Magnolia Films | Release Date: November 11, 2011
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 437 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
285
Mixed:
59
Negative:
93
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
KrissTolliday14Oct 21, 2016
Kirsten Dunst stars in Lars Von Trier's sci-fi extravaganza which investigates the internal situations of individuals on Earth whilst science threatens to end humanity. The film is split into two halves following one of two sisters each timeKirsten Dunst stars in Lars Von Trier's sci-fi extravaganza which investigates the internal situations of individuals on Earth whilst science threatens to end humanity. The film is split into two halves following one of two sisters each time as they both battle depression and anxiety issues. It is in this first half where we learn more of Justine, played by Dunst, who deteriorates rapidly during her lavish wedding day and the second is Claire, her sister, struggling to cope with her sister's downfall and the fact that she may never see her family again. Justine's section is fantastic. The slow burn look at a person's fall from grace. We never quite know why she is like she is which makes it feel all the more real. Despite only spending a night with these characters it is as if you have known them for much longer with each one fleshed out and boasting depth. The second half however begins to drag and remove any initial enjoyment. It starts well but by the climax Melancholia has out stayed it's welcome. The title is for the mysterious planet that threatens to collide with Earth and it is this 'character' that is the issue with the film. If it is to be as pivotal as it is then the first half needs more resemblance to it and there is very little science fiction elements in there. However it is this area that could easily have been removed and the drama being left to the humans of the story. Von Trier has gone to lengths and depths for this film and it, at times, is mesmerising but ultimately the long running time and the second half do deflate it. Dunst is excellent and deserved more than just the Best Actress at Cannes awards, and Von Trier's script feels real and researched. If only he hadn't of taken it so far this could have been a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 10, 2016
This was really great drama. The acting was on top. It's a very disturbing type of genre. Kristen was amazing.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-26360b-Melancholia-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Cameron_AshMay 8, 2016
Wonderful acting from both Dunst and Gainsbourg, some dramatic effects a bit too obvious - horses going wild, this one was overused quite a few times. Nevertheless its a great pieces exploring the idea of depression and destruction. BeautifulWonderful acting from both Dunst and Gainsbourg, some dramatic effects a bit too obvious - horses going wild, this one was overused quite a few times. Nevertheless its a great pieces exploring the idea of depression and destruction. Beautiful on various levels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleNov 14, 2015
It is honestly impressive how much of this went over my head, but I did understand a good portion of it and loved all of it the same. This film is masterful in every way. Lars von Trier may be a petulant, egotistical child, but damn can heIt is honestly impressive how much of this went over my head, but I did understand a good portion of it and loved all of it the same. This film is masterful in every way. Lars von Trier may be a petulant, egotistical child, but damn can he make a film. Brilliant cinematography with beautiful shot after beautiful shot, great musings and visualizations of depression and its effects, and phenomenal special effects, all come together for a visually stunning film that leaves you awe struck. It may be slow, but it is methodical. No matter how much it hits the breaks sometimes, it is always engaging and did I mention beautiful? Yeah, it is beautiful. Kirsten Dunst and Charlotte Gainsbourg are absolutely phenomenal in this film that has to be one of the most meticulously crafted and damn near perfect films I have ever seen. Like, this film is fantastic. Did I get that idea across at all? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
wisertimeMar 31, 2015
I really wanted to like this movie. I thought for sure I would and the naysayers were wrong. They were right. This movie was **** horrible. The first 10 min were nice pretty images, but that's all you really need to see. Don't botherI really wanted to like this movie. I thought for sure I would and the naysayers were wrong. They were right. This movie was **** horrible. The first 10 min were nice pretty images, but that's all you really need to see. Don't bother with the rest. The next 10 min is a stretch limo trying to get around a rocky curve....really....pointless dumb movie. I like slow movies. I like some art house stuff (tree of life, Under the skin, 2001).,...but this was so dull. Only ONE character was remotely likeable and even her performance was hampered by the **** handheld parkinsons camerawork. IN almost every scene the actors seemed all to aware of the camera in their faces and uncomfortable, like an audition.

Kirsten Dunst is overrated as an actress and sex symbol too. I kept wishing she would just die along with every other character in the film. So many things didn't really make sense. People acted in very unnatural and uncomfortable ways. It's a wonder anyone stayed around for the boring wedding reception the way the guests of honor and hosts behaved. Save yourself the trouble of seeing this. Watch the visuals of the planets colliding on youtube and be done with it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JalemanyJan 6, 2015
Agreed. Weirdly wonderful. Beautifully strange. Loved it. You will read polarizing reviews about this film, and they are all acceptable reactions, but the movie, as a technical and theatrical piece, is a winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
With such powerful beauty, the film leaves you with much more than "melancholia"; just as, Kirsten Dunst gives you the most profound performance of her career.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722Jul 17, 2014
Melancholia is one of the most unique films I've ever seen. The acting, the emotion, the characters, the depth, the symbolism, the art style, the score, etc. Almost every element of this film is executed to perfection and sucks you into theMelancholia is one of the most unique films I've ever seen. The acting, the emotion, the characters, the depth, the symbolism, the art style, the score, etc. Almost every element of this film is executed to perfection and sucks you into the events taking place. The only real negative was the camera work. The shaky-cam felt unnecessary and at times took away from the viewing experience, breaking the immersion of the movie. Other than that, this was simply a work of art that is tough to explain in words. I am certain that most people won't be able to become absorbed into the film. It's a strange movie and incredibly slow moving. Honestly, 75% of people will probably quit watching before the intro, which was so long it makes James Bond intros feel brief. Nonetheless, if you can sit through the various quirks, especially early on, you'll become intrigued and anxiously await the film's conclusion. Lars von Trier truly does a brilliant job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HumblecriticDec 24, 2013
This movie is not meant to be beautiful, great, entertaining or just even decent. If you are expecting a "spider man" or a "Avatar" then yes, don't waste 2 precious hours of your time! You don't get the movie? That's fine, you probably neverThis movie is not meant to be beautiful, great, entertaining or just even decent. If you are expecting a "spider man" or a "Avatar" then yes, don't waste 2 precious hours of your time! You don't get the movie? That's fine, you probably never had black periods in your life and again, that's fine. But if instead you are open-minded enough to watch it and just take it for what it is not trying to over analyze it but just let be driven by the scenes, you will find this movie inspiring and potentially life changing. Funny how people's perception is different from each others, it was very clear to me since the beginning the metaphor about modern life, yes, depression, darkness, apathy, evocation of "terminal feeling" regarding human's existence, It all felt familiar and annoying.
Finally, you might get bored at some point but once per all this is not The Lord of the rings, is a humble movie that certainly succeed in what has been made for make you aware.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moonman1994Aug 18, 2013
Beautiful and ultimately extremely depressing Melancholia perfectly paints the picture of one sister's depression and ultimate acceptance with the end of the world. The film after it's beautiful and sad musical intro starts of as seeminglyBeautiful and ultimately extremely depressing Melancholia perfectly paints the picture of one sister's depression and ultimate acceptance with the end of the world. The film after it's beautiful and sad musical intro starts of as seemingly happy and at some times with moments of laughter. As the film continues you see the depression of Justine unravel and you have her sister who perfectly contrasts this view of the world. Simply said there isn't another movie that perfectly creates an atmosphere of sadness and depression. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppJul 16, 2013
Un tipo de pelicula extraña pero algo entendible el planeta Melancholia se acerca habiendose predicho desde el principio algo de depresion,alegria y angustio conforman la pelicula que la hace sobresalir sobre algunas, sin embargo se tornaUn tipo de pelicula extraña pero algo entendible el planeta Melancholia se acerca habiendose predicho desde el principio algo de depresion,alegria y angustio conforman la pelicula que la hace sobresalir sobre algunas, sin embargo se torna algo aburrida y monotona sin embargo el tema musical va con lo que es un fin del mundo y cosas extrañas que van con el Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
swimgurl86Jun 25, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to say I didn't like this movie the first time I watched it. I missed the first 10 minutes of the movie which turned out to be pretty important. I watched it a second time with my husband it helps to talk about it while it's playing (since it is pretty slow) and it is a very thought provoking movie. It's amazing the different versions of the story I've been reading from this board to me, it deals with Kirsten's character's depression and her sister, Claire, being the one I identified with the most, as being the nurturing sister, caring for her sister while she is debilitated with depression, and wanting to protect her son at all cost. But I now see the beginning as being Kirsten's dream or vision. I'm assuming she has had visions before, so this is why she is reacting with depression at her wedding reception because she saw the same red star that night that she had in her dream and realized this was going to happen. Nothing can shake her because she knows it's going to happen, even when her brother-in-law says it isn't. In the end I realized Kirsten's character actually had more time to deal with it, while her sister wanted to believe her husband and realized on the last day that he was wrong. She was more believable I thought. One thing that bugged me as it did to one other person on this board her sister had an English accent while Kirsten's character did not how could that be? Oh well, details, details. It was definitely a very interesting film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Jun 13, 2013
You have to be out of your mind for liking this dreadful dense bore. So depressing but for no valid reason. My eyes were hurting just starring at this pile of junk.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
7
JacobparkerMay 14, 2013
I like that in the movie not the apocalypse is in the foreground, but the events around it.
the movie is very long and the story takes a long time until it gets interesting, but the movie is worth to be seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ariel84May 9, 2013
it's been a year since i first watched MELANCHOLIA. it is still one of the greatest films i've ever seen. kirsten dunst is as beautifully magnificent. the setting and cinematography still astonish. my favorite apocalyptic film of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
splagelouf4Apr 1, 2013
I created an account on metacritic solely to warn you all of how utterly unbearable this film is. Why all these accredited actors chose to indulge the danish nutbar in his latest extravaganza is beyond me. nauseating camera angles,I created an account on metacritic solely to warn you all of how utterly unbearable this film is. Why all these accredited actors chose to indulge the danish nutbar in his latest extravaganza is beyond me. nauseating camera angles, nonsensical lines and pretentious but awful humor all amount to an underwhelming finale. I have never seen a more overrated film in my life and this has shaken my faith in aggregate sites like metacritic. save yourself the two hours. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
4
tonyGreenFeb 11, 2013
I did'nt mind that it was dark, bordering on morose. After Dancer in the Dark, I expected that from Mr Von Trier. And I like dark films. What annoyed me was it was so banal. Please will someone tell me the thematic subtext buried in here? TheI did'nt mind that it was dark, bordering on morose. After Dancer in the Dark, I expected that from Mr Von Trier. And I like dark films. What annoyed me was it was so banal. Please will someone tell me the thematic subtext buried in here? The best I can come up with: Depressed people will handle the possible end of the world with a more calm and dignified response. I watched on DVD, and required 2 sessions to complete the ordeal. It was however *quite* pretty visually, and Kirsten Dunst was good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MattDanielFeb 4, 2013
Another piece of film hysteria by Lars von Trier. It falls in the sub genre of art-house we could call Hermetic-German-Scandinavian-Drama. Characters with no depth at all whose actions lack of minimal motivation either dramatic orAnother piece of film hysteria by Lars von Trier. It falls in the sub genre of art-house we could call Hermetic-German-Scandinavian-Drama. Characters with no depth at all whose actions lack of minimal motivation either dramatic or psychological. Situations are horrible and depressing for no other reason than the exclusive enjoyment of the director, who hysterically shines above the film itself. And it has the most common error in pseudo-intellectual movies: there are two films squeezed into a feature. The first part (the wedding) is the film "Festen" (first film by Dogma movement) reheated. It´s simply awful. The second part of the film is what you expected to see but with the all the problems described above. Unfortunately, as we have good will to give him a chance the fact is that Lars von Trier is a quack. And like every charlatan he has a herd of followers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
WraithswordDec 27, 2012
Self-indulgent drivel... This bloated piece of excrement features depressing characters wandering around an estate while the world comes to an end. They blather at each other for what seems like forever until, blessedly, the gloom ends in aSelf-indulgent drivel... This bloated piece of excrement features depressing characters wandering around an estate while the world comes to an end. They blather at each other for what seems like forever until, blessedly, the gloom ends in a searing blast. Supposedly, this is a study in melancholy. After two and a half hours of this morose mess of a film, I could imagine audience members offing themselves. The only lingering question in my mind, as the credits rolled, was why the writer of this protracted march into the grave didn't just lock himself up in the garage with his car running and explore despair all by himself. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Dec 18, 2012
A powerful indie film, that can be quite difficult to watch, but is really fascinating, spectacularly shot, and very well acted. This isn't a film to sit back and enjoy, but to think about once the credits role up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HiMomDec 15, 2012
I have never before fast forwarded through the beginning of a movie, but five minutes of still images set to symphony music is just too much. I'm writing this in the hopes of saving others from this terrible movie. It is unbearably slow, hasI have never before fast forwarded through the beginning of a movie, but five minutes of still images set to symphony music is just too much. I'm writing this in the hopes of saving others from this terrible movie. It is unbearably slow, has nausea inducing handheld camera work, and a cast of unlikable characters. In the end we amused ourselves by making up lines for the characters while they stared at each other in gloomy silence. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
Lars von Trier certainly makes it hard to review films...I have no idea what to give this. I really like it! Elements in this were absolutely brilliant, but it doesn't make the film any less strange. Gainsbourg gives another fantasticLars von Trier certainly makes it hard to review films...I have no idea what to give this. I really like it! Elements in this were absolutely brilliant, but it doesn't make the film any less strange. Gainsbourg gives another fantastic performance, but Kirsten Dunst shines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NKOASNov 17, 2012
Like Van Gogh
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
rkeincOct 8, 2012
This movie was so bad it made me register at metacritic.com to give my 2 cents. First of all the review by metacritic.com professionals led me to believe this was a great, not good, movie. Furthermore, the cast is amazing. With that said IThis movie was so bad it made me register at metacritic.com to give my 2 cents. First of all the review by metacritic.com professionals led me to believe this was a great, not good, movie. Furthermore, the cast is amazing. With that said I began to watch the movie. I watch a lot of movies and couldn't believe how bad this was. I struggled through 2 hours and 15 minutes hoping I would find a ray of something world noting of value about it. There was none. How the critics couldn't condemn this movie as worthless, let alone great, is beyond me. If you don't want to waist 2 hours and 15 minutes of your life don't bother watching this bomb! Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
Christopher_G2Sep 2, 2012
This film is not going to be for everyone, but I loved it. From a crazy wedding party where hardly anything goes right, to the potential coming of the end of the world, it hooked and shook me like very few films have in recent years. It dealsThis film is not going to be for everyone, but I loved it. From a crazy wedding party where hardly anything goes right, to the potential coming of the end of the world, it hooked and shook me like very few films have in recent years. It deals with the relationship of two sisters, played by Kirsten Dunst, in a career best performance, and Charlotte Gainsbourg who is also terrific. Kiefer Sutherland is also very good as the husband of the latter. It's disturbing, beautiful, and emotionally resonant. It's not slow, but well paced. A Von Trier film will always be a bit polarizing. Personally I really disliked his previous film Antichrist, but I loved this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mrniceAug 28, 2012
An insightful psychological study under interesting conditions, the ending blew me away. The soundtrack is a huge part of the experience, and the ending leaves a lasting impression that was incredible from the front rows of a small theater. IAn insightful psychological study under interesting conditions, the ending blew me away. The soundtrack is a huge part of the experience, and the ending leaves a lasting impression that was incredible from the front rows of a small theater. I got chills just now thinking about it. In a way, the whole study is a build-up to the last minute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
KJJJun 13, 2012
What were the critics thinking? This is a cut rate, poorly made imitation of Ingmar Bergman - felt like Von Trier ripped out the script of a film like The Silence, and rewrote it, down to the idea of two people reflecting differentWhat were the critics thinking? This is a cut rate, poorly made imitation of Ingmar Bergman - felt like Von Trier ripped out the script of a film like The Silence, and rewrote it, down to the idea of two people reflecting different personality parts of one person. Been there, done that. And the script is dishonest - I don't care how well Dunst acted, her character at the end of the movie is completely untrue to everything that goes before. I appreciate and have watched many off-beat films - this is not a good one. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
rnnbrwnJun 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Didn't know what to expect as I hadn't read much about this, other than that it was "weird". First 20 minutes were hard going - and confusing - but it grew on me and I really enjoyed it at the end. Sutherland's demise didn't sit right with me, though. That seemed a bit of a cop out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
KneginjaJun 3, 2012
I don't know how to not give it a 10, instantly became one of my favorite films. This movie is bleak and beautiful at the same time, made almost entirely of detestable characters. It still buggles me how von Trier made all these elements workI don't know how to not give it a 10, instantly became one of my favorite films. This movie is bleak and beautiful at the same time, made almost entirely of detestable characters. It still buggles me how von Trier made all these elements work - but he did. Dunst is truly amazing on this one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
DelixuMay 19, 2012
It's... weird. Melancholia is not nearly as powerful as Lars von Trier's previous film, Antichrist. It will not feel like a punch in the stomach, it will feel like nothing. Lars von Trier seems to try too hard on Melancholia, and the resultIt's... weird. Melancholia is not nearly as powerful as Lars von Trier's previous film, Antichrist. It will not feel like a punch in the stomach, it will feel like nothing. Lars von Trier seems to try too hard on Melancholia, and the result is a film that will please the eye - the scenery is beautiful, and the acting is fairly composed - but will leave no lasting legacy. Two days after watching Melancholia, you will wonder whether or not you had seen it. Kristen Dunst and Keifer Sutherland are the two highlights of the film, not because of their interpretations of shallowly-constructed characters, but because their on-screen feeling. They look wonderful. Melancholia does not. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews