Meet Joe Black

Meet Joe Black Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Bill Parrish (Hopkins) has it all -- success, wealth, and power. Days before his 65th birthday he receives a visit from a mysterious stranger, Joe Black (Pitt), who soon reveals himself as Death. In exchange for extra time, Bill agrees to serve as Joe's earthly guide. But will he regret hisBill Parrish (Hopkins) has it all -- success, wealth, and power. Days before his 65th birthday he receives a visit from a mysterious stranger, Joe Black (Pitt), who soon reveals himself as Death. In exchange for extra time, Bill agrees to serve as Joe's earthly guide. But will he regret his choice when Joe unexpectedly falls in love with Bill's beautiful daughter Susan (Forlani). (Universal Studios) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. 75
    The movie contains elements that make it very good, and a lot of other elements besides. Less is more.
  2. Ultimately, the movie is a perfect mirror of its star -- looks great, seems empty.
  3. 60
    A businessman is visited by an otherworldly presence who has the nerve to fall in love with his daughter in this savory, extralong feature, whose obvious plotlines unfold with an almost painful slowness that somehow makes them deeper.
  4. 50
    Meet Joe Black, with Brad Pitt, is a near-death experience: Time seems to stop as we stiffen in our seats and the actors all whisper as if they're at a wake.
  5. Clocking in at a self-important two hours and 59 minutes, this elongated romantic fable is impossible to sustain at a running time better suited to the fall of the Roman empire.
  6. 38
    Meet Joe Black has the dubious distinction of being the longest film to date of 1998. It is also one of the most tedious and bombastic.
  7. Reviewed by: Jack Kroll
    0
    Every once in a while a film comes along that's so inexplicably ghastly that there's just no point in making nice about it.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. ThomasT.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    It's a movie-miracle!The plot is great and Anthony Hopkins is..fantastic!Brad Pitt is great too!In the end you will cry for much It's a movie-miracle!The plot is great and Anthony Hopkins is..fantastic!Brad Pitt is great too!In the end you will cry for much time..It's unbelievable! Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best movies ever. However if you are an movie lover who needs violence with a lot of blood, sex and vulgar dialogs, do yourself aOne of the best movies ever. However if you are an movie lover who needs violence with a lot of blood, sex and vulgar dialogs, do yourself a favor and do not waste your time.
    Everyone else...enjoy!
    Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of my all time top ten movies, can watch it over and over again, Hopkins at his best, Pitt, who I usually don't like or at leastThis is one of my all time top ten movies, can watch it over and over again, Hopkins at his best, Pitt, who I usually don't like or at least am indifferent too, is perfect as Death experiencing life in someone else's body. Claire Floriani (sp.? sorry) is ethereal, attractive and interesting without being a classic ten. The supporting cast all great in integral to the story. I often feel that long movies are just that, under-edited and overblown, never felt that way about this flick, not a wasted moment, and every moment a pleasure to watch on the screen. The scene where Hopkins gets mad at death, "remember who you are talking to" "I don't give a damn" is epic. Collapse
  4. SethH.
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    First of all, the reason that the Brad Pitt's character is so stale through most of the movie is because he plays DEATH! What did you First of all, the reason that the Brad Pitt's character is so stale through most of the movie is because he plays DEATH! What did you expect? The movie is exceptionally long, but I cannot think of a scene I would want to exclude [other than Brad speaking to the Jamaican woman]. The score is nothing less than brilliant; Thomas Newman is a genius. The scenes fit together seemlessly. At the very least, this film is intelligent and entertaining. If viewers are too bored with this movie, I suggest taking more riddelin and watching Die Hard twice...it'll still take three hours, but you'll get to see Bruce Willis blow stuff up. If you actually want to watch a well-thought-out, relatively original film, you'll not be dissapointed. Expand
  5. JobA.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    This movie is incredible.I've seen it around 7-8 times.The acting is right on and it is a great story.It should of got better reviews This movie is incredible.I've seen it around 7-8 times.The acting is right on and it is a great story.It should of got better reviews cause its a great movie experience.I rate it a 9.2. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2015
    8
    Meet Joe Black is a beautiful, little film (yes I just said an 180 minute film was little). It features great performances by Brad Pitt andMeet Joe Black is a beautiful, little film (yes I just said an 180 minute film was little). It features great performances by Brad Pitt and Anthony Hopkins. This movie isn't for the action-oriented crowd. This movie is slow and deep. Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2015
    4
    I must agree with the naysayers . The dialog is tedious to say the least. But, most seem to knock Brad and praise Anthony Hopkins. II must agree with the naysayers . The dialog is tedious to say the least. But, most seem to knock Brad and praise Anthony Hopkins. I think they were equally boring. In fact practically all the spoken words by the entire cast will put you to sleep. I wanted to scream at them to say something worthwhile, please! At least the leading lady and man were easy to look at. Where can I get my hair done like Brad Pitts? Never mind, I don't have enough hair left! Don't know what the ladies found tearful about this movie. I am going to get a suit and tie like Brad's in the cafe.......maybe a hairpiece too! Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.