Melancholia

Melancholia Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 409 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this beautiful movie about the end of the world, Justine and Michael are celebrating their marriage at a sumptuous party in the home of her sister Claire, and brother-in-law John. Despite Claire's best efforts, the wedding is a fiasco, with family tensions mounting and relationshipsIn this beautiful movie about the end of the world, Justine and Michael are celebrating their marriage at a sumptuous party in the home of her sister Claire, and brother-in-law John. Despite Claire's best efforts, the wedding is a fiasco, with family tensions mounting and relationships fraying. Meanwhile, a planet called Melancholia is heading directly towards Earth. (Magnolia Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 17, 2011
    100
    Leave it to von Trier to conceive an intergalactic sci-fi metaphor for a psychological disorder – and then make it work so astonishingly well.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Oct 24, 2011
    100
    For all the tyrannical disdain he's shown other filmmakers over the years, von Trier once again demonstrates a mastery of classical technique, extracting incredibly strong performances from his cast while serving up a sturdy blend of fly-on-the-wall naturalism and jaw-dropping visual effects.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Nov 10, 2011
    90
    Its true subject is melancholia as a spiritual state, a destroyer of happiness that emerges from its hiding place behind the sun, just like the menacing planet, then holds the heroine, Justine, in its unyielding grip and gives Ms. Dunst the unlikely occasion for a dazzling performance.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Nov 10, 2011
    80
    For stretches of the film, von Trieria is as welcome as Siberia. You must stay to the end for a potent payoff, when the tragic magic of the opening scenes is reasserted.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Nov 17, 2011
    75
    As von Trier's ultimate wish-fulfillment fantasy, Melancholia is a broodingly downbeat self-portrait but also the inspiring work of an artist of seemingly boundless imaginative power.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 8, 2011
    63
    Melancholia represents von Trier at his best and worst. Visually and thematically, Melancholia is a rich motion picture, full of nuances. Unfortunately, in his pursuit of an artistic vision, von Trier has thrown logic, physics, and coherence out the window.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Melancholia is his latest pile of undiluted drivel, nauseatingly filmed by a wonky hand-held camera and featuring a crazy, mismatched ensemble headed by Kirsten Dunst, who won an acting award in Cannes last year for looking totally catatonic.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 98
  2. Negative: 22 out of 98
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Weird Weird Weird. Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful. It all begins to make sense towards the end so all the questions and confusion of theWeird Weird Weird. Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful. It all begins to make sense towards the end so all the questions and confusion of the beginning makes sense. If you are patient enough and curious enough you will be greatly rewarded. Make time for the movie. Understand that it will be great. You only get to see such a movie maybe only once a decade. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    An amazing movie! I found the film, to be very real. It felt like a documentry. As I watched the 2nd act of the movie, it felt like watchingAn amazing movie! I found the film, to be very real. It felt like a documentry. As I watched the 2nd act of the movie, it felt like watching the characters final moments. The movie was slow, but yet intresting. I had a feeling of being there. Excellent! Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    This movie is made for those who really enjoy watching a movie, is slow and heavy in many ways but shows you perfectly two different kinds ofThis movie is made for those who really enjoy watching a movie, is slow and heavy in many ways but shows you perfectly two different kinds of melancholia, really good photography work and great music, the story well is difficult to explain but all that i can say is that things happen when you don't expect to Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Melancholia is a rightly titled spectacle that follows a family in the final days of human existence. Its a sweeping science fiction melodramaMelancholia is a rightly titled spectacle that follows a family in the final days of human existence. Its a sweeping science fiction melodrama that I would probably find difficult to watch again, but remains a strong film due to its dense story telling and deep character studies. And deep those characters were; Gainsbourg and Sutherland played their complex roles with skill and precision. And special applause to Kirsten Dunst who gives a powerhouse performance, it would be a shame if she does not receive some awards recognition this year, despite the atypical nature of the movie. This is simply a very good art-house film, that challenges its viewers. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    6
    Rare movie did not understand the conecccion wedding with the rest frame of the movie, though was very good work, I felt I was seeing the treeRare movie did not understand the conecccion wedding with the rest frame of the movie, though was very good work, I felt I was seeing the tree of life 2 .... but the third part of the movie left me stunned, scared, wrapped in despair that he shared with Claire ... cheers for Dunst and Gainsbourg were fantastic, great. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2015
    4
    I really wanted to like this movie. I thought for sure I would and the naysayers were wrong. They were right. This movie was ****I really wanted to like this movie. I thought for sure I would and the naysayers were wrong. They were right. This movie was **** horrible. The first 10 min were nice pretty images, but that's all you really need to see. Don't bother with the rest. The next 10 min is a stretch limo trying to get around a rocky curve....really....pointless dumb movie. I like slow movies. I like some art house stuff (tree of life, Under the skin, 2001).,...but this was so dull. Only ONE character was remotely likeable and even her performance was hampered by the **** handheld parkinsons camerawork. IN almost every scene the actors seemed all to aware of the camera in their faces and uncomfortable, like an audition.

    Kirsten Dunst is overrated as an actress and sex symbol too. I kept wishing she would just die along with every other character in the film. So many things didn't really make sense. People acted in very unnatural and uncomfortable ways. It's a wonder anyone stayed around for the boring wedding reception the way the guests of honor and hosts behaved. Save yourself the trouble of seeing this. Watch the visuals of the planets colliding on youtube and be done with it.
    Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    What a pretentious, long, boring and empty movie. Another "style over substance" film. I found the Kirstin Dunst character very annoying, andWhat a pretentious, long, boring and empty movie. Another "style over substance" film. I found the Kirstin Dunst character very annoying, and the plot was disjointed and incoherent. By the time I was halfway into the movie, I was actually hoping the fictional planet would wipe out all of the characters involved.
    This movie is LONG AND DRAGGY. I actually walked out, and I almost never do that for a movie I paid money to see.
    Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 8, 2011
    Throughout the next two months, we
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.
  3. Cannes Recap: A Look at This Year's Key Films

    Cannes Recap: A Look at This Year's Key Films Image
    Published: May 23, 2011
    Our complete recap of the just-concluded 64th Cannes Film Festival includes a look at this year's winners and a summary of critical reaction to the 25 biggest films in and out of competition.
  4. Six Picks for the Week of November 7-13

    Six Picks for the Week of November 7-13 Image
    Published: November 6, 2011
    This week, the latest "Call of Duty" game hits stores, and presumably some other things happen as well. (Here are a few for non-gamers: one of the year's best-reviewed movies in "Melancholia," and a new "Blue Velvet" Blu-ray with a ton of never-before-seen footage.) Get all of the week's picks inside.
  5. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: September 9, 2011
    This week, watch trailers for "The Big Year," "Melancholia," and "Human Centipede II," catch clips from "The Descendants" and "The Thing," and learn about upcoming projects from Mel Gibson, Joe Wright and Tom Hooper.