
Brilliant, a fun and innovating way of introducing new and controversial concepts that all connect and hold in common the central element of love search. It really makes you think about everything you know and take it to the furthest extreme,Brilliant, a fun and innovating way of introducing new and controversial concepts that all connect and hold in common the central element of love search. It really makes you think about everything you know and take it to the furthest extreme, twisting it and giving you a whole different perspective of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews