Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2010
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 291 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
216
Mixed:
63
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LoveysnookNov 7, 2010
Great movie for the whole family! Great voices and quite a few twists! Very funny and very happy with the story line and ending, you won't be disappointed. To the critics: who cares if its a Superman sattire? It's a great movie!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
peoplewhomatterNov 7, 2010
Great movie! i especially like the concept of the bad guy wanting to be good. the story is also very good, Will Ferell did a great job in this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
aaronpaul121Jun 13, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised that I actually enjoyed the movie, which is the reason I gave a 7. But technically speaking, the story is incredibly ordinary, the voice acting is average and the whole concept was dull and boring. The scenes of theI was pleasantly surprised that I actually enjoyed the movie, which is the reason I gave a 7. But technically speaking, the story is incredibly ordinary, the voice acting is average and the whole concept was dull and boring. The scenes of the movie, though, are very funny and a little bit intriguing, which incredibly saved the movie. Not a perfect movie, but it is definitely worth watching for............ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellMar 2, 2012
Megamind may be somewhat similar to Despicable Me, but it has a lot that makes it more unique. It is a lot more adventurous and daring and it feels like a great comic book story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Coreyod386Jan 7, 2012
I love this movie best kid's film ever, very funny, very entertaining and very good. u will not regret seeing this!!! and it has the very good twist ending!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AutiTakahashiAug 22, 2012
A city without a hero is indeed a bummer, but for the villain, it could be a catastrophe. Why formulate a nifty plot that will overtake the world if no one out there is good enough to challenge it? Where's the fun in building an enormous,A city without a hero is indeed a bummer, but for the villain, it could be a catastrophe. Why formulate a nifty plot that will overtake the world if no one out there is good enough to challenge it? Where's the fun in building an enormous, vicious, dancing machine if no man of equal awesomeness will stand up to it? Megamind (Will Ferrell) knows this feeling all too well.

When he was just a little infant, with skin as blue as an Avatar's and with a head as large as a papaya, Megamind (Brad Pitt) was sent to earth by his parents right before their planet was obliterated by a natural calamity. Just as we humans are about to complain again about the typhoons and global warming in our planet, we see theirs get sucked into a black hole.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/megamind-movie-review/
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 12, 2013
"Megamind" has the "bad guy quality" that has been shown in "Despicable Me", but is able to shine will more clever humor than what "Despicable Me" had to offer. While it does use recycled material (or what seems to be) from "The Incredibles","Megamind" has the "bad guy quality" that has been shown in "Despicable Me", but is able to shine will more clever humor than what "Despicable Me" had to offer. While it does use recycled material (or what seems to be) from "The Incredibles", it still is a somewhat original film with its characters. While no where even close to "The Incredibles", "Megamind" is still enjoyable, and its characters are likable. Its humor and storytelling is not too bad, but still could have been worked on, as sometimes the story feels written by a committee with its overdoing plot points. Despite these flaws, the film is able to work, as its voice work and animation is enjoyable to watch, leaving audiences in for a treat of laughs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
Not as intelligent or even as humorous as it thinks it is, but Megamind stills has plenty of surprising wit and well designed special effects to make it fun entertainment for kids and adults.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
movielover64Nov 6, 2010
This movie was a lot of fun. Suitable for all ages. I caught the 3D version, and it was very well done. Will Farrell was very funny as Megamind. If you like his comedy, you will like this movie.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
tech953Nov 8, 2010
This film is definitely worth a watch. The graphics were very good and the story had some fun twists. Unfortunately like all recent disney movies, (except for toy story 3) it lacks the charm that the old disney had.
It does have some charm
This film is definitely worth a watch. The graphics were very good and the story had some fun twists. Unfortunately like all recent disney movies, (except for toy story 3) it lacks the charm that the old disney had.
It does have some charm though and it has a decent story.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
BKLNov 5, 2010
This movie will leave you scratching your head, asking yourself 'what just happened?'. Will Ferrell at his best! Megamind will blow your mind, and this is no joke!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
SmartacusNov 15, 2010
Soundtrack was great and the movie was a lot of fun. Many people in the theater laughed out loud throughout the movie and I found myself doing so as well. It was good but not great. Don't listen to the haters. Anyone delving too deep intoSoundtrack was great and the movie was a lot of fun. Many people in the theater laughed out loud throughout the movie and I found myself doing so as well. It was good but not great. Don't listen to the haters. Anyone delving too deep into the plot or character development missed the reason for going to an animated movie in the first place. The kids enjoyed it and so did I. Thats all that matters to me. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
gm101May 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very enjoyable movie that turned out to be better than I thought it would, despite the rip off from Superman in the beginning of the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Forrestgump1Nov 20, 2010
"Megamind is clever & ingenious as it is humorous & fun to watch , Will Ferrell brings his A game in this one of kind heartfelt animated movie .. that will have you laughing , some moments get a little sloppy and predictable at times but its"Megamind is clever & ingenious as it is humorous & fun to watch , Will Ferrell brings his A game in this one of kind heartfelt animated movie .. that will have you laughing , some moments get a little sloppy and predictable at times but its still worth it" .. B+ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Sep 5, 2011
Megamind, a supervillian conquers his nemesis, Metro Man and takes over the city, but gets bored and has no one left to fight. He creates a new foe, Titan, also known as Hal, and teaches him to use his powers for good. Instead, he sets out toMegamind, a supervillian conquers his nemesis, Metro Man and takes over the city, but gets bored and has no one left to fight. He creates a new foe, Titan, also known as Hal, and teaches him to use his powers for good. Instead, he sets out to destroy the world, and feeling like he has no choice, Megamind must save the day for the first time in his life.

I saw it twice from January to February of 2011. The first time was 2D and the second was 3D. I have no time to waste, so I will make my opinion of this movie.

Bad: It lacked an emotional feeling, the storytelling was weak and a fewer aspects of the story would've been better.

Good: The CGI animation and art design were great, The acting was perfect. Will Ferell was great as Megamind, Brad Pitt did very well as Metro Man, David Cross was great as Minion and the rest of the actors did well. The characters were very likable, The action scenes were solid, The comedy was very clever, and the music score was good.

Megamind doesn't top with Dreamwork Animation's previous animated efforts, but its an entertaining movie with great acting, solid action scenes, and good comedy.

7/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
peteCNov 15, 2010
Nine year old daughter says it is the best movie she ever saw!

I have to admit I found myself laughing out loud more than a few times while watching
this animated 3D movie. I even forgot I was wearing those 3D glasses.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
bthoman2Nov 16, 2010
This movie addresses an interesting question; what defines a super hero? Or for that matter, what defines a villain? In Megamind we find Will Farrell playing a super-villain now lacking a hero to match himself against. In a fit of boredomThis movie addresses an interesting question; what defines a super hero? Or for that matter, what defines a villain? In Megamind we find Will Farrell playing a super-villain now lacking a hero to match himself against. In a fit of boredom he attempts to create a different challenge and finds himself defending the city he loves to torment. This film accomplished something wonderful; it made me feel like a kid again. I found myself smiling uncontrollably in the climax of the movie and cheering for the good(?) guy as brains clashed against its old time foe, brawn. A must for anyone that still secretly hopes for super powers, adult or child. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MrSteerFeb 6, 2011
This movie is exactly what you'd expect really, it's very funny in places and the cgi is outstanding, the plot isn't too childish and the characters are pretty funny. DVD Rental: Will Ferrell x The Incredibles = Do It
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
nvnickApr 19, 2011
I'm an adult now (18 years old) so I thought this might be a bit "kiddish" and predictable. However, I ended up grinning and laughing throughout the movie, even though it didn't have a complicated plot or anything. The characters wereI'm an adult now (18 years old) so I thought this might be a bit "kiddish" and predictable. However, I ended up grinning and laughing throughout the movie, even though it didn't have a complicated plot or anything. The characters were lovable, dynamic, and hilarious in their own respects! I would recommend this movie for anyone regardless of age, it is also definitely a feel-good movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ComasiMar 26, 2011
I thought this movie was funny but I was surprised that it had heart. It was really sad. Will Ferrell's voice is all you need for a movie to be funny. It also has a great soundtrack.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
StevieGJDDec 4, 2010
Entertaining and visually well crafted animated feature. Yet another movie that did not need to be in 3D, though I saw it that way. Brad Pitt seems to be doing an impression of his friend George Clooney, but is out of the movie so early itEntertaining and visually well crafted animated feature. Yet another movie that did not need to be in 3D, though I saw it that way. Brad Pitt seems to be doing an impression of his friend George Clooney, but is out of the movie so early it doesn't really matter. Will Ferrell does a nice job. The bad guy becoming a good guy angle is cute too. But for those 8-9-10 reviews, did you give Toy Story 3 a 14? This is cute and has a nice message, but it is not even close to any of the TS films. Rating inflation in movies is just like grade inflation in school, everything is not a 10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ESS180Dec 15, 2010
Megamind is a great movie and I thought it was something new and creative.

My only problem with it is that the humor is not laugh at loud humor.

Still, the jokes were still funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AndrewUltimateNov 26, 2010
The hugely entertaining new movie of stars is Megamind, which contains a very surprisingly unpredictable plot, unusual for any other superhero movie: Villain tries to thwart hero, hero beats villain, villain is defeated, hero saves the day,The hugely entertaining new movie of stars is Megamind, which contains a very surprisingly unpredictable plot, unusual for any other superhero movie: Villain tries to thwart hero, hero beats villain, villain is defeated, hero saves the day, blah, blah, blah. But this film went much deeper than that, with the would-be-villain wanting to be the hero at the ending, & not being too much of a bad guy, after all. With a smart & fresh sense of cool comedy to add to this, Megamind is surely something you will not want to miss. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RumblebeeloveDec 13, 2010
While this film isn't quite perfect, it is close enough that you don't even care. I was pleasantly suprised with the outcome. The characters are well written, and stick to themselves, and act as they should in the heat of the moment, unlikeWhile this film isn't quite perfect, it is close enough that you don't even care. I was pleasantly suprised with the outcome. The characters are well written, and stick to themselves, and act as they should in the heat of the moment, unlike the majority of kids charavters these days. The imagery, while not as whimsical or colorful as Tangled, but it fits. Facial expressions and weather effects are spot on. My one complaint is to have more Minion! He is the real star here! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
critquefanNov 26, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie. Though the relationship between Megamind and minion was kinda creepy, like a mother son thing. The scenes from the school were totally funny though!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MukulJan 5, 2011
The movie is BRILLIANT! I am a guy who doesn't visit big screens much at all but I saw this one TWICE! The stereoscopy was brilliant! The background score,facial acting(animation),the characters everything was SUPER AMAZING! This movie (inThe movie is BRILLIANT! I am a guy who doesn't visit big screens much at all but I saw this one TWICE! The stereoscopy was brilliant! The background score,facial acting(animation),the characters everything was SUPER AMAZING! This movie (in 3d) is seriously like a ride which you would like to ride on again and again,irrespective of its story,because any UBER FUN ride doesn't require a story anyways.People might have totally opposite reviews regarding the story but I loved it as the FUN totally synchronized with how the movie progressed.Its a must see for all ages.Enjoy the super EVIL Megamind! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
aryanruleFeb 21, 2011
Will Ferrell fan here:) Everything he does is just awesome, but animation is superb, sound great, story fun, really suitable for all generations. Action packed comedy with great plot!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ShaneGreyFoxFeb 25, 2011
This movie is hilarious! Will Ferrell is hilarious, and I'm being serious! I don't think he has been this funny since Elf as far as his cleaner films go; if you like some of his raunchier films then you might disagree with me on that. But inThis movie is hilarious! Will Ferrell is hilarious, and I'm being serious! I don't think he has been this funny since Elf as far as his cleaner films go; if you like some of his raunchier films then you might disagree with me on that. But in all seriousness, the humour is pretty off the wall and fast paced; the off the wall description might not be all that descriptive, but the lines are like, "Okay now let's continue with some witty banter, you first.....Ahhhhhh!.....Hmmmm, I don't really know where to go with that". Basically it's a fun film, what might look like a lesser comedy/animated flick is suprisingly clever and worth the $19.99 I spent to buy it when all the other copies were rented out at all the Redboxes and Blockbusters (and when I say Blockbusters, I mean Blockbuster). So, to sum it up: Overall: It is a funny Will Ferrell movie, not THE funniest comedy ever or anything, but it made me laugh and my taste in humour is along the lines of Monty Python and Bill Murray; hope that helps. Signature 9/10 SS Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheJaijoMar 9, 2011
Will Ferrell shows his genius once more in the film, everything about his character is engaging, funny and then funny some more. The film is beautifully put together with awesome visuals and an awesome soundtrack too. Watched it with my twoWill Ferrell shows his genius once more in the film, everything about his character is engaging, funny and then funny some more. The film is beautifully put together with awesome visuals and an awesome soundtrack too. Watched it with my two year old son who was laughing throughout, although I think he was laughing at me laughing at the film... even so, we were both in stitches! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
KidgrimzzApr 1, 2011
This movie was great I had a lot of fun with it!!! In my opinion it's a instant classic and I hope they make a second part and dnt give me the mediocre crap this movie was funny and well worth watching and owning on DVD! Some people just needThis movie was great I had a lot of fun with it!!! In my opinion it's a instant classic and I hope they make a second part and dnt give me the mediocre crap this movie was funny and well worth watching and owning on DVD! Some people just need a sence of humor Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews