Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 25, 2008
2.8
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 447 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
109
Mixed:
20
Negative:
318
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
survivorfan989Jan 16, 2013
When I first saw this I thought it was pretty bad, but now that I've seen it a second time it actually isn't as bad as I first thought. Sure it's not winning any awards and some of the jokes just miss the target, but there is enough here toWhen I first saw this I thought it was pretty bad, but now that I've seen it a second time it actually isn't as bad as I first thought. Sure it's not winning any awards and some of the jokes just miss the target, but there is enough here to keep you entertained and have a good laugh, especially if you're in need of one. Sean Maguire is quite funny as Leonidas and the cast are overall quite funny. It's not the best spoof film out there, but not the worst either so it's worth a look for a laugh. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
AaronMJan 25, 2008
I'm not even going to see this movie. I just want to respond to Kenny M who critiqued Jim C. I like how you call someone else an idiot when you typed "there they same thing". Umm, 3rd graders know better grammar than you! Learn the I'm not even going to see this movie. I just want to respond to Kenny M who critiqued Jim C. I like how you call someone else an idiot when you typed "there they same thing". Umm, 3rd graders know better grammar than you! Learn the difference between their, they're, and there before you try to judge someone else. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AlexG.Apr 11, 2008
To begin with this film looked promising with some very childishly giggleing moments, but as the film went on the gags began to stale and i became bored with the cheesy and poor jokes, the GTA reference was quite amusing yet the end song To begin with this film looked promising with some very childishly giggleing moments, but as the film went on the gags began to stale and i became bored with the cheesy and poor jokes, the GTA reference was quite amusing yet the end song with American Idol was rather boring, a somewhat poor sequel to the funny Epic Movie.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MikhailRJun 25, 2008
In all honesty, this movie isn't nearly as bad as it is being made out to be. Apparently everyone is jumping on the "Ooh, the critics thought it was awful so im just mindlessly agree with them" bandwagon. Sure, the jokes were mostly pop In all honesty, this movie isn't nearly as bad as it is being made out to be. Apparently everyone is jumping on the "Ooh, the critics thought it was awful so im just mindlessly agree with them" bandwagon. Sure, the jokes were mostly pop culture references and even those were hit-and-miss, but honestly good comedy is hard to come by these days. IT pulled a few laughs out of me, and although I didn't love it, it fullfilled its purpose. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SeanH.Apr 15, 2010
As a movie its one of the worst I've seen but it still made me laugh a good few times.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
EricHJan 25, 2008
Hey, Kenny M. If you're going to call other people "incompetent high school drop outs," maybe you should double check your own comment for proper grammar first. It's not "There the same thing," it's "They're [as in Hey, Kenny M. If you're going to call other people "incompetent high school drop outs," maybe you should double check your own comment for proper grammar first. It's not "There the same thing," it's "They're [as in they+are] the same thing." Talk about the pot calling the kettle black. [Nobody judges idiots harsher than other idiots.] Anyway, this movie is not perfect, and it doesn't aim to be. At least these "rehash comedies" are honest in what they're doing. They're not claiming to have an original plot, in fact they're an engaging form of satire because they reuse, for the purpose of comedy, cliches, tropes, and stock rhetorical methods other "serious" or Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
DamaniB.Jan 25, 2008
Whatever, I'm just gonna give it a 5. I bet half the people who posted all of these retarded comments haven't even seen the movie....some of you people just need to lighten up though. There's SOME parts that are funny, and Whatever, I'm just gonna give it a 5. I bet half the people who posted all of these retarded comments haven't even seen the movie....some of you people just need to lighten up though. There's SOME parts that are funny, and thats mostly the bad acting. But yeah, you cant really give it a rating if you haven't seen the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelYFeb 16, 2008
I don't think the current rating (2.7) is accurate. I mean, its no movie of the year, but it does have some good jokes.The prob is that they keep using the same joke for so long that it kinda gets lame (like the breakdance part, some of I don't think the current rating (2.7) is accurate. I mean, its no movie of the year, but it does have some good jokes.The prob is that they keep using the same joke for so long that it kinda gets lame (like the breakdance part, some of scenes were just stupid and was not funny) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Jamison12Jul 23, 2013
Horrible acting, just another stupid movie. But the funny parts really made me laugh. Don't come in expecting Scary Movie, but don't expect Disaster movie. Expect one right in between.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lukechristianscDec 24, 2015
Friedberg and Seltzer take on the warrior action genre and basically gives us a dumb spoof with a few laughs but that's just it. This film looks like it was made by rock hard teen fans of the "300" film they once again tackle a popularFriedberg and Seltzer take on the warrior action genre and basically gives us a dumb spoof with a few laughs but that's just it. This film looks like it was made by rock hard teen fans of the "300" film they once again tackle a popular franchise and make fun of it because they are jealous because they can't make good films. Xerxes (Ken Davaitan) the evil god king of Persia, sends his massive army to Sparta King Leonidas (Sean Maguire as Gerard Butler) rise up and defend for their homeland. There a few jokes about Britney Spears shaving her head, Paris Hilton's arrest, but it could be more funnier if Friedberg and Seltzer were trying. Maguire does a good mediocre impression of Gerard Butler, Carmen Electra the model who also was Date Movie, is making a career of Friedberg and Seltzer's spoofs. This is one of the worst films ever, but I didn't hate it as much as Date Movie or Disaster movie or Epic Movie, yes it's stupid but lets make tear these films apart. 2/4 stars Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeAug 23, 2015
I can understand why this movie has such bad reviews but it's not that bad.There was some original and good creative ideas and the acting was not bad at all but that was far from being a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SuperemeMar 5, 2017
Haha! funny!!!!!!!!!!! Meet the Spartans is so Funny but I am actually surprised it has its critic being 9 out of 100 because Metacritic was not laughing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews