Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2010
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 294 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
219
Mixed:
63
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 18, 2016
Its source feels like a Despicable Me copy only with a couple of differences, but Megamind is once again another enjoyment from Dreamworks Animation and its clever story will keep you interested in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryNov 10, 2010
This animated comedy delightfully channels Will Ferrell's personality, as the villain who terrorizes the city (and mispronounces it). Add Brad Pitt as the swaggering superhero and Tina Fey as the girl in the middle and you've got a strongThis animated comedy delightfully channels Will Ferrell's personality, as the villain who terrorizes the city (and mispronounces it). Add Brad Pitt as the swaggering superhero and Tina Fey as the girl in the middle and you've got a strong cast. However, this isn't really one for kids: it's got the required ironic dialogue (much of it funny) and pop culture references. What is doesn't have is any visual surprises (although it's attractive), appealing supporting characters or a decent story (this one's sappy and trite). Still, it's fun to get inside this mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
Megamind sadly does not redeem Will Farrel, it's just a mediocre movie about redemption, I give it credit for trying to teach you something and being unique, but it doesn't save it from mediocrity.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysMay 26, 2014
Megamind is a perfectly enjoyable movie that both kids and adults will enjoy. Will Ferrell is actually hilarious in this one, even if its not his usually movie filled with sexual humor and slapstick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Oct 20, 2015
Boasting spectacular animation and a handful of great vocal performances, this snarky reimagining of the Superman/Lex dynamic ultimately wins over its audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
The movie is admittedly fun to watch....for the sake of the kids. All those audience critics who are experienced in watching dream works animation will be very familiar with the tedious formula of the 'bad guy becomes good guy afterThe movie is admittedly fun to watch....for the sake of the kids. All those audience critics who are experienced in watching dream works animation will be very familiar with the tedious formula of the 'bad guy becomes good guy after experiencing enlightenment' dream works ALWAYS uses. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Children's films can be magical and pull you into a surreal world. Megamind is nothing of the sort, just a silly film with the occasional joke slipped in for the adults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Oct 6, 2015
Megamind offers some good characters and great animation. I know that it is similar to Despicable Me but I think it is just different enough to stand on its own. I love all the voice talent, most of all Will Ferrell who actually becomesMegamind offers some good characters and great animation. I know that it is similar to Despicable Me but I think it is just different enough to stand on its own. I love all the voice talent, most of all Will Ferrell who actually becomes Megamind in this film. The film is maybe a little predictable which is unfortunate. This movie also could've been funnier but overall I think it is a good watch for children who will have lots of fun with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 6, 2015
Very good movie from DreamWorks on an ugly blue villain , big head and is declared as a villain , now a hero when Metro Man killed angering her fan , and caused the act of heroism Megamind , what the hell were the script as purchased ?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellMar 2, 2012
Megamind may be somewhat similar to Despicable Me, but it has a lot that makes it more unique. It is a lot more adventurous and daring and it feels like a great comic book story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JacobJul 31, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first saw the trailer for Megamind I thought to myself this looks pretty funny. When the movie started up I thought to myself this might be ok. After sitting through Megmanid let me tell that this is how you make a good movie.

Megamind follows the story of Megamind I super villain who defeats his arch nemesis and the rest of the movie is about what happens afterwards. Now what makes Megamind a great movie is that it takes a story I
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticJun 15, 2014
It's sad how these movies are constantly making the money. And it's a copycat of Despicable Me, which actually is funny. The voices are well suited, but the parody in this film falls flat rather quickly. Animation has become quite stale, inIt's sad how these movies are constantly making the money. And it's a copycat of Despicable Me, which actually is funny. The voices are well suited, but the parody in this film falls flat rather quickly. Animation has become quite stale, in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Sep 5, 2011
Megamind, a supervillian conquers his nemesis, Metro Man and takes over the city, but gets bored and has no one left to fight. He creates a new foe, Titan, also known as Hal, and teaches him to use his powers for good. Instead, he sets out toMegamind, a supervillian conquers his nemesis, Metro Man and takes over the city, but gets bored and has no one left to fight. He creates a new foe, Titan, also known as Hal, and teaches him to use his powers for good. Instead, he sets out to destroy the world, and feeling like he has no choice, Megamind must save the day for the first time in his life.

I saw it twice from January to February of 2011. The first time was 2D and the second was 3D. I have no time to waste, so I will make my opinion of this movie.

Bad: It lacked an emotional feeling, the storytelling was weak and a fewer aspects of the story would've been better.

Good: The CGI animation and art design were great, The acting was perfect. Will Ferell was great as Megamind, Brad Pitt did very well as Metro Man, David Cross was great as Minion and the rest of the actors did well. The characters were very likable, The action scenes were solid, The comedy was very clever, and the music score was good.

Megamind doesn't top with Dreamwork Animation's previous animated efforts, but its an entertaining movie with great acting, solid action scenes, and good comedy.

7/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4Feb 12, 2012
Not nearly as funny as it should be mostly because of the talented voice cast, or as entertaining, but it brings laughs, originality, and dazzling animation. I give this film 61%.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ShiiraNov 9, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Too bad for Hal(Jonah Hill) that the laws of physics prevent him from having an unlimited amount of do-overs, since his courting of Roxanne Ritchie(Tina Fey), a reporter who covers the Metro Man beat, theoretically, would have taken an almost infinite amount of trial runs in order for the desired love connection he covets, to come about. When Megamind(Will Ferrell) turns the cameraman into Tighten, one chance is all the newly-minted superhero has to woo the Lois Lane-esque reporter, but he blows it, in spite of all the years he spent observing Metro Man through his lens, and that's because the superhero persona he cops isn't an organic extension to his natural make-up. Neither heroic, nor romantic, characteristics that mortal men possess too, Hal becomes enraged and confused when Roxanne rebuffs his overtures for love, even as Tighten, because he thought the cape was the key to her heart. If only it was "Groundhog Day". In the Harold Ramis film, the laws of physics pull a fast one on Rita(Andie McDowell), the segment producer on the Punxsutaney Phil shoot, who falls for weatherman Phil Connors(Bill Murray) without ever realizing that her heart was won over through trial and error, a time loop perpetuated by an omniscient narrator with the powers of a superhero. Phil's subconscious, perhaps, was the one who messed with the space-time continuum, since time doesn't move forward until the misanthropic journalist wins Rita over. If only Hal knew that Roxanne and Metro Man(Brad Pitt) were not an item. As Tighten, he tries to impress Roxanne by showing her the city from the sky, but his attempt at romantic spontaneity comes across as rehearsed, especially when Hal drops his captive audience of one in mid-air because it's what he thinks Metro Man would do. Unfortunately, Roxanne comes closer to dying than falling in love. His forced stab at creating a backdrop for romance has the same forced tenor as the scene in "Groundhog Day", in which Phil, portraying himself as future husband material, ends up scaring away some local kids from constructing a snowman with the grown-ups. It worked once, and Rita swoons a bit, but the second time around fails, as his every word suddenly becomes weighty with self-consciousness, giving his voice an off-kilter timbre that ends up scaring both the children and woman. Whereas the potentiality of that snowman being built was always a reasonable proposition because of Phil's relative humanity, Hal, on the other hand, could spend an eternity aping Metro Man, flying his brains out with Roxanne in tow, night after night, and never getting anywhere near his objective. Tighten has superpowers, but he doesn't know how to use them. He just isn't the Metro Man type, and worse yet, the disgruntled superhero abuses his gifts, when he threatens Roxanne(and the Metro City denizens) after she declines to reciprocate his show of ardor. He's pure evil, unlike Megamind, who is like one of the famous international playboys, the last, that Morrissey sings about, because the blue man is "not naturally evil"; his plot to kill Metro Man was only a ploy to "make [him]self more attractive to [Roxanne]," and when it doesn't, the moviegoer knows how deep the blue runs. Unlike Tighten, Phil is Superman in the sense that he puts his immortality at risk by committing suicide on a daily basis, never knowing if his latest attempt will become his last. In Richard Donner's "Superman II", Superman knowingly exposes himself to Kryptonite, in the form of harnessed red rays, as he steps into the crystal chamber, where he could easily die, as the Man of Steel tests his invincibility out of love for a woman, just like Phil, an ordinary man who does an extraordinary thing. By killing himself, Phil explores the possibility that his own death may be the key to freeing Rita and his smart-alec cameraman from the time loop. Hal would never make that sort of sacrifice. Unlike Lois Lane, who loves Superman, and not his alter-ego Clark Kent, Roxanne's taste in men is much more idiosyncratic; she kisses Bernard(Ben Stiller), Megamind's alter-ego, not Metro Man, the man Hal aspires to be, because being the protector of man was never supposed to be the megalomaniacal superhero's gig either. And when Megamind accidentally reveals his true identity in the middle of that kiss, a great wrong is finally righted. Roxanne is kissing the real hero. The alien babies ended up with the wrong lives, the wrong destinies. Since apathy can be a form of treachery, Metro Man's willingness to leave mankind unprotected makes him a villain, in some ways, far worse than Megamind ever was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nutterjrJan 6, 2011
A supervillain that was never really a bad guy, a super hero that is tired of being good and a dumb superhero that becomes nasty is a messy recipe. Nevertheless, it was quite enjoyable at times.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
FuturedirectorApr 9, 2016
Mega mind is very predictable, has boring some kind of boring story-telling and simple characters. This is just another film on cinema history a, with nothing special, despite the inventive plot that started it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersDec 5, 2016
DreamWorks knows how to keep the same approach going, don't they? "Kung Fu Panda" was super dramatic and story-based? Back to the spoof with "Monsters vs. Aliens!" "How to Train Your Dragon" was super dramatic and story-based? Back to theDreamWorks knows how to keep the same approach going, don't they? "Kung Fu Panda" was super dramatic and story-based? Back to the spoof with "Monsters vs. Aliens!" "How to Train Your Dragon" was super dramatic and story-based? Back to the spoof with "Megamind!" What's even more strange is that DreamWorks decided to release a superhero movie spoof centered around a villain not even 4 months after "Despicable Me" was released. Nonetheless, "Megamind," despite having a lot of things working against it, is actually a pretty good animated film. It's pretty funny, it's very well-acted, and it's gorgeous to look at. And even though the plot is nothing you haven't seen before, it's still charming enough thanks to the wonderful characters. It won't win any awards or break any records, but when all is said and done, "Megamind" is a considerably entertaining animated film that's fun for the whole family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Mar 24, 2016
Megamind is indeed a mega movie. It has a fun cast with a funny, and a pretty likeable story. Its also got that feel like despicable me, but thats not too bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gm101May 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very enjoyable movie that turned out to be better than I thought it would, despite the rip off from Superman in the beginning of the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Forrestgump1Nov 20, 2010
"Megamind is clever & ingenious as it is humorous & fun to watch , Will Ferrell brings his A game in this one of kind heartfelt animated movie .. that will have you laughing , some moments get a little sloppy and predictable at times but its"Megamind is clever & ingenious as it is humorous & fun to watch , Will Ferrell brings his A game in this one of kind heartfelt animated movie .. that will have you laughing , some moments get a little sloppy and predictable at times but its still worth it" .. B+ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MadMaxFuryRoadSep 5, 2015
Amazing Dreamworks Animation movie had me entertained and laughing throughout. The main reason I gave this a 9 was because it was so predictable of who the final villian was, but how the film ended was a total different story. Megamind isAmazing Dreamworks Animation movie had me entertained and laughing throughout. The main reason I gave this a 9 was because it was so predictable of who the final villian was, but how the film ended was a total different story. Megamind is pretty cool, and Metroman is too. It's kind of hard to choose which side you are on because both are just so cool. The film is pretty much your good vs. bad guy film, but on the way, there's a lot of surprises. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TonyDec 26, 2010
Completely unoffensive in its mediocrity, as it provides a few laughs with what it thinks is an atypical story but is ultimately predictable and just another generic Dreamworks animated film. I did have higher hopes for this one thoughCompletely unoffensive in its mediocrity, as it provides a few laughs with what it thinks is an atypical story but is ultimately predictable and just another generic Dreamworks animated film. I did have higher hopes for this one though because of the voice cast. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
DarkCriticNov 7, 2010
Megamind is a pretty good film that has a charming story with great dialogue for the spoof superhero. Will Ferrell is funny as Megamind,he's a likable supervillian that he's cool and funny. The characters are good,Brad Pitt as Metroman,TinaMegamind is a pretty good film that has a charming story with great dialogue for the spoof superhero. Will Ferrell is funny as Megamind,he's a likable supervillian that he's cool and funny. The characters are good,Brad Pitt as Metroman,Tina Fey as Roxanne Ritchi,she's mixed between Lois Lane and April O'Neal,and many more to come. The scenes are good and the setting is like movie between Superman and The Incredibles. Will Ferrell delivers a great character that he's not a bad guy,but he is a lovable supervillain more like Gru from "Despicable Me" that's he's mysterious and kind to other people. Megamind is cool superhero film,but I only see it in 2D,because the 3D wasn't much fun,you could probably avoid 3D while your watching a movie in 2D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 12, 2013
"Megamind" has the "bad guy quality" that has been shown in "Despicable Me", but is able to shine will more clever humor than what "Despicable Me" had to offer. While it does use recycled material (or what seems to be) from "The Incredibles","Megamind" has the "bad guy quality" that has been shown in "Despicable Me", but is able to shine will more clever humor than what "Despicable Me" had to offer. While it does use recycled material (or what seems to be) from "The Incredibles", it still is a somewhat original film with its characters. While no where even close to "The Incredibles", "Megamind" is still enjoyable, and its characters are likable. Its humor and storytelling is not too bad, but still could have been worked on, as sometimes the story feels written by a committee with its overdoing plot points. Despite these flaws, the film is able to work, as its voice work and animation is enjoyable to watch, leaving audiences in for a treat of laughs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
StevieGJDDec 4, 2010
Entertaining and visually well crafted animated feature. Yet another movie that did not need to be in 3D, though I saw it that way. Brad Pitt seems to be doing an impression of his friend George Clooney, but is out of the movie so early itEntertaining and visually well crafted animated feature. Yet another movie that did not need to be in 3D, though I saw it that way. Brad Pitt seems to be doing an impression of his friend George Clooney, but is out of the movie so early it doesn't really matter. Will Ferrell does a nice job. The bad guy becoming a good guy angle is cute too. But for those 8-9-10 reviews, did you give Toy Story 3 a 14? This is cute and has a nice message, but it is not even close to any of the TS films. Rating inflation in movies is just like grade inflation in school, everything is not a 10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
aaronpaul121Jun 13, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised that I actually enjoyed the movie, which is the reason I gave a 7. But technically speaking, the story is incredibly ordinary, the voice acting is average and the whole concept was dull and boring. The scenes of theI was pleasantly surprised that I actually enjoyed the movie, which is the reason I gave a 7. But technically speaking, the story is incredibly ordinary, the voice acting is average and the whole concept was dull and boring. The scenes of the movie, though, are very funny and a little bit intriguing, which incredibly saved the movie. Not a perfect movie, but it is definitely worth watching for............ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
Not as intelligent or even as humorous as it thinks it is, but Megamind stills has plenty of surprising wit and well designed special effects to make it fun entertainment for kids and adults.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
scrieciuNov 9, 2010
This movie was surprising ! The first time I saw the trailer, I was saying to myself "This movie looks ridiculous". But I was wrong. It was a AWESOME movie ! The cast did a great job, the plot is fantastic, it was hilarious, the songs in theThis movie was surprising ! The first time I saw the trailer, I was saying to myself "This movie looks ridiculous". But I was wrong. It was a AWESOME movie ! The cast did a great job, the plot is fantastic, it was hilarious, the songs in the movie were sick (AC/DC) and the 3D effects are cool. It's a must see movie ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
With an easy blend of comedy and action, Megamind doesn't stand out as one of the animation of the year. But it does however, convince its audience that they will like it coming out of the theater. It is not as slick as The Incredibles andWith an easy blend of comedy and action, Megamind doesn't stand out as one of the animation of the year. But it does however, convince its audience that they will like it coming out of the theater. It is not as slick as The Incredibles and the 3D scenes aren't amazing as How to Train Your Dragon, but you'll enjoy it. Megamind is about a supervillain and a superhero battling since they were born. Megamind, a blue guy with a big head, spends his whole life trying to kill Metroman (Brad Pitt). While the city hates him, he's convince that when he kills Metroman, the citizens will obey him. But when he finally "killed" Metroman, he found out that his life no longer has a purpose. He has nothing else to do rather than stealing stuff from the city. At this point, I think the movie is trying to get out the message that you have to live life with a purpose, or something like that. But in the end, we know Metroman is alive and Megamind gets locked up again. (There is a whole other subplot that's I'm not going to get in.) Will Ferrell's voice as Megamind is irrepleacable but Tina Fey and Brad Pitt were just unnessecary. Jonah Hill was way better than the two combined but that was because he was one of the big character. They tried to do a lot of stuff in 3D that weren't suppose to work in 3D. But at least they tried. 3-dimensional effects isn't that hard, but I felt like it took them forever in this film and get those effects going. Megamind isn't bad, it is great to say the least. But it lies between the it's-so-bad-that-it's-good type of movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews