Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Megamind is the most brilliant super-villain the world has ever known...and the least successful. Over the years, he has tried to conquer Metro City in every imaginable way - Each attempt, a colossal failure thanks to the caped superhero known as "Metro Man," until the day Megamind actuallyMegamind is the most brilliant super-villain the world has ever known...and the least successful. Over the years, he has tried to conquer Metro City in every imaginable way - Each attempt, a colossal failure thanks to the caped superhero known as "Metro Man," until the day Megamind actually defeats him in the throes of one of his botched evil plans. Suddenly, the fate of Metro City is threatened when a new villain arrives and chaos runs rampant, leaving everyone to wonder: Can the world's biggest "mind" actually be the one to save the day? (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Dec 15, 2010
    88
    Megamind has presentation in spades. But it also has something even rarer than that. It's got heart.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Dec 15, 2010
    80
    In a family market that's been woefully weak of late, Megamind should not only rescue Metro City but the box office, too.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 15, 2010
    75
    Megamind is largely what one might expect from an animated movie featuring a number of notable comedians in voice roles: an amusing diversion.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 15, 2010
    67
    No doubt some of it is charming enough to induce giggles in its preteen target audience.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 15, 2010
    63
    Moderately funny though immoderately derivative.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 15, 2010
    60
    In ingenuity and charm, this DreamWorks offering isn't up there with "Kung Fu Panda," which remains the sharpest, fullest film from the studio. You may get the feeling that Megamind was made for, and possibly by, really smart six-year-olds. Nothing wrong with that; audiences of all ages can be tickled by the higher form of preadolescent humor.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    Dec 15, 2010
    40
    If nothing else, I found my son's Kryptonite: boring superhero rip-offs voiced by check-cashing actors. At least Steve Carell used an accent.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 69
  2. Negative: 6 out of 69
  1. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This movie was a lot of fun. Suitable for all ages. I caught the 3D version, and it was very well done. Will Farrell was very funny asThis movie was a lot of fun. Suitable for all ages. I caught the 3D version, and it was very well done. Will Farrell was very funny as Megamind. If you like his comedy, you will like this movie. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    This movie was surprising ! The first time I saw the trailer, I was saying to myself "This movie looks ridiculous". But I was wrong. It was aThis movie was surprising ! The first time I saw the trailer, I was saying to myself "This movie looks ridiculous". But I was wrong. It was a AWESOME movie ! The cast did a great job, the plot is fantastic, it was hilarious, the songs in the movie were sick (AC/DC) and the 3D effects are cool. It's a must see movie ! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Nine year old daughter says it is the best movie she ever saw!

    I have to admit I found myself laughing out loud more than a few times while
    Nine year old daughter says it is the best movie she ever saw!

    I have to admit I found myself laughing out loud more than a few times while watching
    this animated 3D movie. I even forgot I was wearing those 3D glasses.
    Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    The hugely entertaining new movie of stars is Megamind, which contains a very surprisingly unpredictable plot, unusual for any other superheroThe hugely entertaining new movie of stars is Megamind, which contains a very surprisingly unpredictable plot, unusual for any other superhero movie: Villain tries to thwart hero, hero beats villain, villain is defeated, hero saves the day, blah, blah, blah. But this film went much deeper than that, with the would-be-villain wanting to be the hero at the ending, & not being too much of a bad guy, after all. With a smart & fresh sense of cool comedy to add to this, Megamind is surely something you will not want to miss. Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2011
    7
    Will Ferrell fan here:) Everything he does is just awesome, but animation is superb, sound great, story fun, really suitable for allWill Ferrell fan here:) Everything he does is just awesome, but animation is superb, sound great, story fun, really suitable for all generations. Action packed comedy with great plot! Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2011
    6
    Megamind sadly does not redeem Will Farrel, it's just a mediocre movie about redemption, I give it credit for trying to teach you somethingMegamind sadly does not redeem Will Farrel, it's just a mediocre movie about redemption, I give it credit for trying to teach you something and being unique, but it doesn't save it from mediocrity. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    3
    Yes, Another Superhero/Animated Movie. There Were Many Where This Came From At Disney. After They Progressed, They Got Worse And Worse UntilYes, Another Superhero/Animated Movie. There Were Many Where This Came From At Disney. After They Progressed, They Got Worse And Worse Until They Stopped. Why? Because Of This Movie. Collapse

See all 69 User Reviews

Trailers