Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Megamind is the most brilliant super-villain the world has ever known...and the least successful. Over the years, he has tried to conquer Metro City in every imaginable way - Each attempt, a colossal failure thanks to the caped superhero known as "Metro Man," until the day Megamind actually defeats him in the throes of one of his botched evil plans. Suddenly, the fate of Metro City is threatened when a new villain arrives and chaos runs rampant, leaving everyone to wonder: Can the world's biggest "mind" actually be the one to save the day? (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Dec 15, 2010
    88
    Megamind has presentation in spades. But it also has something even rarer than that. It's got heart.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Dec 15, 2010
    80
    In a family market that's been woefully weak of late, Megamind should not only rescue Metro City but the box office, too.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 15, 2010
    75
    Megamind is largely what one might expect from an animated movie featuring a number of notable comedians in voice roles: an amusing diversion.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 15, 2010
    67
    No doubt some of it is charming enough to induce giggles in its preteen target audience.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 15, 2010
    63
    Moderately funny though immoderately derivative.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 15, 2010
    60
    In ingenuity and charm, this DreamWorks offering isn't up there with "Kung Fu Panda," which remains the sharpest, fullest film from the studio. You may get the feeling that Megamind was made for, and possibly by, really smart six-year-olds. Nothing wrong with that; audiences of all ages can be tickled by the higher form of preadolescent humor.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    Dec 15, 2010
    40
    If nothing else, I found my son's Kryptonite: boring superhero rip-offs voiced by check-cashing actors. At least Steve Carell used an accent.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 68
  2. Negative: 6 out of 68
  1. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This movie was a lot of fun. Suitable for all ages. I caught the 3D version, and it was very well done. Will Farrell was very funny as Megamind. If you like his comedy, you will like this movie. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    This movie was surprising ! The first time I saw the trailer, I was saying to myself "This movie looks ridiculous". But I was wrong. It was a AWESOME movie ! The cast did a great job, the plot is fantastic, it was hilarious, the songs in the movie were sick (AC/DC) and the 3D effects are cool. It's a must see movie ! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Nine year old daughter says it is the best movie she ever saw!

    I have to admit I found myself laughing out loud more than a few times while
    watching
    this animated 3D movie. I even forgot I was wearing those 3D glasses.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2010
    7
    Entertaining and visually well crafted animated feature. Yet another movie that did not need to be in 3D, though I saw it that way. Brad Pitt seems to be doing an impression of his friend George Clooney, but is out of the movie so early it doesn't really matter. Will Ferrell does a nice job. The bad guy becoming a good guy angle is cute too. But for those 8-9-10 reviews, did you give Toy Story 3 a 14? This is cute and has a nice message, but it is not even close to any of the TS films. Rating inflation in movies is just like grade inflation in school, everything is not a 10. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Not as intelligent or even as humorous as it thinks it is, but Megamind stills has plenty of surprising wit and well designed special effects to make it fun entertainment for kids and adults. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2011
    6
    A supervillain that was never really a bad guy, a super hero that is tired of being good and a dumb superhero that becomes nasty is a messy recipe. Nevertheless, it was quite enjoyable at times. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    3
    Yes, Another Superhero/Animated Movie. There Were Many Where This Came From At Disney. After They Progressed, They Got Worse And Worse Until They Stopped. Why? Because Of This Movie. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers