User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 144
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MathewB.
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Bold, fun, insightful, and humane. I'm not sure that everything work, but even when something is not quite right it's so gutsy that you do not care. Honest excitment.
  2. BlancoA.
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    I have to take issue with Pat T.'s review below. How can you say that it's more appealing to women than it is to men? I'm a man, and I loved it. The main character is a man... I'm dumfounded. Anyway, it struck me as a more humane version of "Happiness". Certainly not a "whole" film, but it's extremely watchable.
  3. EllenF.
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    Not so much a conventional film as 2 hours of performance art. Beautiful, thoughtful, and moving.
  4. TiagoM.
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    This is one of those rare original independent movies that actually manages to skate in the very thin line between absolutely hilarious, just plain wrong, and rather insightful. And for their efforts at least, the cast of "Me and You" should be applauded.
  5. TNgo
    Jul 3, 2005
    9
    I really liked it. Its theme about individuals longing for any kind of human connection in this lonely world ours, resonated with me. I can't wait for Miranda July's next effort.
  6. T-O-N-Y
    Dec 1, 2005
    8
    This movie is a reflection of life @ a time in which communication and recording capability has destroyed previous concepts of honesty, and the contexts within which it can be drawn. It brings to the surface resistance against popular ways of being in favor of natural and human ways of being. Miranda July is way ahead of her time!
  7. JeffT.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Beautiful film!!
  8. Gettford
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    Its beautiful like filmed performance art. Also, it was better than Batman and Land of the Dead combined.
  9. EwenM.
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    Completely loved this movie. Along the lines of the brilliant Gilbert Grape.
  10. PaulD.
    Aug 6, 2005
    8
    Quirky to the max. An original voice appears. Sometimes opaque, sometimes funny, sometimes touching, sometimes pretentious, sometimes genuinely moving, sometimes brillantly original, but almost always involving.
  11. WillK.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Best film 2005.
  12. TomW.
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    Just a delight. Nice twists. Engaging actors. Far more enjoyable to me than any of the highly touted studio films. It's a shame this doesn't play to a wider audience.
  13. jonk.
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Simply the most original, most sweet-natured clear-eyed movie I have seen in a while.
  14. DonB.
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    A intelligent, serious movie. The film makes it clear that kids might be more able to deal with their sexuality than many adults.
  15. RebeccaG.
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    Rare to find a movie so intelligent, moving *and* funny. There is not a cliched or predictable moment in this wholely original film.
  16. renatae.
    Jul 31, 2005
    9
    Unexpected and truly original. marvellous characters for someof whom i developed great affection.
  17. ChadS.
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    "Me and You and Everyone we Know" is cute in the most atypical way. Writer/director Miranda Otto finds a way to make the uproariously funny sex fantasy of a six-year-old boy seem adorable, which somehow manages to be simultaneously vulgar and humane. The on-line sex between the child and, at the time, representational woman, reveals itself to be a very smart digital-age update of the "Me and You and Everyone we Know" is cute in the most atypical way. Writer/director Miranda Otto finds a way to make the uproariously funny sex fantasy of a six-year-old boy seem adorable, which somehow manages to be simultaneously vulgar and humane. The on-line sex between the child and, at the time, representational woman, reveals itself to be a very smart digital-age update of the relationship between Tom Hanks and Elizabeth Perkins in "Big". In another story, Otto shows us unflinchingly how contemporary teenage girls save their reputations differently from the Sandra Dees, or even the Erin Morans, of yesteryear. Otto is prurient like Larry Clarke but goes about it without any breast or crotch shots. Her own appearance in the film is highlighted by a deconstructive meet-cute that reveals how real-life isn't like the movies. Excellent debut. Expand
  18. MarcK.
    Nov 5, 2005
    7
    It's a very interesting film to see, which is why I'll give it a "7." But if people are describing this film as "sweet," "cute," and "funny," then I have definitely missed the point of this film. It was an extremely sad movie about how lonely people are. Glad it didn't go on to much longer, as the sadness almost made me want to cut my wrists.
  19. JenE.
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    This movie can only be boring to the young, the naive, or the blind. The silence said it all. The body and facial expressions do more for this film than any gun, explosion, or sex scene have ever done. Never perverted or pornographic in anyway. Only a true artist could create such a modern piece of artwork.
  20. AlexE.
    Oct 16, 2005
    9
    This is not a film for everyone, but those who are able to survive the "pretentious" and "precious" style of this movie will find an incredibly relevant, touching, and profound message about the need for connection among people. This movie speaks more about human contact in one frame than the entirety of the belabored "Crash". Miranda July (not only writing and directing, but also giving This is not a film for everyone, but those who are able to survive the "pretentious" and "precious" style of this movie will find an incredibly relevant, touching, and profound message about the need for connection among people. This movie speaks more about human contact in one frame than the entirety of the belabored "Crash". Miranda July (not only writing and directing, but also giving a wonderful lead performance) has ideas about our digital age and about how we perceive sexuality, and rather than preaching as "Crash" did, she weaves them into a film rich with beautiful cinematography and realistic characters. There are scenes in this film you will never forget. There are a few considerable flaws (the last moments of the film come to mind), but in the end, you are left with an unmistakable imprint from one of the most exciting and original filmmakers to emerge in years. Expand
  21. franklinr.
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    This is a great movie. There are so many little things to appreciate in every scene of this movie. In most movies you could just skip half the scenes and get to the end because that's all you care about, but not this movie. Part of that is because it doesn't really have a plot, or climax, or any element of typical movies. Just see it if you like good movies. And no it's not This is a great movie. There are so many little things to appreciate in every scene of this movie. In most movies you could just skip half the scenes and get to the end because that's all you care about, but not this movie. Part of that is because it doesn't really have a plot, or climax, or any element of typical movies. Just see it if you like good movies. And no it's not kiddie porn like some people say on here. Expand
  22. DevY
    Dec 15, 2005
    8
    Entertaining and funny. I don't know many people like these characters, but the themes were very real: personal connection, wanting to be loved, and the awkwardness of relationships. And if it was too pretentious for some, maybe there should have been more car chases and explosions, the usual fodder of Hollywood movies.
  23. DavidP
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    You have to wonder what kind of person would give a movie like this a "O." Not one, single point?!! I can't even take your opinions seriously when you give silly scores like that. And, who walks out during a movie, anyway? It sounds to me like some people are a little to eager to hate something. In any case, I thought this was one of the best films I saw this year. Everything about You have to wonder what kind of person would give a movie like this a "O." Not one, single point?!! I can't even take your opinions seriously when you give silly scores like that. And, who walks out during a movie, anyway? It sounds to me like some people are a little to eager to hate something. In any case, I thought this was one of the best films I saw this year. Everything about it felt original, without being annoyingly experimental. This film just felt free and revealed how constrained so many other films are. I highly recommend it, unless of course you're the kind of person who walks out during a film. Expand
  24. vanvera
    Dec 24, 2005
    7
    So cute.
  25. JuliusX
    Jun 25, 2005
    10
    This is a tremendous film about people interacting with each other, doing their best given certain circumstances. It is about people assuming magical things will happen without having to go out and make them happen, persisting in the face of no hope. It is about life and how it isn't as simple as pushing a button. It is about child sexuality. Its themes are universal. Miranda July This is a tremendous film about people interacting with each other, doing their best given certain circumstances. It is about people assuming magical things will happen without having to go out and make them happen, persisting in the face of no hope. It is about life and how it isn't as simple as pushing a button. It is about child sexuality. Its themes are universal. Miranda July has achieved something very special. Expand
  26. RitB.
    Jul 11, 2005
    9
    An offbeat, original film. Very funny in spots and some surprises that tie everything together. I would have liked to have seen more depth, more background to the main female character played so very well by Miranda July.
  27. RobS.
    Jul 17, 2005
    8
    I don
  28. MikeG.
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    It's hard, if not impossible, to explain why I loved this movie. Miranda July has a goofy kind of charisma that transfixed me, and she seems to transfer this to her actors as well. Her characters are all quirky, idiosyncratic folks who seem completely real as they struggle to find happiness in a world that isn't harsh, but is definitely indifferent to their struggles. Me and You It's hard, if not impossible, to explain why I loved this movie. Miranda July has a goofy kind of charisma that transfixed me, and she seems to transfer this to her actors as well. Her characters are all quirky, idiosyncratic folks who seem completely real as they struggle to find happiness in a world that isn't harsh, but is definitely indifferent to their struggles. Me and You and Everyone We Know triumphs because there isn't a message or a lesson at the end. Nothing in life comes tied up in a neat little bow - it's the little moments that are worth savoring and hanging on to. Ms. July captures the little pleasures magnificently. Expand
  29. JeffreyH
    Jul 28, 2005
    9
    Bracing and totally original, ME AND YOU announces the arrival of a major talent. Miranda July's debut feature is a welcome tonic of honesty, fragility and beauty in an increasing banal and debased pop culture. At times goofy, vulnerable and definitely unafraid to fly her freak flag, Ms. July leads an outstandingly assured cast of mostly unknowns. In a summer loaded with TV Bracing and totally original, ME AND YOU announces the arrival of a major talent. Miranda July's debut feature is a welcome tonic of honesty, fragility and beauty in an increasing banal and debased pop culture. At times goofy, vulnerable and definitely unafraid to fly her freak flag, Ms. July leads an outstandingly assured cast of mostly unknowns. In a summer loaded with TV adaptations, remakes and bloated action spectacle, July has created a wondrous film that rises above the cacophony. Expand
  30. JulieK.
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    This is an amazingly playful film. Back and Forth forever!
  31. BetsyRoss
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    There is nothing I would change about this movie, it was absolutely perfect. I went into the theater knowing nothing about the film, but left with it being a new favorite. My date and I were rolling laughing so hard. So many subtle jokes. Amazing.
  32. ShaunM.
    Aug 26, 2005
    9
    By no means a perfect movie, and anyone who has given it below an 8 really has no true sense about the world and doesn't know much about smart and thoughtful movies. This movie is beautiful in many ways, and mostly due to it's quirky truthfulness. You'll smile, cringe, be in awe at some of the unexpected things that happen. You cannot make this movie out to more than it By no means a perfect movie, and anyone who has given it below an 8 really has no true sense about the world and doesn't know much about smart and thoughtful movies. This movie is beautiful in many ways, and mostly due to it's quirky truthfulness. You'll smile, cringe, be in awe at some of the unexpected things that happen. You cannot make this movie out to more than it naturally is. Anyone who is wanting an all-encompassing, virtuostic movie-going experience need look elsewhere. Anyone who wants a truthful and fun look at the world, along with some very prolific undertones, should not hesitate to see this movie. I will be going to see it again. Expand
  33. FameT.
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    As the other reviews indicate, this movie is not for everyone. This is some sexual content that some viewers may find disturbing. Moreover, this is not the best movie to see for those demanding a linear plot. That being said, I thought the movie was fantastic. It is quirky and genuinely moving, and rewards the viewer with unexpected moments and a unique visual style. This is not a movie As the other reviews indicate, this movie is not for everyone. This is some sexual content that some viewers may find disturbing. Moreover, this is not the best movie to see for those demanding a linear plot. That being said, I thought the movie was fantastic. It is quirky and genuinely moving, and rewards the viewer with unexpected moments and a unique visual style. This is not a movie you have seen before. Expand
  34. KarinF.
    Aug 4, 2005
    9
    A sweet, small film. Not one of those glossy, special effects films. Rather, a human and humane look at relationships. It is arty. And that's fine. The shots, dialogue, and sounds were carefully chosen. Sometimes, the quirkiness feels slightly overdone, but all in all this is a touching look at the lives of some unperfect people, told with child-like sensitivity. Honest and refreshing.
  35. MikeM.
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Remarkable! The human condition exposed! Loved it!
  36. ScottM
    Jan 12, 2006
    8
    I still have a smile on my face.
  37. Spongeee
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    This is an odd film that pays off through and through. Great music and story and characters. A must see!
  38. EveryoneIKnew
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    I saw it twice. I tried to see the pretenious side of the movie but quickly was slapped in the face by the movie and fell back on the roller coaster and enjoyed the ride. Unique characters, situations, relationships, and peotic in its story telling. Oh yea, the music is top notch. If you don't get it, then you just don't get it. Oh well, your loss.
  39. JeremyF.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    Unbelievably, and UNEXPLAINABLY perfect in every way!
  40. KayO.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    Touched my heart and my funnybone in a very charming and touching way. the weirdness of the characters' actions were a deft caricature of internal states we could find in so many of us.
  41. JeffS.
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    You want precious? Rent Wes Anderson. This is sincerity and hilarity offered up on a nicely textured platter, giving the audience equal amounts entertainment and provocation. An impressive look at how society deals with change (technology, social norms, youth). Also, flat out funny.
  42. billyg.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    "Delia J. gave it a1: Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and don't know the rudiments of Western culture and art, or what distinguishes good from bad. Ah, Miranda July, savoir and "Delia J. gave it a1: Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and don't know the rudiments of Western culture and art, or what distinguishes good from bad. Ah, Miranda July, savoir and genuius. The muses are weeping...." is that you, grandpa? Expand
  43. ChaiA.
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    I *loved* the movie. It was so gentle and personal. I plan to go watch it a second time. BTW, I also like In the Mood for Love and Lost in Translation, in case if that is an indication of anything.
  44. KeatonK.
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    A twee masterwork of hyper-romantic storytelling.
  45. HelenF.
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Interesting characters, touching and very funny moments throughout, an unusual and good-feeling movie that will stay with you [and cheer you up when you need it].
  46. [Anonymous]
    Jul 18, 2005
    7
    It's hard to pay attention at times because there is no strong plot to hold onto, but the smaller stories within were fun to watch. Sometimes the female lead got a little annoying. The child actors were amazing.
  47. johnc
    Jul 19, 2005
    9
    Saw with a full house at an l.a. preview screening. writer, director, lead actress miranda july spoke for 1/2 hour after film. everyone loved the movie.
  48. StevieG
    Jul 31, 2005
    7
    A good natured well intentioned film with a number of odd characters who would not be at home in most movies. The characters are interesting, if not a little to so. The manner is which these lives interact is at times charming and at times forced. The main thesis -- that we all need/want to connect with others -- is warm and affirming. Ms. July does a very good job as a director putting A good natured well intentioned film with a number of odd characters who would not be at home in most movies. The characters are interesting, if not a little to so. The manner is which these lives interact is at times charming and at times forced. The main thesis -- that we all need/want to connect with others -- is warm and affirming. Ms. July does a very good job as a director putting this all together. As an actor, however, she probably needs a stronger director to reign her acting in. Sitll, a very enjoyable character study with a quirky scirpt that one does not see in American film. Expand
  49. alexis
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    everything you could ever want from movie.
  50. GroverW.
    Aug 22, 2005
    9
    This is why we go to movies, for an experience that takes beyond ourselves and beyond the everyday. It keeps your attention, and entertains in a most profound way. There's much more here than meets the eye, and its there in a beautifully subtle way.
  51. MarkB.
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    Macaroni, spaghetti, linguini, gnocchi, vermicelli! Performance artist and freshman filmmaker Miranda July's miraculous film--my favorite of 2005 so far--is a work of breathtaking simplicity that's still challengingly intricate and nearly impossible to do justice to by trying to describe. As noted elsewhere, it approaches Todd Solondz territory in its circular tale of old folks, Macaroni, spaghetti, linguini, gnocchi, vermicelli! Performance artist and freshman filmmaker Miranda July's miraculous film--my favorite of 2005 so far--is a work of breathtaking simplicity that's still challengingly intricate and nearly impossible to do justice to by trying to describe. As noted elsewhere, it approaches Todd Solondz territory in its circular tale of old folks, divorced people, teens, children, aspiring artists and some very strange individuals endeavoring to make various types of brief or lasting human connections...but where Solondz sees frustration and futility, July sees unending hope and possibility. (Nothing wrong necessarily with Solondz' attitude or approach; I think Happiness is one of the great films of the late 1990s...but of the two, guess which movie I"LL most likely be watching again at the close of a long hard week?) July is a humanist in the very best sense of the word; her tenderness, compassion and affection toward every character in the film (including a hapless goldfish in a precarious position) shines through in every scene. It's hard not to walk away from this film without the distincrt impression that it was done by an exceptionally nice person (and interviews with July that I've since read bear this out); the coldest, least likable individual in the movie knocks you for a loop by doing something remarkably generous and touching that just melts your heart--and this happens not once but twice! There's magic in Me and You that would make J. K. Rowling envious; July ceaselessly pirouettes on a very thin tightrope that threatens constantly to plunge her film into cutesiness or preciousness...but maintains perfect balance from beginning to end. She adds immensely to her film's success by casting herself and giving a luminous performance as a not-too-successful (and perhaps not all that talented or original) artist seeking other types of fulfillment, primarily in a relationship with a divorced shoe salesman (John Hawkes) who's wounded both literally and figuratively; her facial expression and body language in the last few minutes are as unforgettable as many of her film's other images. July's character, Christine Jesperson (great name: sound it out!) may be a dead-on parody of July the filmmaker, but the latter's work is anything but sloppy or inexact; savor the perfection of her comic dialogue (my favorite: the shoe guy's speech about not being allowed to touch the customers' feet but being free to touch the shoes all he wants), the sharpness of her staging and the wonderfully precise timing of Michael Andrew's charmingly minimalist score with the tiniest bits of onscreen activity. Some viewers and posters were offended or disturbed by July's plot threads involving two adolescent girls learning about sexual techniques (in a scene that guarantees that you'll never look at those old TV 'comparison commercials' the same way again!) and a 6-year-old who hilariously gets inadvertently involved with a cybersex website. In both cases, the material is funnier than anything in Wedding Crashers (high praise indeed) and not coarse at all, but truly insightful and touching because the characters are operating out of curiousity and innocence: July proves once again that no subject matter is out of bounds when handled by a true artist. Endlessly rich, imaginative, surprising and lovable, Me and You and Everyone We Know ranks with the all-time great one-person writer-director-star efforts with one extra plus: it has nothing to do with the filmmaker's gender or attractiveness but more with the film's warmth, sweetness and charm that no matter how much I've admired or loved one-artist- three-hat works from, say, Orson Welles, Warren Beatty or Woody Allen (among others), I've never come away from their films wanting to give the filmmaker a big hug! Expand
  52. TimothyD.
    Feb 18, 2006
    7
    This one didn't fire on all cylinders for me, and I found myself tempted to give it a slightly lower rating. The reason I didn't: the aspects that worked did so with surprising emotional resonance. Great work by the kids, and nice, at times touching, work by Miranda July and John Hawkes, though I found them to be more hit and miss, something I suspect had more to do with the This one didn't fire on all cylinders for me, and I found myself tempted to give it a slightly lower rating. The reason I didn't: the aspects that worked did so with surprising emotional resonance. Great work by the kids, and nice, at times touching, work by Miranda July and John Hawkes, though I found them to be more hit and miss, something I suspect had more to do with the writing than the actors' skills level. Lovely soundtrack, something that helped endow the film with more depth than it might have had for me. Expand
  53. RickV.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    I loved it--a touching, human drama that was also funny and sad and very original in what it wanted to say.
  54. JeffreyC
    Nov 15, 2005
    8
    If you like your movies served up Hollywood style, like a frozen tv dinner, this one is not for you. On the other hand, if you're looking for a movie that's just a little smarter (but more neurotic) than you, then this one goes well with popcorn and beer!
  55. KevinE.
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    A refreshing strafe away from straight arrow Hollywood incarnations! I'm not sure what is worse, the reviewers who posted negative reviews not having a clue, or their copycat style of writing, reusing words like "pretentious" and "precious" over and over and over and over. Back and forth. Forever. No wonder your reviews stink, you're copying each other!
  56. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    The movie may poke fun at itself and the idea of modernism, but it's a film that really couldn't have existed at any other time today. On the surface it might look like a twee and artsy exercise (and will likely deter anyone who gets offended by those kinds of things), but more than anything it's a touching story told in an uncanny way. It also has the benefit of being positively absurd -The movie may poke fun at itself and the idea of modernism, but it's a film that really couldn't have existed at any other time today. On the surface it might look like a twee and artsy exercise (and will likely deter anyone who gets offended by those kinds of things), but more than anything it's a touching story told in an uncanny way. It also has the benefit of being positively absurd - I found myself laughing out loud more often than I do while watching most comedies. Expand
  57. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/me-and-you-and-everyone-we-know.html

    I will say straight up that I enjoyed this movie. However, it is my "type" of movie (That is; quirky, random, etc.). So I might as well put a disclaimer of sorts and say that if you expect this movie to have a well defined plot/ending. This is not your movie. If you don't like movies such as Napoleon Dynamite
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/me-and-you-and-everyone-we-know.html

    I will say straight up that I enjoyed this movie. However, it is my "type" of movie (That is; quirky, random, etc.). So I might as well put a disclaimer of sorts and say that if you expect this movie to have a well defined plot/ending. This is not your movie. If you don't like movies such as Napoleon Dynamite or Eagle Vs. Shark. This is probably not your movie. On the flip side, if you do like those movies and you don't mind a seemingly loose written movie, then I say give it a shot.

    Basic plot of this movie is that it follows a few individuals and then in typical movie fashion brings them together and shows how interconnected they are. It follows a single father, his two sons, a old person taxi driver (Yes you read that right), and two teenage girls. Their stories are weird and incredibly awkward. But in the awkwardness you start to feel for the characters and at points I found myself really rooting for the characters or cringing when stuff didn't go their way.

    Overall I'd say the movie is pretty good. Weird throughout and slow at times but the stories themselves I found to be surprisingly emotional and well done. Give it a shot if you like the movies I listed above or if you want to watch an atypical indie romance/quirky film.
    Expand
  58. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    Brilliant, a fun and innovating way of introducing new and controversial concepts that all connect and hold in common the central element of love search. It really makes you think about everything you know and take it to the furthest extreme, twisting it and giving you a whole different perspective of it.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. These characters are touching and sympathetic to the extent that they're lonely, and that's what most of them are most of the time.
  2. Reviewed by: Daniel Wible
    70
    A real treasure in the guise of yet another Sundance dramedy.
  3. 88
    Performance artist Miranda July hits a grand slam as the writer, director and star of her first film. It's a moonbeam romance laced with startling wit and gravity.